RDFL Thread

BrownDog2 said:
to me they look like they have been told to be very harsh on him just because he is used to playing at a higher level

What a load of garbage. It's country football with country umpires.
The man is getting $1000 a game, with that money he is expected to put up with whatever the crowd dishes out to him, or whenever he doesn't get a free kick he deserves.[/quote]

Have a look at yourself Brown Dog... You have no proof on what this guy gets paid.. Yr just another one guessing.. Ill tell you right now, there is no need for any player to put up with that.. Every player standing out on a football field deserves the exact same treatment from the umpires.. I dont care what stick a crowd gives out, they have to do something when getting beat... But to say he should put up with not getting a free kick when he deserves it time after time, you are only kidding yourself... If a free kick is there, it should be paid, simple as that....

As for the rumour he is giving it away, we can only hope not, but thats a choice Aaron has to make, but if he does, he is letting people like you Dog have the last laugh, cant wait to see him come back and demolish your side..... See you in the finals....

l didn't say he shouldn't get free kicks, of course he should. But to suggest the umpires don't give them to him becuase he played AFL football is laughable.

BrownDog2 said:
l didn't say he shouldn't get free kicks, of course he should. But to suggest the umpires don't give them to him becuase he played AFL football is laughable.
No browngoose2 the umpiring is laughable!

BrownDog2 said:

It was exactly what you said.. And they dont, the reason is that they expect more, if a regular player copped the treatment Aaron did they would receive kicks left right and centre.. Its strange, his last name is James, yet doesn't get anywhere near the frees another James in our comp gets...

If you have read the last couple weeks you would understand that we are arguing the fact that he should like any other forward in the RDFL should be paid the free kicks that are there. We don't want him to recieve free kicks becuase he played AFL and has played in other leagues, we want him to be paid for free kicks that occur in the game, that are obvious. They don't pay him the free kicks becuase then it looks as though they are on his side, we'll its clear they're not, and hence the reason he got 2 again.

I watched a junior game of Under14's yesterday in the RDFL and the two field umpires were guys that would offciate a saturday seniors game, and the level of unpiring by those two was disgraceful and these blokes are senior umpires, time to find umpires that know what's a free and what's not!

By the way the ( Boundary) umpire that reported Aaron was a 15 year old boy, a 15 year old boy doesn't even know what to do with his old fella yet, neither alone whats reportable and not! It was a scuffle, couple jumper grabings and words!

The umpiring this year has definetly taken a backwards step, clubs go out and offer players a little $ to make a move to a club in another league. maybe the league should try a similar thing with a few umpires, 5 games of football per week that is only 10 decent feild umpires, plus maybe an average one if they need 3, who is the coach, does he have any experience at a high level, maybe they should look for one. I am sure players would pay a little more membership, clubs would pay slightly higher fees, quality umpires would get a little more but every one would be happier if we started to see some improvement and quality umpires. if umpires were paid on a performance base would it perhaps make a difference.
Umpires vote on clubs in the club of the year award, maybe it is time for the opposite.
Just asking a couple of questions not having a dig.:D

Thats_Special said:
Its strange, his last name is James, yet doesn't get anywhere near the frees another James in our comp gets ...
Your right on the money there Special , i've only seen 2 rdfl games this year both involving Riddell and i was absolutely astounded at the amount of soft frees Lee James received . Dont get me wrong , great footballer but he was definetily well looked after on both occasions . I had the pleasure of watching A. James a fair bit when he was at Gisborne and i thought he was also hard done by week in week out by the men in orange , still happened to kick a bag each week though .

i was at the game. what is everyone talking about there was not one free kick james should have got. anyone can throw their arms out and have a sook at every little bump or hold. the man is 6.6 he should grow up. the way he acted during the game and after the game was pathetic. walking over to the crowd and carrying on. god he is not the only one who gets abused in the comp. why not concentrate on how well helmers, mclernerny no. 22??, king, and donavon they were all sensational. helmers especially was great around the clearances. great win by the roos!! its sad that we are talking about james instead of the team that had a great win

Aaron James is no different to any other player in this league.
Just because he has more talent than any other player in this league, that dosnt give him the freedom to abuse the umpires whenever things dont go his way...If an umpire is abused by a player it is very rare for that player to then receive a free kick after that even if the free is there..From what i understand James has a ferocious temper and absolutely no discipline at all...maybe he should just get over the fact that he has played at AFL level and that he was once compaired to Wayne Carey as a junior...the fact that he is even playing at this level says a lot about the type of person he is...what is he hoping to achieve by playing at this level?:thumbsdown:

kanga clan :D take a breather their is not a member of your committee or coaching panel that did not know that A. J. would not be high maintenance, To all the knockers of this comp I say nick off 3 to 4 years ago this comp was laughed at now it is growing in strength look how close the competition is and the brand of football played :thumbsu: as was reported a couple of weeks ago the league was delighted with how few reports had been made now all of a sudden one bloke with a big reputation and obviously no disciplin keeps bucking the system and it now the leagues fault maybe Aaron should take a look at himself and stop blaming others for his short comings :rolleyes:

