Western Star33

Oct 12, 2009
West Footscray
I dont believe the RDFL would win easily even match i have played both Comps and i think Div 1 western region is alot better comp i think maybe only 1 or 2 rdfl teams would make finals in wrfl whereas 5 or 6 wrfl teams would make finals in RDFL

Re: RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 1)

I dont believe the RDFL would win easily even match i have played both Comps and i think Div 1 western region is alot better comp i think maybe only 1 or 2 rdfl teams would make finals in wrfl whereas 5 or 6 wrfl teams would make finals in RDFL

Which ridddle leegue team did ya play 4 western star

I have played for Kangas & Diggers i do belive the league has improved dramactily over the years more money in the comp more sponsers but teams like spotswood & Hoppers Crossimg have big budgets spotty spend 200,000 a year u just cant compete wif teams like that spotty have 5 blokes over 6ft 4 and they all dominate thats not even counting other teams who have big budgets hard to compare both leagues but would be good match to see

no its not true, he is being cleared to craigeburn as we speak, look at the northern league website clearance page, no offence to the rams but they couldnt afford his burger bill.

I dont think anyone could afford big lances burger. :D

Would there be enough interest in RDFL hosting a night game ala BFL sunbury v darley .. If so, how soon do you think this could be possible and what teams would you like to see traditionally play the night match?

Due a close-range comp. I think the crowd would suit the clubs wallet quite well!

Also after any info about if Rolling Meadows (2 min estate past sunbury) will have a senior team for 2012 as my rumours tell me

Would there be enough interest in RDFL hosting a night game ala BFL sunbury v darley .. If so, how soon do you think this could be possible and what teams would you like to see traditionally play the night match?

Due a close-range comp. I think the crowd would suit the clubs wallet quite well!

Also after any info about if Rolling Meadows (2 min estate past sunbury) will have a senior team for 2012 as my rumours tell me

That is their plan

I ask the question.

Who are the Favourites to make it into the finals this year?

Who will be the big improvers?

Who will be the biggest disappointment this?

Come on 2 rounds down and surely you have a comment on this Slyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I think it's to early to make predictions, everyone has recruited, but injuries can take their toll,you need to keep the list on the park each week, so you need a little luck as well. Riddell have recruited well and beat a very good team in a practice match, which indicated to me that they were going to be very strong, then they went out and smashed Lancefield and confirmed the obvious, so at this early stage i would think Riddell would be favourites ahead of Sunbury who have worked hard over the summer and recruited very well also. Who is looking forward to the drive down the Western HWY to Rockbank? anyone who has penciled in a win better think again, Lee Spry and his club have been very busy over the summer months trying to improve the list and have picked up some very good players, i would say they will be the big improvers for 2010.

Expansion

I was thinking about the perceived success/failure of the expansion of the RDFL over the past 3 years, there was plenty of discussion when the two teams came in, especially Wallan, yet we haven't really discussed what people's thoughts were on the overall success/failure of the venture..
Only really Broadford or Wallan people can discuss the off field success of the two sides, but just wondering what people's thoughts are on the following.

• On field success
  • Off field success
  • Position of both clubs within the RDFL environment.
  • Position of the RDFL clubs with these expansion teams now involved against position prior to thier entry.
I think it is an interesting point of discussion, especially as we haven't really had it since the two sides have entered. :thumbsu:

I have played for Kangas & Diggers i do belive the league has improved dramactily over the years more money in the comp more sponsers but teams like spotswood & Hoppers Crossimg have big budgets spotty spend 200,000 a year u just cant compete wif teams like that spotty have 5 blokes over 6ft 4 and they all dominate thats not even counting other teams who have big budgets hard to compare both leagues but would be good match to see

League is alot different to when you played in it mate. The strength throughout the top level of each side is exceptional, when you talk about an interleague game, you are talking about the top level of each side.. I don't think that there would be a smacking either way, but when you take the best of each comp and put them in sides, the match up would be a ripper, there is no point talking about the 200K that Hoppers and Spotty spend, because they would have maybe 2 or 3 reps each.

