Reiwoldt > Richo

• Thread starter Thread starter chrisjie

You've got to be ****ing kidding!

they were my thoughts dude...its a fickle game this game of AFL, legend one day, being compared to a snotty nosed kid who bagged 10 against a rabble the next....welcome to tigerland.
But alas, your BF alias suggests you are one of the leaders in the NFI stakes....by the next year, or the year after, the dude you regard as a legend will be one in a league like the EDFL.;)

they were my thoughts dude...its a fickle game this game of AFL, legend one day, being compared to a snotty nosed kid who bagged 10 against a rabble the next....welcome to tigerland.
But alas, your BF alias suggests you are one of the leaders in the NFI stakes....by the next year, or the year after, the dude you regard as a legend will be one in a league like the EDFL.;)

BTW, This is no alias.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=601772

or

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=715499

or maybe an Essendon one for you.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=696680

Not his career. But if you asked me who I wanted in my team it would be Jack.

He hasn't relied on his natural ability to get where he is. He trains hard. Has put on weight. He has all the intangibles Richo didn't have. Natural leadership, sets a great example, works his backside off and his onfield demeanor is competitive and cool. He is mature beyond his years. Richo only found some of these qualities in his last 2 years.

His kicking mechanics are better and is more reliable from a medium range. He also seems to gel into the team mentality better. His defensive abilities are better too. I'm not kicking the Great Richo, I'm just saying who I'd prefer to build a team around and try win a Premiership with.

I think Richmond should try and trade Jack while he is now worth something. Like a lot of other Richmond players he is just a flash in the pan. If we traded him to Carlton we might pickup a Ruckman like Hanson, we might have to chuck in Dustin Martin to secure the deal.

i could swear we have past april fools day :confused:

cheers SL, I've done a background check and you're ok...ya just can't tell these days, with trolls ready to terrorise wholesome peaceloving footy fans. we are alert but not alarmed by the constant threat of ***** that choose to ridicule rather than applaud the feats of one of the countries great sporting insitutions, at ease now:thumbsu:

What can I say man, I have a soft spot for the tigers.

Cant say the same about Hawthorn, Melbourne, Carlton and Gibbs (refer to avatar).

:thumbsu:

this is the very reason i love coming to bf. its such a good laugh.

richo is already the forgotten man. his amazing deeds have already diminished in a half a season.

thanks bf, youve made my day again :thumbsu:

i find it amusing that other teams havent seen the rise of jack in the last five weeks. he has now put on an admirable consistant display in the last 5 weeks building up to his 10 goals on the weekend.

10 vs west coast
6 vs saints
4 vs port (appalling conditions)
6 vs bombers
4 vs hawks

i'm surprised other teams havent taken notice yet and are still going one on one with jack. averaging 6 goals a game! i'd be surprised if teams dont start trying to double team him throughout the rest of the season to shut him down. then we will truly know the capacity in what Jack is going to be able to deliver in years to come and then we can make the comparisons that people are already predicting with unfounded goals on the board.

i reserve my comparisons with richo for now till we have an even playing field when jack has come up against double, triple teaming like richo did consistently throughout his career and still run them off there legs.

He hasn't relied on his natural ability to get where he is. He trains hard. Has put on weight. He has all the intangibles Richo didn't have. Natural leadership, sets a great example, works his backside off and his onfield demeanor is competitive and cool. He is mature beyond his years. Richo only found some of these qualities in his last 2 years.

His kicking mechanics are better and is more reliable from a medium range. He also seems to gel into the team mentality better. His defensive abilities are better too. I'm not kicking the Great Richo, I'm just saying who I'd prefer to build a team around and try win a Premiership with.
Have you had your medication today mate?
Now I know you haven't had much to celebrate and to kick 10 is a fantatstic effort but get > Richo??? Funniest thing i've ever read on this site.

Chokito says no. No, no, no to this thread.

Way to point out the obvious everyone.
Of course Riewoldt > Richo - Richo has retired and is no longer in the AFL.

