Reality check

• Thread starter Thread starter kirky

This side is going nowhere. Now lets get real. Now I may be slighty intoxicated, well perhaps slightly more, but this game today was over at quarter time. There are very few positives (and if you think there are more stop deluding yourself) and Brisbane always had control of this game i.e the two goals scored with little effort by Notting in the second quarter (they took no more than 20 seconds from the hitout). A few positives:-

Johncock - a shining light and thank god for him
Stevens (Scott) - he can take a contested mark in the forward lines (he is one of the few)

The reality is we played a side who lacked their permanent full forwand centre half forward and is was on our home deck.

Sorry, Radar Reilly, but no 33 might have the skills but HE HAS NO PACE. Jason Akermanis destroyed him totally in the first half.

All I can say is thank god I'll be in the USA come September and probably 40 blokes may be with me.......this side is not playing with any heart or promise but the bigger question is

HOW CAN A SIDE THAT WAS SECOND AT THE END OF THE 19th ROUND 2003 FIND ITSELF IN THIS POSITION IN 2004????

Originally posted by kirky
Sorry, Radar Reilly, but no 33 might have the skills but HE HAS NO PACE. Jason Akermanis destroyed him totally in the first half.
I though Reilly had more of an influence on the game today than Aker, not they were on each other for the whole game.

Re: Re: Re: Reality check

Maybe Kane, but the damage was done in the first half...
The damage was done in the 1st quarter - game over, red rover. Must admit I didn't notice Aker much, but then again I was in awe of Voss!

I had a perfect side-on view of that clash. While Reilly wasn't disgraced at all, and must continue to be played, he did find out what it's like to stand one of the top-liners in the comp.

He'll learn a lot from that game.

Biggest person who needs a reality check in Andrew McLeod. His performances nowhere near match his high pay packet. What the heck is wrong with him at the moment as he just doesn't appear to be switched on & not running hard enough to make contests.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Biggest person who needs a reality check in Andrew McLeod. His performances nowhere near match his high pay packet. What the heck is wrong with him at the moment as he just doesn't appear to be switched on & not running hard enough to make contests.

Agreed- not sure what the issue is here - but it needs to be fixed asap!!!!

Re: Re: Re: Reality check

Maybe Kane, but the damage was done in the first half...
Yes but yo can't ping it all on Reilly. The 22 player that pulled on the jumper were a bloody disgrace in the first quarter.

I thought he did OK on Aker. Aker was nowhere near as influencial as he usually is. Yes Reilly made a couple of mistakes but at least he got to stand a Brownlow medallist and did a good job.

McLeod and Roo on the other hand really gave me the ****s. Roo shouldn't have played today at all. McLeod better pull his bloody finger out if he wants to earn his money. He is fast becoming the most over rated player in the comp.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Reality check

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Yes but yo can't ping it all on Reilly. The 22 player that pulled on the jumper were a bloody disgrace in the first quarter.

I thought he did OK on Aker. Aker was nowhere near as influencial as he usually is. Yes Reilly made a couple of mistakes but at least he got to stand a Brownlow medallist and did a good job.

McLeod and Roo on the other hand really gave me the ****s. Roo shouldn't have played today at all. McLeod better pull his bloody finger out if he wants to earn his money. He is fast becoming the most over rated player in the comp.

McLeod needs to be dropped - not sure what his problem is !!! But needs the riot act read to him - he hasn't bothered to chase in games so far. If its his knee, then say so. The fans deserve better....

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Reality check

McLeod needs to be dropped - not sure what his problem is !!! But needs the riot act read to him - he hasn't bothered to chase in games so far. If its his knee, then say so. The fans deserve better....
I don't think its a knee issue, I think its an attitude issue.

If it is his knee why the hell not play him as a permanent forward and move Johncock into the midfield???????:confused:

Surely, a half fit McLeod will still crumb some 40-50 goals in a year.

Stiffy would have been our only 4 quarter player today. That free that was paid against him early on was total crap!

Fantastic game. Keep this up and he will be our 2004 Club Champ no worries.

McLeod...get him out of the midfield. Start him at half back where he played some of his best footy in 97 and run him into some form from there. If he doesnt take to that, then drop him.

