Toast Reece Conca

• Thread starter Thread starter Grockadoc

His disposal when he has space is on par with Lids. However, given the clubs use of him as an inside extractor type, his hurried passes aren't that flash.

Imo lids is so far ahead of anyone else its not funny. Cotch is however pretty good as well, its just he has 3 blokes on him at all times.

Was an impressive performance last night from Conca, some really good work inside and good physicality, some very good ball use and he's clearly going to be able to have more impact in games with the extra fitness he's been able to add over the summer. Also helps your form when you're not injured...;)

He's tracking along nicely. :thumbsu:

The big play was that on ein the last few minutes where he just ran straight at the ball with others coming from all directions. Was a clean win of the ball but it was a win and a massive one from belief for himself, the team and us supporters - its when the game started to feel safe.

I should clarify re: Cotch's kicking. It is good to very good when he has space, but his kicking lacks penetration. He is capable of kicking some ripper passes, but most are dinky, high up and unders that show too much of the ball to opposition, or drop short and make it an awkward half volley.

His kicking is something he needs to work on. 51% DE, following from about 45% last week, even for an inside midfielder isn't that flash.

I think his kicking is his biggest weakness, because some of his kicks either drop short, or they are direct turnovers. Friday night, he had a 25 meter kick and kicked it straight to an open St. Kilda player on our fifty line. He turns the ball over quiet a few times a game, and sometimes it costs us (V North last year).

Remember, this is just personal, and Cotchin is a gun, but he is prone to absolute howlers, and I think he should be criticised as much as every other player, and shouldn't be excluded.

I should clarify re: Cotch's kicking. It is good to very good when he has space, but his kicking lacks penetration. He is capable of kicking some ripper passes, but most are dinky, high up and unders that show too much of the ball to opposition, or drop short and make it an awkward half volley.

His kicking is something he needs to work on. 51% DE, following from about 45% last week, even for an inside midfielder isn't that flash.

I think his kicking is his biggest weakness, because some of his kicks either drop short, or they are direct turnovers. Friday night, he had a 25 meter kick and kicked it straight to an open St. Kilda player on our fifty line. He turns the ball over quiet a few times a game, and sometimes it costs us (V North last year).

Remember, this is just personal, and Cotchin is a gun, but he is prone to absolute howlers, and I think he should be criticised as much as every other player, and shouldn't be excluded.
Don't read to much into stats , they have us winning near as many clearances as St. Kilda .
Cotchin's kicking will improve as other players output improves and attention on him decreases . He only needs to have two players on him rather than 3 and you'll see a remarkable improvement .

Most players are a little rusty in the first couple of games in the season, shows that even the Almighty Cotchin is human after all.

We are slowly building a very potent midfield.

Deledio, Newman, Cotchin, Martin, Edwards, Conca, Ellis, Houli, Grigg, Tuck, Foley, Vlastuin, Arnott.

Seriously, that is one physical, mean, scary looking midfield right there.

Reckon we need maybe 1 more absolute gun player and Martin to also step up or we may get eclipsed by the midfields of GWS and GC in years to come (unless they get plundered first lol).

Conca's game was very good - his poise to pick up the ball on the run, deep in the pocket under pressure with the game in the balance and to thread the needle pass to Maric for the sealer was absolutely sublime. That's the kind of thing you would expect from a Cotchin, Deledio, Martin.

Hopefully this is his breakout game for us.

We are starting to put together a pretty good midfield that is capable of mixing it with the best in the leaugue

Delidio,Cotchin,Foley,Martin,Conca,Ellis,Vlastuin,Edwards + Tuck
And if Arnot,Helbig,McIntosh,McDonough,O'Hanlon come along as anticipated we could be looking at a reasonably good future at tigerland

Reckon we need maybe 1 more absolute gun player and Martin to also step up or we may get eclipsed by the midfields of GWS and GC in years to come (unless they get plundered first lol).

Conca's game was very good - his poise to pick up the ball on the run, deep in the pocket under pressure with the game in the balance and to thread the needle pass to Maric for the sealer was absolutely sublime. That's the kind of thing you would expect from a Cotchin, Deledio, Martin.

Hopefully this is his breakout game for us.
Vlas, arnott, helbig and foley , i reckon we ll find a couple out of that

The big play was that on ein the last few minutes where he just ran straight at the ball with others coming from all directions. Was a clean win of the ball but it was a win and a massive one from belief for himself, the team and us supporters - its when the game started to feel safe.
This is the one the coaches will be talking up. It was his turn to go and he went straight at it with McEvoy coming at him. It was all courage knowing he could have been minced. Rapt to see him have a good game. He has really come on in his last 10 games, heaps to like.

Unless a WA team is willing to give up a Fyfe or a Gaff (obviously they arent) I can't see how they'd get him

Vlas, arnott, helbig and foley , i reckon we ll find a couple out of that

Vlas could easily be one with the right development. Has the right attitude and already has good skills. Just needs to work on his tank. Could be a future ball winner given his competitiveness - would love to see Tuck take Vlas, Arnott and Helbig under his wing and tutelage.

Foley's the big one - if he can stay fit and get back to close to his best, we gain a potentially A grade midfielder to bolster our top end midfield talent (which means our depth runs even deeper!)

Just something i heard on sen tonight, Cant remember who the 2 people were that was involved 1 was the bloke that hosts the show at 9pm and the other was a jurno from inside football.

He met and had a good chat with Reece & mentioned how reece was loving his place at tigerland and really feeling good about his development and the 1 thing that Reece mentioned to him was that he actually grew a couple of cm last year.

Also something i noticed watching last weeks saints game and with Conca was that he was doing the things that i remembered him doing in the highlights package when he was drafted - which indicates to me that he is now comfortable in his envoirment and feels confident enough to play his natural game rather than just follow what the coaches say or what he thinks they just want him to do.

One thing I'll be interested in is how he gets treated by the umps going forward. He's always been prone to giving up a few free kicks, but now he's been recognized in the media as a 'good player' rather than just another 'young player learning the caper' I wonder if the umps will not be so whistle-happy around him.

I'm not saying he deserves 'superstar' treatment - I just thought there was a bit of a mindset against him.

what i love is the whole package. Kicking both sides, aggression at the ball and player, tackling and a little bit of c**t in him.
This is one thing we lack. Reckon Brad Helbig looks like he might have it too. For far to long we have been a side of Pussycats with Push up the only one with a bit of mongrel about him. Slowly but surely we are starting to see it creep into players which is great