RDFL Thread

Thats_Special said:
True, very good point.. Although, Macedon, Lancefield and Kilmore have all shown they were able to exist with these sides in the competition previously.. Now, Im not so sure that they could co-exist...

I still think the HDFL made a huge blue on both occassions Kilmore FC applied to join. The standard of HDFL is much better than some other district level comps and woulda been ideal with 10 clubs.

To me Kilmore is a country town, and should compete in a league overseen by the Victorian Country Football League. Same could be said about neighbouring towns. Geographically country footy needs an overhaul otherwise more club's will be gone within a decade.

My argument has gone on for 18 months, Broadford is within an hours drive of about 15 footy clubs, yet competes against just one . . . . seems crazy to me!!!

blues12 said:
the league should perhaps be approaching Trentham, Wallan, Bachuss marsh and maybe sydenham, all sides are struggling in their respective leagues if we could get 2 of these 4 a 12 team comp would be fantastic 14 even better who knows craigiburn is growing in size.a second side from there would be near in the next 3-5 years. what are your thoughts.
even gladstone park could be another option.

A 14 side comp would be bloody unreal. And sydenham, gladdy park and craigeburn are all close enough to easily qualify for rdfl. Wot would the league have to do to entice these clubs tho??

Footy_Idol said:
A 14 side comp would be bloody unreal. And sydenham, gladdy park and craigeburn are all close enough to easily qualify for rdfl. Wot would the league have to do to entice these clubs tho??

Convince the country towns the furtherest out of Melbourne like Kilmore, Lancefield & Romsey that it's in the best interest to include suburban clubs with the potential to draw on players from a larger area.

blues12 said:
the league should perhaps be approaching Trentham, Wallan, Bachuss marsh and maybe sydenham, all sides are struggling in their respective leagues if we could get 2 of these 4 a 12 team comp would be fantastic 14 even better who knows craigiburn is growing in size.a second side from there would be near in the next 3-5 years. what are your thoughts.
even gladstone park could be another option.

mate sounds like a good idea for the comp.as a long time player in the edfl and currently knowing moved just up to sydenham way,that they are currently happy in the edfl with there juniors going into a grade this year and there 18s doing reasonbly well with i think 4 wins out of 6 games.there seniors arnt struggling just that its only there 2nd year in the comp and still adapting.bachuss marsh should go into the rdfl and trentham as i reckon it would strengthen the competetion a hell of a lot more and better for both clubs.

Jacana should mite aswell fold as they are struggling big time in the edfl and they are a bunch of snipers who should be put in a league with central altona so they can punch each other up

ex player said:
mate sounds like a good idea for the comp.as a long time player in the edfl and currently knowing moved just up to sydenham way,that they are currently happy in the edfl with there juniors going into a grade this year and there 18s doing reasonbly well with i think 4 wins out of 6 games.there seniors arnt struggling just that its only there 2nd year in the comp and still adapting.bachuss marsh should go into the rdfl and trentham as i reckon it would strengthen the competetion a hell of a lot more and better for both clubs.

Jacana should mite aswell fold as they are struggling big time in the edfl and they are a bunch of snipers who should be put in a league with central altona so they can punch each other up

Strongly agree...:thumbsu:

Yes, yes it is with some inclusions for Lanceefield and some major exclusions for Romsey! Rumour has it some big names from Rebacks to miss clash, due to soreness and injuries one maybe is Morgan with hip flexor and Groin strain! Dont hold me to it but that word from romsey camp training last night!

Trueblueroo said:
Yes, yes it is with some inclusions for Lanceefield and some major exclusions for Romsey! Rumour has it some big names from Rebacks to miss clash, due to soreness and injuries one maybe is Morgan with hip flexor and Groin strain! Dont hold me to it but that word from romsey camp training last night!

Lancefield to regain: Sam Graham, Nick Dodd, Phil Conway, Stuart Stevenson and possibly Scott Clark.

thepurplepassion said:
Lancefield to regain: Sam Graham, Nick Dodd, Phil Conway, Stuart Stevenson and possibly Scott Clark.

Heard that Al Meldrum may also miss.....

Hope everyone is going along on Sunday, should have an RDFL thread meeting at the game... :p

Woteva happened to Chris Collins fro lancefield? Star Junior player, didnt make the cannons under18 squad in 2004. Where is he now??

Chris Collins has been dominating the Bendigo Bombers reserves side for the past two seasons. On current form he would be playing firsts but Essendon rejects are keeping him out.

The reason he didn't get picked up by Cannons in '04 because they thought he wouldn't develop much from his junior days.

Still a star and apparantley has a kick with the Tigers at some training nights.

thepurplepassion said:
Chris Collins has been dominating the Bendigo Bombers reserves side for the past two seasons. On current form he would be playing firsts but Essendon rejects are keeping him out.

The reason he didn't get picked up by Cannons in '04 because they thought he wouldn't develop much from his junior days.

Still a star and apparantley has a kick with the Tigers at some training nights.

Sam Bowen up there this year too, another couple of RDFL players that are no good because they played RDFL... Sammy is apparently going quite well even if the Bombers are not...

OldMelburnian28 said:
If you havn't seen an RDFL game for yourself, to compare to ammo's Ant22 don't give us your opinion or apparent similarities. Comparing RDFL to C-D grade...dont make me laugh!

