Read delisted

Originally posted by Seren
Munro has stuff all talent. I hope this comes back to bite the club on their butt. I know some rate him whilst others like Exeter and Chris_ Judd don't but the guy has talent and is a real trier. Others like dud Morrison deserved to go before he did a big mistake. He talked midyear about not being happy at the club and who could blame him they treated him appalling. You people that are under the misbelief that it was connected with money couldn't be more wrong. Yes there is a lot more to this story and it is upseting to a lot of his fans here in Melbourne, fans that knew him on a personal level as well. How many guys would offer to show one of his club supporters from Melbourne around Perth when they were over there. He is a great guy and as much as I love my club and work my butt off for them by running their Melbourne Based Squad I've lost respect for them in a way over this stupid decision. Go and celebrate Exeter and Co but hopefully he gets drafted by a club who can see him for what he is and when he plays us shoves it right up us.

Lose the chip sport.

I'm not personally responsible for the Eagles delisting Read - I'm not celebrating and I didn't advocate delisting him. But Read, according to the coaching staff, was expendable in the broad scheme of things.

by the sounds of Woosha's comments the reason Read was delisted before Munro and Morrison has to do with him being out of contract and the other 2 not being, hence salary cap pressures meaning delisting morrison or munro isnt as easy as delisting Read. I hope he gets picked up by another side, he still has the skills to play AFL and it would be a shame if he slipped through.

Not your sport dufus and certainly don't have a chip on my shoulder. I just don't like people making comments about things they know nothing about. If you must know my daughter is in contact with Ready on a regular basis and all that people think was going on re him wanting more money ect is pure crap. I'm not going to say much as he is a friend and things are said in confidence but come to think of it it's probably a good thing he is coming to Melbourne as she can now see more of him. Before people read anything into to that he is a friend of all our family and a geat all round guy nothing more. Oh and by the way Exeter he can play football which is more then I can say for you who thinks he knows it all. Most people on this board agree with that point which is why he will be sadly missed by us. A guy that shows guts and determination at the ball, goes hard in the pack and is not afraid to put his body on the line not like some in the squad who wimp out. Oh and I love my club very much otherwise I wouldn't do all the work I do for them during the season and off season. I also respect the heiracy but this decision will come back to kick us in the butt believe me. As for you Exeter this is the last time I respond to someone I have no respect for as far as his opinion goes. GO READY YOU LITTLE BULLDOG.

Originally posted by Exeter
I'm not personally responsible for the Eagles delisting Read - I'm not celebrating and I didn't advocate delisting him. But Read, according to the coaching staff, was expendable in the broad scheme of things.

My My My who doesn't like other people having their own opinions about things now !!

Unless you know the coaching staff personally, you are a little wrong about Phil's delisting. As Seren says, there's more to it than is being said and it's not about the money or his ability as a footballer.

It's more about particular players not fitting in with the "culture" of the club (i.e Troy Wilson, Jarrad Schofield, Andrew Williams, Jason Ball etc). The people they have got rid of in recent years have been people who are a little bit outspoken about things, stand up to club for themselves or don't fit the image the club wants to portray. All of these (except Troy and I hope he continues on with another club next season) have gone on to do great things with their new clubs.

This is exactly the sort of thing that the media criticise clubs like Melbourne, Carlton and St kilda for on a regular basis. As much as I love the club it's no wonder the Eagles are rapidly getting the reputation of being the "Chardonnay Set".

Good luck Phil. I hope you find a team that truely appreciates you as a person and footballer.

Originally posted by The Oracle
My My My who doesn't like other people having their own opinions about things now !!

Unless you know the coaching staff personally, you are a little wrong about Phil's delisting. As Seren says, there's more to it than is being said and it's not about the money or his ability as a footballer.

It's more about particular players not fitting in with the "culture" of the club (i.e Troy Wilson, Jarrad Schofield, Andrew Williams, Jason Ball etc). The people they have got rid of in recent years have been people who are a little bit outspoken about things, stand up to club for themselves or don't fit the image the club wants to portray. All of these (except Troy and I hope he continues on with another club next season) have gone on to do great things with their new clubs.

