2nds Reserves 2012

• Thread starter Thread starter bedford

I am only guessing that Morton's defensive game might be lacking perhaps. Easy being the big fish in the small pond perhaps.

But have to say I thought he would have been playing ones

Plugger had no defensive game other than to kick a truck load of goals. If the ball came in he marked it and kicked a goal. He rarely strolled outside the 50 and I can't remember him giving chase to a defender. Mind you, Morton's not Plugger

Cheers. Whatever it is that's keeping Morton from selection I hope he takes it on board.
Did you see him on Irish Corner this week. He just seems like a bit of a tool. I mean you've got to get on with your team-mates and he just seems like a c**k. He's gotta grow up I reckon.

Very close to the mark, he is a tool

http://www.canberratimes.com.au/afl...to-top-position-on-ladder-20120609-2038n.html

With a host of AFL-listed talent on display, it was the Swans who got the jump on the injury-hit Tigers, piling on seven goals to one in a dominant first-quarter display.
Advertisement: Story continues below
The ball movement was crisp, and the big men were masterful with Jesse White and Mark Seaby doing as they pleased in the centre of the ground. Mitch Morton up forward opportunistically pounced on anything that came his way, kicking three goals in the first quarter.
The Tigers were sloppy, unable to hit the easiest of targets and missed simple tackles.

Nice to hear from you again ABH, hows your take on the NEAFL mate

Competition definitely heading in the right direction. Unfortunately I can see Tuggeranong falling off the face of the NEAFL earth. They are in all sorts ATM.

Comp will expand and only get stronger.

Interested to hear your view given you have not been a fan of Canberra football.

Plugger had no defensive game other than to kick a truck load of goals. If the ball came in he marked it and kicked a goal. He rarely strolled outside the 50 and I can't remember him giving chase to a defender. Mind you, Morton's not Plugger

End of discussion really ;)

Competition definitely heading in the right direction. Unfortunately I can see Tuggeranong falling off the face of the NEAFL earth. They are in all sorts ATM.

Comp will expand and only get stronger.

Interested to hear your view given you have not been a fan of Canberra football.
I did start a thread about the NEAFL, maybe have a look at that.
ABH, i never had a problem with the Canberra comp, its just that i thought it was not good enough for the Swans players to develop.

Tell that to guys like Kieren Jack, Heath Grundy and Nick Smith who both played a heap of reserves games before becoming established in our best 22.
Thats not what i'm talking about Grim, other clubs had a big advantage over us because of where their 2nd tier players played . I have even spoken to people who had abit to do with the ressies at that time and they said it was double the time to bring these players on.

We've had this discussion plenty of times before and will probably continue to do so until the end of time. You always portray the decision as a choice between being playing in the NEAFL or playing in the VFL but we both know it's not as simple as that.

My conversation initialy was with ABH on my thoughts. Grim, i really love and respect your views and info on the Ressies and you love being able to watch them every 2nd week or so, but unless you have watched the VFL, or other state leagues you will never understand the difference and believe ABH would acknowledge that due to his SANFL experience.

That just illustrates my point. I'm not saying, and I'm sure no one else is saying that the NEAFL is anywhere near the standard of the VFL or SANFL but the choice that we have at moment isn't between playing in either competition.

Thats true, but i am allowed to express my views about it

I did start a thread about the NEAFL, maybe have a look at that.
ABH, i never had a problem with the Canberra comp, its just that i thought it was not good enough for the Swans players to develop.

Given your 2nds are currently top and your first's are currently top its difficult to sustain your argument.

Ressies have been in the comp what 10 years now. Your seniors in that time have been consistant AFL finalists and won a flag in 2005 the first in 72 years.

One thing that has occurred from the Canberra comp is a winning mentality which has assisted no doubt when these young men have gone into the AFL.

Is it your very best option as far as competition is concerned...no but has it been the very best viable comp for your club....absolutely.

Also would not surprise me if the NEAFL became as strong as SANFL and VFL down the track. Might be a way off at the moment but no doubt it will only improve. Look at some of the players that have come into the comp this season.

There is little doubt that the SANFL has declined a lot since I was there in the early 90's according to my contacts back home.

Given your 2nds are currently top and your first's are currently top its difficult to sustain your argument.

Ressies have been in the comp what 10 years now. Your seniors in that time have been consistant AFL finalists and won a flag in 2005 the first in 72 years.

One thing that has occurred from the Canberra comp is a winning mentality which has assisted no doubt when these young men have gone into the AFL.

Is it your very best option as far as competition is concerned...no but has it been the very best viable comp for your club....absolutely.
Can't argue with that great man

Hey guys, hopefully you don't mind me posting here!

I was reading the footy record at last nights game, and looking at yr list and spotted the name SHANE BRIGGS. I had to think long & hard, but I finally remembered that I use to play juniors with the lad. Was always a very polished player back then.

How has his development been going? Will he get a gig at senior level this year?