Autopsy 'Remember when...' - Volume III: 1989

• Thread starter Thread starter SJ

The third in our series looking back on seasons past looks at the fabled year of 1989. As I was three at the time and my only memories are from DVDs, I am going to use the Wikipedia extract:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geelong_Football_Club#1980s
In 1989 Geelong signed North Melbourne champion Malcolm Blight to coach the club. Blight's new approach had mixed results. Geelong once again contested the National-Panasonic pre-season Grand Final, this time against Melbourne. Once again the Cats lost.

Adapting quickly to Blight's coaching philosophy, Geelong kicked mammoth scores, and during the 1989 season it became the only club to win by 100 points for three weeks in a row, defeating lowly clubs Richmond, St Kilda and the Brisbane Bears. Gavin Exell had a productive season, kicking 61 goals during the home-and-away season, narrowly pipping team-mate Gary Ablett, who kicked 60.

Ablett's notable goalkicking feats of the year included a bag of 14 goals against Richmond, 10 against Brisbane and 7 against Collingwood (where he amassed 38 possessions on the wing in the wet)[citation needed]. In this match against Collingwood, Gary Ablett also kicked the Goal of the Year.

However, the Gary Ablett show had not even started yet. Geelong finished third at the completion of the home-and-away season and met Essendon in the Qualifying Final in the first week. Geelong's lack of finals experience was telling as Essendon ended a 3-year losing streak to Geelong, thrashing them by 76 points. Gary Ablett and Shane Hamilton each kicked 3 goals in this match.

Geelong then met Melbourne in the semifinals. The previous week, Essendon had assigned "taggers" to Geelong's star midfielders, Paul Couch and Mark Bairstow. This move worked to great effect, nullifying both. Melbourne coach John Northey predictably did the same. However, his move was so predictable that Malcolm Blight benched both Couch and Bairstow for the first quarter, completely throwing Melbourne's plans into disarray. The result saw Geelong easily beat Melbourne by over 10 goals. Gary Ablett kicked 7 goals in an awesome display, as well as taking one of the marks of the year over Melbourne's Steven Febey.

The Preliminary Final saw a rematch between Geelong and Essendon at VFL Park. Early on, it appeared that Essendon would repeat their win of two weeks prior. However, Geelong soon got back on track and began to kick goals at will. Gary Ablett continued his awesome form, kicking 8 goals and constructing many more. The result saw Geelong cause a 170 point turnaround from a fortnight ago, to comprehensively defeat Essendon by a mammoth 94 points, to march into the club's first Grand Final since 1967.

The Grand Final proved to be an epic battle. At the opening bounce, Mark Yeates, retaliating to an incident caused by Dermott Brereton in Round 6, bumped Brereton to try and take the match winner out of the game, breaking Brereton's ribs. During this period, Ablett had managed to mark and kick the opening goal of the match. Brereton was ordered off the ground, but refused and instead rested in the pocket. Brereton took a mark shortly after and goaled, leading Hawthorn to a 40 point quarter-time lead. Hawthorn coach Alan Jeans commented at the time that Breretons courage was "inspirational."

Geelong won the second quarter by two points and the third quarter by one point. The final quarter proved frantic, as Geelong managed to get within 6 points of the tiring and wounded Hawks, before the siren sounded. Gary Ablett was awarded the Norm Smith Medal for a best on ground performance in kicking 9 goals 1 behind to equal Collingwood's Gordon Coventry’s goalkicking record in a grand final. His 2nd quarter goal and 3rd quarter marks were two of his notable highlights of his day.

To cap a remarkable season, Paul Couch won the Brownlow Medal by 2 votes from Hawthorn's John Platten.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geelong_Football_Club#1980s

