RDFL Thread

I believe the term freak gets thrown around to often. Yes James is clearly the dominent player in the league and has been a terrific addition to the Bombers, but no offence if the guy is such a 'freak' what is he wasting his god given talent in the riddel league for? Surely he has achieved the pinicale at that particular leval a real so to be branded with such accolades a real 'freak' would play to the peak of thier ability, and not waste his strength, athleleticism and talent on run of the mill overweight fullbacks.

Lee James is at a freak level of fitness... Sources from Sunbury lions however say that he was competitve but in no way a standout. In a competition where everyone's a "freak" i think James would get found out. Good on him for finding a way to get paid a nice $600 a game and kick 10 goals a week. You aint gonna have much more fun anywhere else.

Does the riddell league ever have random drug tests..? There is no doubt in my mind or any1 elses that Lee James's is on steroids. That's why he is such a fitness freak. Can he be banned for that or is the rdfl not high enuff in respect level in vic to be of concern?

Footy_Idol said:
Lee James is at a freak level of fitness... Sources from Sunbury lions however say that he was competitve but in no way a standout. In a competition where everyone's a "freak" i think James would get found out. Good on him for finding a way to get paid a nice $600 a game and kick 10 goals a week. You aint gonna have much more fun anywhere else.

Does the riddell league ever have random drug tests..? There is no doubt in my mind or any1 elses that Lee James's is on steroids. That's why he is such a fitness freak. Can he be banned for that or is the rdfl not high enuff in respect level in vic to be of concern?

bit harsh considering he was very young when at the lions and playing from the back flank, and to state that type of coin, you listen to too many drunks at the pub. the man is a gym junkie and in the gym nearly every day that is why he is a unit, to accuse somebody off using any drugs is a big statement and i hope you can back it up. give him a call, meet up with him then repeat yourself.
random drug test (loser) how many players in any sport across the country would test positive to something.
good on him for playing with mates in a league where money isn't everything blokes like him only help strengthen this league. I rate the bloke, even when he is tearing us apart.

blues12 said:
bit harsh considering he was very young when at the lions and playing from the back flank, and to state that type of coin, you listen to too many drunks at the pub. the man is a gym junkie and in the gym nearly every day that is why he is a unit, to accuse somebody off using any drugs is a big statement and i hope you can back it up. give him a call, meet up with him then repeat yourself.
random drug test (loser) how many players in any sport across the country would test positive to something.
good on him for playing with mates in a league where money isn't everything blokes like him only help strengthen this league. I rate the bloke, even when he is tearing us apart.

well said blues12, there are to many out there ready to pounce on someone just because they have a bit of talent. who cares where he plays. its the better players within the district leagues that make it enjoyable to watch. if the smaller leagues cant attract the better players what chance of survival does the league have. if the leagues fold it makes it a pretty boring winter through a lot of small towns within victoria.

Sick of all these people bagging the level of the RDFL, its been said before and will obviously while you people dont listen be said again.. If you dont rate our comp, dont waste your time and our writing here..

Our league is so terrible though, Chris Meacham was nothing when he was kicking his 100th for the season at Riddell, he is still a leading player in the EDFL, same goes for Dave Innella, wasting his time playing at Rockbank for 3 years kicking bags, but now he is kicking bags at Central Altona he is much better, Steve James was not close to a ruckman when he played at the Kangaroos, but now he is a premiership ruckman at Melton.. The list goes on... Robbie Whittmar at East Keilor after Kilmore, Ben Goggins at Strathmore after Kangaroos, Luke Walker at Strathmore after Rockbank, but there is no one with any talent ever in the RDFL...

Thats_Special said:
Sick of all these people bagging the level of the RDFL, its been said before and will obviously while you people dont listen be said again.. If you dont rate our comp, dont waste your time and our writing here..

Our league is so terrible though, Chris Meacham was nothing when he was kicking his 100th for the season at Riddell, he is still a leading player in the EDFL, same goes for Dave Innella, wasting his time playing at Rockbank for 3 years kicking bags, but now he is kicking bags at Central Altona he is much better, Steve James was not close to a ruckman when he played at the Kangaroos, but now he is a premiership ruckman at Melton.. The list goes on... Robbie Whittmar at East Keilor after Kilmore, Ben Goggins at Strathmore after Kangaroos, Luke Walker at Strathmore after Rockbank, but there is no one with any talent ever in the RDFL...
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
TOO TRUE I WAS UP AT BALRANALD ON SAT AND THERE WHERE 5 PLAYERS FROM AROUND SUNBURY AREA PLAYING ALL ON MEGA COIN
HEY WHO SAID NO TALENT
OH RYAN FROM ROMSEY WAS CALLED ON BY HEAPS OF CLUBS LUKE EDWARDS ANOTHER ANY MORE

blues12 said:

Hey, i love watchin the kid play, evry1 always loves and hates the star players. And with a bung finger and ankle to still kick 10... his respect level hav gone up in my books

I still thinks he's hit the roids in his day tho.. but if we didnt post controversial reply's on here it would be a veryboring thread...

