RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 1)

they'd have a big job on their hands doing up the rooms to that kind of standard, not that there is anything wrong with what they've got, it just aint big enough. They would need a kitchen too.

It's funny you should say that because I've seen some drawn-up plans which would see a completely new clubhouse/changerooms built at Romsey Park.

They are also expanding across the road at the little athletics oval for a new footy/cricket/soccer ground so big things happening down there.

I know Jim Hogan fairly well and he has always threatened to rip down the pub and "stick it" to the Romsey community (the minority anyway) for opposing his plans.

He has the money to go through with his threat, although I think he'll hold on to the pub for a few more years yet.

they'd have a big job on their hands doing up the rooms to that kind of standard, not that there is anything wrong with what they've got, it just aint big enough. They would need a kitchen too.

You've got to be joking :eek: Haven't you seen the away change rooms & the canteen that is pressed up against the pisser........ Its a disgrace !:mad:
Its just not funny anymore, having the odorous stench of dung & stale urine waft up your nasal passage whilst your trying to chow down & enjoy your hot dog, pie, sausage roll or pastie ! (or in IMS case all 4 !) as your watching the footy.

The hovel should have been pulled down & replaced 50 years ago !

*********Here's an idea Romsey -

Instead of throwing heaps of cash at players, trying to buy success, how about using some of the Bounty of $$$$$$ you made this season (+the sellout final) ! To fund something "NEW" (facility wise) at your ground !
You should be embarrassed by that shanty "SLUM" you call a change rooms up there ! :eek::mad:

A little bit harsh there OMNI. I agree Romsey's facilities are a shamble, but why should the club be forced to pump all that money into what I believe are "community facilities".

Even though football clubs pay players and run like a business, they are still run by volunteers and provide the community entertainment.

The Macedon Ranges Shire Council should really be taking a good look at themselves. Instead of pumping millions of dollars into fighting a bloke who wants poker machines at his pub (which isn't illegal by the way!), perhaps they should be putting money back into sport and rec facilities on the East side of the bloody shire where the real growth is.

Lancefield, Romsey and Riddell have had sweet f-ck all handed out to them over the years compared to the likes of Gisborne, Woodend and Kyneton.

You could probably even throw Macedon into the equation. Council did go guarantor for their loan, but I'm not aware of much cash been thrown that way in recent times.

A little bit harsh there OMNI. I agree Romsey's facilities are a shamble, but why should the club be forced to pump all that money into what I believe are "community facilities".

Even though football clubs pay players and run like a business, they are still run by volunteers and provide the community entertainment.

The Macedon Ranges Shire Council should really be taking a good look at themselves. Instead of pumping millions of dollars into fighting a bloke who wants poker machines at his pub (which isn't illegal by the way!), perhaps they should be putting money back into sport and rec facilities on the East side of the bloody shire where the real growth is.

Lancefield, Romsey and Riddell have had sweet f-ck all handed out to them over the years compared to the likes of Gisborne, Woodend and Kyneton.

You could probably even throw Macedon into the equation. Council did go guarantor for their loan, but I'm not aware of much cash been thrown that way in recent times.

Hey dont get me started on that inept incompetent gaggle of money munching misfits pal, their only purpose in the whole order of things seem to be to "BAN" & "FINE", or "STIFLE" & "STYMIE" almost anything progressive of substance everywhere in the Shire......... except for ONE notable exception of course !
They should just stick to what they can just handle....... just....... that is - collecting the garbage & mowing the grass !

Thats why they are "THE" most expensive handyman service on the face of the earth ! :eek:

Nothing but a bunch of outa touch parasites !

heard an intersting little rumour on radio this morning that the romsey hotel has been sold and will be demolished making way for a supermarket with only take away alcohol as a direct result of not getting pokies....what effect will this have on the romsey football/netball club if true
Already a super market in the town, if the pub is to go, units will be erected!
Very hard for a pub to make money these days without pokies, once you pay wages and security doesnt come cheep!

You've got to be joking :eek: Haven't you seen the away change rooms & the canteen that is pressed up against the pisser........ Its a disgrace !:mad:
Its just not funny anymore, having the odorous stench of dung & stale urine waft up your nasal passage whilst your trying to chow down & enjoy your hot dog, pie, sausage roll or pastie ! (or in IMS case all 4 !) as your watching the footy.

The hovel should have been pulled down & replaced 50 years ago !

*********Here's an idea Romsey -

Instead of throwing heaps of cash at players, trying to buy success, how about using some of the Bounty of $$$$$$ you made this season (+the sellout final) ! To fund something "NEW" (facility wise) at your ground !
You should be embarrassed by that shanty "SLUM" you call a change rooms up there ! :eek::mad:

Arent you the same bloke who has been hanging shit on Macedon for not forking out the masses of cash demanded by Blade, Climas & Houlihan? Macedon appear to be doing just what you are advising Romsey to do, spending their hard earned on facilities (social rooms, changerooms, lighting) rather than 'throwing heaps of cash at players trying to buy success'.
On another topic i belive Woodend will announce a big signing after xmas. Friend of a friend who has played a lot of footy at higher level. NBF Out!

Houlihan has not signed with Riddell - either Riddell or Hose has to budge if he is to play for the Bombers - and both seem to have no intent in doing so.

