RDFL Thread

jockstrap jim said:
Good to see you Kanga's supporter's are back on the Jamesy bandwagon again..As quiet as a mouse for the last 3 weeks and now all of a sudden!..All i can say is that he obviously makes a very ordinary side very bloody good..Go Kanga's!!!!!P.S You also forgot to mention that he was crucified by the umpires on the day as well. Oh and the reason that he was ill was also self inflicted!

Oh, good to see the dimwit is back on the thread, we have missed unintelligent posts since you have been gone.... Idiot... Just once I would like to see you post anything, anything at all, that is actually about the football in this competition... Just one post... Please... Just to show us all that you actually know what happens in our comp...

OldMelburnian28 said:
Is an absolute disgrace that a quality player in heath wadden will more than likely miss an entire finals campaign, because of swearing!!!
Surely the RDFL have to look into this and hopefully common sense will prevail. But, going from previous incidents, ie Aaron James, season 2006 has come to an end for the riddell goal kicker, and he will leave a big hole in the riddell outfit.
Lets not get too carried away here. It shouldn't matter whether he is a quality player or not. Noone has mentioned that is was stupid of Wadden to use abusive language in the first place. I will be the first to say that the ruling on abusive language is too severe.-and i'm not a big fan of it. However as mentioned the precedent has been set and one of the players that copped the full brunt of it was Wadden’s team mate and friend Mick Gadsen. I would of thought that Wadden knowing what the consequences of his actions would be, could of exercised a little bit of self control-and i'm sure that's what the Riddell coaching staff are thinking at the moment. The only thing that will be a disgrace is if the tribunal takes the soft option and gives him a lenient penalty. I have nothing against Wadden, he's a great player but the tribunals credibility is on the line here.
Would like to hear from Kangaroos fans if he gets off with a week peanlty!!!

woody07 said:
Lets not get too carried away here. It shouldn't matter whether he is a quality player or not. Noone has mentioned that is was stupid of Wadden to use abusive language in the first place. I will be the first to say that the ruling on abusive language is too severe.-and i'm not a big fan of it. However as mentioned the precedent has been set and one of the players that copped the full brunt of it was Wadden’s team mate and friend Mick Gadsen. I would of thought that Wadden knowing what the consequences of his actions would be, could of exercised a little bit of self control-and i'm sure that's what the Riddell coaching staff are thinking at the moment. The only thing that will be a disgrace is if the tribunal takes the soft option and gives him a lenient penalty. I have nothing against Wadden, he's a great player but the tribunals credibility is on the line here.
Would like to hear from Kangaroos fans if he gets off with a week peanlty!!!

is there different levels of abusive language which would constitute whether or not a player would recieve 1 ,2 or up to 4 weeks . My question would be what was the case so different that gadsen got 4 weeks were at james only got two. I agree every player knows the rules but for all of us that play this great game sometimes emotion gets the better of us all. ANyway at the end of the day coming from an opposition club id rather have known that we beat riddell with the likes of wadden in the side then him being out through suspension so in that case i hope he only gets a lientant sentence.

billylid said:
is there different levels of abusive language which would constitute whether or not a player would recieve 1 ,2 or up to 4 weeks . My question would be what was the case so different that gadsen got 4 weeks were at james only got two. I agree every player knows the rules but for all of us that play this great game sometimes emotion gets the better of us all. ANyway at the end of the day coming from an opposition club id rather have known that we beat riddell with the likes of wadden in the side then him being out through suspension so in that case i hope he only gets a lientant sentence.

James was reported with abusive language towards an umpire, Gadsden was reported for threatening language towards an umpire, hence the harsher penalty I believe.... Im not exactly sure of the details behind the Wadden report, was just told he was reported for abusing the umpire.. Maybe someone from Riddell can clear it up for us...

billylid said:
It was made clear to all clubs a month ago that abusive language will not be tolerated. Subsequently two bigger name players in the comp have been given two pretty big suspensions. WARNING BELLS should have sounded!!!! Yes emotion plays a big part in our game. However discipline plays a bigger part in our game and self control is paramount a team's success. I wont and cant argue the point that teams deserve to have their best team on the park come finals, because i couldn’t agree with you more. This however is not the issue. The issue is that ALL players need to be on a level playing field. If the abuse was as extreme as Gadsens he should get 4, if it was on par with James he should get 2. Again i'm not a big fan of blokes getting rubbed out for swearing but that is an issue the league will need to address at the end of this year.

billylid said:

There is only one level of abusive language from there it goes to abusive language towards an umpire then to threatening language.

