RDFL Thread 2009 (Part 2)

Lancefield got over Broadford by 14 pts in a pretty entertaining hard fought match. Roos led by a point with 10 mins to play, but the Tigers disposal in a desperate final 10 mins was exceptional whilst the pressure they applied forced B'ford turnovers.
I thought our lads went with Lancefield in intensity most the day, but unlike several games of late, that split second to think/react when u play the top team just isn't there late in games and it showed. Don't think our lads were disgraced, Tiges look as good as we've seen in 2009 IMO, and after a look at RDFL footy now here's hoping Broadford can make the alterations required to the list and become super competitive next season.

Perfect hit out Id hope in finals like conditions for Lancefield, best wishes from our end to Kevin Fitz, skipper Choatey and the boys for their finals campaign :thumbsu:

does anyone know how the ladder end up??whos in whos out and whos playing who and when??
Riddell
Lancefield
Macedon
Romsey
Woodend
Digger Rest
My Guess for venues week 1
Riddell V Lancefield -Sunbury Sunday
Macedon V Diggers Rest -Melton Saturday
Romsey V Woodend -Riddell Saturday.
Bring on finals footy!!!

Found the games and venues on the RDFL site, is there anywhere you can view the information for netball finals?

http://www.sportingpulse.com/comp_info.cgi?client=1-3351-0-82596-0&pool=1001&action=FIXTURE&round=0

McPherson Park No. 2 Oval - SATURDAY
1st's - Macedon FC vs Diggers Rest
2nd's - Macedon FC vs Wallan
3rd's - Macedon FC vs Romsey

Riddells Creek Reserve - SATURDAY
1st's - Romsey vs Woodend/Hesket
2nd's - Woodend/Hesket vs Riddell
3rd's - Diggers Rest vs Riddell

Eric Boardman Reserve - SUNDAY
1st's - Riddell vs Lancefield
2nd's - Melton Centrals vs Kilmore
3rd's - Kilmore vs Woodend/Hesket

Just looking thru the website and I see Guy Booker named the Blues' best the past two matches :thumbsu: all this after popping his shoulder out against Broadford a week prior. Didnt wanna highlight it (shoulder) last week before the Riddell game but this bloke is amazing, a genuine leader and is exactly what they need going forward IMO. Lets hope for Kilmore and their kids sake he hangs around in 2010.

Gday big fella, did you receive my email?

Lancefield to beat Riddell by 3 points
Macedon to beat Diggers Rest by 39 points
Gaarrrry to beat Woodend-Hesket by 12 points

Riddell to beat Gaarrrry by 42 points
Lancefield to beat Macedon by 9 points

Macedon to beat Riddell by 15 points

Lancefield and Macedon to draw grand final

Lancefield to beat Macedon by 22 points in grand final replay. Dorman BOG.

havent you heard matt???

dorman wont be playing finals for lancefield this year...

..hes had to undergo emergency surgery to repair the damage you have done to his arse...

havent you heard matt???

dorman wont be playing finals for lancefield this year...

..hes had to undergo emergency surgery to repair the damage you have done to his arse...

He should have a spare few, he's torn a few clubs a new arseh*le this year with his dominance! :p

and will be fresh after being rested last week
Doona, i hear Talbot hasn't played due to a head clash with Fitzi a couple of weeks ago, can you confirm whether he played on the w/end? I rate the guy as one of the best mid fielders in the comp, and my tip for the medal!

Well the regular season has come to a close and the fun stuff is about to begin... Now officially time for me to get serious too... Finally...

Riddell:
Had a mid season slump but are finding form at the right time, the key to the Bombers this season has been the young runners. Ryan Leitch and Rick Elliot have both had great seasons, while Braeden Whittard has been super in the middle. Belleville and McCabe have been good, but haven't touched the surface of what they are capable of... YET... If McCabe steps up sides will find both him and Meacham tough to stop. Still my tip.

Keys: Cam McCabe, Chris Meacham, Justin Belleville.