Well said Omni...if Romsey really do have the coin for some of the signings that they ve acquired perhaps they should be directing it to an improvement in facilities

The Hawkers have a young list this year with plenty of speed, With a couple of recruits still yet to sign we will do ok this year. One recruit will line up at full forward so going mok for this time of year. Dont spend as much money as others try to get loyal players amnd players who play for the jumper not the check book..

Bloody Hell lads I know it's the holiday period but surely there's not a gentleman type agreement or a cease fire to all communications this time of year????

Surely a club or two found a few extra bucks under the Chrissy tree, if not can someone at least make something up to fire up the thread again ;)

Bloody Hell lads I know it's the holiday period but surely there's not a gentleman type agreement or a cease fire to all communications this time of year????

Surely a club or two found a few extra bucks under the Chrissy tree, if not can someone at least make something up to fire up the thread again ;)

Yes it has been slow on here for a while , just when you have a opion on something Mod's change your comments.

Not much news around , The rover's have been active in the off-season throwing a little coin about.

Yes it has been slow on here for a while , just when you have a opion on something Mod's change your comments.

Not much news around , The rover's have been active in the off-season throwing a little coin about.

Christ :eek: I thought after reading the pre-Xmas banter they'd spent enough to win the flag already

I think that might be what he's talking about.

Anybody keen to have a crack at a pre clearance ladder based in rumours being floated around.
I would say

Riddell, Romsey
Sunbury
Lancefield, Macedon
Broadford
Wallan
Diggers
Woodend
Centrals
Kilmore
Rockbank

There are a few clubs keeping their recruits under their hat at the minute so the next 26 days will be interesting

well the club didnt win powerball, so i think youll find that the majority of the players have come across for the right reasons, rather than the allmighty dollar. I think too that with the fierce recruiting of sunbury lions in the off-season, some of their players are now making their way across to the kangas. also talk of the kangas spending enough to win the flag is fairly premature when you look at riddells recruits:thumbsu:

2nd bottom for us...you must've noticed our rubbish draw!

I think that might be what he's talking about.

Anybody keen to have a crack at a pre clearance ladder based in rumours being floated around.
I would say

Riddell, Romsey
Sunbury
Lancefield, Macedon
Broadford
Wallan
Diggers
Woodend
Centrals
Kilmore
Rockbank

There are a few clubs keeping their recruits under their hat at the minute so the next 26 days will be interesting

2nd bottom for us...you must've noticed our rubbish draw!

well, how did you know i look at your draw :D

Like i said, on rumours and last years form. the only one i have heard with you guys is James, he wont win a flag for you alone. how are you guys going on the recruiting front, any names signed yet.

Remember recruiting players wont help any club climb a ladder if everybody above you recruits the same way.

Like i said, on rumours and last years form. the only one i have heard with you guys is James, he wont win a flag for you alone. how are you guys going on the recruiting front, any names signed yet.

Remember recruiting players wont help any club climb a ladder if everybody above you recruits the same way.

It will iff he manages to help me out and recruit some of his former team mates from Balranald:D:D:D

from all reports blues 12 kilmore have recruited extremely well. i spoke to big jamesey last week, and he told me that if kilmore dont finish top 3 he will retire! plenty of confidence coming from there at the moment. good luck 2 them because players attract players

If we finished in the top 3 it would be huge. Like I say, considering our draw where we play 5 of the 6 2009 finals teams twice each. If we make finals, we'll have had a massive year!

and if you don't . . . .

I agree with Mongrel, plenty of confidence from what Im hearing ;). I hope Books has an injury free year coz from what I saw he's a bloody good leader. No doubt he'll have a better understanding of the list, the club and who's fair dinkum and who's not. Getting two former players in Nick and Rysa to assist himself and Jamie on match-days will also help spread the load.

Big AJ will give ya's a set of hands to kick to - I just hope ya's don't think it will happen coz North Bendigo were never gunna play finals last year even though Aaron got 130. Robbo's return will see other players get fair dinkum too, Wittmer and several other notable inclusions should see the Blue boys sneak into the bottom of the 6 IMO :thumbsu:

and if you don't . . . .

I agree with Mongrel, plenty of confidence from what Im hearing ;). I hope Books has an injury free year coz from what I saw he's a bloody good leader. No doubt he'll have a better understanding of the list, the club and who's fair dinkum and who's not. Getting two former players in Nick and Rysa to assist himself and Jamie on match-days will also help spread the load.

Big AJ will give ya's a set of hands to kick to - I just hope ya's don't think it will happen coz North Bendigo were never gunna play finals last year even though Aaron got 130. Robbo's return will see other players get fair dinkum too, Wittmer and several other notable inclusions should see the Blue boys sneak into the bottom of the 6 IMO :thumbsu:

If my sources were correct, when these 2 blokes left, the club was more than happy to part ways, with both having attitude problems. Hopefully for Kilmore these boys come back switched on, and ready to play for the team, as they are both quality players.

Doona your predicting them to sneak into the bottom of the 6, who else will finish where. who are your bottom 3 predictions?

Gee Doona, don't know. Blame the draw, blame injuries...anything but the President I suppose! :D

Ha ha you're learning quick my friend :thumbsu:

Not sure blues12, perhaps Lancefield, Romsey, Riddell just to share it round a bit and be fair to the others