Woody why would you like to hear fro kangaroos supporters if he gets off lightly there are 5 teams in the finals that would have an opinion.

As for the 4 weeks gadsden recieved i heard from someone at riddell that he didn't stop from the start of the game till he got reported in the last quarter and most were surprised it took 4 quarters to go into the book.
He gets what he gets it has been said he knew there was a crack down.
If there is a speed camera on the road and everybody knows it's there nobody speeds. you only have to use your head.

woody07 said:
It was made clear to all clubs a month ago that abusive language will not be tolerated. Subsequently two bigger name players in the comp have been given two pretty big suspensions. WARNING BELLS should have sounded!!!! Yes emotion plays a big part in our game. However discipline plays a bigger part in our game and self control is paramount a team's success. I wont and cant argue the point that teams deserve to have their best team on the park come finals, because i couldn’t agree with you more. This however is not the issue. The issue is that ALL players need to be on a level playing field. If the abuse was as extreme as Gadsens he should get 4, if it was on par with James he should get 2. Again i'm not a big fan of blokes getting rubbed out for swearing but that is an issue the league will need to address at the end of this year.

Agree, and at this stage, it is how the rule stands, it has been enforced and therefore through to the end of the season will continue to be enforced.. The league can then review the rules, but for now, I dont think they can, if Waddsy did the crime, he must do the time..

I can't believe some of the stuff that is been written here about needing to look at the sweating rule come the end of the season.

What do you lot want?

In the finals there will be big crowds, do we all want to see players running at and or swearing at umpires because they didn't agree with a decision?

Wadden is in deep poop. He was offered 1 but that becomes an automatic 2 as he's already been reported this season. If found guilty, he will get more than 2, as that was what he was offered, go to the tribunal and lose, expect to get more. Wadden's woeful tribunal record won't help.

He's gone.

BrownDog2 said:
I can't believe some of the stuff that is been written here about needing to look at the sweating rule come the end of the season.

What do you lot want?

In the finals there will be big crowds, do we all want to see players running at and or swearing at umpires because they didn't agree with a decision?

Wadden is in deep poop. He was offered 1 but that becomes an automatic 2 as he's already been reported this season. If found guilty, he will get more than 2, as that was what he was offered, go to the tribunal and lose, expect to get more. Wadden's woeful tribunal record won't help.

He's gone.

I dont think that the swearing should not be reported, I just think that the penalties are quite severe.. An automatic report for a sendoff is a bit too tough, if we had just the send off rule, I think in most incidents, that would be enough of a punishment, to leave a side short a player for 15 minutes.. But they are also being reported and missing games as well, we are punishing players 3 or 4 times for the one offence that isnt really that serious.. A free, a fifty, a send off and a report, all a bit steep dont you think?

Thats_Special said:
Oh, good to see the dimwit is back on the thread, we have missed unintelligent posts since you have been gone.... Idiot... Just once I would like to see you post anything, anything at all, that is actually about the football in this competition... Just one post... Please... Just to show us all that you actually know what happens in our comp...

Spot on TS. For a bloke with his history i wouldnt have thought Jockstrap would be giving out advice to anyone about how important it is to not s.h.i.t. in your own backyard. Tell us Jockstrap, how popular are you at your club? It makes me sick to know that you are still involved!

footyhead18 said:
Spot on TS. For a bloke with his history i wouldnt have thought Jockstrap would be giving out advice to anyone about how important it is to not s.h.i.t. in your own backyard. Tell us Jockstrap, how popular are you at your club? It makes me sick to know that you are still involved!

So JJ, you a player still??? A guy who had a bit of talent but wasted it by chance???

