RDFL Thread

goroos06 said:
ive had enough of gits like you bagging the crap out of people from the RDFL. especially the Kangas.
i agree with thatsspecial, you guys at rupo said that the reason you lost is because you had players out injured. once again conflicting stories by yourself isnt it. but worst of all you lost to the bottom side who hasnt won a game. bit of a crisis meeting now at rupo is there?????
first of all yes we have injuries but we still manage to win games. funny how that happens isnt it pal.
so why dont you pull your head in and go back to your own thread you worthless piece of s#@t.

bit of tension in the room goroos. lets face the facts, kangas are doing well this year and the players that are getting in the best i say good on them such as j.king, i saw j.house once. these are ex rupo players trying to have a crack somewhere else as they didnt fit into the structure down at rupo.so i say keep it goin for them. face the FACTS tho, j house would not get a game in the 1s at sunbury lions, rupo, gisborne, riddell, ROCKBANK even just to name a few (rockbanks taking it a bit far). can anyone down at the kanagroos tell me how j house and walcock are situated together, whether they have broken up or they are on the rocks? they were in eachothers pockets (deep) a couple of weeks ago.it is off the subject of footy but they are very close arent they? i know people say just friends, but there is a certain feeling in the camp down there that there is something more between them. they look into eachothers eyes and only wish to leave training early to go home and watch late nite movies with a bottle of red wine under the doonas. if not, maybe they should....just to relieve some of the tension in this room caused by people who have nothing else better to do such as myself. i am pathetic arent i?? please tell me that. im a regular reader on this thread as you are all so passionate which is great but take a chill pill. i have tried to do this in this thread and if you arnt laughing by now, you need a sense of humour.
now to the tips this week as there are no games.....
my tip is for me to get off this bigfooty site.

Keep it going kangaroos, does anyone know why they changed from rovers to the kangaroos? Please inform.

I am prepared for a dish out so go on and give it to me as I crawl back into my shell.

Also can someone please put up a tally of the goal kickers this year.
Thanks guys.

First of all whats with all these innuendos that i am from rupo, i do not align myself with any club, i prefer rather to put my weight behind those clubs that do well and ridicule those clubs that are struggling, i am what you call a bandwagon supporter.

Second of all Rupo may have had a couple of injuires no doubt about it, all clubs do have a few injured players especially at this time of the year. But to suggest you have 16 - 20 injured players that are walk up ones players and with their inclusion would significantly affect the outcome of a game is ridiculous especially considering how well everyone at the kangas thinks they are travelling. Kangas supportes you can't honestly suggest that their are 16, 17 or even 18 players on the injured list ready to come back in and strengthen the sunbury lineup. AFL clubs don't have that much depth and if you dispute this it simply shows your ignorance and lack on insight into football.

For what its worth here is my ladder for the top 4 clubs in sunbury and the reasons why

1. Sunbury Lions, at least 10-15 goals better than anyone else in the region on a bad day, have been hugely successful over the last few years and have a very talented list, a bit down at the moment but will be a huge force come BFL finals time.

2. Rupertswood, 2 grand finals and a pre lim in the 3 previous years, have moved up the grades successfully in the prestigious amateur competition and besides a minor slip up last week will be a prominent figure in this years final series.

3. Diggers Rest, top of the ladder so far this year already beaten the kangaroos which already puts them above the blue and white roos just on this year alone let alone regardless of what they have accomplished over previous years.

and to the worst club in the region

4. The Kangaroos, playing above themselves haven't played in a finals series since their inception into the league and this trend will continue again this year. A disgrace of a club of the field and a severe lack of talent on it with the exception of a few who will no doubt leave next season.

i challenge anyone to dispute this providing valid reasons and statistics

footy_nerd said:
First of all whats with all these innuendos that i am from rupo, i do not align myself with any club, i prefer rather to put my weight behind those clubs that do well and ridicule those clubs that are struggling, i am what you call a bandwagon supporter.