sorry hawkeye how is he bucking the system, your right the league has minimal reports but now 10 weeks into a season they decide to get tough on asking questions, that should be set from the start, abuse shouldn't be tolerated but to go from 1 extreme to the next is ridiculus, 3 or 4 from the roos have been done for this and only 1 of those incidents should have ended the way they all did, i know their have been others in the league i would like to know how many since round 10. rules are set at the start of the season for a reason.
the standard of the league has improved your right but this will be the highest it will get if good players continue to get a raw deal not to mention abuse from the crowd, why would someone want to come and get scrutinised all the time, james is no exception if you abuse you should wear it, but a free is a free have a close look, any player that plays hard and hits packs rarely get a free, because he plays tough is not an excuse. umpires are judging players, they are there to officiate a game that is all.

Some have asked the question as to why Aaron James gets a RAW DEAL from the umpires and Lee James dosn't..Could it be that Lee dosn't bag the umpires when things dont go his way?..to suggest that the league has a hidden aggenda with Aaron just dosn't make sense to me..I'm sure they love the fact that such a high profile player has graced us with his presence but why would they put up with his antics?..Just remember all you Kanga supporters, no player is bigger than the club..Even if he is getting a raw deal from the umpires, you are getting a raw deal from him..if a player wants to crack the sh*ts and go and sit in his car and then suggest that he may not play again because he's not getting a fair go is letting the team down..i think his mummy should smack his bottom and threaten to ground him if he misbehaves again!!!:D

jockstrap jim said:
Aaron James is no different to any other player in this league.
Just because he has more talent than any other player in this league, that dosnt give him the freedom to abuse the umpires whenever things dont go his way...If an umpire is abused by a player it is very rare for that player to then receive a free kick after that even if the free is there..From what i understand James has a ferocious temper and absolutely no discipline at all...maybe he should just get over the fact that he has played at AFL level and that he was once compaired to Wayne Carey as a junior...the fact that he is even playing at this level says a lot about the type of person he is...what is he hoping to achieve by playing at this level?:thumbsdown:
You cant be very bright D I C K H E A D what's your IQ less than 40 it must be.What has playing in the rdfl got to do with what sort of a person Jamesy is he's 30 years old coming to the end of his footy days still playing good footy and came to sunbury to play with a mate of his if that makes you a bad person your a heck W I T T!!! He's a good bloke you wouldnt know cos you prob havn't met him otherwise you wouldn't be saying these things.
Drop off GOOSE!!!!!!

whiteout said:
i was at the game. what is everyone talking about there was not one free kick james should have got. anyone can throw their arms out and have a sook at every little bump or hold. the man is 6.6 he should grow up. the way he acted during the game and after the game was pathetic. walking over to the crowd and carrying on. god he is not the only one who gets abused in the comp. why not concentrate on how well helmers, mclernerny no. 22??, king, and donavon they were all sensational. helmers especially was great around the clearances. great win by the roos!! its sad that we are talking about james instead of the team that had a great win

I do sort of agree with this post... Probably the only one that has made any sense.. Kairns did a great job on James on the weekend, and deserves credit for the way he played, the talk has got on to the free kicks, and I agree, compared to previous weeks, there was not many that James should have got, poss 1 or 2.. I think when this was started it was about the actual focus James gets from umpires on the reverse.. One umpire actually stated that he would be watching and if he said one word he would be reported.. A little unfair.. Each game should be umpired on its merits.. And I just dont think they are.. There is another set of rules for him... When this should never happen.:thumbsu:
But agree, King, Donovan and especially Helmers were sensational.. No doubt about it.. Also thought that L.McInerney was very good too...:thumbsu:

Thats_Special said:
I do sort of agree with this post... Probably the only one that has made any sense.. Kairns did a great job on James on the weekend, and deserves credit for the way he played, the talk has got on to the free kicks, and I agree, compared to previous weeks, there was not many that James should have got, poss 1 or 2.. I think when this was started it was about the actual focus James gets from umpires on the reverse.. One umpire actually stated that he would be watching and if he said one word he would be reported.. A little unfair.. Each game should be umpired on its merits.. And I just dont think they are.. There is another set of rules for him... When this should never happen.:thumbsu:
But agree, King, Donovan and especially Helmers were sensational.. No doubt about it.. Also thought that L.McInerney was very good too...:thumbsu:
I agree Helmers was very good but they need to start their best players in the middle and he is certainly in that bracket.
Slow starts will start to hurt come finals time and thats why helmers must start in the MIDDLE!

molly99 said:
I agree Helmers was very good but they need to start their best players in the middle and he is certainly in that bracket.
Slow starts will start to hurt come finals time and thats why helmers must start in the MIDDLE!