Thats_Special said:
So JJ, you a player still??? A guy who had a bit of talent but wasted it by chance???
The reason so many have been reported for swearing this year is IMO the rule is not universal within RDFL umpires. One umpire will show leaniancy one week, with possibly a caution, and the following week a different umpire will report a player for a similar offence. Thoughts???

OldMelburnian28 said:
The reason so many have been reported for swearing this year is IMO the rule is not universal within RDFL umpires. One umpire will show leaniancy one week, with possibly a caution, and the following week a different umpire will report a player for a similar offence. Thoughts???

That's the same for many many decison's that umpires make over the course of a match, they're humans not robots, so they umpire and think slightly differently to each other.
What umpire A thinks is prior opporunity, umpire B maybe more or less harsher

BrownDog2 said:
That's the same for many many decison's that umpires make over the course of a match, they're humans not robots, so they umpire and think slightly differently to each other.
What umpire A thinks is prior opporunity, umpire B maybe more or less harsher
Yes true, but in your example what are the ramifications? A ball up, or the tackle paid holding the ball. Bit different to 2-4 weeks suspension wouldn't you say? Of course we cannot make umpires view every (minor) decision the same, and in a way that's the beauty of the game, but for something as serious as a report, umpires MUST understand and follow a universal precident!

OldMelburnian28 said:
Yes true, but in your example what are the ramifications? A ball up, or the tackle paid holding the ball. Bit different to 2-4 weeks suspension wouldn't you say? Of course we cannot make umpires view every (minor) decision the same, and in a way that's the beauty of the game, but for something as serious as a report, umpires MUST understand and follow a universal precident!

Agree again... Geez OM, whats going on here....

On serious events that could effect the course of a season there needs to be a consistent level of officiating across the board, the punishment really needs to fit the crime.. In most instances it doesn't...

Thats_Special said:
James was reported with abusive language towards an umpire, Gadsden was reported for threatening language towards an umpire, hence the harsher penalty I believe.... Im not exactly sure of the details behind the Wadden report, was just told he was reported for abusing the umpire.. Maybe someone from Riddell can clear it up for us...

Wadden was reported after being struck in the head after a high tackle and didn't receive a free kick .Wadden was reported for saying f***king hell . Does this constitute having the chance taken away from you to play in a grand final if Riddell made it ,for saying the f word get out of here what has this world come too.

roon1 said:
Wadden was reported after being struck in the head after a high tackle and didn't receive a free kick .Wadden was reported for saying f***king hell . Does this constitute having the chance taken away from you to play in a grand final if Riddell made it ,for saying the f word get out of here what has this world come too.

if thats all he said that is definetly abit harsh. is he fighting it tonight or did he cop it

blues12 said:
There is only one level of abusive language from there it goes to abusive language towards an umpire then to threatening language.

Woody why would you like to hear fro kangaroos supporters if he gets off lightly there are 5 teams in the finals that would have an opinion.

As for the 4 weeks gadsden recieved i heard from someone at riddell that he didn't stop from the start of the game till he got reported in the last quarter and most were surprised it took 4 quarters to go into the book.
He gets what he gets it has been said he knew there was a crack down.
If there is a speed camera on the road and everybody knows it's there nobody speeds. you only have to use your head.

My point was blues that the sunbury crowd vented their anger on this very thread when James copped his suspension-and therefore i'm sure they wont be overly impressed if Wadden cops a light sentence. An for the record i'm nethier a Sunbury or Riddell supporter. Couldn't agree more with T.S and Footyhead 18 reagarding Jockstrap Jim! Does he come on this post to purely spear blokes-He'd want to be a gun footy player himself for us to put up with his rubbish!!!! Then again negative comments are always easier to write than more informed comments with a little substance!

woody07 said:
My point was blues that the sunbury crowd vented their anger on this very thread when James copped his suspension-and therefore i'm sure they wont be overly impressed if Wadden cops a light sentence. An for the record i'm nethier a Sunbury or Riddell supporter. Couldn't agree more with T.S and Footyhead 18 reagarding Jockstrap Jim! Does he come on this post to purely spear blokes-He'd want to be a gun footy player himself for us to put up with his rubbish!!!! Then again negative comments are always easier to write than more informed comments with a little substance!