Re: Expansion

I was thinking about the perceived success/failure of the expansion of the RDFL over the past 3 years, there was plenty of discussion when the two teams came in, especially Wallan, yet we haven't really discussed what people's thoughts were on the overall success/failure of the venture..
Only really Broadford or Wallan people can discuss the off field success of the two sides, but just wondering what people's thoughts are on the following.

• On field success
  • Off field success
  • Position of both clubs within the RDFL environment.
  • Position of the RDFL clubs with these expansion teams now involved against position prior to thier entry.
I think it is an interesting point of discussion, especially as we haven't really had it since the two sides have entered. :thumbsu:
For Wallan it was certainly the right move, Wallan belongs in the RDFL and should never have left. The standard in the RDFL has improved rapidly in the last 3 years and should continue to do so, rivalries between Wallan,Kilmore, Broadford & Romsey are certainly healthy, and if the crowd of round 1 was an indication,then the return has been vindicated.

I was a bit disappointed to read the sunbury leader this morning with the riddell umpires supplying the BaFL umpires again this year. Shilling stated that he is giving them a chance to umpire at a higher level.
On the weekend it was quite obvious that we do not have enough senior umpires in our comp with one of the umpires at Kilmore being predominately a reserves umpire the last few years.
With the amount of quality players coming into our comp this year i would have to say the standard will again rise.
I am a big believer of looking after your own first before looking after others.

Its extremely disappointing !
Doesn’t Shilling have a memory ??
The BalFL screwed our umpires over with regard to giving them finals the last time the RDFL “Helped Them Out” !
The RDFL owes those ungrateful vultures NOTHING. Let their competition stew in the malaise of incompetence that is their game day officialdom now. It is all of their own doing !
And as far as that old chestnut goes – Shillings Quote “ Giving them the chance to Umpire at a HIGHER LEVEL “…… Well I have personally witnessed that “Higher level” Mr Shilling, over quite a period & I am telling you, it is a CROCK !

Its not a higher level or better standard at all. It is in fact most certainly a different style, that’s for sure. A different brand of footy, yes.

Over there they TRY & play an AFL style of footy. A possession brand of game. A philosophy that originated in SOCCER for gods sake ! Chip the ball around. Don’t kick to a contest. If no one is free, kick long down the line to a 50/50 so the ball will most likely go out of play so they can re-group & start again. The theory being – the more WE have the ball or the umpires have the ball, the less opportunity the opposition has to score. Its basically over sanitized, non contact, no contest keepings off !
The only trouble is at the local level, like the BalFL it continually breaks down through skill errors (& often in the AFL too) leading to an enormous amount of turn overs. Mid-fielders constantly changing direction, running far more than they should have to, becoming more & more fatigued, leading to more & more turn overs. In a nut shell, its bloody ugly unattractive footy.

The ONLY thing our RDFL umpires are gunna learn “FILLING IN”, in the BalFL is how to blow their whistles more. And that is all ! And the biggest lesson you will learn Mr Shilling in this misguided venture is - ….Always take plenty of “LUBE” with you when making agreements with the Ballarat Footy League !

This will only end in tears………… ONCE AGAIN !

Its extremely disappointing !
"Doesn’t Shilling have a memory ??
The BalFL screwed our umpires over with regard to giving them finals the last time the RDFL “Helped Them Out” !"

"And the biggest lesson you will learn Mr Shilling in this misguided venture is - ….Always take plenty of “LUBE” with you when making agreements with the Ballarat Footy League !"

This will only end in tears………… ONCE AGAIN !

whether it's a higher level of footy or not may be debatable, but as for the above comments the new agreement has been made on the RU's terms. We fill a full compliment of umpires at one ground (i.e. seniors, reserves and 18's) each round, any game we do fill are in the BalFL "eastern block", we wear our uniform and our agreement only extends the home and away season, RU umpires will only umpire RDFL finals, not BalFL finals.

So omni you can sleep tight at night knowing that we are not going to be "screwed" this time around and we will be leaving our lube securely in the top draw :p

whether it's a higher level of footy or not may be debatable, but as for the above comments the new agreement has been made on the RU's terms. We fill a full compliment of umpires at one ground (i.e. seniors, reserves and 18's) each round, any game we do fill are in the BalFL "eastern block", we wear our uniform and our agreement only extends the home and away season, RU umpires will only umpire RDFL finals, not BalFL finals.