Code:
Rnd**	T**	Opponent**	Scoring**		F**	Scoring**		A**	R**	Venue**		Crowd**	Date**
R1	A	North Melbourne	6.3 9.12 14.17 17.21 	123	2.5 11.9 14.14 18.17 	125	L	M.C.G.		24383	2-Apr-89
R2	H	West Coast	5.8 10.10 21.17 26.19 	175	2.2 6.6 7.9 11.14 	80	W	Kardinia Park	19939	9-Apr-89
R3	H	Carlton		0.6 3.10 9.13 16.21 	117	2.5 4.7 5.9 9.10 	64	W	Kardinia Park	27633	16-Apr-89
R4	A	Footscray	4.3 6.8 10.9 14.15 	99	2.4 6.7 8.13 12.15 	87	W	Western Oval	22844	23-Apr-89
R5	A	Fitzroy		2.3 10.7 15.12 16.16 	112	3.2 7.6 10.10 16.17 	113	L	Princes Park	13102	29-Apr-89
R6	A	Hawthorn	8.4 17.6 19.10 25.13 	163	5.3 9.5 16.9 26.15 	171	L	Princes Park	17430	6-May-89
R7	H	St Kilda	7.2 16.7 27.12 35.18 	228	5.4 10.7 12.12 16.13 	109	W	Kardinia Park	21421	13-May-89
R8	H	Brisbane Bears	6.3 10.12 17.18 26.23 	179	1.6 2.8 2.12 6.14 	50	W	Kardinia Park	17265	20-May-89
R9	A	Richmond	9.5 16.12 23.15 32.19 	211	2.4 4.7 7.11 10.17 	77	W	M.C.G.		24321	27-May-89
R10	A	Collingwood	6.2 10.7 15.11 23.16 	154	4.3 9.4 12.8 13.10 	88	W	M.C.G.		65185	3-Jun-89
R11	H	Essendon	5.3 8.10 10.13 12.17 	89	1.3 3.3 3.5 4.11 	35	W	M.C.G.		87653	12-Jun-89
R12	A	Melbourne	1.3 5.4 11.8 13.11 	89	0.2 1.5 1.7 2.8 	20	W	M.C.G.		38128	17-Jun-89
R13	A	Sydney		5.2 12.7 15.13 16.15 	111	2.6 3.8 7.16 14.19 	103	W	S.C.G.		12967	25-Jun-89
R14	H	Fitzroy		0.6 1.7 8.12 11.16 	82	2.1 4.3 4.3 8.10 	58	W	Kardinia Park	18407	8-Jul-89
R15	A	Brisbane Bears	4.4 9.8 10.13 22.19 	151	0.4 5.7 7.10 11.11 	77	W	Carrara		18198	15-Jul-89
R16	H	Melbourne	4.1 10.3 13.4 17.7 	109	3.4 8.5 14.9 16.16 	112	L	Waverley Park	38865	22-Jul-89
R17	H	Collingwood	3.6 4.13 10.16 14.20 	104	4.6 10.8 14.10 19.11 	125	L	M.C.G.		35217	29-Jul-89
R18	A	St Kilda	3.4 6.6 11.9 17.11 	113	5.5 10.7 12.9 13.12 	90	W	Moorabbin Oval	14243	5-Aug-89
R19	H	Footscray	7.5 8.9 13.12 18.16 	124	2.3 6.4 8.7 10.14 	74	W	Kardinia Park	17046	12-Aug-89
R20	A	West Coast	2.1 5.3 9.5 12.10 	82	3.5 9.8 13.15 18.18 	126	L	W.A.C.A.	15721	18-Aug-89
R21	H	North Melbourne	5.5 10.9 17.16 20.19 	139	5.1 8.4 13.8 17.15 	117	W	Kardinia Park	18025	26-Aug-89
R22	H	Richmond	2.6 9.13 13.17 23.24 	162	1.5 4.7 8.12 12.14 	86	W	Kardinia Park	20788	2-Sep-89
QF	F	Essendon	2.4 6.5 7.7 11.15 	81	5.5 12.9 19.12 24.13 	157	L	M.C.G.	75861	10-Sep-89
SF	F	Melbourne	3.3 8.8 12.11 22.21 	153	1.5 3.11 8.16 12.18 	90	W	M.C.G.	69082	17-Sep-89
PF	F	Essendon	6.4 13.12 19.15 24.20 	164	4.3 6.4 6.9 10.10 	70	W	Waverley Park	67892	23-Sep-89
GF	F	Hawthorn	2.0 7.2 13.7 21.12 	138	8.4 12.9 18.13 21.18 	144	L	M.C.G.	94796	30-Sep-89

What are your memories of 1989?

An incredible year.
I was in Darwin for a large period of it.

