RDFL Thread 2009

looks like your the lone idiot then pal.id suggest that the last thing rockbank needs is help from people like you .
but we need people who didnt see the incident to make stupid comments? every one is an expert, i for one will stand by my team mate regardless of what happens, he is the nicest, highly decorated suburban footballer you would ever see or meet, people all over the western region would agree. its easy to sit back and call him whatever you like when you dont even know the bloke, everyone in the wrfl is in shock of what happened because it is completely out of his character. Never been reported, 2 best in comps, the list goes on. i whole heartedly do not condone what he did he will serve his time.A MOMENT OF MADNESS,A LIFE TIME OF SCRUITINY

Just like the guy and the goat!

Some people talking about kicking them out of the comp.

Throw out a club for the result of 1 player losing his head? not too sure about that. As a committee member of a club I would say no club could prevent this happening. As reported in earlier posts it was completely out of character for the accused, so it's not like the club was taking a risk putting a loose canon on the park.
If the club could read his mind well then maybe, but i don't think many people have that power. I think it will come down to whether or not the club has had any indiscretions in the past few years. remember it was only 2 years ago they won the club of the year award.
The only other problem i could see arising if they are allowed to continue is, will the umpire association stand by their kid, blame the club and not send umpires to games, or could umpires themselves refuse. probably not but who knows?

This will be a very big week at RDFL HQ, not only are they getting ready to organise the first interleague game in years, but now they have this issue to deal with.

Therein lies the problem is that the RDFL have no influence on the Umpires Association. Numerous complaints have been made against the Simmos' and against the umpire that got hit, and what happens, NOTHING, because they can't.

Again, whilst I don't condone the actions of the player in the 12 years I had involvement in the RDFL I continually had issues with the Simmos and there were many a time that they were lucky to leave the field without a transgession from either a player or the crowd. There are a couple of younger umpires that are getting ego boosts from crowd banter and it seems that they are apprentices of the Simmos.

I have heard about the Simmos in the train in the morning boasting about their acheivements on the weekends with footy. As far as I am concerned, people shouldn't know umpires names as they should be invisible and not make an impact on games, 4 big dud umpires in the RDFL. 2 x Simmos, McFarlane and Cusack, Can't really name any good ones as they are not apparent however Ted Cassen was good but I don't think he is umpiring anymore, PITY.

Ted is still running around, i saw him umpire an under 18 game a couple of weeks ago. He is not a bad umpire, calls it as he sees it, but i think might not be up to senior umpiring.
You could put the big sauce head Adam Icely in the category of one of the best in the league, he lets the game flow and only blows his whistle when he sees something, not when he thinks it might have happened but he couldn't see it.
I haven't seen him at all this year, does anybody know if he is still umpiring this year?
IMO. Old man John Weston is always a cracker to get in the 2s, very loud and explains every decision to the players, even when the player knows he was wrong, the players also knew how John saw it.

It goes to show, he who played the game can sometimes umpire the game, the rules are interpreted better better at positioning and reading the play. They also have the ability to get on the same level as the players, Calling it as it is.

putting yesterdays incident aside, i am looking forward to seeing the SFL absolutely towel up the RDFL rep side.

Far more talent will be on the park for the SFL. Maybe once we dispose of your league, they will give us quality opposition in the form of the Ammo's or the EFL.

I saw the crowd behind the coaches box cheer when it took place. I even saw and heard the runner continue to threaten the umpire after he had been struck. The rockbank coach had no control of the people on the bench or the players on the field . Some rockbank players wanted to fight even after the young bloke was so cowardly attacked .
I don't have any problem with you standing by your ex team mate . What took place is only his fault and no one else's . Give him life from football , and let the criminal courts do what they do . I'm sure they will be keen to make an example of him. If Rockbank as a club have any real commitment to the league they will ask you to hook up to your caravan and move on down the road .

putting yesterdays incident aside, i am looking forward to seeing the SFL absolutely towel up the RDFL rep side.

Far more talent will be on the park for the SFL. Maybe once we dispose of your league, they will give us quality opposition in the form of the Ammo's or the EFL.

Maybe, we will have to wait until Saturday. You better let your side know to pack their snow boots as they are predicting it to snow in Macedon next week.

Therein lies the problem is that the RDFL have no influence on the Umpires Association. Numerous complaints have been made against the Simmos' and against the umpire that got hit, and what happens, NOTHING, because they can't.

Again, whilst I don't condone the actions of the player in the 12 years I had involvement in the RDFL I continually had issues with the Simmos and there were many a time that they were lucky to leave the field without a transgession from either a player or the crowd. There are a couple of younger umpires that are getting ego boosts from crowd banter and it seems that they are apprentices of the Simmos.