So omni you can sleep tight at night knowing that we are not going to be "screwed" this time around and we will be leaving our lube securely in the top draw :p

WHY ???
Why are we helping them out ??? Whats in it for us ???
As for not doing their finals, I'm sure they are very happy to succeed to your "terms" there !!!

Do we have too many umpires or something ?

I must say also, the standard of umpiring at the Riddell/Melton game last week was ordinary to say the least pal. And two other people at two other games expressed the same sentiments about their games !

I hope we aint sending our best & brightest up there only to be left here with the dregs ??? :confused:

I agree completely with OMNI. Have our best in the seniors and strengthen the reserves and U18s via the flow-on effect. Bugger the Ballarat Football League.

Couple of important fixtures for a couple of touted finals teams in Romsey & Kilmore, 0 & 3 would certainly make things tough. Was glad to hear yesty that Kilmore and Dale Keenan have sorted out whatever it was that happened round one - thought he was lively in the Keilor Park praccy match I saw, working deep around the feet of James. He'd be in their best 22 surely, spose he comes in this week if not would be next as Im hearing the Blues need a little bit of small forward action to assist the big fella.

RDFL 2010 Season - Round 3

Diggers Rest FNC Vs Broadford FNC
Diggers Rest Reserve - Diggers Rest
The Burra are riding high after a big win against Romsey last week. The win came with several key players ruled out of the win through injury and other commitments. The Burra were all over the Redbacks and were able to control the tempo of the game, every time the Redbacks looked to fight back the Burra were able to respond. Stuart Clarke continued to prove what a valuable young talent he is for the Burra, while Danny McCabe proved too difficult for the Redbacks to contain. They certainly keep proving that they are capable of not only being competitive with the so called "contenders" but regularly beat them and away from home, that is where this could become a danger game if the Burra cant get themselves up. Broadford were gallant last week and were much improved on the first week, they took it right up to Wallan at home and in the end just lacked the polish to create an upset. Much rely's on Damien Barton, Mick Edwards and Grant Wearne, the Roos need to continue to work on the improvement of the younger brigade, they will get better every week, but they just need to be able to persevere.
Game Key: The Burra need to ensure that the intensity remains against one of the lower ranked sides, while Broadford need to take the game on, they are young and quick, the young will make mistakes but for the long term it is worth it, the message should be run run run.
Diggers Rest by 45 points.

Sunbury Kangaroos FNC Vs Rockbank FSC
Eric Boardman Reserve - Sunbury
The Kangaroos return home after one of the toughest road trips in the competition with success after knocking over Kilmore at Kilmore. The game was played at a good intensity and gave the Roos a real challenge for a side that hasn't really played much together, they will only improve with each outing. But the Roos have been hit with injury early, testing the depth, but they so far have covered it. Chris Meacham is in career form up forward, 16 shots on goal last week and will be looking to continue that form against the Rams. Rockbank have been big improvers on field with key recruits Zerafa, Kennedy and Jackel, they hit the front early in the last term against the reigning premiers and can certainly not be underrated. They need to come out firing early and get on top of the game, because if the Roos get away, with the crowd behind them, they will be very difficult to peg back. The battle of the midfield will be extremely entertaining for the crowd. If you get down to this game keep your eye on the two key forwards in Meacham and Innella as well as a young guy wearing number 29 for the Roos, he is capable of those special things that leave you shaking your head...
Game Key: The defense of both sides will be the make or break of this game, the midfield battle will be intense and worth watching, but both sides will get drive from the middle, meaning that the back 6 that proves staunch will gain an advantage.
Sunbury Kangaroos by 32 points.