It was the year when other supporters started to realise what we already knew. G Ablett was a star.

From memory 90% of games were all played on a saturday with bugger all TV coverage. So opposition fans never saw other teams until you actually played them.

It was a year where we just started winning games but you were unsure if it was false hope or were we really a chance of a flag. I wasn't about to get ahead of myself. I still clearly remembered 80 and 81.

But the great thing was we had a player that was worth watching on his own.

Then we hit a patch of 3 games against 3 of the other main finals aspirants (other than the hawks).
Essendon, Collingwood, and Melbourne.

One week after another I watched these games from a bar in Darwin.
Each week the centre square of the MCG was a mud pit.
And each week we smashed them by around 10 goals.

"This is the magician at work, he shoots towards goal, what more can you say !!"

Oh, I just thought of another memory.

My boss was a Saints supporter.
When we played them early in the year he wanted a bet but wanted me to give 15 goals in.

Such was our unbelievable firepower I said 'nah, you can have 20 goals in'

Check out the result :D

Lots of great memories that year.Ablett on fire, Couchy just bangen em down his throat on the left. Good year. I think we ended up losing all three greand finals that day 19s, 2s and the seniors.

The 2s had Dennis Pacor running around he was massive. I remember the GF well as my dad took me and my 4 other brothers to the game. We had drinks at punt road and we just wondered back and forth. My first Cats GF so i reckon i was up and ready to go with my lace up at the crack of dawn.

I was only 31 during 1989 :o

my main memory is of flogging essendon after they did us in the qualifying final, the change in the way we played was amazing. I also remember the grand final parade really well, probably because it was the first I went to.

Still can"t talk about the last game .....

the big thing from that year was the change from devine to Blight. Basically the same playing list, but just let them go for it. It was just so good to watch the team play during that year

I was only 31 during 1989 :o

my main memory is of flogging essendon after they did us in the qualifying final, the change in the way we played was amazing. I also remember the grand final parade really well, probably because it was the first I went to.

Still can"t talk about the last game .....

the big thing from that year was the change from devine to Blight. Basically the same playing list, but just let them go for it. It was just so good to watch the team play during that year

Me either and S.J should red card himself for all the pain he has just brought back in to my life,as if the floods are not enough:rolleyes:

And I can still remember sitting in the old southern stand at the richmond game when gazza kicked 14.

It's still the best individual performance i have seen, as good as he was in the 93 game vs essendon.

He was completely unbeatable. If we had have moved the ball then like we do now he would have kicked 20+ and he only played a 1/4 or so at FF

I have actually just finished my Ablett 1989 season highlights for this career chronology I'm putting together in my sparetime and year 1989 was one absolutely awesome season for Cats fans:thumbsu: Finished editing the 89 Grand final which is a little long goes for 17 minutes but tried to show all the drama that was in it while keeping a nice steady pace. People say that if the grand final went for an extra minute longer or so then we would have got that last goal but I beg to differ as watching the game the Hawks just seemed to have that one single answer to every 2 goals we kicked in a row especially in the final quarter where we kicked 8 goals to 3. But........in the last 15 seconds, Bews had a chance to just put the ball on his boot and kick it away from that final ball up pack and with a few of the smaller players we had just on the outside our chances of getting inside the 50 would have been pretty good and Blight left the 50 open with only Ablett lurking down there. Who knows perhaps that Bews kick may have been smothered or it may have spilled out into open space where history could have ended up very different but wow what a season and unfortunate they didn't complete it by winning that grand final.

Bobby, you dont have any H&A highlights of the cats though do you?

I remember sitting in the Brownlow Stand for the St.Kilda game, and Ablett sent Winmar cartwheeling in mid-air with a massive hip and shoulder right in front of me. :D

I also remember sitting in the outer for the Round 22 game against Richmond and watching our reserves rack up a cricket score, and then the seniors repeating the dose. We really owned the Tigers back in those days. :thumbsu:

Bobby, you dont have any H&A highlights of the cats though do you?

I know there will be people out there who like to kill me,but I video taped every Cats game live or replayed in to Brisbane starting about 1985 to about 2005 boxes of them.