Second of all Rupo may have had a couple of injuires no doubt about it, all clubs do have a few injured players especially at this time of the year. But to suggest you have 16 - 20 injured players that are walk up ones players and with their inclusion would significantly affect the outcome of a game is ridiculous especially considering how well everyone at the kangas thinks they are travelling. Kangas supportes you can't honestly suggest that their are 16, 17 or even 18 players on the injured list ready to come back in and strengthen the sunbury lineup. AFL clubs don't have that much depth and if you dispute this it simply shows your ignorance and lack on insight into football.

For what its worth here is my ladder for the top 4 clubs in sunbury and the reasons why

1. Sunbury Lions, at least 10-15 goals better than anyone else in the region on a bad day, have been hugely successful over the last few years and have a very talented list, a bit down at the moment but will be a huge force come BFL finals time.

2. Rupertswood, 2 grand finals and a pre lim in the 3 previous years, have moved up the grades successfully in the prestigious amateur competition and besides a minor slip up last week will be a prominent figure in this years final series.

3. Diggers Rest, top of the ladder so far this year already beaten the kangaroos which already puts them above the blue and white roos just on this year alone let alone regardless of what they have accomplished over previous years.

4. The Kangaroos, playing above themselves haven't played in a finals series since their inception into the league and this trend will continue again this year. A disgrace of a club of the field and a severe lack of talent on it with the exception of a few who will no doubt leave next season.

Very rough post footy nerd. Totally disagree, Sunbury lions, yes we are the best in the region. Ruperswood, Gisborne and Diggers also. Kangaroos at the moment are proving everyone wrong and the wins show it but I do not think they can keep it going. If they do however have all these players to come back in i expect them to be top of the table at years end. Kangaroos are not the worst on the region. They are improving and showing it. As they have such stars, money will pursue them to forge bigger and better careers down at various clubs...or not? Such as the likes of M.Welsh, anyone heard how he has been travelling? McInenrennrnenenrny a gun but he is dedicated to the kangaroos cause cant see him leaving, j.baddely keeps improving through out each year, i believe he will stay or leave.... 1 of the 2 anyway. yes thats right he wil leave or stay. Anyone heard if the kanagaroos are going to poach Lachlan Baddely his brother? From reports hes as good as j.baddely. Would this be an option of poaching next year to keep improving this kangaroos outfit? I believe this is my best post yet.

footy_nerd said:
i've had enough of all the people on here complaining about the amount of injuries their club has suffered. To say a team has 16 injuried players who would affect the outcome of a game is ridiculous. Not all of those 16 players are 1's players, maybe a handful are and another couple may be fringe players but to include all 16 is a joke and belittles your teams performance.

!
Who is complaining? Dont think anyone said they have 16 1sts players out.Not sure you have read the posts correctly.

footy_nerd said:

Sunbury Lions is obviously above everyone but how would you know with the rest of them?The teams dont play against each other and if they did it would be a practice match which would tell you nothing.Does it really matter that much?Personally I know most of the players from Rupo,Diggers and Roos and think they are fairly even.Would not be a walk over for either side.

digger9 said:
Very rough post footy nerd. Totally disagree, Sunbury lions, yes we are the best in the region. Ruperswood, Gisborne and Diggers also. Kangaroos at the moment are proving everyone wrong and the wins show it but I do not think they can keep it going. If they do however have all these players to come back in i expect them to be top of the table at years end. Kangaroos are not the worst on the region. They are improving and showing it. As they have such stars, money will pursue them to forge bigger and better careers down at various clubs...or not? Such as the likes of M.Welsh, anyone heard how he has been travelling? McInenrennrnenenrny a gun but he is dedicated to the kangaroos cause cant see him leaving, j.baddely keeps improving through out each year, i believe he will stay or leave.... 1 of the 2 anyway. yes thats right he wil leave or stay. Anyone heard if the kanagaroos are going to poach Lachlan Baddely his brother? From reports hes as good as j.baddely. Would this be an option of poaching next year to keep improving this kangaroos outfit? I believe this is my best post yet.

