RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 3)

Amazing..... Rovers get to play thier finals at HOME!!! Bit of an advantage you would think!!! Redbacks couldn't be too happy.

Surely the league could move this game to Rockbank and Burras /Cats to Boardman.... whoever did this fixture must have the also done the AFL...... so the pies could play thier last 7 at the MCG!!!

It continues to amaze me how our league administrators botch even the easiest of tasks. Why has Sunbury 1's and 2s got a home final? There were so many alternatives. I guess we just have to shake our heads in frustration and move on. I cant help but think the rdfl is very keen on seeing the rovers/roos win their first senior flag.

If anyone seriously thinks that simply playing a final on your home ground is gonna win you a flag they obviously don't know much about footy. By that logic Broadford could play Riddell in the Granny at their ground and win, somehow I don't see that happening. Pretty sure you need skilled players who are hard at it, have a bit of ticker, are coached my someone who knows what's what, can put in four quarters, execute a game plan etc to win a flag.

Sunbury KANGAROOS were due to host 1 and 2 and play their games at Rockbank. For some reason the league has decided to swap the venues with the netball staying at Rockbank and the footy being moved to Boardman. Maybe there was an issue with ground availability/condition. Maybe the Roos were finding it difficult to get enough helpers with footy and netball players in finals elsewhere. But that would be thinking logically. :D

I'm sure we can all find something to whinge about, like Macedon playing Seniors, A, B and C grade finals all at Rockbank on Sunday and the 2's and 18's playing at Romsey on the Saturday while other clubs are spread across the 3 venues or 2 on the one day. Then there's Lancefield having the home ground avantage on Grand Final Day last year and possibly again this year.

Point is, if the League can make everyone happy I'll have to stop worshipping my piece of toast that looks like Jesus and start hailing the almighty RDFL. FAT BLOODY CHANCE

Couldnt the league have fixtured Sunbury to host the qualifying finals on the Saturday, so its Riddel V Lancefield in the seniors (Macedon V Riddell in the2's)and no home ground advantage?

Also on Saturday Romsey to host Diggers V Macedon (Kilmore V diggers 2s).

Then on Sunday at Rockbank Sunbury and Romsey play in the seniors?

That way Sunbury and Romsey gets to host a final for the revenue and the league avoids giving a team home ground advantage??

Or does it have to work out that the qualifying final is the only games on the Saturday...

Well the regular season is done and dusted and the surprises kept on coming right up until the siren went to finish the season for some and keep the season alive for others...

The Tigers/Burra game was a classic arm wrestle in the first half, both sides involved themselves in an arm wrestle in a game that was played in a finals type spirit... Before I write this, I will clarify something for the Romsey contingent.. The Tigers did not tank in this game, were they overly concerned with the final result, probably not so much, but in the end, they were just outplayed by a side that is arguably the best when it comes to having their backs to the wall.
The first quarter saw the Burra kick with the aide of a slight breeze to the social rooms end of the ground. Early signs showed that this game would indeed be an arm wrestle all afternoon, a style of game that would suit the Burra. Early doors, the Tigers were well on top around the stoppages, but the Burra were able to counter that by keeping the ball moving, it wasn't free flowing, but a rugby style push of the ball forward. Craig Marshall was important early, as was Shane Marchewka who I thought was well on top of Tom Waters early. Chris Collins did what he always does, he and Stu Clarke were the best two players on the ground, both racking up plenty of the ball and giving their teams opportunity. The Burra's backline was most impressive though. Bevan Green, Michael Hildebrand and Jason Davies were well on top of their opponents. Hildebrand especially cutting off several of the Tigers foray's forward.
The second quarter was almost the key to the day. The Burra were relentless in defence, they had numbers dropping back to help out while the pressure through the middle of the ground was outstanding. Jeff Heritage put on a vintage centreman's display, he had the ball on a string and his use of it was first class, the Tigers didn't seem to want to go near him. Some terrible kicking at goal from the Tigers and three key forwards gone missing meant the Burra looked in control of the game, even with three very nice umpiring decisions (no downfield, followed by a very dodgy 50, then a very dodgy high free kick) that resulted in bad misses for the Tigers.
The third quarter was much the same. An armwrestle, but Burra skipper Shaun Sims and forward Dan McCabe proved the game breakers. The Tigers couldn't find a match up for McCabe while Sims was not only finding the ball but using it better than anyone else on the ground. The Burra only kicked 2 for the quarter, but they looked to have control of the game as the Tigers had no forward options having an impact.
The last quarter saw early goals to Diggers and effectively the end of the game as a contest early. Heritage and Clarke were still racking up the numbers through the middle while Marchewka and Gleeson were doing a number on Waters. When McCabe marked in the square and kicked his fourth, the game was done and dusted. Brett Caton was moved forward and this was the only time the Tigers looked dangerous up forward all day, but it was all too late. The Burra's running out comfortable 15 point winners.