To me back then I suppose they were to me the Saint's supporters equivalent of the streak.
But after the 2007 premiership I abandoned the past and dumped the lot.
Yes I do have regrets.:(

Mate. How can I put this *takes a breath*
You do know that channel 7 lost pretty much all of the footage.

*kicks cat * :D;)

I've been told before that there were not highlights of the tigers game with commentary.
I was sure there was.

I remember sitting in the Brownlow Stand for the St.Kilda game, and Ablett sent Winmar cartwheeling in mid-air with a massive hip and shoulder right in front of me. :D

I also remember sitting in the outer for the Round 22 game against Richmond and watching our reserves rack up a cricket score, and then the seniors repeating the dose. We really owned the Tigers back in those days. :thumbsu:

Still pretty much own the Tigers today, i am certain that on only three occasions the name Gary Ablett played in a losing game against the Yellow and Black.

Back to 1989, i was 21 and i recall the gnashing 1-point loss to Fitzroy in Rd 5, when we conceded a 31 pt 3/4 time lead, and then of course the Hawthorn game in Rd 6 where we racked up a 9-goal lead but also coughed that up.

Got the feeling a little like in 2007 that the players and all at the club were just jack of losing close ones, and really came out to smash St.Kilda with that 228-109 scoreline, which was followed by the Bears game and then Richmond, three 100+ point whippings in a row. I had never seen a side do this before, and in my memories from the late 70's onwards Geelong had not even often scored more than 20 goals. Here we were kicking 30+!! Just a glorious exhibition of attacking, efficient footy, and genuinely the footy world was the poorer for this style not to take a deserved flag in it's heyday.

Geelong still had their foibles though even in this great year, a late season 44-point thumping to a terrible Eagles side that year in Perth, and consecutive losses to Melbourne and Collingwood in Rd's 16 and 17 were annoying. The ladder until the Demons lost some games late ien the year saw Geelong sit 4th for a while, a massive 70% or so ahead of the Dees, but them being a win up. The 1st Semi final was sweet, a thumping 10.10 in the last quarter saw us turn a close struggle at 3/4 time into a 10-goal win. :)

Still pretty much own the Tigers today, i am certain that on only three occasions the name Gary Ablett played in a losing game against the Yellow and Black.

Back to 1989, i was 21 and i recall the gnashing 1-point loss to Fitzroy in Rd 5, when we conceded a 31 pt 3/4 time lead, and then of course the Hawthorn game in Rd 6 where we racked up a 9-goal lead but also coughed that up.

Got the feeling a little like in 2007 that the players and all at the club were just jack of losing close ones, and really came out to smash St.Kilda with that 228-109 scoreline, which was followed by the Bears game and then Richmond, three 100+ point whippings in a row. I had never seen a side do this before, and in my memories from the late 70's onwards Geelong had not even often scored more than 20 goals. Here we were kicking 30+!! Just a glorious exhibition of attacking, efficient footy, and genuinely the footy world was the poorer for this style not to take a deserved flag in it's heyday.

Geelong still had their foibles though even in this great year, a late season 44-point thumping to a terrible Eagles side that year in Perth, and consecutive losses to Melbourne and Collingwood in Rd's 16 and 17 were annoying. The ladder until the Demons lost some games late ien the year saw Geelong sit 4th for a while, a massive 70% or so ahead of the Dees, but them being a win up. The 1st Semi final was sweet, a thumping 10.10 in the last quarter saw us turn a close struggle at 3/4 time into a 10-goal win. :)

That thumping was during an Ansett strike IIRC, and Geelong didn't make it to Perth until 4am or something the day of the game. Not exactly ideal for a team to perform to their best. Hawthorn suffered that round too, as they had to travel to Brisbane, and got rolled by the Bears.

Amazing memories. . I was 33 and had an 18 month old daughter dressed in GFC gear on GF day. Went to the GF by borrowing a mate's MCC membership (Demons supporter), who felt we could do something special, as did I. Was working for the Army over the road Vic Barracks on GF day, bizarre, but they leniently let me out for each game. We played in all 3 finals that day, and managed to lose all 3 by a total of less than 2 goals. Had to leave and come back and sign in again. Spent that week learning his signature. Stressful enough, but could not save a seat either. Saw the whole senior GF, my first ever, and will never forget the atmosphere and the hype and the total hysteria about what on earth was Ablett about to do. Managed to get a standing spot next to Tim Watson, whose insight was superb, having just lost against us the week before, and also "robbed " of the Brownlow by Couchy.

