swansfan51
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Sydney
- Other Teams
- The Exers
Is Morton playing a different role today? Has kicked about 6 goals fewer than expected

LIVE: Hawthorn v Adelaide - Rd 11 - 7:30PM Thu
Squiggle tips Hawks at 66% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 11 Games
Soccer Notice Image
Champions League - FINAL - PSG v Arsenal ⚽ Europa Semis ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - SEMIS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ FA Cup - Man City Win
Funny how missing a quarter of football can alter perspectives. Lamb was very good in the first quarter, quieter in the other 3 but still played at a better standard than from earlier in the year. The reason you didn't see Walsh was he his shoulder early in the first quarter and never came back. Also disagree a little on Roos, of course he was no world beater but of all the topups that I've seen over the years, his performance would rank somewhere around the median.
He's a little more solid than some of the sticks that have turned up to play for us over the years and I thought he looked quite tall, but checking the team list for the RAMS from this year's U18 champs reveals he is 182cm. Perhaps it's just that lankiness that is deceiving.
52 McKinlay and 54 Lycakis
Got there at quarter time. My thoughts:
6. Mitchell - GET EXCITED. I don't know how many touches he had, but it was lots. Played out the entire game, and was just everywhere. Extremely strong, runs both ways as well, and is a great tackler. Best part is I suspect he's got plenty of strength left to build, as while he's big, he looks like he's lacking a bit of definition. Has a tendency to kick up-and-unders out of the pack under pressure, very similar to ROK, but that's about my only criticism.
7. Meredith - Meh. Not bad, but not great. Will be a good VFL player.
8. Dennis-Lane - Yeah. Pretty dominant. Wouldn't mind him in for Everitt, wouldn't mind Everitt keeping his place either. He's never going to find it as easy at AFL level as he does at NEAFL level though, he just has so much more time and can break tackles he would never break in the seniors.
10. Morton - While he was quiet, I actually really liked his game. I reckon he'll get a tick from the Swans staff. I don't think he played too many minutes, and he spent a lot of time up the ground, but he seemed to be chasing and tackling, and he did a few very clever team things at times.
11. Lamb - Honestly didn't notice him much. I really don't like him as a forward, the best I've ever seen him was in the midfield, where he just looked like a superstar in the making. Maybe he just doesn't have the tank to play there at the moment though, what with the niggling injuries.
17. Walsh - Did he play? Honestly didn't notice him.
18. White - God. What a waste of athleticism and talent. Every goal I saw him kick was either from a ruck free or a crumb. So yes, he kicked 6 goals, but none of them suggested he was a key forward. That said, if Mumford is injured, I would maybe consider playing him as our second ruckman, because he was pretty damn good in that role.
19. Armstrong - Quite good. Not dominant, but fairly composed, used it well. Pretty much typical of him. Slipped over a few times though, which wasn't good.
26. Parker - Bit rusty with his ball use, but other than that, as expected. Bring him back.
27. Spangher - Looked pretty good from what I saw. Didn't dominate on the score sheet, but did some nice things. Not enough to force his way into the side, but not bad.
28. McNeil - Typical game from him. Won a fair chunk of it in-and-under, didn't do enough on the spread. Really seems to have reached a plateau, which is a shame as I really like him.
33. Moore - Another typical game. Smooth, composed, not quick, tall or fit enough for AFL football, but bloody hell he's a good influence for the kids. Sign him up as a coach and play him as a toppy.
35. Heath - Teddy mk 2. Not his best game but I've seen enough to know I want him on the list next year.
36. Brown - Not hugely involved, but I like him. KPP height, but moves like a midfielder. Seems raw, but there's a fair bit to work with here. Incidentally, having not seen him play live before, when I first got to the game I thought Chrissy McKaigue had returned! From behind, with the number 36, the similarity was uncanny.
42. Lynch - I like Lynch. Again, not hugely involved, with our more senior talls attracting the bulk of the ball, but took a good grab or two. Not sure if he'll make it, but not sure he won't either.
44. Cunningham - I LOVE HIM. I can't wait til he gets a chance to play regular senior footy. Looks and play so much like Paul Kelly it's not funny. Bloody good set shot as well.
45. Gordon - Always looks best when he's forward rather than in the midfield, but he's a fair way from breaking into our forwardline, composed as it is primarily of resting midfielders. His best chance might be to go into the VFL or SANFL, put together a good year of footy and aim to get drafted by somebody else.
47. Potter - Didn't notice him much, but he kicked a nice goal. Handy top-up to have playing basically every week, but I can't see him making it onto an AFL list.
51. Dylan Roos - Looked like a shorter, skinner version of his dad. Was fairly bad though.
52. ??? - Played in defence, wasn't that great.
53. Broome - Played like he was a Swan. Next year, I hope he is.
54. ??? - I quite liked his game, whoever he was. Seemed like a tough customer.
58. Naismith - Loved his game. Looks and plays like Darren Jolly. I wouldn't mind us taking a punt on him at all.
52 was the little Red Haired kids???? I was told by a friend we have on staff at the SCG that his mum works at the SCG and the whole family were there today. She did tell me his name but I really cant remember.
I didnt see much of the game but did see young Roos and I didnt think he was all that skinny for a mid teenager. Quite bulky but yes very short. I saw him take a decent mark and then promptly kicked a behind.
Got there at quarter time. My thoughts:
6. Mitchell - GET EXCITED. I don't know how many touches he had, but it was lots. Played out the entire game, and was just everywhere. Extremely strong, runs both ways as well, and is a great tackler. Best part is I suspect he's got plenty of strength left to build, as while he's big, he looks like he's lacking a bit of definition. Has a tendency to kick up-and-unders out of the pack under pressure, very similar to ROK, but that's about my only criticism.
Lyca plays at my club (st george) absolute gun, only like 18 or something too.
Heard a rumor that in the whole state carnival roo's kid had 4 touches. True?
For anyone that watched the match if Mitchell has another one or two games in the reserves like this despite it being near the end of the season could Mitchell get called up into the first team?
Can we pre-list Broome as a NSW pick for next year? Definitely worth the punt on him. Electrifying.
Hopefully, otherwise he might be swept up by another.
A future sweeper in defence perhaps?
I'd play him on Dusty Martin. He'd take him to the cleaners.