My Votes
3 - Jeff Heritage (DR) - Was all class on the day, the best user of the ball on the ground and racked up plenty of it.
2 - Michael Hildebrand (DR) - Played a vital role in defence, head over the ball and strong in the air.
1 - Dan McCabe (DR) - Clearly the difference between the two sides, only guy on the ground that looked like making the difference.

Apologies - For the first time this year I will offer an apology to Shane Marchewka who was excellent in the ruck and outplayed Tom Waters.

What I learned from Round 18
  • We have a cracking finals series ahead of us. Whatever can be said about the sides in the finals, the best 6 sides in the competition will battle it out.
  • The Redbacks are the danger, coming from sixth, if they get past the Roos this week then they could possibly face Lancefield in the 2nd week, what a game that will be.
  • It's a real shame we don't get the double header, it was fantastic the last 2 years being able to watch all the finals games, this year we can't, shame that the league weren't able to score Clarke Oval, how good would a game on Saturday night have been?
Performance Ladder - Round 18
Woodend/Hesket
Diggers Rest
Romsey
Macedon
Riddell
Sunbury Kangaroos

Rockbank
Melton Centrals
Kilmore
Lancefield
Broadford
Wallan

Couldnt the league have fixtured Sunbury to host the qualifying finals on the Saturday, so its Riddel V Lancefield in the seniors (Macedon V Riddell in the2's)and no home ground advantage?

Also on Saturday Romsey to host Diggers V Macedon (Kilmore V diggers 2s).

Then on Sunday at Rockbank Sunbury and Romsey play in the seniors?

That way Sunbury and Romsey gets to host a final for the revenue and the league avoids giving a team home ground advantage??

Or does it have to work out that the qualifying final is the only games on the Saturday...

I heard a whisper that Sunbury were originally meant to have the Saturday final hosting Lancefield and Riddell, the venue was looked at from a distance and didn't appear good enough. Romsey would have been approached to host it instead. with them possibly playing Sunday.
After Saturdays game I would only assume 1. Wallans ground was deemed unfit for a final, 2. Romsey would have already accepted Saturday not Sunday on the condition they were not playing the same day. 3. After a closer look at Boardman it was deemed ok. 4. The game moved back on the proviso Sunbury could host it and play and still have the support to run it properly.
In the past clubs have not wanted to host a final and play at their home ground for the reason of struggling to get helpers to run it in a manner acceptable for a final. (not all clubs)

If a club finishes higher on the ladder they should have the option to host a home final if they wish to, and the ground is suitable.
This happens in the AFL, BallaratFL and more than likely other leagues.
Until the league have neutral grounds to use for finals this subject will always be a topic of debate.

I heard a whisper that Sunbury were originally meant to have the Saturday final hosting Lancefield and Riddell, the venue was looked at from a distance and didn't appear good enough. Romsey would have been approached to host it instead. with them possibly playing Sunday.
After Saturdays game I would only assume 1. Wallans ground was deemed unfit for a final, 2. Romsey would have already accepted Saturday not Sunday on the condition they were not playing the same day. 3. After a closer look at Boardman it was deemed ok. 4. The game moved back on the proviso Sunbury could host it and play and still have the support to run it properly.
In the past clubs have not wanted to host a final and play at their home ground for the reason of struggling to get helpers to run it in a manner acceptable for a final. (not all clubs)

If a club finishes higher on the ladder they should have the option to host a home final if they wish to, and the ground is suitable.
Until the league have neutral grounds to use for finals this subject will always be a topic of debate.

Well... Most times I find it hard to make sense of your posts B12...

All I can say to this one is...

:thumbsu:

Some B&F results coming through already

Kilmore
A surprise win to Matt Robertson over Aaron James with Guy Booker coming in third.

Broadford
Grant Wearne picked up his third B&F in four years.. A big congrats to Wearney who has certainly been rewarded for his consistency and loyalty.

Diggers Rest
Young gun Stuart Clarke picked up the B&F with Jeff Heritage a close second and Craig Marshall third.

Any other clubs had their count as yet?

I dont know why anyone would think Matt Robertsons win was a surprise clearly the best player at Kilmore

Only reason I say a surprise is that Kilmore also had a guy that kicked 126 goals for the season... And by all accounts from opposition sides was Kilmore's best player....

In saying that, Matt Robertson is obviously a great player and well done to him on winning another B&F for the Blues...

We had plenty of good comments from the Riddell supporters and players about the state of our ground (mind you they were probably only comparing it to there own) but they said best played on in a long time...