I have heard about the Simmos in the train in the morning boasting about their acheivements on the weekends with footy. As far as I am concerned, people shouldn't know umpires names as they should be invisible and not make an impact on games, 4 big dud umpires in the RDFL. 2 x Simmos, McFarlane and Cusack, Can't really name any good ones as they are not apparent however Ted Cassen was good but I don't think he is umpiring anymore, PITY.
Cassen umpired the twos before this game . If he was still at the ground I reckon the rockbank player might have got his right whack:D

Ted is still running around, i saw him umpire an under 18 game a couple of weeks ago. He is not a bad umpire, calls it as he sees it, but i think might not be up to senior umpiring.

Give me Teddy over McFarlane or Simmo anytime, you said it right he calls it as he sees it, he is a former player, he knows the game.

The RDFL gave McFarlane the Under 16 grand final last year and he was shocking, he sent a player off for something he thought he heard but it didn't happen, the player he sent off had an unblemished junior career until the last 10 minutes of that game, all because he wanted to make a name for himself and he was so proud of it the week after.

The mentality of the Umpire Association is thay don't think, last year Under 16 GF, 2 Sunbury sides against each other and they put a 16 year old Sunbury person as the umpire not a smart move from a very unsmart orginsation.

Time will tell CT, but this should be the main topic for discussion this week. What's the participation rate like from your guys? Will we see close to your best team or are there a few "niggling injuries"?

For that matter, how are looking in the RDFL? Is our best team going to take the field? Hasn't been much talk about the squad or the final team.

Rockbank have a disgraceful record over the past few years - how many last chances are required:

- Iron bar attack on spectator by a Rockbank Junior Player in 2007.
- Under 10 game called off because of drinking by Rockbank Spectators and abusing and threatening umpire.

There are countless other incidents from their Junior Teams - and now the senior section of the club is leading the way.

Time to go Rockbank.

The mentality of the Umpire Association is thay don't think, last year Under 16 GF, 2 Sunbury sides against each other and they put a 16 year old Sunbury person as the umpire not a smart move from a very unsmart orginsation.

That was a shocking appointment - and the RDFL has been working to try and bring control of the umpiring from the RDFLUA - but I dont think they have the balls enough to do it.

Well they continue with the shocking appointments, the RDFL need to do something, luckily I won't be at this years GF to witness another schmozel.

Time will tell CT, but this should be the main topic for discussion this week. What's the participation rate like from your guys? Will we see close to your best team or are there a few "niggling injuries"?

For that matter, how are looking in the RDFL? Is our best team going to take the field? Hasn't been much talk about the squad or the final team.

I have heard that one or two clubs have not sent a player to training at all, I also believe that The only kangas players that are unavailable for selection that were in the squad are Rob Ellis (hamstring) and Matt Welsh (overseas).
Which players from which clubs that have been selected in the squads are unavailable and which players could make the side.
Has Gaaarrrryyy been asked to play?

It looks like 1 player that was invited will definitely not be available

I am reading this thread and cannot believe your personal comments about umpires. I would like to state that I am not from your area and have no idea of the teams and individuals concerned.

For those who are commenting on umpires, your opinions are biased and more importantly uneducated. If any of you have had the courage to take the field as an umpire you would have a much different perspective of what umpires do.

You actually believe that you know the rules of game, as an x afl umpire I am here to tell you that you knowledge of the rules and more improtantly how the umpires are coached to interupt the rules is poor to say the least. Did you know for example that the interuptation of holding the ball at AFL games is vastly different to local leagues??

The only people that can judge an umpire's performance that warrants any merrit is the umpiring body, not the players officials or spectators.

In my many years of umpiring I have never experienced any umpire who has not had the best intentions of game and who was not was trying their best to do a good job.

For those of you who critise umpires and use their names on such forums, you are weak(be careful what you say these forums do not protect your identity in legal proceedings).

Umpiring is an amazing skill that teaches people who take it on invaluable life skills. You need to make instant decisions, you need to accept that regardless of what you decision you make 50% will disagree. You have to accept that you cannot please people and therefore you must assess your self and make your own judgements on your performance (unless coaches are available for feedback). You learn confidence, self control, courage under fire, to be assertive, to discuss and explain, leadership skills, communication, organisation, dedication and fitness.

It may surprise some of you that I have found the majority of umpires to be highly intelligent, dedicated and successful individuals.

The best way to improve umpiring standards is to have good coaching and increase the number of umpires. Like any club that wins premierships these days your spend money to get good players. Spend some money on the coaching department, pay more money for umpires to officate games, an extra $30 a game would be very little for a club compared to what Gary Moorcroft is paid. Recruit more kids, $60 for 2 hours work is great pay for a 14 y/o. Set up academies and recruit from the local junior football clubs, they can do both umpiring and still play.

For those of you openly critical of umpires on this forum, your attitude, antics and abuse at matches possible contributed to what occurred on the weekend.

To the 16y/o umpire, I would love to see you umpiring in 2 weeks time.

I am reading this thread and cannot believe your personal comments about umpires. I would like to state that I am not from your area and have no idea of the teams and individuals concerned.

