Banter RDT CXCII - TDDS

Yep. My boys went down with it at the end of August. It ripped through the house and we are still dealing with lingering symptoms now. The Mrs is still pretty wrecked tbh, runs out of steam super quick, going to bed at 8pm etc, although she did hold out the longest before getting crook. So that's 6 weeks and counting.

I reckon it's the worst flu through the house that we've ever had. I missed 6 days of work, with a weekend in the middle. Kids all missed full weeks of school. I have never missed that much work in my life. Bring on the heat of summer ffs!
Geez that's pretty rough mate, hopefully I don't have it hang around that long. Covid normally wipes me out like that, tired for a couple of months after.
I started coming down with it late last week, thought I was good yesterday to go back to work today but I woke up this morning feeling shit again.

Majority of people I know have had a terrible run at colds and flu this season and can't seem to shake it. Personally my last bout ruined my lungs for a solid 6 weeks afterwards.
Yeah that's been my experience this year as well, have barely been sick since I got covid in 2021 and then this year I got covid in June, a couple of colds after that and then influenza A this week.
And so far my mrs has randomly avoided catching them all off me, normally it's me not catching stuff off her. Must be getting old

Yeah that's been my experience this year as well, have barely been sick since I got covid in 2021 and then this year I got covid in June, a couple of colds after that and then influenza A this week.
And so far my mrs has randomly avoided catching them all off me, normally it's me not catching stuff off her. Must be getting old

Amd after getting the shots too - I know others who have had similar and they've never been back for the shots again. So weird how that works, you can catch it from someone at the shops yet the person that shares a bed with you goes unscathed. Wishing you a speedy recovery so you can get back to making delicious treats in your air-fryer!

Yeah, but on the flip side I think I definitely avoided getting covid a couple of times because I'd had the shots so I dunno...

Have you used your airfryer yet? What did you think?

Yeah, but on the flip side I think I definitely avoided getting covid a couple of times because I'd had the shots so I dunno...

Have you used your airfryer yet? What did you think?

I think I've used it everyday so far. Pretty happy so far, guess in the end it's just and oven that does the job faster? I've been skipping over a lot of recipes over the years as they called for an air-fryer, but now I'm part of the elite I can get amongst it! Suppose it's not a necessity but a handy thing to have access to.

Yeah, it's just quicker really.
Although I think chips and some stuff definitely cook a lot better in the air fryer

Yeah, it's just quicker really.
Although I think chips and some stuff definitely cook a lot better in the air fryer

I did some sweet potato chips and they were kinda meh - same as an oven but that's more just the veggie itself than anything else. I did some normal roast potatoes also and they turned out very good, though some work still to do. Will try normal chips tomorrow night and let EVERYONE in this thread know coz they're all aching to find out.

Yep. My boys went down with it at the end of August. It ripped through the house and we are still dealing with lingering symptoms now. The Mrs is still pretty wrecked tbh, runs out of steam super quick, going to bed at 8pm etc, although she did hold out the longest before getting crook. So that's 6 weeks and counting.

I reckon it's the worst flu through the house that we've ever had. I missed 6 days of work, with a weekend in the middle. Kids all missed full weeks of school. I have never missed that much work in my life. Bring on the heat of summer ffs!

This was my thinking too re: Summer after we all got smashed from half way through Winter. Saw off the respiratory bugs and then we all got taken out by gastro, one at a time, dragging the whole mess out over three weeks.

Did you guys get the flu shots this year?

My son missed 3 out of 5 school days for 3 straight weeks. He kept getting to Sunday night and feeling well, then having a fever and a runny nose by Wednesday morning. So lucky I get a work from home option.

The daycare cycle for us

Daughter goes to day care Wednesday-Friday, Friday night she usually starts getting a runny nose and a cough. Struggle through the weekend for us and she gets better by Wednesday.

Then go back to step 1 🙃

I got my covid shot and my flu shot at the same time this year and ended up catching them both anyway.
Probably won't do that again next year

They don't stop you catching it necessarily, but the shots will definitely reduce the severity of them. Worth doing regardless (I also had both this year, and touch wood seem to have stayed clear so far)

I meant I won't get them at the same time. Supposedly it makes no difference but I'm sceptical

Did you have 2 double quarter pounders to counter act it or just the 1? Maybe that's where you went wrong

99b978f3c7b71940a96bf219a4ddb86602c979be.gif

I didn't even have one...

Majority of people I know have had a terrible run at colds and flu this season and can't seem to shake it. Personally my last bout ruined my lungs for a solid 6 weeks afterwards.
Had the same 6wks getting over the flu, and regaining lung function.

2wks later, and vertigo set in. Really bad for 3-4 days (falling over bad), then slowly getting better. 3wks later and my head still spins a bit when I lay down….

Heck, I’m not looking forward to getting proper old!

They're two different diseases, not that related (Covid is closer in evolutionary terms to being a cold than to the flu IIRC). It's not really any different to the MMR* combined vaccine for kids.

(which btw, just in case there's anyone with any doubt reading this, is extremely safe and does *not cause autism)

Yeah this winter the virus going around have knocked so many people out multiple times. So many people at work as well as my friends and family. I’ve mentioned my self here before but one of my mate and his misso have got sick so many times. Both are super fit and it sucks for her cause she’s training for a thriathalon and it derailing her training