Read this Daniher...

If you ever read this Neale Daniher, then here are a few suggestions which I think you can take on board...

1 - Tell our players to MAN THE **** UP!! Every bloody week the opposition ALWAYS has men free through the midfield. This is either because you tell them to roam free, or they are not accountable for their man. Doesn't matter which one, you have to do something about it.

2 - Teach our midfield to not kick the ball so damn high to our forwards! We have done this for years. How many times last night did I see us try and hit the roof with kicks going forward? Neitz may have kicked 5, but I counted numerous times where he had to "pull up" on his lead and try and mark one out. He has done it all year.

3 - If you bring people into the side, at least use them. Can you tell me the point of bringing in Powell, and then using him rarely off the bench?? It's just stupid. Our midfield got obliterated and all you did was leave him on the bench. Absolute stupidity Daniher. To get form he actually needs to be out on the ground. Same goes for Lamb. After talking him up a few weeks ago, he has barely seen 2 quarters worth of football in the last 2 games. And when he has been on, he has done nothing wrong and he actually did one or two good things last night.

4 - Tell our players to HOLD tackles. Again, I saw numerous occasions where they broke tackles too easily. If you want the club to drop this "soft" tag, then teach them how to tackle, and tackle hard Legally *Read here Schwarz - your bump in the 2nd qtr was NOT needed, although it was the only thing you did all night*.

5 - Drop Leoncelli. The guy is useless. *Even though I hate to say it, bring Armstrong in and LEAVE him ON the ground. The guy has ALOT of talent and would do well in there.*

There were not many positives. Craig Ellis did a SENSATIONAL job on Lucas. I was very pleased with how he played and even you PC cannot deny that as muh as you don't like him. Ward was good through the midfield, White won the ruck easily again while Neitz returned to some form with 5 good goals, which should have been 6. Oh, here is another Daniher....

6 - Tell Robertson to stop celebrating like a ****er after he kicks a goal. Sure, it's good he kicks goals but I feel sick when he celebrates like a ****ter.

Um....Brown did okay, Vardy and Green did NOTHING, Bizzell was solid for most of the night and Lamb did a few good things. Our last qtr resurgence was all thanks to Jolly, who even though didn't really touch the ball, he crated room for Netia and Robbo (seriously) :D ;)

I shudder to think of what may happen next week for us. Thank God I am watching it with you Mish!

1 - I agree with most of what you say. There was extremely poor manning up and from an early stage in the night I knew we where in trouble.
2 - Delivery to the forward line was absolutely shocking.
3 - Powell remaining off for so long was stupidity.
4 - Tackling wasn't as bad as in some games, but we do lack hardness (and no I'm not talking about stupid harness a-la Mr. Schwarz)
5 - Chell was hopeless, I could not believe that kick from 50 where he got into trouble,and just kicked it straight into the air, the ball landed 15 meters the wrong way.
6 - Robbo has always been and will always be a show-off.

Also there is Daniher, now I'm not going to attack him because of the loss,but ND fails to make changes when they are needed. Biz was being killed by Barnard, yet remained on him for most of the game. The midfield is struggling yet Powell sits on the bench.

ND tries a new forward settup with no CHF and players playing out of the goal-square, it doesn't work once, yet the settup remained. The Bombers had an extra 2 players back, and for some reason ND allows Bruce/whoever else, to stay in the forward line to man up the Essendon players, which does NOTHING but clog up the forward line.

It was a **** poor performance, as bad as it gets, yet we only lose by 12,lucky it wasn't against Port, Brisbane etc when we where playign that badly.

Oh and you may be wondering why I'm still in Melbourne (yes I am still in Melbourne), my flight was changed to tomorrow morning.

i will reply to the rest later but from where i was sitting i didn't see the "usual" celebration from robbo, and even watching the game again this morning i didn't see too much to be ashamed of! he is allowed to get excited and he only did it when there was a goal needed for a chance to get back in the game! i see nothing wrong with that, but i can understand if he celebrates too much when we are getting belted.

weeeeeelll... i agree with pretty much everything that was said (especially the last line). the thing is, he probs knows all of it (or most) but there's other stuff he had to deal with (dont ask for examples!!! :p).

i reckon that this board should take over as coathing staff. we'd be so good! :D

Originally posted by SPUNKY_MONKEY45
i will reply to the rest later but from where i was sitting i didn't see the "usual" celebration from robbo, and even watching the game again this morning i didn't see too much to be ashamed of! he is allowed to get excited and he only did it when there was a goal needed for a chance to get back in the game! i see nothing wrong with that, but i can understand if he celebrates too much when we are getting belted.