Highlights of course were ABLETT, Yeates on Dermie, Ablett on Dipper, Dipper on Buddha, Lindner, Flanagan, and the feeling post game in the rooms that we were good but not good enough, almost satisfied, not devastated.

That year saw some brilliant Geelong games that have been mentioned. Ablett's performances 3 weeks in a row against Ess, Coll, Melb , with the amazing occurrence of hitting Garry Lyon behind play, not looking at him, not being sighted, but dobbing himself in due to his conscience and Christian faith, and getting weeks.

The unreal turnaround against Essendon week 1 finals to the Prelim.The potential brilliance of Buddha. The silky skills of Couch. Hawks were not as exciting as us, but despite the first h & a game getting 40 points up by 1/2 time, we never actually beat them that year, they were the best team.

Another highlight was the successful Aussie cricketers (Ashes), were there, and I later learned that Steve Waugh, my all-time cricket hero, was so impressed by Ablett's performance, he got the #5 on his one day top. I hope that is of some interest.

the other big change is that it was relatively easy to get grand final tickets. I got from somewhere, and then got given another two in better seats. Gave away my first two to mates for nothing.

It's a bit harder now .......

on the Blight change - I went to a sportsman night during 1988 run my the melcats (my parents were founding committee members, it's disbanded now) and John Devine was speaking. The cats were about 6th on the ladder (final 5 system) and he said _ "all the teams below us would love to be where we are".

I thought, boy, do we need a new coach!!

The third in our series looking back on seasons past looks at the fabled year of 1989.

What are your memories of 1989?

Lots. A great deal of memories. I turned 17 that year and it was the first time I went to a lot of matches on my own, at least the games in Melbourne anyway. Plenty of things come to mind.

I remember the pre-season, because Blight played Ablett off a half back flank - and he starred. I think he got best on ground in the losing night Grand Final to Melbourne, and I remember him taking a great mark over Steve O'Dwyer.

Early wins against West Coast and especially Carlton in Rounds 2 and 3 were enjoyable, especially thumping Carlton. Ablett ran through Wayne Johnston right on three quarter time and not sure how much footy Johnston played after that. We beat Footscray at Footscray in Round 4, Ablett got moved forward in the last quarter and kicked 2 goals to help us get over the line by 12 points. Flanagan kicked a great long goal too.

I'm glad people mentioned the Fitzroy loss in Round 5, 32 points up we were but blew it. Pretty sure that was the first gam where Exell played full forward. He kicked 5 from memory. Then we lost again against Hawthorn the following week. Then came the really big scoring against St.Kilda, Brisbane and Richmond. Blight used the interchange bench in a very creative way (for the time), with the following structures:

1. Bourke would start in the ruck, and Stoneham would be CHF, with Brownless on the bench.

2. 20 minutes into each quarter, Bourke would go off, Stoneham would ruck, and Brownless would play CHF. It worked very well.

Also, Ablett and Lindner would alternate between wing and half-forward flank, every 2 or 3 goals or so. Exell stayed at full forward and again this succeeded far more than we'd hoped.

I'll never forget the first Collingwood game, when Ablett kicked 7, and tore Collingwood to shreds. He'd been playing well all game, but took it to a new level in the last quarter, kicking 4 last quarter goals. The second time we played them we lost, but I do remember him shirtfronting Mick Gayfer with the result that he needed 40-odd stitches.

I disagree with one part of the Wikipedia article, and that was about Blight's tactics in benching Couch and Bairstow at the start of the First Semi against Melbourne. It had nothing to do with Essendon, and everything to do with Melbourne beating Geelong in Round 16, and their taggers keeping them quiet. Newport was one of them, can't remember the other. The Semi was a great, physical game, plenty of off-the-ball stuff, highlighted by Ablett kicking 7.7, and us finishing them off with an amazing 10.10 final quarter.