Wallan FNC Vs Woodend/Hesket
Greenhill Reserve - Wallan
How do you put a measure on these two sides, in week one, Wallan were able to tactically put Kilmore to the sword, but early injuries in Round 2 meant they were pushed to the line by Broadford. The Hawks were thier usual grinding, hard working selves in round one, but were bettered by the Burra, then come out in Round 2 and demolish one of the more flamboyant and attacking units in the competition. The question this week will be whether the injuries sustained at Wallan last week will carry through into this week's game. The Magpies midfield has been the driving force so far, Carl Groth dominating the middle of the ground, while Shane Jacobs is proving an important piece in the Wallan jigsaw. The Hawks were obviously more than happy to welcome Ross Waters and Brett Cook back into the side that fell in Round 1. Waters booting 7 and having a massive impact on the result. The win changed the whole context of the Hawks season, putting them back in the group of contenders that some of us (mainly me) thought they were sliding away from.
Game Key: Backing up, both sides need to back up from last week in different ways, the Magpies had a few injuries that they need to deal with and depth looks to be a problem if these players don't come up. The Hawks announced themselves last week and opposition sides took notice. They need to follow up the work from last week.
Woodend/Hesket by 14 pts.

Lancefield FNC Vs Romsey FNC
Lancefield Park - Lancefield
The Grand Final replay takes place this week, and surprisingly, without much fanfare. The Redbacks and Tigers have a fierce history and this game will be no different. There will be fireworks. Romsey are desperate for thier first win of the season and would like nothing more than to bring it up against the Tigers. They have been disappointing the first couple of weeks and the loss of Dean Smith-Whiting to a hamstring injury will hamper them a little. I expect to see the Redback midfield up and about from the first bounce with Moorcroft and Green taking on Smith and Collins respectively. The important matchups here could be who cuts out the key players rather than the explosive stars through the respective midfields. I expect to see Romeril go to Collins, he has been underrated by opposition sides in the past, but seems to get a job every week and do it well. Trav Smith should get first crack at Gary, he will give his all for every moment of the game. There are the classic matchup's all over the ground that make this game an exciting prospect though (cant believe they don't play it on a Sunday anymore so we can all watch) Irwin on Burlak, Waters Vs Connellan, Ruffell being minded by Kairns. They are all exciting matchups within the game. Watch for big games from McNaughton and Dawson.
Game Key: Intensity, whoever can keep it up the longest across the board should be able to take control of the game. The Redbacks need to ensure that it is taken out on the ball and not through silly free kicks and the Tigers need to focus it into the game plan and ensuring they give thier forwards enough opportunity.
Romsey by 22 points.

Melton Centrals FNC Vs Kilmore FNC
McPherson Park - Melton
Centrals will be looking at this game as an opportunity to find some form and hopefully thier first win of the season. While they pushed Rockbank and Riddell in the second half of both losses, they seem to be starting slow from the blocks and allowing the opposition to get the jump on them. Centrals need to be inspired, they have some guys that are certainly capable of igniting that inspiration. Kane Bullen, Brian Wheelahan and Glenn Nankervis need to inject themselves into the game right from the outset to get Centrals up and going early. Kilmore took it right up to the Kangaroos last week and at 3 quarter time looked to be the winners. But poor disposal and decision making cost them the opportunity for the win. But Kilmore have class, and plenty of it. If Matt Robertson can start to find targets to add to his ability to find plenty of the ball, then opposition sides will find it very tough to stop the big guy sitting inside forward 50. Justin Collis was important last week as his run and carry gave the Blues drive, while Guy Booker is just a classy player, capable of a match winning performance. The Blues will definitely be looking for a lift from the 2nd tier players to get thier first win on the board in 2010.
Game Key: Aaron James, if the Blues give him enough opportunity, then Centrals will struggle to contain him. Unfortunately for Centrals, they just don't have someone inside forward 50 capable of inflicting anywhere near the amount of damage.
Kilmore by 50 pts.