It was the last goal he kicked. He may as well have dropped his pants and started having a pull.

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell

It was the last goal he kicked. He may as well have dropped his pants and started having a pull.

and if he had kicked another goal................ :eek: but nah he did ge a tad excited for his own good. he has to keep a lid on it sometimes. there is a time and a place for everything.

Originally posted by Dee

and if he had kicked another goal................ :eek: but nah he did ge a tad excited for his own good. he has to keep a lid on it sometimes. there is a time and a place for everything.

If he had kicked another one then he would have stuck his hand in the air and a certain fan would wet herself.

1. Could not agree more. It was frustrating seeing so many of them free. Especially Paul Barnard, his goal in the last quarter should not have been allowed to take place and there were other times he and his teammates were free to run into the open goal. I would play them the song "STAND BY YOUR MAN" Maybe we can get the supporters to sing it before each match to remind them.
2. Kicking was terrible. Even Johnstone's standard last night was pathetic. Just kick the ball normally to our forwards. None of this fancy ****.
3. Lamb was not put on until after half time. We were being slaughtered in the backline in the 2nd term and he still did not get a run.
4. The tackling has been a problem all year. Maybe we are not strong/big enough.
5. Leoncelli has to go. If Powell was dropped so should he. His kicking was pathetic. An incident in the 2nd quarter set the tone. Bad kick in our forward line meant an easy turn over, Bombers rushed it up and they got the goal.
6. Robbo was great last night. He may go over the top sometimes but that is when he plays at his best. If he kicks 4 every week we can not complain.

Watching next week with Mish? There is something going on!
:eek: :eek:

Originally posted by dees01
1. Could not agree more. It was frustrating seeing so many of them free. Especially Paul Barnard, his goal in the last quarter should not have been allowed to take place and there were other times he and his teammates were free to run into the open goal. I would play them the song "STAND BY YOUR MAN" Maybe we can get the supporters to sing it before each match to remind them.
2. Kicking was terrible. Even Johnstone's standard last night was pathetic. Just kick the ball normally to our forwards. None of this fancy ****.
3. Lamb was not put on until after half time. We were being slaughtered in the backline in the 2nd term and he still did not get a run.
4. The tackling has been a problem all year. Maybe we are not strong/big enough.
5. Leoncelli has to go. If Powell was dropped so should he. His kicking was pathetic. An incident in the 2nd quarter set the tone. Bad kick in our forward line meant an easy turn over, Bombers rushed it up and they got the goal.
6. Robbo was great last night. He may go over the top sometimes but that is when he plays at his best. If he kicks 4 every week we can not complain.

Still haven't cottoned on mate?? :eek: ;)

Yes, there is something going on....... :o

And I wouldn't complain if Robbo kicked 4 every week, I am complaining about his gay celebrations.

Originally posted by dees01

LOL!!!!!! damn boy, you ARE slow!!

dont worry adam, he'll get there some day... on second thoughts, maybe not!

ITS TIME

As a long suffering Melbourne supporter enough is enough.

It's time ND. Time to go ...... If Melbourne don't have a go at getting Denis Pagan I ain't renewing my membership in protest.

Stop blaming the players !!! You have been there for 4 and a bit seasons. Sure 2000 was good but you tell me where have we improved over the last two seasons. Sadly we have gone backwards.

Last night was the night if we where ever going to beat Essendon. No Hird. No Lloyd. What did you do?

I'll tell you nothing but mistake after mistake. We play "dumb" football with a lack of clear game plan. Out coached again when the crunch came. Let me just say the 20 minute mark of the last quarter was not cruch time and is not always cruch time. Crunch time was when Salmon went into the ruck. A half smart coach would have run him around, run him off his legs.

IMO I would have used a combination of White-Jolly-Broadbridge to run him around. Run off Salmon, run into him, expose his obvious weakness. When Salmon clearly tired. Surprise!! Surprise!! Melbourne came back into the game. However, all too late as she waved her wooden leg.

