Reading
Did not see the game but have looked at the stats and have seen the boy has done OK - question is will he be a permanent selection when the season starts?? Please no answers from Brent's fan cluib!!

Originally posted by 8485
Did not see the game but have looked at the stats and have seen the boy has done OK - question is will he be a permanent selection when the season starts?? Please no answers from Brent's fan cluib!!

This kid is class and will be a gun in time. I would play him right from the word go to fast track him to that level.

Feel sorry for Gallagher - I think Reilly has definitely jumped him in the mid-field queue.

I think Reilly has decreased Doughty's game time. I think Doughty was on there a good 10 minutes last night.
The difference between Gallager and Reilly is experiance. I think when the push comes to pick one, Gallager will edge out Reilly. Reilly needs a string of good performances to get auto. selection.

I have a feeling Reilly will get the nod over Doughty and Gallagher. I don't have a major problem with that -the kid looks the goods - can't understand why he never got much game time at Sturt last year!

Originally posted by AngelEyes
I think Reilly has decreased Doughty's game time. I think Doughty was on there a good 10 minutes last night.
The difference between Gallager and Reilly is experiance. I think when the push comes to pick one, Gallager will edge out Reilly. Reilly needs a string of good performances to get auto. selection.

Im not so sure about that.
One difference between Reilly and Gallagher Ive noticed already is Reillys ability to find space. Gallagher is a good player and so is Doughty. Interesting headache for selelctors to cure.

Originally posted by topjars
Im not so sure about that.
One difference between Reilly and Gallagher Ive noticed already is Reillys ability to find space. Gallagher is a good player and so is Doughty. Interesting headache for selelctors to cure.

Agree with you tj but also very impressed with young Brett's poise when he has the ball seems like most of the time he has all the time in the world to dispose of it,

plus now we can add courage to the list after last nights hit from Tarrent,

must also give Porthos a clap for high-lighting Reilly as one to watch in the off season,

I think it will be very interesting to see who is picked. But i know for sure that the wing position will be between Reilly, doughty and gallagher. It really depends whether the coaching staff will give Reilly a shot in the premiership games this season. I think he will get a fair shot though, around 10-15 afl games. I think he is physically ready for the challenge, if John**** could do it at a similar age last season, i think Reilly will have a successful season.

Did anyone listen to the 5AA commentry last night. I think Stephen Rowe loves Reilly, in fact they all do, even KG. When he got decked by tarrant, rowe nearly had a heartattack. 'Gee i love this kid' was some of the words that came from his mouth. I thought Reilly showed lots of courage standing his ground, another player would have ran when he saw tarrant coming at him. I say, in the words of Stephen Rowe, 'this kid is gonna be a star'

Reilly is definitely in front of Gags. It looks like after he got a start last night & made the most of it that he may have leap-frogged Dogga too. The hard bit is that another 2 players need to be dropped for round 1 against Freo (would be three if Welshy were fit). Doughty will be under pressure to stay in our best-22, but has done nothing wrong. Nice problem to have though.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Reilly is definitely in front of Gags. It looks like after he got a start last night & made the most of it that he may have leap-frogged Dogga too. The hard bit is that another 2 players need to be dropped for round 1 against Freo (would be three if Welshy were fit). Doughty will be under pressure to stay in our best-22, but has done nothing wrong. Nice problem to have though.
yeah there is soo much depth and competition in the midfield roles at the moment. i think all clubs would like this problem, i just feel sorry for the players that get left out.

Originally posted by dyertribe
Urgh... just reminded me of David Gallagher. The worst player to ever pull on our guernsey. :o
aaaaahhh, please don't mention this guy on the board as it brings back bad vibes!!! :eek: :eek:

Reilly was BOG last night before getting cleaned up by Tarrant and going to Disneyland for a while. What really impressed me about him last night is his poise under tremendous pressure. His skill level is exceptional and last night the kid proved that he has balls.

I thought to compare Reilly to Nigel Lappin and Adam Ramanauskas was a big wrap but last night he proved that he will be a star. I think he will stay in the 22 for round one. Two players that I would drop are Burns and Doughty. Burns has played 2 decent games and 2 absoulte shockers. Its interesting that both of those shockers are in games that were very intense and the pressure was worthy of real finals. Doughty has been solid but he hasn't really had as good a showing as he did this time last year.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I thought to compare Reilly to Nigel Lappin and Adam Ramanauskas was a big wrap but last night he proved that he will be a star.

Agree with everything said about Reilly's potential...

Just on the comparisons - fair enough Lappin is class but Ramanauskas?

I always think of the Essendon man as nothing more than a (very) poor man's Tyson Edwards ;)

aaaaahhh, please don't mention this guy on the board as it brings back bad vibes!!! :eek: :eek:
oh no not DAVID GALLAGHER. did he suck or what...so not ready for afl!! geez he was bad, it was such an embarrasment to the club!!! poor bloke i did feel sorry for him though but i was happy wen he left for carlton!!

Two players that I would drop are Burns and Doughty. Burns has played 2 decent games and 2 absoulte shockers. Its interesting that both of those shockers are in games that were very intense and the pressure was worthy of real finals. Doughty has been solid but he hasn't really had as good a showing as he did this time last year.
Stiffy, I reckon you are a tough on Dogga, as he hasn't done much wrong. Lack of game time has been more of an issue, but he has played OK when given minutes. However, Reilly looks something special, so I'm sure AFC will be looking to fast track him. Don't reckon he will be playing too many senior games with Sturt this year either. ;) I would suggest Burton's form has been worse than Doughty's.

. Two players that I would drop are Burns and Doughty. Burns has played 2 decent games and 2 absoulte shockers. Its interesting that both of those shockers are in games that were very intense and the pressure was worthy of real finals. Doughty has been solid but he hasn't really had as good a showing as he did this time last year.
And you can tell that from doughty's less than 10 minute game last night?

Originally posted by ScottWelshLuva
oh no not DAVID GALLAGHER. did he suck or what...so not ready for afl!! geez he was bad, it was such an embarrasment to the club!!! poor bloke i did feel sorry for him though but i was happy wen he left for carlton!!

Yeah, the only positives to come out of drafting David "But I look good" Gallagher was that we shipped him and Andrew "I had potential... once" Eccles for Ben Nelson and Kris Massie ;)

I would suggest Burton's form has been worse than Doughty's.

Fir Dinkum I cringe every time he gets the ball. I don't think he even knows what he wants to do. Although the game was over at the time, one thing that I was mad at him was in the last minute of the game, he marks the ball just outside 50m, decides to look good and decides to go for a 9 pointer, then sees he is in a bit of trouble goes past his opponent and has a snap shot which missed. When he actually took the mark he had Carey and Perrie leading out of the goalsquare. He needs a brain transplant.

As for Dogga, yeah I am a bit harsh but IMO he was much better last year. Now I am not saying he is not doing his job, far from it, but I think he needs to lift a bit in order to hold onto the spot in 22 for round 1.

Who would be the 2 you would drop Kane??????

Originally posted by AngelEyes
And you can tell that from doughty's less than 10 minute game last night?

No mate I was talking over the course of the pre-season. He is doing his job but he is not as damaging as he was last year when he is on the ground. I think he would be stiff to get dropped but who would you drop instead of him?????? Mattner??????

Actually I would drop Mattner. Some of his decisions have cost the crows.

Who would be the 2 you would drop Kane??????
Actually undecided at this stage Stiffy. I'll need some time to think about it. However, it would be between Burns, Burton, Mattner & Doughty. On form Burns & Burton would be the 2 to go, but I will need to consider team balance. We must play Reilly now.

hey was it just me or did it look like Reilly was limping after the game wen they did the lap of honour. It may have just been cos he was tired, or cos he was still seeing disneyland, i dunno.
Any views on this???