Match of the Round
The "Climas" Cup
Macedon FC Vs Riddell FNC
Tony Clarke Reserve - Macedon
The excitement is building, the crowd is starting to mill.. The battle for the Climas Cup is about to take place, who will take home this coveted trophy, and who will inspire thier side enough to take home the Aaron Blade Medal.
The Cats were disappointing last week and that is as nice as it can be put. They were slaughtered by the Hawks and after a big win in Round 1, it was a massive letdown for them and RDFL supporters. No doubt they will be primed to bounce back against the premiership favorites, but they will need to dig deep. The loss of Andrew McArthur is massive, he is a really tough match up and a game winner, but on the positive side of things is the form of James Wright and Dan Markworth, two really impressive young home grown footballers that would be warming the hearts of the Macedon faithful. The Cats biggest problem so far seems to be that they need more from the big men. Daniel Sandle definitely needs to have more impact on the contest and the Cats are certainly missing Jai Wilton to fill the gaps. While the young guys are stepping up and playing good football, the leadership needs to do exactly that, lead the way. Goodwin, Christianson and Fleming will need big games here for the Cats to be a threat.
The Bombers are just happily motoring along on thier merry way, currently the clear flag favorites and have destroyed thier opposition in the opening two rounds. This looks to be a bigger test though. The Bombers forward line is again supreme, Matt Baird, Mick Allen, Gerrard Liddell and Cam McCabe seem to be doing as they please and opposition sides need to work out what is happening earlier, as they are being blown away before they can do anything about it. The Bomber midfield is again a key strength and clearances = domination.. Maybe the "Aura" is slowly returning.
Game Key: The midfield, both sides have forward lines capable of kicking a winning score, so the requirement to get on top at the stoppages will be crucial. The Bombers will be hard and the Cats will look to run, but this will be a ripping game, the Cats don't lose too many at Tony Clarke these days.
The Climas Cup goes to Riddell by 10 pts.
The Aaron Blade Medal goes to Aaron Blade.

some news out of kilmore there captain goudge is out for a few wks with a tear in his groin , hasnt had much luck that kid over the last couple of years with injuries, hope he bounces back from this and leads the blues to the finals ....

WHY ???
Why are we helping them out ??? Whats in it for us ???
As for not doing their finals, I'm sure they are very happy to succeed to your "terms" there !!!

Do we have too many umpires or something ?

I must say also, the standard of umpiring at the Riddell/Melton game last week was ordinary to say the least pal. And two other people at two other games expressed the same sentiments about their games !

I hope we aint sending our best & brightest up there only to be left here with the dregs ??? :confused:

Well we haven't bowed to any terms, these were the criteria we approached them with, and this time round we are actually dealing with the BF league not the BF umpires association. I also believe there is some financial benefit to our umpires association out of the partnership.

As for having too many umpires, it seems that we are not having any trouble filling games at the moment, including on the boundary where we have doubled our numbers since last season, which is a good position to be in.

And as long as there is football there will be umpires and as long as this occurs the quality debate will continue, so I wont buy into that.

some news out of kilmore there captain goudge is out for a few wks with a tear in his groin , hasnt had much luck that kid over the last couple of years with injuries, hope he bounces back from this and leads the blues to the finals ....

great fella Goudgey, hope he aint out for too long.

Re: RDFL 2010 Season - Round 3

diggers rest fnc vs broadford fnc
diggers rest reserve - diggers rest
the burra are riding high after a big win against romsey last week. The win came with several key players ruled out of the win through injury and other commitments. The burra were all over the redbacks and were able to control the tempo of the game, every time the redbacks looked to fight back the burra were able to respond. Stuart clarke continued to prove what a valuable young talent he is for the burra, while danny mccabe proved too difficult for the redbacks to contain. They certainly keep proving that they are capable of not only being competitive with the so called "contenders" but regularly beat them and away from home, that is where this could become a danger game if the burra cant get themselves up. Broadford were gallant last week and were much improved on the first week, they took it right up to wallan at home and in the end just lacked the polish to create an upset. Much rely's on damien barton, mick edwards and grant wearne, the roos need to continue to work on the improvement of the younger brigade, they will get better every week, but they just need to be able to persevere.
game key: the burra need to ensure that the intensity remains against one of the lower ranked sides, while broadford need to take the game on, they are young and quick, the young will make mistakes but for the long term it is worth it, the message should be run run run.
diggers rest by 45 points.