Agree... Fantastic Post... :thumbsu: :D

footy_nerd said:

Gee whiz mate i hope your not including Gisborne in this, i thought success was measured by premierships , i would hardly suggest Sunbury have been " hugely succesfull " in the last few years . 1 flag in 5 years is ok , but dont get to carried away . Gisborne have 3 in that same time and are on track for another , in a league that is equal if not better .

bearsboys, a valid point you make. Success is measured by premierships, and whilst sunbury lions have had only one flag in 5 years they have been serious contenders in the other 4 years and without a couple of extremely poor umpiring decisions against them they could of well had 2 more flags. A reason why sunbury kangaroos were positioned on the bottom of that ladder they have had no success and despite what many at the kangas will tell you, success isn't beating the grandfinalists from last year in home and away fixtures.

Gisborne wasn't included because they are not in the "sunbury region" nearby yes but not exactly in the same region. Good team Gisborne none the less, would be an interesting battle Gisborne and Sunbury, i'd have to pick the lions though by a couple of goals.

Dasher_23 how about you go and catch up with the rest of your reinder and go back to the north pole and stop speaking so much s h i t on this thread. I don't know who you have spoken to from diggers and rupo that think rupo diggers and kangas are pretty even because it is ridiculous, and is not a view held by the large majority, lets say 100% of the people at these clubs. The only people that think sunbury kangas are good are themselves, and we all know that the sunbury kangaroos are not good at all.

footy_nerd said:
bearsboys, a valid point you make. Success is measured by premierships, and whilst sunbury lions have had only one flag in 5 years they have been serious contenders in the other 4 years and without a couple of extremely poor umpiring decisions against them they could of well had 2 more flags. A reason why sunbury kangaroos were positioned on the bottom of that ladder they have had no success and despite what many at the kangas will tell you, success isn't beating the grandfinalists from last year in home and away fixtures.

Gisborne wasn't included because they are not in the "sunbury region" nearby yes but not exactly in the same region. Good team Gisborne none the less, would be an interesting battle Gisborne and Sunbury, i'd have to pick the lions though by a couple of goals.

Dasher_23 how about you go and catch up with the rest of your reinder and go back to the north pole and stop speaking so much s h i t on this thread. I don't know who you have spoken to from diggers and rupo that think rupo diggers and kangas are pretty even because it is ridiculous, and is not a view held by the large majority, lets say 100% of the people at these clubs. The only people that think sunbury kangas are good are themselves, and we all know that the sunbury kangaroos are not good at all.

Blah, Blah, Blah..

Didn't you listen to the last guy meathead? Your saying the same damn things he said...

Time for this weeks tips I think...

Kilmore Vs Woodend/Hesket

Most will call Romsey V Riddell match of the round, but I think this may be the game of the round.

Kilmore have been nothing if inconsistent this year, a draw with Macedon, a win over the Kangaroos, a close loss to Diggers, a flogging by Riddell and a comfortable win over Lancefield has been the Blues formline, making them a tough side to tip. The Blues midfield has been outstanding over recent weeks and with Matty Robertson flying and Trav Hede and Damien Barton in good form the Blues have some awesome drive when they get going.

Woodend had a brilliant win over a fast finishing Romsey last week and a good start for new coach Mick Giddings.
The Hawks also have a strong midfield which is where this game will be won. Mick Lacey and Dale Cuinik as well as Kar Weng are the men to stop if Kilmore is to be a show.

Watch for the Barton Vs Cuinik matchup on the wing as a game highlight.. The winner of that battle will go a long way to winning the match.

For me, home is where Kilmore are at thier strongest, the Robbo and Rowe show should be too much for Woodend unless Cuinik can dominate.

Kilmore by 18 points.

Melton Centrals Vs Diggers Rest

The Burra have been in awesome form, and the return of Davis to the side only makes them more dangerous.

Centrals will be no push over though, they love the challenge of playing the Burra and are a much better side on thier own paddock.

Diggers should be too strong though and will win by 35 points.