For those who are commenting on umpires, your opinions are biased and more importantly uneducated. If any of you have had the courage to take the field as an umpire you would have a much different perspective of what umpires do.

You actually believe that you know the rules of game, as an x afl umpire I am here to tell you that you knowledge of the rules and more improtantly how the umpires are coached to interupt the rules is poor to say the least. Did you know for example that the interuptation of holding the ball at AFL games is vastly different to local leagues??

The only people that can judge an umpire's performance that warrants any merrit is the umpiring body, not the players officials or spectators.

In my many years of umpiring I have never experienced any umpire who has not had the best intentions of game and who was not was trying their best to do a good job.

For those of you who critise umpires and use their names on such forums, you are weak(be careful what you say these forums do not protect your identity in legal proceedings).

Umpiring is an amazing skill that teaches people who take it on invaluable life skills. You need to make instant decisions, you need to accept that regardless of what you decision you make 50% will disagree. You have to accept that you cannot please people and therefore you must assess your self and make your own judgements on your performance (unless coaches are available for feedback). You learn confidence, self control, courage under fire, to be assertive, to discuss and explain, leadership skills, communication, organisation, dedication and fitness.

It may surprise some of you that I have found the majority of umpires to be highly intelligent, dedicated and successful individuals.

The best way to improve umpiring standards is to have good coaching and increase the number of umpires. Like any club that wins premierships these days your spend money to get good players. Spend some money on the coaching department, pay more money for umpires to officate games, an extra $30 a game would be very little for a club compared to what Gary Moorcroft is paid. Recruit more kids, $60 for 2 hours work is great pay for a 14 y/o. Set up academies and recruit from the local junior football clubs, they can do both umpiring and still play.

For those of you openly critical of umpires on this forum, your attitude, antics and abuse at matches possible contributed to what occurred on the weekend.

thank god someone who actually knows what their talking about
i couldnt believe when i read this the ammount of you that actually tried to give reasons as to why the player attacked the umpire and make out that the players are the 'victims'
absolutely pathetic.

As you said you are not from this league and don't know the history, my opinions are not uneducated as I have had a son in law that was an umpire and one that didn't get much critisism because before he was an umpire he was a good footy player but got bad injuries and couldnt' play.

The "so called" top umpires in this league are failed players. and whilst they may have the best intentions they have no idea how the game is played and they umpire accordingly.

You said "Umpiring is an amazing skill that teaches people who take it on invaluable life skills"

Well the RDFL umpires need a better teacher, as the young ones under the wings of the simmos are under serious threat.

I have always tried to back the umpys but there comes a time where the likes of the simmoes etc have to become accountable, and this weekend they stuffed up big time.

Leave the kid alone, do you really think he wants to hear about crap like this at this point in time??
Stop making out like he is the bad one in all this, no-one deserves what he was dealt. NO matter what.

Leave the kid alone, do you really think he wants to hear about crap like this at this point in time??
Stop making out like he is the bad one in all this, no-one deserves what he was dealt. NO matter what.

Not blaming him but the silly umpires association that allocated him the game, same with yesterday, given what has been said why would you have a 16 year old umpiring the senior game and someone like Ted Cassen umpiring the reserves. He goes where he is told and the association is placing the wrong umpires at games, they just don't think.

Did you know for example that the interuptation of holding the ball at AFL games is vastly different to local leagues??

You are right there, but the problem starts at the highest point, the AFL are consistently changing the rules. years ago, AFL rules were the same across the board, now some local comps choose to adopt some rules and not others, eg. the ammos have adopted the rushed behind rule but many comps haven't.
Perhaps more communication to the spectators and players on how each individual league interpret different rules. Most of us watch friday night football, and we see some free kicks and wonder why they're not paid on a Saturday, as would umpires.
The problem with crowd and player behavior and abuse towards umpires in a lot of leagues has worsened. Maybe it is due to not knowing the different rules. Maybe it is now time for the AFL to stand up, back the leagues and push the difference in rules to the local football public.
If the crowd understand the interpretation, I'm sure you would see the levels of abuse drop. Could you imagine the AFL changing a rule and not letting a crowd of 80,000 Collingwood and Carlton supporters know, they would be skinned alive.

I am not making excuses for abusing umpires nor Finger pointing, just suggesting a way to slow it down.

Plus the kid is only really qualified to umpire under 14's and has been placed in a senior environment with another umpire that has no respect 2 + 2 + 5

Get a life mate, you're publicly naming and dumping shit on a 16 year old kid for going out there week in, week out and having a crack at a job most blokes wouldn't have the aggots to do:thumbsdown:.

To say that no one should know umpires names is just ignorant, I have a very good relationship with alot of the players and coaches inside this league, and I know it makes it alot easier for me to officiate in games by having those relationships, I also think there is a greater understanding from the players and coaches if they are able to approach me before, during or after a game of footy, even outside of the footy setting.