sunbury kangaroos fnc vs rockbank fsc
eric boardman reserve - sunbury
the kangaroos return home after one of the toughest road trips in the competition with success after knocking over kilmore at kilmore. The game was played at a good intensity and gave the roos a real challenge for a side that hasn't really played much together, they will only improve with each outing. But the roos have been hit with injury early, testing the depth, but they so far have covered it. Chris meacham is in career form up forward, 16 shots on goal last week and will be looking to continue that form against the rams. Rockbank have been big improvers on field with key recruits zerafa, kennedy and jackel, they hit the front early in the last term against the reigning premiers and can certainly not be underrated. They need to come out firing early and get on top of the game, because if the roos get away, with the crowd behind them, they will be very difficult to peg back. The battle of the midfield will be extremely entertaining for the crowd. If you get down to this game keep your eye on the two key forwards in meacham and innella as well as a young guy wearing number 29 for the roos, he is capable of those special things that leave you shaking your head...
game key: the defense of both sides will be the make or break of this game, the midfield battle will be intense and worth watching, but both sides will get drive from the middle, meaning that the back 6 that proves staunch will gain an advantage.
sunbury kangaroos by 32 points.

wallan fnc vs woodend/hesket
greenhill reserve - wallan
how do you put a measure on these two sides, in week one, wallan were able to tactically put kilmore to the sword, but early injuries in round 2 meant they were pushed to the line by broadford. The hawks were thier usual grinding, hard working selves in round one, but were bettered by the burra, then come out in round 2 and demolish one of the more flamboyant and attacking units in the competition. The question this week will be whether the injuries sustained at wallan last week will carry through into this week's game. The magpies midfield has been the driving force so far, carl groth dominating the middle of the ground, while shane jacobs is proving an important piece in the wallan jigsaw. The hawks were obviously more than happy to welcome ross waters and brett cook back into the side that fell in round 1. Waters booting 7 and having a massive impact on the result. The win changed the whole context of the hawks season, putting them back in the group of contenders that some of us (mainly me) thought they were sliding away from.
game key: backing up, both sides need to back up from last week in different ways, the magpies had a few injuries that they need to deal with and depth looks to be a problem if these players don't come up. The hawks announced themselves last week and opposition sides took notice. They need to follow up the work from last week.
woodend/hesket by 14 pts.

lancefield fnc vs romsey fnc
lancefield park - lancefield
the grand final replay takes place this week, and surprisingly, without much fanfare. The redbacks and tigers have a fierce history and this game will be no different. There will be fireworks. Romsey are desperate for thier first win of the season and would like nothing more than to bring it up against the tigers. They have been disappointing the first couple of weeks and the loss of dean smith-whiting to a hamstring injury will hamper them a little. I expect to see the redback midfield up and about from the first bounce with moorcroft and green taking on smith and collins respectively. The important matchups here could be who cuts out the key players rather than the explosive stars through the respective midfields. I expect to see romeril go to collins, he has been underrated by opposition sides in the past, but seems to get a job every week and do it well. Trav smith should get first crack at gary, he will give his all for every moment of the game. There are the classic matchup's all over the ground that make this game an exciting prospect though (cant believe they don't play it on a sunday anymore so we can all watch) irwin on burlak, waters vs connellan, ruffell being minded by kairns. They are all exciting matchups within the game. Watch for big games from mcnaughton and dawson.
game key: intensity, whoever can keep it up the longest across the board should be able to take control of the game. The redbacks need to ensure that it is taken out on the ball and not through silly free kicks and the tigers need to focus it into the game plan and ensuring they give thier forwards enough opportunity.
romsey by 22 points.

melton centrals fnc vs kilmore fnc
mcpherson park - melton
centrals will be looking at this game as an opportunity to find some form and hopefully thier first win of the season. While they pushed rockbank and riddell in the second half of both losses, they seem to be starting slow from the blocks and allowing the opposition to get the jump on them. Centrals need to be inspired, they have some guys that are certainly capable of igniting that inspiration. Kane bullen, brian wheelahan and glenn nankervis need to inject themselves into the game right from the outset to get centrals up and going early. Kilmore took it right up to the kangaroos last week and at 3 quarter time looked to be the winners. But poor disposal and decision making cost them the opportunity for the win. But kilmore have class, and plenty of it. If matt robertson can start to find targets to add to his ability to find plenty of the ball, then opposition sides will find it very tough to stop the big guy sitting inside forward 50. Justin collis was important last week as his run and carry gave the blues drive, while guy booker is just a classy player, capable of a match winning performance. The blues will definitely be looking for a lift from the 2nd tier players to get thier first win on the board in 2010.
game key: aaron james, if the blues give him enough opportunity, then centrals will struggle to contain him. Unfortunately for centrals, they just don't have someone inside forward 50 capable of inflicting anywhere near the amount of damage.
kilmore by 50 pts.