Romsey Vs Riddell

This game will be a ripper with both sides coming off losses last week.

Riddell wont be happy about last weeks loss and will come out firing, the talk will revolve around whether full forward Lee James will play. Either way the Bombers are an awesome side when in full flight. "Bomber" Besanko, Juzzy Bellville and Heath Wadden are keys, as is Leigh Harrison. The Bombers young guns were good last week and will look to show much of the same this week.

Romsey flew home last week against the Hawks but fell short after an after the siren shot at goal just missed.
The Romsey midfield must start to step up now, they will not be able to give the Bombers such a headstart.
Matty McClellan, Brydon Morgan and Al Meldrum will be pumped for this one and will be players that the Bombers need to watch for.

I think this will be a real physical encounter with the Redbacks ready to start winding up towards finals.

Romsey to win by 10 points.

Macedon FC Vs Lancefield.

Lancefield will be looking to kickstart thier run home this week against a struggling Macedon. The Tigers are starting to have thier stars return and with a full side on the field will be looking from more from guys like Tully, Choate and Scooter Clarke.

Macedon have had thier injury worries too and will be keen to win this one at home. Since the draw to Kilmore after being a long way in front and the loss to the Kangaroos, the Cats have struggled, thier young guys are still trying hard and will be out to show what they have this week.

The Tigers look to have the experience in this one and should win.

Lancefield by 28 points.

Rockbank Vs Sunbury Kangaroos.

The Kangaroos to win.:thumbsu:

Thats_Special said:
Time for this weeks tips I think...

Kilmore will account for the Hawks by 2-4 goals.
Romsey will beat a Riddell outfit minus Lee James in a close battle.
Diggers will overpower Melton Central and win by 50+ points.
Sunbury Kangaroos will be too skilled for Rockbank and should win by 50-70 points.
Macedon could be involved in their second draw I think it will be that close. I'll tip the Tigers to win, but only just.

Thats_Special said:
Blah, Blah, Blah..

Didn't you listen to the last guy meathead? Your saying the same damn things he said...

I guess their saying the same thing so maybe finally you will realise that the kangaroos are as talented as a bag of s h i t.

I've been holding back reading your absolute nonsense on these apparent "guns", and post by post it has been making me ill!!!

Get a clue jerk.

OldMelburnian28 said:
I guess their saying the same thing so maybe finally you will realise that the kangaroos are as talented as a bag of s h i t.

I've been holding back reading your absolute nonsense on these apparent "guns", and post by post it has been making me ill!!!

Get a clue jerk.

Yes mate... Another quality post... Can you just show me in one post when I called any player a "Gun"...?

Thats right... Dont think I have.. But well done anyways... And the best you got is as talented as a bag of s h i t... :thumbsu:

Excellent stuff... Its gold... Hope you can come up with some more original quality comments for the RDFL thread... That would be SPECIALLLLL.....

(And I need a clue).....

footy_nerd said:

Top clubs in the region... Gee, worked hard on this one...

1. Sunbury Lions - Well established club, have been a strong successful club for a long time and will continue to be so.. Club has the resources through local sponsorship and council backing to support the strength of the club, and well done to them, many people have worked very hard to ensure this success and stability.

2. Rupertswood - Able to build a strong Senior club through its earlier work in the Juniors in the... Um... The RDFL.. Again, excellent resources through local government, the school and sponsors due to the Ammo's competition.. Have done extremely well as a club to continue to build each year and be competitive in each new grade that they step up to. Will continue to be a good club due to once again, the people running the club, who work hard to ensure success.

3 - Diggers Rest - Sitting on top of the RDFL ladder, resources not as strong as Rupo or Sunbury but still able to generate sponsorship that is suffice in the RDFL, a side that has been built through mateship more than anything else, but a club that has overcome previous adversity to be able to operate successfully. Again, through committee that has worked extremely hard to achieve success.