Anyway, Centrals Best and Fairest winner went to Justin Watkins with Paul Sproule a close second. Well done to all sides who made the finals. Will be following all our netball sides in the coming weeks :thumbsu:

Didnt happen in the VFL this year :( The club I follow finished 2nd, and neither them or the top team Williamstown got a home final, yet bloody Box Hill got one for finishing 5t or 6th :thumbsdown:

Instead of a trip to Ballarat, it's now a trek to TEAC Oval :thumbsdown:

It continues to amaze me how our league administrators botch even the easiest of tasks. Why has Sunbury 1's and 2s got a home final? There were so many alternatives. I guess we just have to shake our heads in frustration and move on. I cant help but think the rdfl is very keen on seeing the rovers/roos win their first senior flag.
rovers/roos wont win the flag as they cant beat riddle

Final standings for the RDFL tipping competition...

Code:
RDFL TIPPING COMPETITION
   [B]1    Pato34              89[/B]
   2    matt_nicholls       88
   3    Cats2010            87
   4    Underestimated      87
   5    OMNIPOTENT_1        86
   6    Doona               84
   7    Kings Army          84
   8    Noathingortwo       84
   9    Itsmyshow           83
   10   Joeblow2            81
   11   Blues12             78
   12   Gemini17            78
   13   slyone              77
   14   sprechen            75
   15   silly monkey        74
   16   grumpy smurf        72
   17   walks               55
   18   mongrel             45

Simple, drag it out to 22 rounds, or would that see some club budgets blow out by another $10-$15k for the extra 4 rounds??? For the league they could even tack on say another $3-4k in their already high league fee's. Two more gates, two more canteen's, two more bar lots of bar takings - everyone's a winner :thumbsu:

On a more serious note, whats gunna happen at Lancefield today? Conflicting stories depending on which camp you talk to - Some Romsey folk honestly feel their rivals might "tank", personally I reckon they'd love to settle the 1-all scoreline with a decider thru the finals. Was thinking about going to Lancefield for a bit this arvo after work - Tiger fans is it worth me while???

Simple Doona, come back to the HDFL were the league fees are $13.000, just think what B/Ford could do with that extra cash instead of paying it to the league,thats why the HDFL are in good shape being fair to all sides with fees and no stuppid fines:thumbsu:

Amazing..... Rovers get to play thier finals at HOME!!! Bit of an advantage you would think!!! Redbacks couldn't be too happy.

Surely the league could move this game to Rockbank and Burras /Cats to Boardman.... whoever did this fixture must have the also done the AFL...... so the pies could play thier last 7 at the MCG!!!

ROVERS!!! why take pot shots at us you tool. we only play where we are told!

As much as I hate to say it – Kilmore have been very very disappointing for the last month and Saturday was a shocker. How can you comprehensively beat a team away the first time round and then lose to them at home? Complacency? The drums have started to beat at Kilmore!!

Also, I have heard that there was a RDFL special meeting last night about the Auditor’s report. Re-grilling of the old GM I heard.

pretty sure it was luck of the draw for the kangas recieving a home final, who really cares anyway the better side on the day will win and if you cant beat a team on their home ground then perhaps you shouldnt be in the finals.
just read in the paper that it was aaron james last game for kilmore, anybody know where he is off to next year ?

pretty sure it was luck of the draw for the kangas recieving a home final, who really cares anyway the better side on the day will win and if you cant beat a team on their home ground then perhaps you shouldnt be in the finals.
just read in the paper that it was aaron james last game for kilmore, anybody know where he is off to next year ?
What paper was that in ??? pretty sure he is staying where he is

ROVERS? And you support the Riddell FOLDERS. When Sunbury missed second spot by percentage, I think they are well within their rights to play a home final against a team that finished sixth. Romsey are in a great position, they have had a disappointing season with their star studded list and yet can potentially be playing next week for a spot in the grand final. I spoke to a few sunbury players on saturday and they were more than happy to play at rockbank. so go back to your secret little box loser:thumbsdown:

That is incorrect it is the highest winner plays for that spot. If Romsey beat Sunbury, the winner out of Diggers v Macedon will play for the grand final spot the following week

What paper was that in ??? pretty sure he is staying where he is

Whoops.. :eek: my big blunder there, I mixed the last edit up in reference to Brett Cook playing his last game at the Hawks and playing on James.. hopefully he does stay at the club next year in hope that he and the Blues can bounce back next year!

That is incorrect it is the highest winner plays for that spot. If Romsey beat Sunbury, the winner out of Diggers v Macedon will play for the grand final spot the following week

It will be interesting if lancefield meet diggers in the second week of the finals..:p

Some B&F results coming through already

Kilmore
A surprise win to Matt Robertson over Aaron James with Guy Booker coming in third.

Broadford
Grant Wearne picked up his third B&F in four years.. A big congrats to Wearney who has certainly been rewarded for his consistency and loyalty.

Diggers Rest
Young gun Stuart Clarke picked up the B&F with Jeff Heritage a close second and Craig Marshall third.

Any other clubs had their count as yet?

guy booker didnt come third in kilmores best and fairest!