This is exactly the sort of thing that the media criticise clubs like Melbourne, Carlton and St kilda for on a regular basis. As much as I love the club it's no wonder the Eagles are rapidly getting the reputation of being the "Chardonnay Set".

Good luck Phil. I hope you find a team that truely appreciates you as a person and footballer.

I can't understand why you're having a go at Exeter - what he said was perfectly reasonable, whether you agree with it or not.

Your comments about the other players and our culture are crap:

Troy Wilson - always a short term experiment, did well, stayed on longer than he might have, liked by the club, just his time had come
Jarrad Schofield - cocky and arrogant, self above team, skilled but not that great under pressure, traded for Scott Cummings which was a short term win, is maybe the 5th best midfielder at Port
Andrew Williams - had given up in WA and wanted to go home, good player but never going to be great, absolutely was not outspoken,
Jason Ball - has never put a full season together for anyone anywhere, couldn't kick for goal to save his life, is good as an athletic ruckman for half a season, lacks footy smarts, lovely guy, right decision.

Not one of them was a bad decision. Not one of them has gone on to great things, won a Premiership medallion.

The club has to trade and delist some players and generally makes the right decision.

I'm surprised on Phil Read though - I thought we'd keep him on as he was just about to come good. I've always liked him - aggressive on the field and pleasant to the fans off it.

For those of you who've never been in the Melbourne Cheer Squad, some of the comments in this thread show why they have so few members.

Pleased to see Nicoski elevated, hope he's big enough, - my jury's still out on Beeck.

Originally posted by Voice of Reason

For those of you who've never been in the Melbourne Cheer Squad, some of the comments in this thread show why they have so few members.

VOR Have a problem with the Melbourne Based Squad do we? Funny we are one of the most respected Squads over here in Melbourne. Respected by security, other squads, players from our club and the heiracy as well. As for your quote on no wonder why we don't have a lot of members in our squad over here well I have news for you buddy we have more in our squad then the home based one which is just as respected as we are. As said by me in a previous post yes everyone is intitled to their opinion and we are also allowed to respond to one if we don't like it. As far as Myself and The Oracle[thank's mate for backing me up] we think that the remarks made by Exeter were stupid and uncalled for and told him so in our responses to him. Aren't you doing the same thing with your remarks. It's called free speech and we do live in a democratic country you know. As for your low blow at our squad thank goodness your not in it as we have great people in it and don't need someone like you or for that fact Exeter in it. Quite frankly I don't care what you think about the squad as per your comments but it may pay to check facts before you make quotes like you did above first next time.

Originally posted by Seren
I just don't like people making comments about things they know nothing about.
From the self-important crap you post here, it is plain that you don't like people who dare to disagree with your 'informed' opinions.

Either learn that your opinion is no better than anyone else's, or kindly sod off. Again. Like you promised you would the last time we humble riff raff offended your regal presence.

Speaking of backing people up ...

VoR's a valued poster. And I personally think he's very close to the mark with his assessment of the abovementioned players. So if he says there's a problem with the Vic cheersquad, one is more inclined to give his views weight.

I also can't see what Exeter's said to get you and the Oracle so fired up. If you don't like reading people making what you personally think are uninformed comments, you may want to give up on the internet in general, and save yourself a hell of a lot of disappointment in the future.

As for these stories about Read getting the arse for "not fitting in" - put up or shut up.

Originally posted by Mr Q
VoR, weren't you in the Eagles' Melbourne cheer squad back in the past?

Yes - I know Seren / Kodie / Michelle, her family and just about every member of the Cheer Squad, though I am 2 years out of date.

In no way do I criticise her enthusiasm, motivation, endeavour or loyalty.

However, I do criticise her intelligence and ability to be an inclusive leader. If you're not a feral bogan in the Melbourne Cheer Squad, you won't fit in for long. For many years in the 90s, there was a hatred of the West Australians. How you can support WCE & not like West Australians I don't know.

I greatly enjoyed my time in Melbourne and with the Cheer Squad, but I'm glad I'm back home now.