match of the round
the "climas" cup
macedon fc vs riddell fnc
tony clarke reserve - macedon
the excitement is building, the crowd is starting to mill.. The battle for the climas cup is about to take place, who will take home this coveted trophy, and who will inspire thier side enough to take home the aaron blade medal.
The cats were disappointing last week and that is as nice as it can be put. They were slaughtered by the hawks and after a big win in round 1, it was a massive letdown for them and rdfl supporters. No doubt they will be primed to bounce back against the premiership favorites, but they will need to dig deep. The loss of andrew mcarthur is massive, he is a really tough match up and a game winner, but on the positive side of things is the form of james wright and dan markworth, two really impressive young home grown footballers that would be warming the hearts of the macedon faithful. The cats biggest problem so far seems to be that they need more from the big men. Daniel sandle definitely needs to have more impact on the contest and the cats are certainly missing jai wilton to fill the gaps. While the young guys are stepping up and playing good football, the leadership needs to do exactly that, lead the way. Goodwin, christianson and fleming will need big games here for the cats to be a threat.
The bombers are just happily motoring along on thier merry way, currently the clear flag favorites and have destroyed thier opposition in the opening two rounds. This looks to be a bigger test though. The bombers forward line is again supreme, matt baird, mick allen, gerrard liddell and cam mccabe seem to be doing as they please and opposition sides need to work out what is happening earlier, as they are being blown away before they can do anything about it. The bomber midfield is again a key strength and clearances = domination.. Maybe the "aura" is slowly returning.
game key: the midfield, both sides have forward lines capable of kicking a winning score, so the requirement to get on top at the stoppages will be crucial. The bombers will be hard and the cats will look to run, but this will be a ripping game, the cats don't lose too many at tony clarke these days.
the climas cup goes to riddell by 10 pts.
the aaron blade medal goes to aaron blade.

isnt this game being played at romsey park???? Please somebody confirm

Re: RDFL 2010 Season - Round 3

By the look of the RDFL website IMS has made an mistake:rolleyes: it is at romsey park

Correct, it is at Romsey.. But the printed fixture I have here on the wall direct from the website... Shows it at Lancefield Park.. So apologies.. I was going by the fixture I have, might be time for a re-print.... :D

Well we haven't bowed to any terms, these were the criteria we approached them with, and this time round we are actually dealing with the BF league not the BF umpires association. I also believe there is some financial benefit to our umpires association out of the partnership.

As for having too many umpires, it seems that we are not having any trouble filling games at the moment, including on the boundary where we have doubled our numbers since last season, which is a good position to be in.

And as long as there is football there will be umpires and as long as this occurs the quality debate will continue, so I wont buy into that.

in regards to umpires I was told by a senior AFL umpire that they work on up to 4 mistakes a game which is acceptable by their coaching panel. If we were to say that you double or even triple that for a game in RDFL I reckon umpires would miss a few but 8-12 in a game?

If you equate that out to players making mistakes kicking effiencies would be around 65%(AFL are around this) which means 1 in 3 miss a target or dont make the distance. Average kicks per game per team lets say are 120 which means up to 80 are mistakes. When you look at mistakes made by umpires to players whilst there may be some howlers they will always be will in front as players make per capita a lot more mistakes.

If you dont believe me count a quarter on the weekend of the game you attend of all kicks and handballs that dont hit targets, fall short or are dropped in a non marking contest including turnovers. The numbers will surprise and whilst I dont think our umpires are perfect if players can improve these umpires can also improve.

At the end of the day we dont have a game unless we have a few blokes willing to cope our abuse:p

PS - Not an umpire.