4 - Sunbury Kangaroos - Unquestionably positioned behind these 3 clubs in the scheme of things. Initially started by low and behold aged Sunbury Lions players looking for an opportunity to finish thier careers in a lower competion and enjoy a bit of football, continued this way for many years until these guys decided to call it quits. Club has come a long way in the past 5 years due to, dare I say it, hard work from committee members who have strived to make the CLUB competitive and an enjoyable experience, which it is. This year the CLUB has made quality steps in achieving success both on and off the field.

It is a credit to the people within all of these clubs that spend alot of thier own time and money to see thier club successful, only for imbeciles to attempt to shoot them down for thier own personal comedic value.

Luckily, for these tireless contributors to all of these clubs, yours and others tiny immature attempts to drag them down is of little consequence.. I enjoy watching the football of all levels, and personally cannot wait to continue enjoying the entertainment that these people put on the field, week in, week out... The entertainment that gives you people the opportunity to attempt to entertain yourself at thier expense....

All clubs, keep up the good work, its good to see good competitions getting better every year due to the work that you put in....:thumbsu:

Thats_Special said:
Top clubs in the region... Gee, worked hard on this one...

All clubs, keep up the good work, its good to see good competitions getting better every year due to the work that you put in....:thumbsu:

Righto, I think this Sunbury, Rupo, best clubs, who's got the guns, etc stuff has been done to death. How about we just turn our focus back to the footy and keep it there for a while? Romsey by a goal this week. Hawks by three.

Can anyone give me any information about the Sunbury Kangaroos?

I use to play for them in the U12's and apart from their very information limited website, and the lack of an answering machine, and the fact I don't have a car and live about 5km from the training oval (which means I would have to walk a damn long way), I want some information about the reservers training schedule.

I remember in U10's back um... geez 10-11 years ago, we beat Kilmore for our only win of the season, and it was my B'day that day too :thumbsu:

2 years later the U12's won their first premiership in f.u.c.k knows how long... I went to Romsey/Lansfield the next year and we won there as well the following year, that was cool in the U12's... there were so many players, like around 40 or so in the U12's alone, I think it was the year after we won they split the teams, I don't know that was so long ago and i moved away the following year.
I was um... 12 at that stage. So anyway... moved to the ODFL, played there for 4 seasons in the U16's, won a premiership, made the finals 3 times, I was primed for B&F in my last season in U16's, even possibly a shot at Gippsland Power (i think it was them) till I broke my wrist and fugged all the ligaments in my right ankle in one nice little spill :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown:

:D

The above probably off topic, but some information would be sweet anyway :D

I aint played since U16's, but I do have 2 years of umpiring under my belt so :thumbsu:

MrSquashed said:
Can anyone give me any information about the Sunbury Kangaroos?

I use to play for them in the U12's and apart from their very information limited website, and the lack of an answering machine, and the fact I don't have a car and live about 5km from the training oval (which means I would have to walk a damn long way), I want some information about the reservers training schedule.

I remember in U10's back um... geez 10-11 years ago, we beat Kilmore for our only win of the season, and it was my B'day that day too :thumbsu:

2 years later the U12's won their first premiership in f.u.c.k knows how long... I went to Romsey/Lansfield the next year and we won there as well the following year, that was cool in the U12's... there were so many players, like around 40 or so in the U12's alone, I think it was the year after we won they split the teams, I don't know that was so long ago and i moved away the following year.
I was um... 12 at that stage. So anyway... moved to the ODFL, played there for 4 seasons in the U16's, won a premiership, made the finals 3 times, I was primed for B&F in my last season in U16's, even possibly a shot at Gippsland Power (i think it was them) till I broke my wrist and fugged all the ligaments in my right ankle in one nice little spill :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown:

:D

The above probably off topic, but some information would be sweet anyway :D

I aint played since U16's, but I do have 2 years of umpiring under my belt so :thumbsu:

Welcome to the life and times of Mr Squashed...

