RDFL Thread

woodsmen said:
Well Kanga's might of once been a rabble, but from all my time watching and following the RDFL i've never seen the quality of kids in the Roos team before.I agree that other clubs do have better kids then that of the Roos but its the first season that the future has looked bright for the club. Overall i believe the RDFL is in excellent shape for the future with the quality of kids everyteam contains.

Woodend- Matt Stacey, Josh Hegarty etc.Sunbury- Matt Welsh, Cam McIntyre,Macedon-Adam Gould, Jae Wilton,Rockbank-Jason Welfare, HillBilly(not sure of actual name),Romsey-Ben Crowyn, Cam Dawson,Lancefield-Steven Burlak, Sam Graham,Riddel- Murray Mcdougal, Jeremy Edwards, Barker Boys. Not too sure about Kilmore and Centrals because of the fact we haven't seen the U/18's in those clubs for a few years.
Agree totally Woodsmen... There is some real quality young footballers coming through the Under 18's in the RDFL these days... And many more to come... Kilmore have young guys like Madison who led the 16's to finals this year and won the league B&F. The Riddell guys are predominately bottom age and the other sides have quality young kids coming through from the 16's again, going to make for a great 18's comp next year.

roge_3 said:
Agree totally Woodsmen... There is some real quality young footballers coming through the Under 18's in the RDFL these days... And many more to come... Kilmore have young guys like Madison who led the 16's to finals this year and won the league B&F. The Riddell guys are predominately bottom age and the other sides have quality young kids coming through from the 16's again, going to make for a great 18's comp next year.

dont worry about maddison, how bout hede from kilmore 16s in 2004, they won the flag he won best % fairest, best on ground in grand final, kicked 40 goals from on the ball.. played in a premiership wif ACK 1sts this year. or arnt u prepared to go back 2 years. maddison wont even play 18s next year. just ack n the occasional game. but hede may yet play for kilmore. much more dangerous player than hardiman

sunbkangas said:
MATE THIS IS A TREAD FOR PEOPLE WHO LIKE TO TALK ABOUT FOOTY AND KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT TO SAY GARTH PLOOG 19 YEARS OLD 6'2 AND HOLDING DOWN CENTRE HALF FORWARD IN THE SENIOR IS USELESS MUST COME FROM SOMEBODY WHO SHOULD LEARN THE GAME 1ST BEFORE STATING WHAT I WOULD CALL ONE OF THE MOST LUDICROUS COMMENTS I HAVE READ ON THIS TREAD SO FAR, LEARN THE GAME!!!!!!.
Agree.Doing well to be playing key position in the 1sts at that age.Good set of hands on him.

roge_3 said:
So what makes you in a better position than me? I can tell you that the main reason during the reserves that any of the supporters of the Kangaroos were becoming restless was the abuse of the Diggers Rest supporters near the coaches box... Then to whinge when it comes back at them...Gee, seems a little hypocritical to me... But how would I know.
I might not be in a better position to judge than you but unless you know players from both sides pretty well then there is every chance that I am.

roge_3 said:
WRONG.... Try again....
Then explain to me why a player like Shaun Sims and a couple of other players would cop such a verbal bashing when the Kangaroos were not even involved in the game.Fair enough carry on when your side is involved in the reserves but why take it out on the senior players?What has Shaun Sims done to them other than being an exceptionally talented and very fair player?I could understand if the two sides were playing against each other but as I said in that circumstance there was no reason for it.

blues12 said:
i believe a number of roo players are mates with some diggers boys and also have constant disputes with others down the local if you cant hang it on a mate that wont play in your team who can you hang it on. enemies are enemies where ever you are. but it still doesn't make vulger language ok
They all know each other but I wouldn't say any of them are mates.Generally hang around in very different crowds.Never been too many issues between them off the field though that I am aware of.

Dog Town said:
Then explain to me why a player like Shaun Sims and a couple of other players would cop such a verbal bashing when the Kangaroos were not even involved in the game.Fair enough carry on when your side is involved in the reserves but why take it out on the senior players?What has Shaun Sims done to them other than being an exceptionally talented and very fair player?I could understand if the two sides were playing against each other but as I said in that circumstance there was no reason for it.
Shaun doesnt rate himself very highly does he... :p He is arrogant, and had quite a voice on him himself during the two's that day... Got a bit upsetting for him I noticed during the finals, maybe he should learn a bit of sportsmanship (Like the sportsmanship he showed at league B&F night. "Im not going to acknowledge the winner, boo hoo") and actually show how good he is, rather than let Goof do most of the work for him... Good luck to him, but to say he said or did nothing? He bought it all on himself.. If you dont wanna get burnt, dont play with fire....

vantheman32 said:
dont worry about maddison, how bout hede from kilmore 16s in 2004, they won the flag he won best % fairest, best on ground in grand final, kicked 40 goals from on the ball.. played in a premiership wif ACK 1sts this year. or arnt u prepared to go back 2 years. maddison wont even play 18s next year. just ack n the occasional game. but hede may yet play for kilmore. much more dangerous player than hardiman
More than happy to go back 2 years... Hede is a very good player, no doubt... Has a real problem with attitude though, wont do him any favours in this comp.. But good luck to him.. Hope to see him do really well...

if he has a real problem with attitude it wouldnt do him any favours in any senior football league,i havent yet seen his attitude problem, does he have a tendency to get sent off? or mouth off?