I agree with woody... To be honest, I would rather see all of the best players in the comp available for all teams come finals time, its the showcase for our competition. But I see what Woody is saying, and yeah, I would be very disappointed if he got off with a light sentence, just to see the inconsistencies in our tribunal system.

BTW, good to see the league get some positive media in the Herald Sun today.. Would like to see our league named more often in a positive light, so that was good to see...

Thats_Special said:
Agree again... Geez OM, whats going on here....

On serious events that could effect the course of a season there needs to be a consistent level of officiating across the board, the punishment really needs to fit the crime.. In most instances it doesn't...

The OM man likes to have a joke and stir the pot a tad, put in the business end of the season there is no room for that.

Huge game between diggers and woodend this weekend. The hawks got up last time by 1 POINT!!! Makes for some great viewing, as Woodend have their chance to pose as a serious finals threat, but diggers will be confident IMO, and will get up by 23 points.

Sunbury vs Romsey: Great effort last week by romsey to get so close to riddell, although last time these 2 met it was romsey losing by 3 points at home. The kangas will be fine tuning thier guns during the week to continue their finals campaign, huge reliance on both midfields to have 1st usage. Sunbury by 13 points.

OldMelburnian28 said:
The OM man likes to have a joke and stir the pot a tad, put in the business end of the season there is no room for that.

Huge game between diggers and woodend this weekend. The hawks got up last time by 1 POINT!!! Makes for some great viewing, as Woodend have their chance to pose as a serious finals threat, but diggers will be confident IMO, and will get up by 23 points.

Sunbury vs Romsey: Great effort last week by romsey to get so close to riddell, although last time these 2 met it was romsey losing by 3 points at home. The kangas will be fine tuning thier guns during the week to continue their finals campaign, huge reliance on both midfields to have 1st usage. Sunbury by 13 points.

On another note, Riddell's 1's and 2's both have the week off. Look like a very strong unit and will be hard to beat. Romsey however can not expect to go places when their 2's are such a poor quality. Are the only team in the senior finals not to also be carrying their 2's support, makes it very hard to be competitive given a couple of major injuries.

jockstrap jim said:
Good to see you Kanga's supporter's are back on the Jamesy bandwagon again..As quiet as a mouse for the last 3 weeks and now all of a sudden!..All i can say is that he obviously makes a very ordinary side very bloody good..Go Kanga's!!!!!P.S You also forgot to mention that he was crucified by the umpires on the day as well. Oh and the reason that he was ill was also self inflicted!
no doubt jockstrap that anone reading your last thread would agree that u have no f##king idea.if u look at the improvement this club has made,on and off the field,one cant help but respect that.whether the roos win this weekend or not they have exceeded most expectations this season.there wouldnt b too many times that they have beaten ridell,romsey,melton,woodend,kilmore,macedon,lancefield all in a year,and kept their noses clean off field too.:thumbsu:

Mongrel said:
no doubt jockstrap that anone reading your last thread would agree that u have no f##king idea.if u look at the improvement this club has made,on and off the field,one cant help but respect that.whether the roos win this weekend or not they have exceeded most expectations this season.there wouldnt b too many times that they have beaten ridell,romsey,melton,woodend,kilmore,macedon,lancefield all in a year,and kept their noses clean off field too.:thumbsu:

Only 1 club has beaten the roos on both occassions that is diggers, the roos definetly lack senior finals experience as this is the clubs first, last week playing rockbank the roos had the opportunity to rest a few players to make sure they are right for this week. i believe romsey did a similar thing as beating riddell wouldn't have acheived alot last week.

blues12 said:
Only 1 club has beaten the roos on both occassions that is diggers, the roos definetly lack senior finals experience as this is the clubs first, last week playing rockbank the roos had the opportunity to rest a few players to make sure they are right for this week. i believe romsey did a similar thing as beating riddell wouldn't have acheived alot last week.
i reckon your on the money there blues.romsey and the roos did the right thing resting some of their sore players.at least this sunday both sides should be at full strength.and yes sunbury as a club dont have any finals experience,but remember there is a lot of senior players that have finals experience with other clubs and also in other leagues.romsey on the other hand have some great players,with the likes of meldrum,burlak,kairns,mclellan etc.should b a great contest