Re-clarification from Essendon spin machine

Do you think he's the guy that told Jobe to go on air and claim that he believes he took AOD?

Funnily enough, what I hear on the grapevine, that was completely unplanned and Essendon themselves were stunned when Mr. Watson made his frank admission.

An associate who has dealt with Ian before, about three weeks ago called his efforts on this campaign a "complete **** up".

Funnily enough, what I hear on the grapevine, that was completely unplanned and Essendon themselves were stunned when Mr. Watson made his frank admission.

An associate who has dealt with Ian before, about three weeks ago called his efforts on this campaign a "complete **** up".

what did the associates say about McVeighs Vitamins Address?

You can only judge it in terms of its aims.

If the aim is to get the public hitting the call back stations, booing the team and captain and generally demanding they get punished beyond all recognition, and thousands of people declaring them to be drug cheats then I reckon he's nailed it.

what did the associates say about McVeighs Vitamins Address?

He didn't speak about that.

From my POV however, that's just a bloke going into bat for his club as a decent under 14's player, just to find out Jimmy Anderson is coming in from the other end.

You can only judge it in terms of its aims.

If the aim is to get the public hitting the call back stations, booing the team and captain and generally demanding they get punished beyond all recognition, and thousands of people declaring them to be drug cheats then I reckon he's nailed it.

The only reasonable PR angle for admitting something like that on national television, is damage control.

And if it's all about damage control, well it's not saying a lot about their innocence, that's for sure.

Ahhhh, now this ... this is theatre!

How can you not be entertained by this saga? Did Sophocles ever envision a tale as sordid as this? I should think not.

Sophocles was a pretty good Centre Half Back in his day. Used to play on Aristotle and usually towelled him up!

The question remains why Hird and Essendon have their own different PR and crisis management people brought in. Especially two so with such different histories and abilities.

Retaining seperate legal counsel amkes perfect sense and is the wise thing for both parties to do.

But if, as we are often told, Hird effectively = Essendon, shouldn't they both be sending the same message?

Hird has been poorly advised by his "top end of town" mates on this one, very badly advised.

He would have been better off just sticking with Bill Kelty and going under the club wing with Liz Lukin.

I wonder how former ACTU president Bill Kelty feels every time he sees the bloke who dreamed up the soldiers trained in Dubai waterfront in 98 effor, and the bloke who effectively wrote Workchoices, spinning for Hird.

Thinks he's Larry Ellison?

Was talking to a journo mate, who doesn't really care for all this, albeit is a footy fan, who said that there's no journo in Australia, outside of some fairly predictable right wing political and business types, who'd trust Hanke an inch.

His track record is appalling, even if you take the politics out of it.

Was talking to a journo mate, who doesn't really care for all this, albeit is a footy fan, who said that there's no journo in Australia, outside of some fairly predictable right wing political and business types, who'd trust Hanke an inch.

His track record is appalling, even if you take the politics out of it.
I thought Hanke was a rather odd choice as Hird's spinner. I can think of quite a few PR professionals I'd prefer to have in my corner.

So true. Hanke, if you are reading this you really did a lousy job because you haven't helped one bit. What were you thinking? A first year PR student would have done a better job!

First rule of PR - either have integrity, or be really good at faking it. Fail and fail.

Surely Chief must have some sort of special award for DudleyB.

When they had the rainbow "likes" I wanted a My Little Pony trophy. Perhaps Dudley can have one of those

Maybe a mini Mr. Hanke the Christmas Poo badge?

And in the registered section of the article, Hanke sounds like a right plonker....

And gives us cause to remember his recent ukulele performance at Lina’s wine bar in Melbourne, where Hanke performed composer John Cage’s seminal work 4’33” (a “musical piece” that consists of four minutes and 33 seconds of silence). Tips was there to witness the event, and trust us, if he didn’t use a pseudonym for that performance, we believe him when he says he doesn’t write under one.
It does, however, leave open the chance that someone else involved with Essendon could be behind the posts … Know anything? Drop us a line …

And in the registered section of the article, Hanke sounds like a right plonker....

And gives us cause to remember his recent ukulele performance at Lina’s wine bar in Melbourne, where Hanke performed composer John Cage’s seminal work 4’33” (a “musical piece” that consists of four minutes and 33 seconds of silence). Tips was there to witness the event, and trust us, if he didn’t use a pseudonym for that performance, we believe him when he says he doesn’t write under one.
It does, however, leave open the chance that someone else involved with Essendon could be behind the posts … Know anything? Drop us a line …

phwoaaarrr!

He should have got his client to try the 4'33 of silence instead of that little half-truths and rhetoric speech that made him look like a dodgy politician trotting out every weasel word he knew and saying nothing.