It was Dean's first game back from injury.. he has again had some injuries this year.. Think there was more of a lets see how he handles it mentality to open the game... :thumbsu:

now now molly99 watch the language you are showing the same tolerance as A .J. and that my friend is the problem:)
the whole idea of a forum is for people to have an opinion so lighten up and dont be so crued :(
i am sure Aaron has copped plenty more than what has been dished out or are you saying yhat the reason he keeps changing clubs and leagues is because he cant handle the heat then maybe he should take up fishing:confused:

molly99 said:
You cant be very bright D I C K H E A D what's your IQ less than 40 it must be.What has playing in the rdfl got to do with what sort of a person Jamesy is he's 30 years old coming to the end of his footy days still playing good footy and came to sunbury to play with a mate of his if that makes you a bad person your a heck W I T T!!! He's a good bloke you wouldnt know cos you prob havn't met him otherwise you wouldn't be saying these things.
Drop off GOOSE!!!!!!
This dosn't even deserve a reply hero but here goes..
If he is coming back to play with a mate then i'm really happy for him..you say he is 30 years old and coming to the end of his career..that's beautiful..and the part about him being a good bloke..that's gold..you are correct in assuming that i don't know the bloke but my opinions are based purely on what has been on one of these marvelous threads or in the papers..so obviously the papers are crucifying poor Jamesy..people on this thread are also crucifying him and let's not forget the umpires..oh and the RDFL as a whole..my hat goes off to the 15 year old kid who had the balls to report him and didnt fall for his macho bull****..i've said it before and i'll say it again no player is bigger than the club!!!!!

I just love the fact all the people having a shot at Jamesy are from Diggers Rest... Something to fear guys??? Im sure you all would love to see him go... I personally, would love to see him stay in the comp, if only to destroy you imbeciles.....:thumbsu:

Thats_Special said:
I just love the fact all the people having a shot at Jamesy are from Diggers Rest... Something to fear guys??? Im sure you all would love to see him go... I personally, would love to see him stay in the comp, if only to destroy you imbeciles.....:thumbsu:
I don't know about the other's but i'm pretty sure that i'm not from Digger's. I too would love to see him stay in the competition. Great for the league to have someone of James' quality in it. Get's everybody talking but most of the time for the wrong reasons. Would love to see him pull his head in and play the quality football that he obviously can play. But i ask all you Kanga fans, do you seriously think that would be possible? And please don't say that if the umpires left him alone he may be able too. I think it's about time we moved passed the conspiracy theories and concentrated on reality. It would take a big man to bite his tongue and accept that the umpire's are never going to give him a fair go and just concentrate on what he can control. And that is getting the footy and helping the team in it's quest for a flag!:thumbsu:

jockstrap jim said:
I don't know about the other's but i'm pretty sure that i'm not from Digger's. I too would love to see him stay in the competition. Great for the league to have someone of James' quality in it. Get's everybody talking but most of the time for the wrong reasons. Would love to see him pull his head in and play the quality football that he obviously can play. But i ask all you Kanga fans, do you seriously think that would be possible? And please don't say that if the umpires left him alone he may be able too. I think it's about time we moved passed the conspiracy theories and concentrated on reality. It would take a big man to bite his tongue and accept that the umpire's are never going to give him a fair go and just concentrate on what he can control. And that is getting the footy and helping the team in it's quest for a flag!:thumbsu:

Once again, thats up to what Jamesy wants to do on the field.. Is certainly capable of it, and if he does.. Watch out....:thumbsu: Still think it would be tough to cop what he cops and not go off yr melon though!!!!

Big week coming up, as finals approach who will handle the pressure.

Diggers over Macedon by 80 points.
Kilmore over melton in a must win game 15 points
Riddell to record biggest margin of the season

Lancefield in a major upset! romsey physically and mentally damaged from previous week will not be upto it.

Game of the round: Woodend vs Sunbury

I'm gonna pick woodend to give the kangaroos a bit of a hiding, and regain 3rd spot. Sunbury have had a great year but i predict this week will start their demise. They willl just make the finals but have no impact.

OldMelburnian28 said:
Game of the round: Woodend vs Sunbury

I'm gonna pick woodend to give the kangaroos a bit of a hiding, and regain 3rd spot. Sunbury have had a great year but i predict this week will start their demise. They willl just make the finals but have no impact.

At least you hope so... You have predicting our demise for how long now.. This would be 8 weeks.. So just for your credibility you would hope so... :thumbsu:

jockstrap jim said:
Are you trying to say he hasn't been playing good footy?
35 goals in 4 games isn't to bad Jockstrap!!!

TIGERS2323 said:
Are you trying to say he hasn't been playing good footy?
35 goals in 4 games isn't to bad Jockstrap!!!

Not bad!!! Tell me one side in any competition anywhere in Australia that wouldn't have a guy come in and kick 34 in 4.... :thumbsu: