Reid at CHB

I've been told that Ben Reid did make his VFL return on the weekend against the Scorpions as named, and even more surprisingly lined up at CHB as named. He didn't get a lot of it, as the windy conditions meant teams weren't kicking long to CHF/CHB but running through the 50s. A huge return after such a layoff would not have been expected anyway, but it's great that he's back on the paddock. In any case, I think this is a fantastic move and could go a long way to stabilising our backline in the longer term.

Reid's set shot routine issues are well-documented. He may even have more all-encompassing kicking concerns, but I tend to think not. However he does have some nice, sticky hands and fantastic speed and mobility in a growing frame. I think the best physical comparison I have for Reid is Jarrad Waite, and while Waite is a relatively unaccountable CHB, it's certainly not for a lack of the physical tools to play the position.

A goal-to-goal line of;

FF: Dawes
CHF: Cloke
C: Pendlebury
CHB: Reid
FB: Brown

... looks pretty good to me. It also helps alleviate our perceived surplus in key forwards, and our perceived lack of key backs. It would allow us to really concentrate on midfielders and rucks in the upcoming draft/trade period.

Some will say that Brown will be displaced to his detriment by Reid in this scenario, but I honestly think that Brown's best position might be FB rather than CHB. Many have noted that he is currently a very low-possession player, and has a fairly large turning circle. As a stay-at-home type of FB this will be less of a concern.

Reid's unlikely to be included this week in the seniors, and the VFL is done and dusted for the Pies team as far as I'm aware. If Reid doesn't break back into finals contention, I'd love to see him play out the preseason and NAB Cup down back to be given every chance.

On a somewhat unrelated point, I'd say that Cox managed to play most of last week's game in what many have said is his ideal position; the wing. A big thumbs-up to the coaching staff for getting that one right, it may help save Cox's AFL career at the Pies.

I'd appreciate everyone's thoughts on the topic.

I think Reids actually a very adaptable player. I must say i like him fwd. I think he naturally leads up pretty well and will ultimately be a hard match up if he can muscle up and keep his aerobic advantage.

I would prefer to see Anthony go back to be honest. Think he is a natural FB with Brown out at CHB.

I like the concept, but I don't think he is physical enough (at least not yet). This is not too bad a problem when he can beat his opponents as a forward on pace, but when you are playing CHB you need to be able to match potential opponents for pace and strength (to some degree).

He would need to work on his one on one arial contests. I still think that each of O'Brien, Anthony, and even Goldsack would be more appropriate on CHF types because of a better combination of strength, speed, and agility. Possibly even Dawes at CHB over Reid, as he is more physically able.

I do agree that Brown is the most appropriate FB we have long term, and is more suited to FB than CHB.

I still think that we need to focus far more on midfielders than other at this draft.

Yeah not a bad idea with Reid here Sampler!
You can only try with young players whether other positions suite them or not and if it doesnt work then you can always revert back to their original spot.
Intersting thing the amount of young guys recruited as forwards who turn in to excellent defenders so every chance this may work. here are just some,
Justin Leppitch, Daniel Merrett, Presti, Ben Rutten, Daniel Pratt, Trent Croad, David Neitz-forward then AA CHB then FF again but you get my point.

On Shannon Cox good on him, the kid has been real good a couple of times this year and only needs gametime to really show what hes got, i like him and think hes gonna be a ripper for us too.

I like the concept, but I don't think he is physical enough (at least not yet). This is not too bad a problem when he can beat his opponents as a forward on pace, but when you are playing CHB you need to be able to match potential opponents for pace and strength (to some degree).

He would need to work on his one on one arial contests. I still think that each of O'Brien, Anthony, and even Goldsack would be more appropriate on CHF types because of a better combination of strength, speed, and agility. Possibly even Dawes at CHB over Reid, as he is more physically able.
I see where you're coming from here, but I think Reid's strength is rapidly improving to the point where he's probably bigger than Goldsack already. He looks huge in the CTV videos like the Black and White Show when he's seen in the gym or getting a massage. I think by next season's opener, he'll be just behind Brown and Cloke for strength and on a par with O'Brien and Maxy.

A goal-to-goal line of;

... looks pretty good to me.

Perhaps in 2010/11 it will be, if all are still at the club.

Still inexperienced kids though, Dawes <5 games, Reid <5 games, Brown <22 games. All have no finals experience.

For sure, I'm not talking about next season. Obviously, Rocca will come back into that side, and Wakes/Presti will have their say. 2010 onwards though, these are the names that we'd be hoping will fill those positions IMHO. I've only advocated playing Reid at CHB throughout next preseason, not that he starts there round 1 2009.

He looks huge in the CTV videos like the Black and White Show when he's seen in the gym or getting a massage. I think by next season's opener, he'll be just behind Brown and Cloke for strength and on a par with O'Brien and Maxy.
That's a big call. Do you have photos of him?

Also, as well as his physical strength, I question his mentality at times. He seems VERY introverted and intimidated ( the opposite to Brown, Cloke, Maxy and co). Not only is having the strength important, it's knowing you have it and having the confidence to exert your strength. This is where I think he may be let down.

I could definitely see him becoming a quality CHB, but i'm also not writing him off as a lead up CHF (not saying you are). Was really unlucky to be injured when he was this season, he just started getting some confidence.

He has the size (more bulk in the future) and the speed to play either end. He's a good mark. His kicking still has question marks around it, but i think it has been unfairly exaggerated on these boards.

CHB/CHF, whatever the club decides, i think he has what it takes.