Originally posted by Jerome
Sthat free that was paid against him early on was total crap!
Come to think of it the umpiring in the 1st quarter was dreadful to say the least.
If we continue on playing like this we will get some bloody good draft picks come the nd of the year.

Knowing our recruiting department we will trade them all for Glen Jakovich.:rolleyes:

I tell you what. I could have throttled those little white maggots in the first quarter! I don't mind free kicks being paid. As long as they are paid to both teams. Unfortunatley today - particularly in the first quarter - it wasn't the case. It wasn't the reason we lost.....but when a player (Voss) gets 3 free kicks within kicking distance - and when the same thing is done to our players and we get NOTHING - it has to be mentioned as a factor.

My biggest thing about when we lose is that we don't "throw in the towel". We didn't do that today. We were down something like 46 points at quarter time. It could have got a hell of a lot worse. But the boys fought back and had we been able to kick a bit straighter - who knows. Our skills let us down today. It killed us and Brisbane showed how a good, slick & precise team plays. I was happy with the contributions of some of our young kids in Hentschel, Stevens, Schuback & even Reilly. They made a few mistakes but they never gave up trying.

It's not time to panic....but we need to settle down, get our skills right and the win will come.

k
xx

Good post on all accounts, MarksGirl.

Firstly the umpires. In that first quarter, those 3 free kicks in front of goal were very soft and rather dubious. Naturally, no such freebees came our way.

Secondly I think we all knew that we were shot in the backside at quarter time. But, to the boys' credit, they did keep plugging away and didn't turn it up one bit.

The difference in skill level between the 2 sides was huge, which was demonstrated by the ease with which they got most of their goals.

Gee, they're a good side, and they did it with their regular CHF and FF missing!!

I think this game really showed all of us which crows players are up to it. It separated the ones that are interested, can play well and never give up from those who shouldn't be in the team.

There were lots of positives: Johncock is sensational, Goodwin, Stevens even Hentschel (I can't believe I am saying that!) Schuback and Gags also did ok. Stinga also did well in defence.

I hated the move of Kenny into attack. And I think rather than benching Welsh he should be played up the ground as at least he provides a contest and chases.

Watching Roo and McLeod was infuriating and Burton wasn't much better. These are the senior players and are definitely not leading by example.

One last thing - I thought Matty Clarke was doing a sensational job in the ruck when he was on the ground so why was he on the bench for the last quater?? Injured?? or was I missing something cos I thought Biglands was woeful (Sorry Kristie I see that you had him BOG for crows??)

And I agree about the umpires...bad... The Johncock one was terrible and so was the Bassett one. Oh well I don't think it would have changed a lot anyway. We were beaten by a better team.

Originally posted by macca23
Gee, they're a good side, and they did it with their regular CHF and FF missing!!
And they had Chris Scott and Luke Power out on top of that.

Lions are a fantastic side and its a brave individual who tips against them going for 4 in a row.

Just think about it, Bradshaw would be a first choice FF in 13 or 14 of the other 16 clubs.

The umpiring in the first quarter was terrible, no consistancy at all.

I fail to comprehend how dificult it is to man up... i couldn't even count the amount of times that a brisbane player was left alone and unmanned

Is it fitness or just lack of understanding,? The Sailsbury vs Angle Vale game all players at least stuck to thier man. Basic stuff boys, Brisbane did it for 4 quaters and played with us.

Kenny should be playing CHB not CHF tho he certainly did his bit today.

Andrew Mcleod needs to go back to the Port magpies to get back some passion.. his disinterest shows.... at least he gets a good paycheck!

On the positive side:

Trent potential looked great today, Scott Stevens looks promising, Goodwin and Stiffy were shining lights and both Tyson's pretty much won thier positions. If Roo had gastro what was he doing out there? Ok waffled enough now... So glad i have spent a fortune on going to watch the boys at the house of pain next week
:rolleyes:

Sorry guys that you had to go through two bad games in a row and at the start of a new season, must be the most depressing thing in the world after a long wait for the season to begin.

Voss ran amok, he is an amazing player.

I really thought the Crows would bounce back and get over the line. I hope the team can get its act together and put in a four quarter effort next week.