MrSquashed said:
Oh i know :thumbsu:

its been a while :eek:

Good to hear from you JC, it's been a while. By the way, that free you paid against me in U18's a few years back was a disgrace. Good to hear you've hung up the whites. Good luck in your return to football, hope all goes well and you continue to report to all on Big footy.

footy_nerd said:
Care to elaborate as to what **** I have been speaking? To be honest Kangaroos are my least favourite club in the region but the way they have got there act together is admirable and the fact that you waste your time on here trying to drag them down is a poor reflection on you.I think the kangaroos can now claim to be competitive with both Diggers and Rupo.Probably got a bit of a way to go to be right on the same level but why would you bother going on an a thread about a league that is not your own just to slag off another club unless you were incredibly worried about them?

Grew up playing with and against the majority of the rupo side so I think I have a fair grasp on how good they are.Certainly they would be no sure thing against the better sides in the rdfl.Probably start favourites but there are quality players on both sides.

Took time out tonight to have a look at the burra train tonight, and boy they were looking sharp. Any inside info on the vibe and moral down there? In my opinion they are still favourites (james or no james) and will only continue to build in strength as the season progresses. Meanwhile the sunbury kangaroos continue to be the most overated side in the rdfl. Bout time they played some quality opposition and get a measure of where their at.

p.s. big round of footy approaching, my tips will be posted later in the week.

OM man out

Agree the Burra are flying at the moment but there weekness has to be there backline.
Give credit to the Kangaroos. They've knocked off 3 of the top four sides in the last three weeks.( Not bad form!)
As for Woodend they are playing on emotion at the moment.
They have a very suspect forward line that has let them down in the big games.
And i hear that Brown has walked out on the club as well which may hurt them.
Never played on him but from what i hear he only kick's goals against the bottom sides so it may not have an impact at all.
Romsey to thump Riddell after that shocking performance against Woodend.
And toss the coin over Macedon and Lancefield.
Sunbury to thump Rockbank.

"Grew up playing with and against the majority of the rupo side so I think I have a fair grasp on how good they are.Certainly they would be no sure thing against the better sides in the rdfl.Probably start favourites but there are quality players on both sides."

Spot on Dasher. All sides in the region are doing well at the moment, perhaps these folk (al-a: footy nerd) should go on other league forums and argue the quality of footy being played by the whole Sunba region.
Any big ins/outs this week?
A couple of squash games for mine, Kangas to continue their rise and Diggers to hold firm on top.
Food for thought: "Wise men say forgiveness is divine, but never pay full price for late pizza."

News up from the north east this week is kangas ruckman woolcock has been making rounds at benalla and violet town, my sources say that he trained twice with violet town and was close to helping the two's at benalla but didnt get a permit, also heard out of violet town that he might of been made an offer to come home, what have the roo's boys got to say about this? it wouldnt be a good time to be losing a seniors player

Wednesday 14-6-2006

Press Conference Sunbury Kangaroos Football Club

The Sunbury Kangaroos Football Club are pleased to inform it's supporters that star recruit Scott Woolcock is going No where in 2006. The Star Ruckman had returned home on University holidays for some R&R with friends and family. Woolcock spoke at his press conference stating "I would always love to play for Benalla and VT again, but this year im a Roo, in not going anywhere".

Asked about his sightings at Violet Town training, and questioned about money he replied "Money, maybe but im committed to the Roos and my mates there this year, i haven't ruled out 2007 yet. His management are currently in talks with the Roos about 2007 and offers. Coach Dixon stating "The club will sit down with scott closer to the end of the year, and talk. Until then we have a job to do and we are pleased, Scott's aboard and always had been". "We have talks with several other players and exciting new potential as well closer to the end of year as well as sponsor's". Questioned about his team current form "We are travelling ok, we are not getting carried away, i have a job to do and so do the player's and right now its winning Saturday".

The Kangaroos play Rockbank at Ian Cowie reserve Saturday, and the Number 23 will take the field. Asked and questioned about rumours with team mate House, he replied "We are best of mates, nothin wrong, we're renting soon, so that information's incorrect". A falling out was believed to taken place over some females, and may have influenced his return home. "We're still good mates and will be in 2007, where ever i play my football".

Sen 1116
Kevin Bartlett