Of course Richo > Riewoldt - Richo has about 700 more goals than him and is a legend of the game. Riewoldt does not belong on the same pedestal as Richo and probably will not EVER.

What's next? A Tambling > Buddy thread!?

I'm thinking of starting a thread. It's gonna have a poll too. How about a who's a better poster thread. Terry Tan or Cogga??:)

I love Big Footy for the fact that 99% of the squibs attacking me haven't even read my post. They just read the title and go "OMG RICHO BASHER THIS GUY IS AN IDIOT BLAH BLAH".

How about you read the post you flogs. I'm not rubbishing Richo's career. I'm saying Jack has elements that Richo didn't have and I prefer those in my team.

This is the problem with Australian sports journalism. People just want to hear the same shit, by the same shit reporters, who just write about what everyone wants to hear.

I love Big Footy for the fact that 99% of the squibs attacking me haven't even read my post. They just read the title and go "OMG RICHO BASHER THIS GUY IS AN IDIOT BLAH BLAH".

How about you read the post you flogs. I'm not rubbishing Richo's career. I'm saying Jack has elements that Richo didn't have and I prefer those in my team.

This is the problem with Australian sports journalism. People just want to hear the same shit, by the same shit reporters, who just write about what everyone wants to hear.

Totally agree ... some real p1ss weak form in this thread .

Funny how no-one has even bothered to debate me when i offered what i reckon were some pretty good points backing up what you are saying .

We all know the Cho was champ , no one at all doubts that and i know you were not denegrading him , but hey , keyboard warriors need thier fodder i guess .

Flogs the bulk of you

this is the very reason i love coming to bf. its such a good laugh.

richo is already the forgotten man. his amazing deeds have already diminished in a half a season.

thanks bf, youve made my day again :thumbsu:
thanks for your input :thumbsu:

Now p1ss off back to the surrogate propoganda boards you arrogant ****

Richo was an athletic freak and a champion ... who played one finals series in 17 years .

He also spent the bulk of his career running around like a headless chook and proved difficult to build a structure around

Riewoldt on the other hand ... true footballer who reads the game and straightens us up ... simplifies the game and makes it easier for those up the ground .

Time will tell how this pans out .

i can see where you are comiong from idy but in a sense you're almost suggesting it was richo's own fault he only played in a single finals series in 17 yrs, fairly simple and tough argument when you consider what's required to eb a successful club and footy team...i always respond to these claims that if he played with 1/2 doz others that left the same mark on the game as he..that finals stat would have been greater...leaving all that aside I reckon had richo of been played in that midfield role much earlier, it would have been far greater for the team..IU agree a forwad line a forward line was difficult to build around him although did look ok, when Benny was at chf and Otto to

Fair calls ... no doubt more of an indictment on list management and coaches during his career that were never able to be more competetive when we had such an ace in the pack ...

But ... i do liken Richo to that thouroughbred in the stable who has all the ability in the world and can run like the wind , but the trainor just can't get him to run in a straight line and often found a way to lose ;)

JR8 is the horse who may be a length of the champ but jumps the gates ... settles in the box everytime .. rails like a greyhound and gives himself the best chance

Hope that clears it up :p

i can see your analogy, richo was an instinctive player which in many cases came off but those instincts often didnt draw other forwards into the game...If you remember carey in his heyday, he'd often stop and prop on HF line, could dish off a handball quicker than a blink or pass off to draw a teammate into the game...JR is closer to that in the sense he has a sharp footy brain

When a team gets success, very few players from the previous era that didn't have success are remembered as warmly.

If the tigers do get success then one of the few survivors Richo will have his television stocks drop in the eyes of Richmond fans simply because of the era that he represented. He still has a good two years to be good at what he is doing.

Its a 'how you feel thing' and not a logic thing so it IS unfair and ignores all the things that should be taken into account.

Only thing that can explain why I have good feelings towards Greg Strachan.