You must be a journo because clearly you did not read all of my post and took it completely out of context. I repeat this was a friends opinion who has played alot of d and c grade(mainly c) in the ammos and alot of rdfl . He has no bias towards either teams and while he admits its a bit like comparing apples to oranges he does not believe there is a great deal of difference in the standard of senior football. I do not go around posting things as my own opinion if they are not. What I do know is that Rdfl is S^&* load better than d4(i know i played d3-d4) and if a good senior player from the rdfl is going to my old club in d4 he should dominate. Read over all my posts on the topic and you should be able to put 2 and 2 together . I was also responding to a comment that was made suggesting all ammos footy was ordindary. I am sure with your username you would realise that this was not the case and that A and B grade(which I have seen by the way) is actually pretty good footy. Shouldn't be to hard work out for an Old Melburnian if you actually bothered to read my posts.

I for one don't give a crap about the standard of football leagues(obvious as I played D4 ammos) . Even though the standard of footy I played was very ordinary I can honestly say I enjoyed as much as most blokes who have played much higher levels. I think it is pathetic how much people go on about the old "my footys better than your footy " argument. It kind of like saying my D$%K is bigger than...... I am sure you get the point.

One last thing . This is a football forum . Whats the point of having a forum without having opinions. I am happy for anyone to disagree with my opinions but don't be a smarta$%$ and go around telling people they are not entitled to have an opinion. I never said I was right I was just giving a point of view based on what I believe to be a pretty good source.

Well it's good to hear rdjfl boys are doin well. Chris Collins was a class ahead of every1 in his junior days. Mainly becoz of his strength. I wasnt surprised that he was cut from cannons, but equally so im not surprised that his playing excellent footy at Bendigo.

I am surprised to hear sam bowen playing well. He was good but no star, i never thought he would've had the physical capacity to stand up to seniors, let alone elite seniors. Good on the kid.

I am a little disappointed with the lack of discussion about the roos massive victory over Romsey last weekend. I'm a sunbury fellow and am rather proud of a Sunbury club toher than Lions having some success. Wot are your thoughts? Were they lucky? Did romsey take them too lightly? Does this give people the inkling that roos could make finals??

Let's not forget Leigh McInerny, Damien Nikki, Mathew Welsh and dean helmers all to make a return??

:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
yes i have coached young c, collins good young player scotty clarke very good as well but there size holds them to a few issues but both have great skills
like luke carrol as a kid skinny like frame but matures well and a great player for his team
speaking of which when is dippa going 2 coach again i miss the little o'l fella the best president romesy ever had was tim (seal ) mc carthey
i will be at the game on sunday and i will not poach any players but if they ask me then thats a different story all together then isnt it ....

.....CHEERS........
.........the mercenary.......:thumbsu:
p.s... footy idol read my post on page 80 this is true this actually happens running throuh the motions training drills i know about it all as i was there when it all started so was dippa and matty the whole mid field and the coach doesnt even know whats going on

Roo Boys are in town, and may have a sniff of Septmeber. Watched the Backs V Roos on Sat and boy have they improved, Mr Dixon and his associates have lifted them to a strong discipplined team. They won against Romsey in a game of old one on one football at both ends of the gorund. Romsey had times of dominating the football in middle, but were beaten by a team wanting to play for each other, which you don't see much in modern day football.

The Romsey boys had more talented players but the Roos had something more, i don't know what is was but it was exciting to watch. Roos keep it up and we may just see you come september!

Game of the week this week Woodend V Kangaroos!
Roos have the chance put themsleves well into top 5!

My Picks early
Roos 20 points
Riddell to be put in jail for murdering Rockbank
Romsey
Diggers
kilmore

Footy_Idol said:
I am a little disappointed with the lack of discussion about the roos massive victory over Romsey last weekend. I'm a sunbury fellow and am rather proud of a Sunbury club toher than Lions having some success. Wot are your thoughts? Were they lucky? Did romsey take them too lightly? Does this give people the inkling that roos could make finals??

Let's not forget Leigh McInerny, Damien Nikki, Mathew Welsh and dean helmers all to make a return??

dont forget jason salm coming back from injury this week, and drew white has been playing good footy and didn't play last week. hopefully not too many changes this week as it can unsettle a side

OldMelburnian28 said:
Jason Salm is a sauce head with no skill!!!

I say no more.

Standing applause... Well done mate.. Sure he hasn't heard that before.. Seriously, what is it about about the Ammo's that breeds idiocy...?

Jason Salm fit is a very good footballer, cant wait to see it down at Boardman Reserve soon, he is probably the one player out injured at the moment that I would love to see in the senior side....ASAP...

the mercenary said:
naaarh RDFL its even a high'r standard (amm leauge) where's the $$$$$$

its known that romsey sometimes let a lesser side than them get over em whislt there doing there trianing drills on game days to execute them in the big games when needed its not there coach its their players as there a close knitt side who choose to play like that due to this shane geddies of diggers exposed them a few times look at how they run out as to you know when they are switched on

So ur saying that they were not fussed about whether or not they won, becoz basically they are guranteed to make finals? So they'd rather exercise training drills and save their best for the big games ie:Riddell & Diggers

Fair point, romsey in no way looked like the top side they're meant to be last week. But credit where it's due, kangaroos played exceptionally, i dont think can be considered a "lesser side" any more. Should have beaten melton, injury-ridden at kilmore, close match against diggers. They could easily be 5-1 or 4-2.

Jason Salm is an excelent footballer, but has had a lot of time on the sidelines. i think he would be better off starting in the two's and workin his way up. But with the current injuries at kangas, i think he'll after to start up, but could be too soon...

Apologies for forgetting drew wight, had a great year and is guaranteed to walk back in the side when he's fit