---tagger--- said:
Does anyone know what has happened to sunbury in the bfl yet
Apparently theres a meeting 27.10.05 to decide wherther the 2 year ban will be implemented or not.

vantheman32 said:
if he has a real problem with attitude it wouldnt do him any favours in any senior football league,i havent yet seen his attitude problem, does he have a tendency to get sent off? or mouth off?
More the mouth off... Can get on the wrong side of opposition, but more importantly his teammates. But I did see his game in the 16's grand final 2 years ago, the boy was dominant, and pretty much took the game away himself.

vantheman32 said:
thanks for claryifying that. so he has problems with team mates, explain how u see that?

On several occasions during that season we watched him and another teammate, not sure of his name though... Both players abused each other and other teammates, including the Preliminary Final where they almost cost themselves the game, were so bad in that game even the coach walked off on the huddle at one stage.

roge_3 said:
Shaun doesnt rate himself very highly does he... :p He is arrogant, and had quite a voice on him himself during the two's that day... Got a bit upsetting for him I noticed during the finals, maybe he should learn a bit of sportsmanship (Like the sportsmanship he showed at league B&F night. "Im not going to acknowledge the winner, boo hoo") and actually show how good he is, rather than let Goof do most of the work for him... Good luck to him, but to say he said or did nothing? He bought it all on himself.. If you dont wanna get burnt, dont play with fire....
Thats just plain wrong.He keeps to his own mates and doesn't go around ********ing in other peoples pockets so he is arrogant?Not surprised he had a voice on him during the twos given that the club he is senior captain of was playing.I am not sure what your referring to in regards to the B&F night because in case you didn't know (tipping you dont) Sims gets on very well with James and he himself was surprised that he even won the Diggers Rest B&F let along come so close in the league.Dont think personal milestones worry him or any quality players for that matter.Always fascinated by this insane hatred that Kangaroos supporters have for Shaun Sims.Perhaps if they worried more about controlling there guys and less about what he is doing then there current improvement might continue.I know for a fact that they lost at least two junior players the day of the preliminary finals at Macedon because of abuse that one of there junior coaches was giving Shaun Sims.

So what you are saying is that it is ok for Sims to abuse opposition’s player while he is a spectator but it is not ok for the same opposition spectators to the same to him.

roge_3 said:
More the mouth off... Can get on the wrong side of opposition, but more importantly his teammates. But I did see his game in the 16's grand final 2 years ago, the boy was dominant, and pretty much took the game away himself.

What Roge is saying is that competing against grown men is a touch more difficult than you think. Word from the Eastern Hill and Tallarook Cricket Clubs is that he does have the ability to shoot from the lip at times, and I hear he through a bit of a wobbly in a recent A-grade match when dismissed. No one has questioned his ability, more how his temprement will react to regular senior competition when things dont go his way

couple of my mates who were sitting in the tabaret at Sunbury FC having a few pots informed me that Al Meldrum and Luke Carroll from Romsey were seen having discussions with coach Mark Power and assistant Darryl Griffin at the club yesterday arvo...would be good footy for the both of them...

Dog Town said:
Thats just plain wrong.He keeps to his own mates and doesn't go around ********ing in other peoples pockets so he is arrogant?Not surprised he had a voice on him during the twos given that the club he is senior captain of was playing.I am not sure what your referring to in regards to the B&F night because in case you didn't know (tipping you dont) Sims gets on very well with James and he himself was surprised that he even won the Diggers Rest B&F let along come so close in the league.Dont think personal milestones worry him or any quality players for that matter.Always fascinated by this insane hatred that Kangaroos supporters have for Shaun Sims.Perhaps if they worried more about controlling there guys and less about what he is doing then there current improvement might continue.I know for a fact that they lost at least two junior players the day of the preliminary finals at Macedon because of abuse that one of there junior coaches was giving Shaun Sims.
Right...

You sure have alot of "Facts" dont you....?
But im waiting to actually see if any of them have a basis, which im yet to see...

But anyway, had enough of your one dimensional based conversation... Lets hear all about Diggers and Shaun Sims one more time, then we can all move on and talk once again of the RDFL... Didnt realise this was a Shaun Sims thread. But anyway.

why dont you forget about it roge let it go and move on all of you stop whinging about who said what and when it's like a school yard in this thread at the moment. who is going to run up to the teacher and tell them that they were picking on you. grow up all of you. if there is no gossip dont say anything. i've always beleived if you have nothing nice to say then dont say anything at all.

geoffhopkinsburra said:
couple of my mates who were sitting in the tabaret at Sunbury FC having a few pots informed me that Al Meldrum and Luke Carroll from Romsey were seen having discussions with coach Mark Power and assistant Darryl Griffin at the club yesterday arvo...would be good footy for the both of them...
good on them, smithwick left lancefeild a few years back ended up at sunbury started off rusty then was a regular in the seniors, they were sad to see him go. good to see they dont just shrug off our talent and say the league has no decent players in it. these boys could be good players for the lions.

blues12 said:
good on them, smithwick left lancefeild a few years back ended up at sunbury started off rusty then was a regular in the seniors, they were sad to see him go. good to see they dont just shrug off our talent and say the league has no decent players in it. these boys could be good players for the lions.

have heard the ex hawk nick holland has applied for the riddell job?

rioli brownlow said:
have heard the ex hawk nick holland has applied for the riddell job?
Really? Wouldnt that raise a few eye brows around the league. Would be a drawcard for players no doubt about that....

roge_3 said:
Really? Wouldnt that raise a few eye brows around the league. Would be a drawcard for players no doubt about that....
Dont think Nick Holland would encourage the young players at Riddell much,however,he'd be a good coach for Macedon.