Thats_Special said:

Fair call 'Thats_special'

the mercenary said:
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
TOO TRUE I WAS UP AT BALRANALD ON SAT AND THERE WHERE 5 PLAYERS FROM AROUND SUNBURY AREA PLAYING ALL ON MEGA COIN
HEY WHO SAID NO TALENT
OH RYAN FROM ROMSEY WAS CALLED ON BY HEAPS OF CLUBS LUKE EDWARDS ANOTHER ANY MORE

James, Morgan, Meldrum, Robertson, Heritage, Sims, Luke Carroll, several Riddell players were all being chased in the off season..

Even North Footscray chased and got some of the Rockbank players.. Not bad when the bottom side has players being chased... The clubs must be doing something right.. But, then again, there is no-one with any talent at all in the RDFL... Maybe these EDFL and WRFL clubs just feel sorry for these guys and offer them good dollars to leave and play in thier comps...
That must be it....:eek:

Here Here. The good players are here to stay, with more players to return back to this redeveloping league. The only thing that will keep these players coming back is sponsors and $$$$$$ not only to just the RDFL but to each and individual clubs, to make it not just one or two teams stronger but overall a stronger comp. Who knows it might even see the inclusions of couple new teams or maybe even the return of our most two famous clubs! This will bring Money, players, supporters, crowds and Pokies! :thumbsu: :) That would bring women!

Trueblueroo said:
Here Here. The good players are here to stay, with more players to return back to this redeveloping league. The only thing that will keep these players coming back is sponsors and $$$$$$ not only to just the RDFL but to each and individual clubs, to make it not just one or two teams stronger but overall a stronger comp. Who knows it might even see the inclusions of couple new teams or maybe even the return of our most two famous clubs! This will bring Money, players, supporters, crowds and Pokies! :thumbsu: :) That would bring women!
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
pokies ...women...pokies....women ....pokies....women.... like that yeah

now we get the idea hey....... true blues clues....

CHEERS........
.........the mercenary........:thumbsu:

A question for the punters ... Should the RDFL offer a lifeline to Trentham as they are really struggling in the MCDFL league ? I would think it might be eaiser to attract players to the club when you don't have to travel to Harcourt and places like that ? Any thoughts ? Also Trueblueroo which two clubs are you talking about making a return to the RDFL ?

I don't post thing statements which need rocket scientist's to comprehend my good friend! I mean the most 2 dominating powerhouse's of our old legaue in The mighty Lions and the Raging Bulldogs! If the Leagues attracts players/ sponsors we could be in for a new era, a extremely powerfull era of country/regional football! Imagine a league to choose form the following clubs

Sunbury Lions sunbury Kangaroos
Gisborne Riddell
Romsey Kilmore
Lancefield Wallan
Melton Bloods centrals
Melton South Diggers
Rockbank Greenvale
Macedon Woodened
Kyenton You say Trentham
Darly Baccus Marsh

maybe odd 1 or 2 EDFL ie; Kelior, Taylors Lakes

Trueblueroo said:
I don't post thing statements which need rocket scientist's to comprehend my good friend! I mean the most 2 dominating powerhouse's of our old legaue in The mighty Lions and the Raging Bulldogs! If the Leagues attracts players/ sponsors we could be in for a new era, a extremely powerfull era of country/regional football! Imagine a league to choose form the following clubs

Sunbury Lions sunbury Kangaroos
Gisborne Riddell
Romsey Kilmore
Lancefield Wallan
Melton Bloods centrals
Melton South Diggers
Rockbank Greenvale
Macedon Woodened
Kyenton You say Trentham
Darly Baccus Marsh

maybe odd 1 or 2 EDFL ie; Kelior, Taylors Lakes
if this ever happen'd a leauge this strong i would be back in a flash
great clubs and intense game days would be the strongest leauge by far

Other than driving an Hour to play teams and pump them for good money why dont SUnbury and Gisborne play RDFL play some teams give them a crack Ie; Romsey Riddel and Woodend and we get to watch one of the greates country football games ever for premiership points Sunbury V Gisborne. Need on Big massive sponsor and local sponsors.

