RDFNL 2020 Season discussion

Extremely thorough, read the relevant bits to me and my sporting interests last night.
Not gunna be as easy as "let's go" there's a lot of hoops and hurdles in that document about what needs to be in place at clubland before engaging anyone about returning to train etc.

The other layer (for me) will be which club's actually can or can't push on in 2020, some would've missed that initial wave of sponsorship March/April often provides to kick-start a season, it aint gunna free to participate so would a club be respected for saying they can't do 2020 but will be ready for 2021?

In a community sense, could folk assemble for some training fitness, couple of drinks, meals incorporating local traders etc, run a raffle or two to provide some cashflow for 2021? Just a thought I've had in conversation with people from clubs across 4-5 different leagues this past week.

Many nervous about what may come of 2021 and beyond should they hop into 2020 not fully equipped to cope financially.
We are currently at Stage A, which is effectively no organized sport.

Stage B can be interpreted as a return to small scale play, noting the cap on groups of 10.

Stage C describes a resumption of normal activities. .

There are no time-frames set for a when Stages B and C may be reached, though the current state of emergency expires on May 11 and it is realistic to expect further guidance after that date.

Federal and State directions may potentially over-lap and involve contradictions which may need further clarification.
To be honest, I favour scrapping this year and bring on 2021.

We are currently at Stage A, which is effectively no organized sport.

Stage B can be interpreted as a return to small scale play, noting the cap on groups of 10.

Stage C describes a resumption of normal activities. .

There are no time-frames set for a when Stages B and C may be reached, though the current state of emergency expires on May 11 and it is realistic to expect further guidance after that date.

Federal and State directions may potentially over-lap and involve contradictions which may need further clarification.
To be honest, I favour scrapping this year and bring on 2021.

Yeh mate 100% get all that, and share your sentiments re: 2021 and maybe using clubs as a social/community connection in the interim to generate some cashflow.
I was more stating that once it became even a consideration that there's a fair bit to tick off

I agree it’s a good read. It’s pretty factual and a fair representation of what is happening. There are several unanswered questions which need to be looked at.

Are crowds going to be allowed to attend ? If no how do you ‘Police’ Arnolds Creek as an example ?
The percentage of league fees which will be payable if the season starts ?
The salary cap for the season ?
The clearance window ... does it change ?
How does the league determine who gets 5 home games and who gets 4 in a 9 game season ?

There are many others questions which need to be addressed. However, these are in the forefront of my mind.
local football will not go ahead if crowds are not allowed to attend.
i got nothing on your other questions at the moment

local football will not go ahead if crowds are not allowed to attend.
i got nothing on your other questions at the moment
Hey Morgs, as much as I hate to say it I think I am gonna enjoy that slab bro, surely stage 3 and beyond has to happen for local footy to proceed. Albeit if you read Doona’s note on the NFNL forum, there is so much more that needs to happen before local footy is even contemplated.
Hope everyone is well and doing ok in iso, getting ur life fix some other way at the moment I hope.

It's been reported in the Ballarat Courier that all 9 AFL Goldfields commissioners resigned yesterday. Anyone know anymore about this?

Shock overhaul: All nine members of AFL Goldfields Commission resign https://t.co/8XrtZ1PTk0

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

what does this mean to the RDFNL ?

It's been reported in the Ballarat Courier that all 9 AFL Goldfields commissioners resigned yesterday. Anyone know anymore about this?

Shock overhaul: All nine members of AFL Goldfields Commission resign https://t.co/8XrtZ1PTk0

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Resigned or was the commission disbanded as part of AFL VIC changes?

Could the RDFL perhaps return to its own self administration or is there still that big black mark hovering above from a decade ago of mismanagement and rumoured loss revenue ?

Obviously a terrible time for all with the current goings on.Always interesting to read and hear others opinions as we all see things differently.
I myself am a simple tradie thankfully still working and reluctantly paying tax to finance others.Many people are now on jobkeeper or other forms of welfare yet some think that local footy is a priority.I dont think its fair and reasonable that some could be on payments to stay at home from work but play local footy.Surely thats not on?Imagine being a large business with workers on your books playing local footy being exposed to potential infection then coming into the workplace and exposing other workers to potential infection.Just can the season now rather than some junk that may only resemble a pre season round robin.As for the $$situation lowering in the future obviously the standard will drop and participating rates will fall.Id be more worried about the juniors coming through falling out of the system and possibly not to return.People will look to blame but that wont help.Lets hope next year is better as this ones a write off.Stay safe and take care.

The West Australian has an article today about the Perth Football League (ex-WA Amateurs).
They are starting on July 18 with a nine-round season.
Final 4 instead of 5.
Finals to be knockout like cricket (no double chance)
No promotion or relegation.

Seems as though Mark McGowan got it right with his policies - he's got it so that a suburban league can beat the AFL to giving an outline for their season LOL.

I personally, would like to see AFL Vic give us a starting date. Lets give the players something to motivate them when training starts. At the moment, all I’m reading from presidents on social media is it’s going to be to hard, lets call it off. Hardly motivating for players.

I hope leagues & AFL Vic come out next week and say, these are the training protocols, if everything goes alright round 1 will be July 20th.

And at start of July we assess where we are at, if we think we can get a season going then great, if we think we can’t, call it off and say atleast we gave it a crack.

All I’m saying, lets get some positivity out there and motivate the players.

Gill just got asked the question about community footy on fox sports, his answer was that the federal Government and the AFL wanted to at least gets kids back into community sport, no mention of senior sport at all. Mind u it won’t be until numbers of crowds can be raised, why would they play junior sport if the parents can’t go?