Lancefield:
Have great balance across the field. With Collins back are even stronger, but seem to play in bursts rather than consistent spread of effort, if they can play a more consistant brand in finals they will be tough to match. Hard nosed midfield and 2 key forwards but the key to the Tigers is the Back 6. Erwin is rugged and a tough one to beat. But they do have gaps, if they come up against a forward 6 with plenty of options they will find it hard to cover.

Keys: Ben Talbot, Chris Collins, John Baker.

Macedon FC:
Diggers first up will be a test as the Burra have earmarked the Cats as being a bit soft, on a smaller ground, it is tighter and tougher, without McCarthur might be ripe for the picking. Contested ball winners will be the key, especially in the first week. Ash Fleming is still the key and is an experienced finals player. The Burra played Tommy Gleeson on him last week and I think Tommy has a long future, but the matchup is iffy, If Fleming gets away, which I think he will, it will be goodbye to Diggers.

Keys: Ash Fleming, Tim Dettman, Darren Goodwin.

Romsey:
With Moorcroft spending most of his time on the ball now the key will be kicking a score. Kearney gave a target on the weekend and Burlak should return for the first final. Have Woodend got the players to match up on a forward line that has Kearney, Burlak, Dawson, Moorcroft, Green, Wheatley, McNaughton?? Probably not, the Redbacks challenge will be the 2nd week. The backline is very shaky...

Keys: Gary Moorcroft, Steve Burlak, Cam Dawson.

Woodend:
Wont be good enough to knock the Redbacks off, probably the only side in the top 6 not capable of winning it. Lucky to get in and wont provide too many headaches for opposition clubs. Although I do like watching Matty Knox, worth the admission fee with his work rate. Back 6 is succeptable to having scores kicked against them and they lack support for Knox, to win they need Barker to play forward with Knox and Cook and Stacey to provide the bulk of the ruck work. Those 3 will stretch the shaky Redbacks defence.

Keys: Matt Knox, Matt Stacey, Ben Shipard.

Diggers:
Cant wait to see what Diggers throw up against the Cats. If everyone has written the Burra off they may well be surprised, well led, Sims is the best captain in the comp, Cole Laurie is a finals specialist, Steve Ruane looks in dangerous form. It will come down to whether they can out do the Cats in the contested footy stakes.

Keys: Shaun Sims, Cole Laurie, Craig Thompson.

My tips.

Riddell to knock over Lancefield, smaller ground will suit the Bombers but this will come down to the midfield battle. Riddell by 22pts

Diggers love a contest, they also think they have the Cats measure. I agree, as long as they can contain the space in which Fleming has to work... Diggers by 10 points.

Romsey in a canter.... 40 points.

Doona, i hear Talbot hasn't played due to a head clash with Fitzi a couple of weeks ago, can you confirm whether he played on the w/end? I rate the guy as one of the best mid fielders in the comp, and my tip for the medal!

Talbot never played either

Found the games and venues on the RDFL site, is there anywhere you can view the information for netball finals?

http://www.sportingpulse.com/comp_info.cgi?client=1-3351-0-82596-0&pool=1001&action=FIXTURE&round=0

McPherson Park No. 2 Oval - SATURDAY
1st's - Macedon FC vs Diggers Rest
2nd's - Macedon FC vs Wallan
3rd's - Macedon FC vs Romsey

Riddells Creek Reserve - SATURDAY
1st's - Romsey vs Woodend/Hesket
2nd's - Woodend/Hesket vs Riddell
3rd's - Diggers Rest vs Riddell

Eric Boardman Reserve - SUNDAY
1st's - Riddell vs Lancefield
2nd's - Melton Centrals vs Kilmore
3rd's - Kilmore vs Woodend/Hesket

League website now has all finals locations listed mate

Hey Doon Books has signed on for another yr which everybody at the club is very pleased with...finally a bit of stability in the coaching ranks for the Bluers and will go into 2010 with a much better preparation than in previous years

Good news :thumbsu: lets just hope they get behind him 100% and allow the best available 21 to run out alongside him at 2pm every week in 2010 because the Kilmore Footy Club I know is a lot better than they way the season ended for ya's at senior level.

We'll be the big improvers in 2010 Doona!
We still have the applications open for Reserves and Under 18, as well as Netball.