Go Eagles.

I feel for Ready, thought he may have been given a bit more time to get fully over his injury problems. Not many bounce back to their former level the season following one reconstruction, so must be a massive task after two.

Hope he gets another chance. I`ll miss his grrrrrrrrrrrrr.

VOR

I too wish to express my support for VOR - even though he is a garlicmuncher!

His comments on this forum are always well written and incisive. His comments on those players who the club delisted in the past are spot on in my opinion.

I cannot comment on his opinions on the Melbourne Cheer Squad as I personally don't know any of them - but please everyone,let us have no more abuse of fellow supporters - either Melbourne or WA based.

Originally posted by The Oracle

It's more about particular players not fitting in with the "culture" of the club (i.e Troy Wilson, Jarrad Schofield, Andrew Williams, Jason Ball etc). The people they have got rid of in recent years have been people who are a little bit outspoken about things, stand up to club for themselves or don't fit the image the club wants to portray.

There's one more thing all those players you mentioned have in common. Getting payed well for not performing.
It's been 10 years almost since we made a GF and now we're aput to make a push for the big time again. The last thing this club needs is to start making individual sacrifices for certain fringe players who think they are more valuable then they really are.

St Kilda is a joke of a club because historically they let their players dictate terms... not West Coast.

If Read didn't fit into the culture... i'm sure it's best for all if he moves on. But he may get a shock if his new coach is Pagan who tolerates nothing.

Originally posted by vicki

His comments on this forum are always well written and incisive. His comments on those players who the club delisted in the past are spot on in my opinion.

I cannot comment on his opinions on the Melbourne Cheer Squad as I personally don't know any of them - but please everyone,let us have no more abuse of fellow supporters - either Melbourne or WA based.

Hear hear....

Firstly let me state my dissappointment and shock regarding Read's departure. I have met him on two seperate occassions and each time he struck me as a very solid, hard working and focused individual who was also very grounded and had good values.

To hear rumours that he does not fit within the culture of the club leaves me saddend for one of three reasons:

1) If the rumours are true, well I ask why does somebody who works his arse off and seems to have great values does not fit within the culture of the club. Does that mean that values of the club might be skewed.

2) If the rumours are not true well then I am disappointed that something like this got made up about a decent person.

3) This third reason would most likely sadden me the most, if true, and that is that I compleatly got Phil wrong, or that he had changed since I had last met him. This would saddend me the most because it would mean that there is one less decent person around.

I would also like to support Vicki in her plea for certain members of this board to curb their enthusiasm. I too find my self often wanting to respond in an emotional and personally critical way when I think someone has spoken out of line.

However I also in most situations try and hold back such a response for two reasons. One being that a personal response will only be seen as irrational and the other reason is that I will have no opportunity to benefit from discussing other persons view point and questioning my assumptions as, believe it or not, I am not always right.

Everybody has a right to an opinon and just because one person does not share the same opinon us does not mean that we can launch a personal attack.

I do not support Read being delisted. I understand that the club made a tough decision and I hope that the decision was a right one. I am too far removed from the club to know any better. I also do not wish the club any ill will, ie I do not wish that this decison bites the club on the arse, what I do wish for is that Phil finds a new home with a club that needs him and that he is successfull in his career. I also wish that WCE win a premiership, and yes I agree that it will be somewhat sad that Phil was not part of the experiance.

Cheers

Re: VOR

Originally posted by vicki

Which confirms my view that VOR is a man of keen insight and perspicacity.

Its a grand old flag...

Re: Re: VOR

Originally posted by Exeter
Which confirms my view that VOR is a man of keen insight and perspicacity.

Its a grand old flag...

I'm well-known for my perspicacity..............I think.

You'll all be pleased to know that Seren & I had a good chat on PMs last night to exchange views and parted civilly. We have known each other in real life for some years and are both passionate in our support for the Eagles.

I think it is OK to agree to differ on some things. In fact, I'd say confrontation is healthy - it gives everyone a chance to get things straight. If we all agreed on everything, life would be pretty boring.