Originally posted by Sezza_20
I
One last thing - I thought Matty Clarke was doing a sensational job in the ruck when he was on the ground so why was he on the bench for the last quater?? Injured?? or was I missing something cos I thought Biglands was woeful (Sorry Kristie I see that you had him BOG for crows??)

hahaha Hi Sarah

I thought Rhett did really well. He attacked the ball and man hard. If more players showed his heart we would be a lot better off.

k
xx

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Come to think of it the umpiring in the 1st quarter was dreadful to say the least.
If we continue on playing like this we will get some bloody good draft picks come the nd of the year.

Knowing our recruiting department we will trade them all for Glen Jakovich.:rolleyes:

One of the keys Blighty instilled in the players was that you must win despite the umpires. No excuses.

God, I wish he could be coaxed back. He had a brain.

I can't understand how a multi-million dollar business has someone in charge that was tough, and preaches intensity and "physicality" to the players, but has no brain. A bit one dimensional don't you think?

Honestly, if he was talking and chewing gum at the same time he would fall over.........

PS. I have no AFL cocahing experience.

We were well beaten and the simple fact remains - they had their FF and CHF not playing. Consider this, how good would these teams (recent powerhouses in the AFL) be without their FF and CFH on an oppositions ground:-

Power - Tredrea and Cornes
Woods - Tarrant and Rocca
Dons - Lloyd and Hird

Says it all really, this Lions side is the greatest of all time and they still convincing beat us today (forget the margin - we kicked the last three goals of the match)....

Oh, the pain, the pain.....

Time to think about rebuilding

I think its time to start looking very hard at what coaches will be available next year, and how we can go about rebuilding the team

If you take into account next year Smart, Carey, Burns will probably be gone and maybe some others, then we need to get some good youth into the team. This may take a couple of seasons, so I feel the next two years may be a bit lean but we dont have much choice about the issue.

I think we will struggle against the Dockers next week, and if we do then this is more reason to rebuild. You only have to look at teams such as the Dockers, Saints etc who have rebuilt over the last couple of years and they are now reaping the benefits.

If I was Gary Ayres I would not be signing a new lease for a house as I think his days in Adelaide are numbered, if you cant win a flag in 4 or 5 years, its time to go.

Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
I tell you what. I could have throttled those little white maggots in the first quarter! I don't mind free kicks being paid. As long as they are paid to both teams. Unfortunatley today - particularly in the first quarter - it wasn't the case. It wasn't the reason we lost.....but when a player (Voss) gets 3 free kicks within kicking distance - and when the same thing is done to our players and we get NOTHING - it has to be mentioned as a factor.
No doubt we got burnt by inconsisent umpiring in the 1st quarter (certainly got me very animated when frees were being paid (to Voss) at one end & nothing the other). However the umpiring only assisted the Lions get a big 1st quarter lead (rather than being the main reason) ... & we would have been in strife even if we did get a fair deal. I'm looking forward to the day we play 4 quarter football!

Maybe someone has already posted this but l got so P/O at some post l skiped a few.

Maybe ....just maybe we the adelaide crows are not as good as we think they are and the last 2 years we over achieved and had a good run with injurys. Apart from Roo, Goody, macca and edwards what on baller is of quality afl standard. Graham johncock was our leading goal kicker, carey isnt the player he was at the kangas and scott welsh(maybe he is the one p/o at Ayres) so our forward line isnt that good. So are we looking at the squad with rose coloured glasses and not seeing the faults that may truly be there.

So Adelaide crows fan get used to the feeling of lossing for at least 2 years or at least not making the finals for the next 2 years because our squad is over rated but us and given the true indication of it value by Robert Walls and Mike sheehan.

A Key forward who kicks goals - Is that Ian Perrie, maybe but mark stevens isnt the answer any more even if he comes back.

but maybe l am just looking at the negitive and everyone else is right.

Actually mate, check the Crows magazine and it will tell you, in the words of the bloke, that he is 'only a couple of seconds of some of the fastest at the club'.
He has pace, and I repeat myself again, like Ayres said, Akermanis rarely gets stopped. He IS Akermanis, and Reilly is only a third year player at his first AFL Club ;)