A good starting point would be a lighting cup or pre season comp to prove this!

the mercenary said:
if this ever happen'd a leauge this strong i would be back in a flash
great clubs and intense game days would be the strongest leauge by far

Has been talk of a Lions/Gisborne alliance to make this happen... But all talk im afraid.. Be good if it happened, bring back the originals plus a few EDFL clubs from our area.. What a comp it would be....

rightfoot_sloth said:
A question for the punters ... Should the RDFL offer a lifeline to Trentham as they are really struggling in the MCDFL league ? I would think it might be eaiser to attract players to the club when you don't have to travel to Harcourt and places like that ? Any thoughts ? Also Trueblueroo which two clubs are you talking about making a return to the RDFL ?

Trentham offered big money to a lot of Kyneton reserves players and Woodend players at the end of last year and the start of this year. With only a senior side and a Under 17s side, maybe they should think about coming back this way. My grandfather played 320 odd games for the Saints in his hey day and I would love to see them back in the RDFL.

As for making a super competition with all of those clubs mentioned...It sounds great in theory but it would never work. How could towns like Macedon, Lancefield, Kilmore etc compete with Sunbury, Melton and Gisborne. It doesn't make sense. We complain about the quality of the competition, I think we should work harder on making it better, without trying to drag clubs back. We should be thankful that we can support 10 clubs and they don't need to merge to exist.

thepurplepassion said:
Trentham offered big money to a lot of Kyneton reserves players and Woodend players at the end of last year and the start of this year. With only a senior side and a Under 17s side, maybe they should think about coming back this way. My grandfather played 320 odd games for the Saints in his hey day and I would love to see them back in the RDFL.

As for making a super competition with all of those clubs mentioned...It sounds great in theory but it would never work. How could towns like Macedon, Lancefield, Kilmore etc compete with Sunbury, Melton and Gisborne. It doesn't make sense. We complain about the quality of the competition, I think we should work harder on making it better, without trying to drag clubs back. We should be thankful that we can support 10 clubs and they don't need to merge to exist.

True, very good point.. Although, Macedon, Lancefield and Kilmore have all shown they were able to exist with these sides in the competition previously.. Now, Im not so sure that they could co-exist...

rightfoot_sloth said:

I had a look at the MCDFL Big Footy thread and this is what they had posted.

It was in the Bendigo Advertiser earlier this month.

Trentham's reprieve
Thursday, 11 May 2006

TRENTHAM will be permitted to see out the entire season in the Maryborough-Castlemaine District Football League this year, despite being unable to field a reserves side.

The Saints' playing stocks have been depleted this season and the club has only been able to field senior and under-17 teams in the first three rounds of the season.
It had been thought last month that the MCDFL would not allow the Saints to continue playing this year if they could not find the numbers for a reserves side.
'‘The Victorian Country Football League is encouraging us not to do anything (forcing them to withdraw from the competition) with clubs who can only field a senior side," MCDFL secretary Max Martin said yesterday. ‘‘We are prepared to go along and support the VCFL's motion on that.

‘‘They are encouraging us not to disadvantage any club that, because of the situation it is in, can not play reserves." South west area manager Brett Anderson said the VCFL was ‘‘more than happy" for the MCDFL to continue to allow Trentham to compete without a reserves side.
‘‘We would hate to see a club with a lot of history go by the wayside, just because it was unable to field a team in one particular division," Anderson said.
‘‘For example, two years ago with Caramut in the Mininera league, they were unable to field a reserves side, but they were helped out by other clubs that provided them with some players each week.
‘‘Now we have Caramut in a situation where they are fielding all their juniors, netball, and senior football teams.
‘‘So with a little bit of help, rather than knocking them on the head, they (Trentham) can get through this tough period." Despite many pleas from new senior coach Peter Olivieri, the Saints still only have about 25 players for their senior and reserves sides.
‘‘It's very tough," Olivieri said.
‘‘The first couple of weeks we got flogged, last week we didn't, but the side we played (Campbells Creek) was the bottom side.
‘‘We needed another four or five senior guys and we probably would have won by 10 goals last week.
‘‘But we will continue to press on; we are not going throw it in." Anyone wanting to play with Trentham can contact Olivieri on 5368 6501 or Dave Smith on 0419 575 191.

the league should perhaps be approaching Trentham, Wallan, Bachuss marsh and maybe sydenham, all sides are struggling in their respective leagues if we could get 2 of these 4 a 12 team comp would be fantastic 14 even better who knows craigiburn is growing in size.a second side from there would be near in the next 3-5 years. what are your thoughts.
even gladstone park could be another option.

thepurplepassion said:
I had a look at the MCDFL Big Footy thread and this is what they had posted.