I've been told that Ben Reid did make his VFL return on the weekend against the Scorpions as named, and even more surprisingly lined up at CHB as named. He didn't get a lot of it, as the windy conditions meant teams weren't kicking long to CHF/CHB but running through the 50s. A huge return after such a layoff would not have been expected anyway, but it's great that he's back on the paddock. In any case, I think this is a fantastic move and could go a long way to stabilising our backline in the longer term.

Reid's set shot routine issues are well-documented. He may even have more all-encompassing kicking concerns, but I tend to think not. However he does have some nice, sticky hands and fantastic speed and mobility in a growing frame. I think the best physical comparison I have for Reid is Jarrad Waite, and while Waite is a relatively unaccountable CHB, it's certainly not for a lack of the physical tools to play the position.

A goal-to-goal line of;

... looks pretty good to me. It also helps alleviate our perceived surplus in key forwards, and our perceived lack of key backs. It would allow us to really concentrate on midfielders and rucks in the upcoming draft/trade period.

Some will say that Brown will be displaced to his detriment by Reid in this scenario, but I honestly think that Brown's best position might be FB rather than CHB. Many have noted that he is currently a very low-possession player, and has a fairly large turning circle. As a stay-at-home type of FB this will be less of a concern.

Reid's unlikely to be included this week in the seniors, and the VFL is done and dusted for the Pies team as far as I'm aware. If Reid doesn't break back into finals contention, I'd love to see him play out the preseason and NAB Cup down back to be given every chance.

just one that u obviously heard wrong he had 20 kicks 3 handballs and 7 marks o the weekend in just over a half of footy...that sounds like a fair bit of the ball to me...thats wat it said on the collingwod VFL wrap this week...
Even better!

I'm just going off anecdotal evidence with regard to his return game, and I can't access the VFL wrap, but if what you're saying is accurate that's the best thing that happened for us on the weekend. :)

Even better!

I'm just going off anecdotal evidence with regard to his return game, and I can't access the VFL wrap, but if what you're saying is accurate that's the best thing that happened for us on the weekend. :)

its accurate unless the vfl wrap are making things up which i doubt also said his disposal was very good and he also played both half forward and half back which i gues is a good thing aswell

He played a lot more than a half , and played more of a loose man sweeping role off half back. Didn't seem to be focussing greatly on an opponent. His field kicking was quite good though.

he played just fmore than a half maybe 65% of the game was said on the website so that obviously more than what you would know...but he did play well

I Don't think he has the body to play the role also his kicking is atrocious so sort that out other than that he has a long long way to go.

his kicking wood good on the weekend you wouldnt no to much i dnt think because he doesnt have that far to go played awesom against the blue baggers when he beat waite which says something...

he played just fmore than a half maybe 65% of the game was said on the website so that obviously more than what you would know...but he did play well

He played an easy game , and wasn't tested defensively. We got flogged , and he didn't make the bests despite having mid 20's. But atleast he got to get some match fitness.

his kicking wood good on the weekend you wouldnt no to much i dnt think because he doesnt have that far to go played awesom against the blue baggers when he beat waite which says something...

AFL>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>VFL

Yet to prove his a good kick yet in AFL but until he does I'll be happy to eat my words

He played an easy game , and wasn't tested defensively. We got flogged , and he didn't make the bests despite having mid 20's. But atleast he got to get some match fitness.

in football there is no easy games...the bests arent really the bests in vfl mate they jst real out names..was one of the best saw the game champ...we got flogged yeah but wasnt his mn nore was it the other back men...it was the midfielders from casey who kicked most the goals...being in the backline on that day and getting flogged how cna that be easy??

The theory about Reid to CHB seems to me to be about hiding his poor disposal by foot. Unfortunately poor kicks will be poor kicks , no matter where you put them. CHBs usually need to be fairly physical types of players as well. And I don't see Reid as a very physical player at all. More a gatherer of uncontested possessions. But still it may be worth a try as he is not going to kick many goals for us>

On the issue of Cox. I am a fan of Cox with one reservation-his attack on the ball and opponents with the ball needs to improve. Still, I've yet to see him play a bad game. His critics keep calling him unaccountable. But I have never seen him exposed in this area in any game I have watched. He could indeed become a difficult match up on the wing with his height and agility. If we are to perservere with any fringe player eg Stanley, Cook, Wellingham, I would go with Cox. He is a class above those guys.

Chopper is an enigma. He could well be the most talented of our 'kids' yet there are guys who look to be taking up spots in our future campaigns, and we're yet to really work out where Reid could end up.

We've got Dawes penned down for the goalsquare, Anthony has two spots lined up, Browny is our fullback, even guys like McCarthy and Wellingham have shown that they will figure down the track.

Reidy, we just don't know.

So I ask (it's been touched on before, but it needs be re-asked):
For those who have seen more of him than others, how is his tank, and what are his footskills like around the ground?

At this stage, I'm not sure we're he'll fit in regards our forward line (Cloke, Dawes, Rusling, etc.) and down back, I'm not sure either (size, natural forward). I'm thinking Richo-like wingman...

YES YES YES!!

Lol a bit excited I know but I would really like to see this. I think he could be both a good stopper and a rebounder.

From what I remember his field kicking wasn't too bad?

Still needs to bulk up a bit and there are still question marks but if it works we may well have a spine for 10 years...

I saw the game as well. It wasn't his man as he didn't play on one. I don't care about cliches "like no easy games in football" , he had a cruisy job, which didn't really test him out much. He kicked well around the ground.

I like the idea but think Anthony would be ahead of him atm. I think Anthony should be played down back next year as the third or fourth tall. He'd be able to learn off Wakelin for one year before taking up more responsibility the year after. Less of a baptism of fire. Reid could be brought through this way too.

reid's field kicking was more than adequate. you wouldn't be expecting too much this early in his return. was good just to see him out there.

also, the chap that does the vfl write ups for the website knows his stuff.