Can someone post the league comments on localfooty.com.au ?

Riddell District Football League football operations manager Jordan Doyle believes there should be some financial reward for players if local football gets the green light.
Doyle said a start in the RDFL would also be dependant on the return of crowds to ensure clubs are not left bankrupt.

AFL Victoria are set to slash salary caps across the state in 2020 to ease the financial burden on clubs, with RDFL clubs to have a $50,000 limit.

Doyle said clubs were itching to get back on the ground but the league was adamant a season would only go ahead if it was safe and financially responsible to do so.

“The clubs are definitely keen to play, we surveyed them last week,” Doyle said.

“(However), the clubs have made it clear that we don’t want to be playing without crowds, for local footy to go ahead this year there has to be crowds.

“There’s been a recommendation from AFL Victoria that salary caps are reduced to $50,000 this year.

“I think there has to be some financial gain for the players, otherwise they might chose to work on the weekend instead of playing football. There has to be a reward there.”

Doyle said the RDFL was working with the clubs and umpires’ association to share the financial pain and ensure all parties were ready to go in 2021.

AFL Goldfields oversees the RDFL and has accepted AFL Victoria’s recommendation that no club is allowed to return to training until health and safety protocols are put in place.

No start date has been agreed upon but a kick off in mid-late July looks most likely in a bid to avoid a clash with the local cricket season.

There have been no discussions between the RDFL and Gisborne District Cricket Association at this stage but Doyle is confident any issues can be resolved.

“If we can start in early August, we’d have to have discussions with the local cricket associations about what our options are,” he said.

“We haven’t had discussions with the GDCA yet but the good thing is they play on synthetic wickets, so they can be covered pretty quickly.

“Our grand final has been played at Clarke Oval for the last two years and that’s got a turf wicket now but everyone’s going to have to be flexible.”

Yeah I saw that, training in 10’s, need two ovals to get 40 players thru a night, not sure as a Rupo person where we stand, I’d imagine being that we play at a school there is going to be a problem accessing the grounds.

May need to look at training on seperate nights.

We are fortunate at Wallan having 3 ovals now, but with juniors, seniors & girls footy, we are probably going to have to utilise all 7 days of the week.

Yeah I saw that, training in 10’s, need two ovals to get 40 players thru a night, not sure as a Rupo person where we stand, I’d imagine being that we play at a school there is going to be a problem accessing the grounds.
2 groups of 10 Monday & Wednesday - 2 groups of 10 Tuesday & Thursday. May 31 move to next phase!

Or

Interchange groups of players during drills, 5 mins then sub groups out for next group for 5 mins.

There is a way, just need creativity.

2 groups of 10 Monday & Wednesday - 2 groups of 10 Tuesday & Thursday. May 31 move to next phase!

Or

Interchange groups of players during drills, 5 mins then sub groups out for next group for 5 mins.

There is a way, just need creativity.
I get the logistics, it will all be up to schools and councils though yeah. Remember 2 weeks ago the Albury council wouldn’t let a pro NRL outfit train on their grounds. We may face the same objections. Like I’ve said before, it ain’t as easy as just switching the lights back on?

The Albury scenario was in relation to the Storm having special exemptions that the community were not afforded around social distancing.

I may be alone here, but going back to that article with the league administrator making comment......for mine very very ordinary. Can someone tell me why players 'deserve' to be paid. The argument of because they give up Saturdays of work and if not remunerated they would choose work......WHO CARES. IF they choose work they choose work. That's their right. When the whole community football world talks about the money for payments to players having killed local footy, the last thing the RDFNL Clubs needs right now, especially in these times is the league administrator pushing a message that players deserve to be paid. I am not against players getting paid don't get me wrong that's not the message, the message from me is noone 'deserves' it, or if clubs don't they may choose not to play. As stated that's their choice to play or not play. IF nobody paid and half the players decided not to play then you just have the guys that are happy to play for $0 or close to $0. It is COMMUNITY FOOTBALL. What a poorly timed call and shows the league headquarters are out of touch with community sport. I suggest the league should have spent this time actually talking to its clubs to understand the ongoing issues and how community footy can get going again. The league has been slowly ran backwards the last few years at all levels, get out there league talk to clubs and support them to get this region thriving again. Players deserve to be remunerated....my god!

I think sport at the moment is far more than playing home and away games.. finals .. premierships and even getting paid money .. if friends can get together as part of their community during this time.. something that brings joy and excitement to their lives, some who are doing it tougher than others .. it can have a better impact than going to the pub for a beer and parma when restrictions allow .. it gives people a chance to compete, get fit, and a sense of belonging.. key foundations of why we love the game .. there are people doing it tough, even before this all started .. so to give them an avenue to be around good people, those that can help them along their journey of life.. then bring the game back.. it's more than money and winning premierships.. it's a level of camaraderie that many find hard to get in day to day life.
Whatever version of football and netball can come back.. bring it on!
I for one, am looking forward to lacing up the boots and having a run with a quality group of umpires and saddling up alongside my mates to do streaming and commentary.. we could be calling anything.. but I'd be with my mates, and that's what footy has always provided me.

It's started ! Let's see how many follow suit. I suspect there are many leagues just waiting for one to announce it. https://www.bendigoadvertiser.com.a...ancels-2020-season-because-of-covid-19/?cs=81

Surely leaving it to individual leagues to call it off shouldn’t happen.
AFL VIC need to do it across the board if it’s getting canned.
What can’t happen imo is some comps going on & some called off. That could be a disaster for some clubs & comps.

RDFNL 2020 Season discussion