RDFL Thread

Riddell 18.13-121 def. Diggers Rest 7.10-52

Riddell: D. Besanko 5, L. James 5, H. Wadden 3, B. O'Mara 2, L. Harrison, A. Blade, J. Petran
Best: D. Besanko, J. Belleville, H. Wadden, J. Allen, A. Blade, G. Robertson

Diggers Rest: S. Ruane 3, A. Klooster, C. Laurie, C. Payne, M. Hildebrand
Best: J. Hynes, A. Page, B. Green, M. Walker, D. Reilly, C. Payne

Congratulations to Riddell they mangaed to hold on to most of their players after last years win and now go back to back, massive acheivement for any club. In both both grades under 18s and the Seniors

Well done to my boys at the Kangas to not only play in the clubs first ever grand final but win it is fantastic. The buzz around the club is electrifying. At the start of the year there were alot of people backing us to win the 2s flag, then after injuries and a very unsettled side everybody got off and now we have it.:thumbsu:
Comiserations to diggers but to get there is an acheivement in itself, there will still be a flag going their way after a win in the netball.

Can some one give me your opinion on Diggers, Why are they the collingwood of the RDFL, everybody that i have spoken to have said i hope they dont win, make sure they dont win, Sunbury, Diggers would be one of the biggest rival clubs in the league so thats our reason. why everybody else?

The day was horrible.
18's and Senior Grand Finals were boring.
At least the reserves was close, not that anyone would have seen the first half with the driving rain.

RDFL will be spewing, crowd was down also. Woeful day all round.

blues12 said:
Can some one give me your opinion on Diggers, Why are they the collingwood of the RDFL, everybody that i have spoken to have said i hope they dont win, make sure they dont win, Sunbury, Diggers would be one of the biggest rival clubs in the league so thats our reason. why everybody else?

interesting point, everyone i spoke to who was not a sunbury or riddell person seemed to be going for Diggers, and the reason being that they all hate Riddell!! 18s and senior Grand Finals were definately let downs, though I think the Sunbury Kangas must be congratulated on their first finals appearance and winning the Reserves premiership from 5th spot!! Top effort

blues12 said:

i think majority of the other teams bar sunbury would have been going for diggers in the seniors, there a young team who have stuck together for the last couple of years and i think a lot of people respect that. obviously they have had some players that have been approached by other clubs but they still seem to stick around. As for sunbury & diggers, the rivalry is bigger between the 2's than the 1's the 1's biggest rival is with riddell. this may change in the next couple of years but the roo's havent beat diggers in the ones for years. riddell continually beat diggers when it has counted so i would say that riddell would be their biggest rival

:thumbsu: :thumbsu:
marbles_r_red_2 said:
ah deano(mongrel) love your work there pal ! first things first the rumours of competing in the dash are incorrect even with a "pie stand" at the finish line only due the fact of a sevre case of chaffing i recieved whilst walking back and forth from the fridge to the couch ! perhaps if you dangled a bag of columbias finest i may be tempted to break into to no more than a canter to get to the finish line !!!! yes i did eat the cake it was a cheesecake so you cant blame me there !there was never any "prime" in my febal attempts at playing footy pal ! the goal square was the only place they could put me where i didnt get in the way of all the blokes who could play and thats only cos i paid my subs so they had to play me !!!
i will be watching with great intrest u working out of the square on sunday i will be the one drinking the fat from the deep fryers whilst stuffing my face with cream buns !!
good luck on sunday pal maybe you could entertain the crown with some flash backs of old with the short sharp ones in close ! hope you flog diggers and im sure you wont have any trouble downing a bourbon or 29 !:thumbsu:

ah benny boy.firstly im disappointed that u didnt run in the dash 4 cash.u were a certainty pal.secondly i didnt throw any short,sharp ones in close either.sorry if i disappointed u.i did however cop a spray from halfullonfence b4 the game 4 spraying u last week.i have a bit of a confession 2 make.one of your old team mates told me who u were and put me up to it.i wont dob,but i reckon halfullonfence has a fair idea who put me up 2 it.thanx 4 your kind words big fella and i will share a few bourbons with u soon

Whats going on with this thread? how many people have taken this week. The week after the most important games of the year and not much talkin, who was at the game during the hail, i'll tell you one thing, not a good move to be wearing shorts and a short sleeve in those conditions. i guess it was worth it for me.

blues12 said:
Whats going on with this thread? how many people have taken this week. The week after the most important games of the year and not much talkin, who was at the game during the hail, i'll tell you one thing, not a good move to be wearing shorts and a short sleeve in those conditions. i guess it was worth it for me.
not much to talk about i guess. it was a poor game and diggers didn't show much after quarter time , riddell just far to good and to many guns. good effort by diggers to get both sides to a granny but well and truly out classed on the day.

Most of the members on this site are Kanga's Boys and from what I have heard they are still drunk as skunks after winning the 2's flag..... maybe Monday they will come out in force.

Blueboy16 said:
Most of the members on this site are Kanga's Boys and from what I have heard they are still drunk as skunks after winning the 2's flag..... maybe Monday they will come out in force.

It gets better as well,tommorow night is our b&f and with the Club's best ever record breaking year it might also be very quiet next week as well.
What a year both on and off the field,the club has set a solid base to go forward for many years to come!!!!
Personally,coming from a background that has always had success,the buzz and faces on Old members,current members,players and supporters,money cannot buy.
How exciting will it be building our trophy cabinet for the cup and future silverwear in the future (Lenny get that tape measure out buddy)
To the clubs that competed in the finals congradulations on the year that you have had and we will be looking forward to many more encounters over the coming years.
To Trevor and everyone that has contributed to where the club is at the moment,well done and with the efforts and support you all have put in we will certainly be "bounding ahead" in the years to come.

BrownDog2 said:
The day was horrible.
18's and Senior Grand Finals were boring.
At least the reserves was close, not that anyone would have seen the first half with the driving rain.

RDFL will be spewing, crowd was down also. Woeful day all round.

of course the day was boring 4 you.when u are one eyed diggers and both your sides lose,you are bound 2 find it an ordinary day.i actually thought the under 18s was great 2 watch.who wouldnt want 2 watch the ridell young guns displaying their talents?and a lot of them are this leagues stars of the future.
and the reserves game was of a very high standard in my opinion.in difficult conditions both sides performed admirably.if diggers had of won you would have been thrilled by the contest.

and yes the seniors game was a bit of a let down.but lets face it,it was only a disappointment coz ridell were far too good for diggers on the day.
and that is no disrespect 4 diggers,coz they were the 2nd best team in the comp. but the fact remains ridell are a powerhouse and their coach and players should be commended on a brillint season.

so other than diggers getting beaten in both games and the weather being ordinary,the day was pretty good all round.i dont reckon the attendance was that poor either.i think the R.D.F.L can hold their heads up pretty high for what was an entertaining day of grand final footy

blues12 said:
Kangas Best and Fairest Last night, winner

Mark McInerney 33 votes
Bob Johnson 30 votes
Simon Donovan 27 votes

Reserves winner Brett Janetzki

Well done to 'Grubby' and 'Bobby J Johnsaaaaarrrn'!

How did 'Ooh Aah Jimmy McGrath' go in the B&F? Also, did he break out the windmill this year????

twodogs13 said:
Well done to 'Grubby' and 'Bobby J Johnsaaaaarrrn'!

How did 'Ooh Aah Jimmy McGrath' go in the B&F? Also, did he break out the windmill this year????

jimmy mcgrath not only broke out the windmill but he did it at the end of the clubs nude lap.in front of approximately 100 supporters at the clubrooms.i had 2 cover grubs girlfriends eyes so she didnt see the big windmill rotating.didnt want her to dump him coz of jimmys monsterous performance

BrownDog2 said:
sounds like a typical classy Kangaroos function

The boys had something to celebrate didn't they, what was goin on at diggers, all the players swimming in the social club in their own tears.

You are a loser, go away

BrownDog2 said:
sounds like a typical classy Kangaroos function

my apolgies to the decent people out there 4 what im about to say. your are a ****wit browndog2,and u better pray that your identity isnt revealed.if i find out who you are ********** you will not be spending christmas with ya boyfriend as planned

OMNIPOTENT_1 said:
People still dieing in the Diggers Social rooms in pools of their own vomit wilst being filled full of piss by the club, or have you lot evolved past that yet ?

Oops.. Omni... Dont remind people of that.. It was almost gone from the memory banks... hahahaha...