It was in the Bendigo Advertiser earlier this month.

Trentham's reprieve
Thursday, 11 May 2006

TRENTHAM will be permitted to see out the entire season in the Maryborough-Castlemaine District Football League this year, despite being unable to field a reserves side.

The Saints' playing stocks have been depleted this season and the club has only been able to field senior and under-17 teams in the first three rounds of the season.
It had been thought last month that the MCDFL would not allow the Saints to continue playing this year if they could not find the numbers for a reserves side.
'‘The Victorian Country Football League is encouraging us not to do anything (forcing them to withdraw from the competition) with clubs who can only field a senior side," MCDFL secretary Max Martin said yesterday. ‘‘We are prepared to go along and support the VCFL's motion on that.

‘‘They are encouraging us not to disadvantage any club that, because of the situation it is in, can not play reserves." South west area manager Brett Anderson said the VCFL was ‘‘more than happy" for the MCDFL to continue to allow Trentham to compete without a reserves side.
‘‘We would hate to see a club with a lot of history go by the wayside, just because it was unable to field a team in one particular division," Anderson said.
‘‘For example, two years ago with Caramut in the Mininera league, they were unable to field a reserves side, but they were helped out by other clubs that provided them with some players each week.
‘‘Now we have Caramut in a situation where they are fielding all their juniors, netball, and senior football teams.
‘‘So with a little bit of help, rather than knocking them on the head, they (Trentham) can get through this tough period." Despite many pleas from new senior coach Peter Olivieri, the Saints still only have about 25 players for their senior and reserves sides.
‘‘It's very tough," Olivieri said.
‘‘The first couple of weeks we got flogged, last week we didn't, but the side we played (Campbells Creek) was the bottom side.
‘‘We needed another four or five senior guys and we probably would have won by 10 goals last week.
‘‘But we will continue to press on; we are not going throw it in." Anyone wanting to play with Trentham can contact Olivieri on 5368 6501 or Dave Smith on 0419 575 191.

Would Trentham find it easier to get players if they played in the RDFL though?

Blues12 your onto something there i think, as much as Sunbury and Gisborne returning would be brillliant, your suggestion is more realistic with some good competition still! This has become a brilliant thread! Keep it up fellas!

blues12 said:
the league should perhaps be approaching Trentham, Wallan, Bachuss marsh and maybe sydenham, all sides are struggling in their respective leagues if we could get 2 of these 4 a 12 team comp would be fantastic 14 even better who knows craigiburn is growing in size.a second side from there would be near in the next 3-5 years. what are your thoughts.
even gladstone park could be another option.

Think Wallan may be a little unrealistic, they are out of favour here after they deserted when the league was struggling... Bacchus will fight all they can to stay in the BFL. Sydenham could be a possibility and Gladdy Park would be a good one, I think the 2nd Cragiburn team would be the closest to happening, maybe them and Trentham, or possibly a team based out of the ever growing Rolling Meadows area...

Thats_Special said:
Think Wallan may be a little unrealistic, they are out of favour here after they deserted when the league was struggling... Bacchus will fight all they can to stay in the BFL. Sydenham could be a possibility and Gladdy Park would be a good one, I think the 2nd Cragiburn team would be the closest to happening, maybe them and Trentham, or possibly a team based out of the ever growing Rolling Meadows area...

Wallan is a definate no. They are sixth in their division of the Diamond Valley League and the town is tipped to grow by 10,000 people in the next 10 years.

Bacchus Marsh won't come, perhaps Darley could as they are in the RDJFL.

Rolling Meadows is about 10 years away.

Maybe Jacana or Gladdy are options as they used to be in the comp.

thepurplepassion said:
Wallan is a definate no. They are sixth in their division of the Diamond Valley League and the town is tipped to grow by 10,000 people in the next 10 years.

Bacchus Marsh won't come, perhaps Darley could as they are in the RDJFL.

Rolling Meadows is about 10 years away.

Maybe Jacana or Gladdy are options as they used to be in the comp.

Personal feelings here.. But IMO Jacana is not welcome in our competition.. They were dirty when they were in the comp but dirtier in the way they left, at least other clubs were open and upfront about defection... Jacana was not, nothing but sneaky dogs... Stay where they are for all I care...:thumbsdown: