RDFL Thread 2009 (Part 2)

Obviously I didn't see any of the incidents, but I think its fair to say the tribunal struggled under the pressure last night.

Good to see all three players available for the rest of the season though.

woodend @ riddell catering was a joke by half time no BBQ, DIM SIMS or cans of COKE how can u give that a 5 and half the time the drink cart come past it had stuff all drinks in it so im thinking the organization was not that good, :thumbsdown: i will say well done to the sunbury kangaroos i here not a thing went wrong for them all day and still had food left for every1 that helped out on the day so i would say oranization 5 and catering 5:thumbsu:

Going by what I saw and had at these grounds (not what I heard)
Food was great (hawk burger especially) from 9:00 am thru to midway thru seniors. No ground up to date has not run out of something. For Woodend to host at another ground would have taken a lot more effort than for a club to host at other ground. Agree Kangas did a great job but dry area should of been where umpires go on and off the ground stoping any chance of trouble with fuelled up spectators.

Didn't do themselves any favours in getting finals in the future.

Macedon pretty ordinary to say the least. I tried to buy a beer when the umps were bouncing the ball for the start of 3rd qtr. Told I had to buy beer from inside the new building. Go to new building told buy some twit security guy cant enter the building until the big wigs clear out. Told him that I was advised to buy drinks from in there by the club. What a joke surely they could have put up some tape to seperate the wigs. My missus took back 2 raw hamburgers in a row then gave up. I couldnt believe The amount of branches blown across the car park road that were left there for the public to move themselves if they wanted to be able to park. I have to agree they havent done themselves any favours for future finals.

Food was great (hawk burger especially) from 9:00 am thru to midway thru seniors. No ground up to date has not run out of something. For Woodend to host at another ground would have taken a lot more effort than for a club to host at other ground. Agree Kangas did a great job but dry area should of been where umpires go on and off the ground stoping any chance of trouble with fuelled up spectators.

have to dissagree pal i got a snag at half time and couldn't get bread with it :confused::confused::confused: thought woodend done a great job with the hawk burger tho:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Did anyone see the line up at the side of the CLOSED Macedon canteen?? There was a line of about 10 hungry people waiting to heat up frozen pie's etc in the microwave.....hope they didnt pay full price:thumbsdown:

Well if you had not noticed TIMMEY MC DONALD rolled up and ate everything at macedon, clearly they were not expecting him 2 turn up.

Who gives a damn about the food or booze anyway at a Final ?
(Except maybe the shmoozing Board Members perhaps, gorging themselves at the " Freebee Trough ")

You go to a Final to see the game played at its best, at the best Venues, surely ?

Obviously I didn't see any of the incidents, but I think its fair to say the tribunal struggled under the pressure last night.

hey matthew are you going to grace us with your presence on grand final day we miss you :(:eek: BRING BACK PICKLES :thumbsu:PICKLES IS INNOCENT:thumbsdown:

Who gives a damn about the food or booze anyway at a Final ?
(Except maybe the shmoozing Board Members perhaps, gorging themselves at the " Freebee Trough ")

You go to a Final to see the game played at its best, at the best Venues, surely ?

All of these things add to the overall environment and enjoyment of the day though pal.. I thought that was obvious.. The best finals we have been too are the ones with the good food, the cold beer and the classic match up on the best of surfaces.. The final on Sunday was a massive disappointment, simple as that.. Macedon let themselves and all of the supporters down by not providing another of the great days the RDFL clubs predominantley offer up.. Disappointing...

All of these things add to the overall environment and enjoyment of the day though pal.. I thought that was obvious.. The best finals we have been too are the ones with the good food, the cold beer and the classic match up on the best of surfaces.. The final on Sunday was a massive disappointment, simple as that.. Macedon let themselves and all of the supporters of the great days the RDFL clubs offer up.. Disappointing...

I dont care about all the "Fluff" Pal, its just garnish to me.... & many others I'd hazard a guess too.
I go for the spectacle of the game, the drama of the contest & the battle of the gladiators !
And there was an abundance of all on Sunday. :thumbsu:

PS. Take a picnic hamper if you cant live without stuffing your collective faces people, or do what I do when I get hungry & light up a Winnie Blue !

I dont care about all the "Fluff" Pal, its just garnish to me.... & many others I'd hazard a guess too.
I go for the spectacle of the game, the drama of the contest & the battle of the gladiators !
And there was an abundance of all on Sunday. :thumbsu:

PS. Take a picnic hamper if you cant live without stuffing your collective faces people, or do what I do when I get hungry & light up a Winnie Blue !

Fair enough too.. But I still say its all cover for what was a disappointingly poor performance when it came to hosting a final.

Must agree ims, what happened to the good old day's when there were tent's selling food around the ground with a nice cold Bundy to wash it down with.Good tucker at the footy helps the host club make some extra cash anyway :thumbsu:

Bundy??? There is only one guy I used to know that drank that stuff... He was not a bad bloke, but the stuff mad him as mad as a cut snake..

But I agree completely.. The only losers out of Sunday were Macedon and the supporters...

In all fairness to every club that hosts a final... they are short for hands on the day.. they do an extremely good job regardless and youll find its the same problem for every club through every round of every year... if there has been a small element of disappointment in the concession stands, we have that compensated for the best brand of football not seen in a finals series in many years..

Having been to every final except Melton, I honestly believe that each host has done an exceptional job and the quality of football has risen to that level.. congrats to all those involved, outstanding efforts... the numbers of footy fans through the gates in the last 2 weeks at every ground has been above average for a final... the weather is pencilled in to be great this Saturday and we can all hope for a real gem the following Sunday.. keep flooding through the gates and keep supporting the local clubs.

They could've gone either way.. the tribunal handled themselves well and come this week we'll have 3 outstanding players available for selection.. Talbot's incident was fair, not a great deal in Dawson's despite it happening in front of Dwayne-o for the report.. Whittle's couldve been a whole lot worse but wasnt.. well done to the tribunal.. we have 2 big games of footy left.. lets really get behind them

Wont he be spending enough time there soon enough ?

Clearly he is a few screws loose your team is up by four goals and you go risk a chance to possibly play in a premiership side by doing something stupid like that.

Deserves the weeks he gets in my opinion.

I would ask you how moorcrofts shoulder is but your probably planning a civil suit over the way he was tackled and are unable to speak about it on here.
one eyed clown :thumbsdown:

Obviously you are a rock ape and have nothing better to do than slag off at a young bloke over something you know nothing about. Cam is a ripping young fella and what he does on the football field should be the only thing written about on here. You say he deserves the weeks he gets. Well mate, he deserved ZERO and got ZERO.

And judging by your comments on Moorcroft, the side you follow has been on the wrong end of one of his performances. Nothing wrong with the tackle laid on him and no one of importance from the club has claimed any different, so stop shooting your mouth off.

Anyway, tips for this weekends game. Lancefield by single figures.

fact i was at riddell on saturday (hawk burger was good) but to have no food left at half time is a bit of a joke, as for the kangas im with you on that 1 they did have the dry area in the wrong spot. it should have been where the players and umpires come out

will you blokes stop whinging about food lets talk footy....theres some pretty important games this weekend if you hadnt noticed..whos going to the big dance in all three games and why???

Well if you had not noticed TIMMEY MC DONALD rolled up and ate everything at macedon, clearly they were not expecting him 2 turn up.
i hope romsey are all stacked up with a heap off food just seen timmy mcdonald at kfc and he said he will be at romsey on the weekend.Looks like it will be a great day for romesey $$$$$$$$

I dunno why everyone is sooking about the food, me and bladey got into the macedon rooms at halftime, special guests we were we had free food and alcohol all you can eat, if TIMMEY MAC goes to romsey this weekend they better stock up, double what they already anticipated.

Massive games tomorrow in all grades......... who will win, and what will be the grand final matches at lancefield???

Im Tipping a huge clash in the GF Romsey v Lancefield....... thinking Lancefield could win tomorrow

In the Two's.... Wallan tomorrow just. Grand Final: Centrals v Wallan..........

Good luck to all teams :thumbsu:

Buffalo Sports Under 18 Preliminary Final - Diggers Rest Vs Kilmore

The Under 18 competition has been an unpredictable battle all year and this weeks game will probably prove to be no different.
Last week saw both of these sides saw themselves in games that were blowouts. Diggers Rest, playing for a berth in the Grand Final were blasted off the park by a very talented Woodend/Hesket, while Kilmore demolished Macedon to qualify for a Preliminary Final berth.
The Burra need to improve out of sight on their first 2 games in the finals to match it with Kilmore this week. Woodend/Hesket and Kilmore finished first and second on the ladder and are widely considered the best 2 sides in the competition.
But the Burra are the only side capable of causing an upset. With David Bourne and Jack Sheehan in the side, anything can happen if they are up and about. The Burra have a fleet of smallish runners, this could be the advantage that they have on the wide open spaces at Romsey. Orkan Erica, Dylan Torr and Steve Denko were great in the first final, while the half back line with Dean Marchewka and Brett Dornbruch need to lead the way against a high scoring Kilmore.
The Blues have several star youngsters in a highlight for the future of the senior side. Codey Phillips, Matthew Swindles, Tom Snaith and Robert Rowe are all star young players and the Burra must be able to shut them down if they are to be a chance. Kilmore have a spread of players capable of putting on scoreboard pressure, so the Burra need to shut down the delivery through the midfield, first hands are a must from the stoppages.
If Kilmore can break this game open and use their key players around the stoppages the Burra are no chance, they need to find someone to do that something special for this one to win it. Jack Sheehan could be that player. If he is up and about, Kilmore will find it tough to find someone to go with him. But if the young Kilmore half back line led by Ben Douglas is allowed to get across to help out and then walk the ball out of defensive 50, this one will be done before it gets started.

Key Players
Kilmore - Ben Douglas, Codey Phillips, Matthew Swindles.
Diggers Rest - Jack Sheehan, David Bourne, Jamie Elliott

Kilmore by 28 points.

Mooney Valley Racing Club Reserves Preliminary Final - Wallan Vs Macedon FC

This game is a repeat of the Qualifying Final, end of season 1st Vs 2nd.
But the game takes a completely different outlook to last time around.
Macedon had to work all day to shake off the determined Woodend/Hesket last week and this week will again rely on the output from James Wright, Daniel Sandle, Sean Kennedy and Scott Carter. In the first game Carter nearly split the game apart with 5 goals and last week had 6 shots on goal for only 1 goal, he looks as though he could be the X factor for the Cats, but for goodness sake Scotty, stop celebrating until the thing goes through.
Wallan pushed Centrals right to the wire last week but will be bitterly disappointed with the loss that forces them into this game, they were raging favorites last week and were simply outplayed by a much more determined and disciplined outfit, but the 9 point loss is by far not the end of the world. Up forward the Magpies have a mid sized forward that has so far been excellent in the finals series, if they can continue to get the output that Jamie Mastaeller has provided they will go a long way to winning this game. Two players that have been good so far are Brenton Hanson and Dale Keenan, but the Magpies need more from these two to go from being a finals contender into a finals favorite.
Two weeks ago, the Magpies destroyed the Cats in the air, they are in for more of a battle this week. Big ruckman Daniel Sandle didn't play last time around but he is back from senior commitments and will be a force that the Magpies need to keep an eye on, as is James Wright. Nipper is one of the best players in the senior competition, so he is always going to be a threat in this reserves finals competition.

Key Players:
Wallan FC - Jamie Mastaeller, Brenton Hanson, Dale Keenan.
Macedon FC - James Wright, Daniel Sandle, Scott Carter

Macedon FC by 8 points.

Melton Toyota Cup Preliminary Final - Riddell Vs Lancefield

The second of the games that is a rematch of the 1st Qualifying Final.
Two weeks ago these two sides put on a fantastic display of finals football at Boardman Reserve and with a spot in the Grand Final up for grabs, we can expect nothing less today.
Lancefield were disappointed with losing to the Bombers in the first week, but bounced back with a thrilling one point win over the unlucky Diggers Rest last week. After 2 games on smaller grounds, the Tigers will be happy to get back onto a bigger ground this week to face the Bombers, they have the confidence that they are able to outrun and spread the Riddell side across the ground. With Ben Talbot getting off his charge at the tribunal he will be a key up forward for the Tigers, along with Ruffell who two weeks ago kicked 7 goals, 6 in the first half before being held quiet in the second half by Jason Allen. Will the Burra go straight to Allen this week? Last week he was terrible against the Redbacks, probably the worst game I have ever seen the Bombers skipper play, he will be keen to bounce back this week, but I think he plays his best football as the floating defender. Whether the Bombers throw him there as the loose man or not, who knows, but they cant make the same mistake as last time by playing Ellis on Ruffell, he just didn't have the pace, he might be better suited to Talbot. Robertson was great for the Bombers last time, while Nick Ash went forward and Lancefield couldn't find a match up for him. It worked once, will the Bombers flirt with playing him forward though, it took too long to move him back last week and probably in the end cost the Bombers the win. Meacham needs to play from Full Forward on Irwin, it takes him out of the hole and puts Meacham in a one on one lead out of the goal square, Irwin will find that tougher to stop. Brayden Allen has been huge for the Bombers the last 2 weeks, and he needs to go again against Waters this week, tough gig, Waters then Connellan then Waters and if the Bombers get up Connellan again, but he is proving to be very resiliant.
The Tigers need to get plenty of space, if this game turns into stoppage footy, ala 2 weeks ago in the second half, the Bombers will be too strong, if the Tigers can get out and running then the Bombers will be ripe for the picking. A match up to look forward to this week will be the midfield. The Bombers look a much better balanced side with Casson in the midfield and with Whittle and Coles changing in as the grunt, and Whittard the Bombers look to have matched what they missed in the first half 2 weeks ago. I look forward to this Midfield battle, Waters, Collins, Shewan, Maunsell, Talbot and Benny John up against Allen, Whittle, Coles, Casson, Whittard and Belleville. The big loss, if he doesn't play, will be Cam McCabe. Kegga single handedly turned the game for the Bombers with his ability to read the ball and goal sense, I think he might sneak into the side and play out of the square, but if not, the guy to watch for the Bombers is Bomber.. Besanko was brilliant in the last 5 minutes 2 weeks ago and will need to step up if Kegga doesn't play. Conversly, Myles Dorman up the other end has been solid for the Tigers, but he is capable of outstanding. We saw what can happen when a young man who is capable of outstanding can turn the game - Cameron Dawson - and the Bombers need to be wary of what Myles can bring to this game. Both sides will give everything tomorrow, I think there will be everything in this game, an explosive start will be one of them, I cant wait for this one to begin.

Key Players:
Riddell - Brayden Allen, Dean Besanko, Cam Casson.
Lancefield - Ben Talbot, Myles Dorman, Leigh Irwin.

Riddell by 4 points.