For me the Grand Final was about what-ifs, and especially when Brereton limped down to the forward pocket after Yeates got him, he was minded by Steve Hocking. His opponent in Schulze stayed at CHB. It wasn't the first time that season that Blight had been outthought by Jeans. It was also the first Grand Final I'd seen in person, and until 2007 I can't say I had fond memories of any of them.

Very memorable year overall.

Lots. A great deal of memories. I turned 17 that year and it was the first time I went to a lot of matches on my own, at least the games in Melbourne anyway. Plenty of things come to mind.

I remember the pre-season, because Blight played Ablett off a half back flank - and he starred. I think he got best on ground in the losing night Grand Final to Melbourne, and I remember him taking a great mark over Steve O'Dwyer.

Early wins against West Coast and especially Carlton in Rounds 2 and 3 were enjoyable, especially thumping Carlton. Ablett ran through Wayne Johnston right on three quarter time and not sure how much footy Johnston played after that. We beat Footscray at Footscray in Round 4, Ablett got moved forward in the last quarter and kicked 2 goals to help us get over the line by 12 points. Flanagan kicked a great long goal too.

I'm glad people mentioned the Fitzroy loss in Round 5, 32 points up we were but blew it. Pretty sure that was the first gam where Exell played full forward. He kicked 5 from memory. Then we lost again against Hawthorn the following week. Then came the really big scoring against St.Kilda, Brisbane and Richmond. Blight used the interchange bench in a very creative way (for the time), with the following structures:

1. Bourke would start in the ruck, and Stoneham would be CHF, with Brownless on the bench.

2. 20 minutes into each quarter, Bourke would go off, Stoneham would ruck, and Brownless would play CHF. It worked very well.

Also, Ablett and Lindner would alternate between wing and half-forward flank, every 2 or 3 goals or so. Exell stayed at full forward and again this succeeded far more than we'd hoped.

I'll never forget the first Collingwood game, when Ablett kicked 7, and tore Collingwood to shreds. He'd been playing well all game, but took it to a new level in the last quarter, kicking 4 last quarter goals. The second time we played them we lost, but I do remember him shirtfronting Mick Gayfer with the result that he needed 40-odd stitches.

I disagree with one part of the Wikipedia article, and that was about Blight's tactics in benching Couch and Bairstow at the start of the First Semi against Melbourne. It had nothing to do with Essendon, and everything to do with Melbourne beating Geelong in Round 16, and their taggers keeping them quiet. Newport was one of them, can't remember the other. The Semi was a great, physical game, plenty of off-the-ball stuff, highlighted by Ablett kicking 7.7, and us finishing them off with an amazing 10.10 final quarter.

For me the Grand Final was about what-ifs, and especially when Brereton limped down to the forward pocket after Yeates got him, he was minded by Steve Hocking. His opponent in Schulze stayed at CHB. It wasn't the first time that season that Blight had been outthought by Jeans. It was also the first Grand Final I'd seen in person, and until 2007 I can't say I had fond memories of any of them.

Very memorable year overall.

It's while back Partridge but I thought they were both running in the same direction chasing the ball and Gaz throw back the quickest right elbow and caught Gayfer flush,the ump certainly didn't see it,40 stitches in the head and no free kick.

I seem to remember Gayfer leaning over to pick the ball up, and Ablett running through and collecting him with his hip square to the head. Could be wrong, but that's how I recall it.

Ablett ran through Wayne Johnston right on three quarter time and not sure how much footy Johnston played after that.

I know that Johnson has said that Abletts bump ended his career.
It was brutal. Possibly the biggest hit I have ever seen. I'd love see the footage because my memory of it live is that it would still be considered fair today.

Edit. actually maybe not :)
How would Ablett go today? I can't remember him tackling, he always bumped.

I know that Johnson has said that Abletts bump ended his career.
It was brutal. Possibly the biggest hit I have ever seen. I'd love see the footage because my memory of it live is that it would still be considered fair today.

Edit. actually maybe not :)
How would Ablett go today? I can't remember him tackling, he always bumped.

I remember it as being completely fair. Johnston was running with the flight thanks to a terrible kick over his head that set him up completely, and Ablett came tearing up in the other direction (his eyes definitely lit up when these chances came along). Hit him entirely with his hips and shoulder, and definitely not to the head. And the ball was between them.

Nothing wrong with that. Even today. Or shouldn't be anyway.