I've followed the Dee's for 20+ years and I'm convinced we have the best bunch of young talent in decades. I just hope the Melbourne board don't sell this group of players short.

HAVE A DAMN GOOD CRACK AT PAGAN !!! PLEASE PLEASE !!!

Re: ITS TIME

Originally posted by Footy Mad
As a long suffering Melbourne supporter enough is enough.

It's time ND. Time to go ...... If Melbourne don't have a go at getting Denis Pagan I ain't renewing my membership in protest.

Stop blaming the players !!! You have been there for 4 and a bit seasons. Sure 2000 was good but you tell me where have we improved over the last two seasons. Sadly we have gone backwards.

Last night was the night if we where ever going to beat Essendon. No Hird. No Lloyd. What did you do?

I'll tell you nothing but mistake after mistake. We play "dumb" football with a lack of clear game plan. Out coached again when the crunch came. Let me just say the 20 minute mark of the last quarter was not cruch time and is not always cruch time. Crunch time was when Salmon went into the ruck. A half smart coach would have run him around, run him off his legs.

IMO I would have used a combination of White-Jolly-Broadbridge to run him around. Run off Salmon, run into him, expose his obvious weakness. When Salmon clearly tired. Surprise!! Surprise!! Melbourne came back into the game. However, all too late as she waved her wooden leg.

I've followed the Dee's for 20+ years and I'm convinced we have the best bunch of young talent in decades. I just hope the Melbourne board don't sell this group of players short.

HAVE A DAMN GOOD CRACK AT PAGAN !!! PLEASE PLEASE !!!

Extremley well said there mate. As much as Daniher has done good things for the club, he has done too many bad things. We need a good quality coach at the helm, Pagan would be perfect....

Maybe even Garry Lyon?

Re: Re: ITS TIME

Extremley well said there mate. As much as Daniher has done good things for the club, he has done too many bad things. We need a good quality coach at the helm, Pagan would be perfect....

Maybe even Garry Lyon?

garry lyon? i dont think he has enough experience... but maybe some time tho...

pagan... yeah, that'd be fine, actually that'd be really good!

looks like i stand alone in saying that i'd rather have Daniher than Pagan, i know Pagan is a brilliant coach, but i just dont think he'd be right for us! i dunno why i just really like Daniher for us

I wouldn't like Pagan coaching for us either (i wouldnt stop supporting the club over it, but it wouldn't be right). I agree with what BT was discussing with Madboy and i after the game - Danners needs to stop coaching reactive football, he needs to have the gameplan that works from the beginning, not react to hat the oppostion has just done b/c esp with the teams in the top 4, we've been killed before we've finnaly reacted.

Originally posted by happy_in_hell
I wouldn't like Pagan coaching for us either (i wouldnt stop supporting the club over it, but it wouldn't be right). I agree with what BT was discussing with Madboy and i after the game - Danners needs to stop coaching reactive football, he needs to have the gameplan that works from the beginning, not react to hat the oppostion has just done b/c esp with the teams in the top 4, we've been killed before we've finnaly reacted.

hrm... thats true actually... yeah thats very true! im gonna agree with you guys in that!

the thing with having pagan is that he's a really good coach and would be able to find a a good game plan - something we dont have atm. its not that i want to get rif of ND, its just that he could be doing more for us than he is... and pagan probs WOULD do that bit extra... oh, i dont really mind who we have, aslong as the jobs done!

looks like i stand alone in saying that i'd rather have Daniher than Pagan, i know Pagan is a brilliant coach, but i just dont think he'd be right for us! i dunno why i just really like Daniher for us

I agree somewhat, in that I think Daniher has the talent, but he just lacks something, especially with our side. I dunno what it totally is, but if Pagan came out and said that he was coaching Melbourne in 2003, then I wouldn't be disappointed.

yeah? well i'd be dissappointed only because i Really like Daniher. and well pagan just isn't melbourne material

i dont think id be dissappointed... but i wouldnt be jumping for joy either. it doesn't really bother me too much... aslong as they get the side going!

Originally posted by madboy
I like Daniher as well, but there is a problem and things need to change. But nobody seems to be able to see that. Danners, the problems of the club are obvious even to this moron, so what's your excuse?

I second that! :D (except the moron bit! ;) )