Respect

Why should we respect them again? They finished 5th last year - so based on that they haven't really improved on where they were last year. It's a misconception that they've made any ground at all (relative to other teams).

Bugger them! - I just hope we pour pain all over them tomorrow night.

So at a minumum 4th this year is not an improvement on 7th (at the end of the finals) last year :confused:

Just run that past me again

So at a minumum 4th this year is not an improvement on 7th (at the end of the finals) last year :confused:

Just run that past me again

Relative to the improvement of 4 other teams mate. Lets just say you do finish up 4th this year - you've made up 3 places. Now tell me thats better than what Geelong, Port, Kangaroos or even Hawthorn have done this year compared to last.

I know it takes you a few times to get stuff Murky Water but try to keep up mate.

You don't improve relative to other teams. You can only improve relative to yourself. What other teams do is their business. We will finish higher than we did last year with a younger and more inexperienced list. By definition we have improved considerably.

I never claimed that we are the most improved team. I reckon there are about 6 teams vying for that title, but I'd probably put Hawthorn or Port as the two top contenders.

as far as sides exceeding expectations, the pies' jump is greater than the cats. The cats were widely tipped on here to finish top 4. The pies were widely tipped to finish bottom 2 at the beginning of the season. The Roos have the greatest claim to exceeding expectation, particularly after losing Thompson and widely being tipped for the spoon.

But here's the thing, progress must be viewed in terms of the list you're working with. Remember the Roos were expected to finish top 4 in 2006 after finishing 5th in 2005. The core of the team is identical. The Cats lost an away prelim to brisbane in 2004 by 9 points then a semi in 2005 by 3 points. The core of the team is identical.

Whether you think the Roos and Cats improved in 2007, or grossly underachieved in 2006 is purely a matter of perspective and opinion, because the facts support either scenario.

We did finish 7th and not 5th last year. If you finish within the 8, your position is not determined on ladder position but on finals performance. That is the way the drafts are determined and how history records final position (See eg the official AFL Record). This was after 2 successive years of bottom 4 finishes and clearing out most of the youngsters we poorly drafted during the preceding 3 years.

Regardless of what happens tonight we will have finished at least 4th. That must be considered an improvement over 2006.

Relative to the improvement of 4 other teams mate. Lets just say you do finish up 4th this year - you've made up 3 places. Now tell me thats better than what Geelong, Port, Kangaroos or even Hawthorn have done this year compared to last.

I know it takes you a few times to get stuff Murky Water but try to keep up mate.

The mistake I make on this site is trying to talk sense to nuff nuffs like you.

You would be one of the thickest toe rags going around.

As of today you are on ignore - and you no longer exist in the real world

The mistake I make on this site is trying to talk sense to nuff nuffs like you.

You would be one of the thickest toe rags going around.

As of today you are on ignore - and you no longer exist in the real world

Thin Skin Syndrome. Can't come back with a decent answer so gets all sooky. Port & the Roos have you blokes covered in terms of improvement. You know it but choose to come back with this..

I hear what you are saying regarding the Pies. I had the tipped to miss the 8 so have to give respect for a great season. But this applies even more so for the 'Roos, how many people had them tipped to be bottom four? They have had a brilliant year, and without the services of Nathan Thompson. Respect to the Kangas!!
Good points on the Roos. :thumbsu: Probably acieved more than Pies given crap club administration.

Don't make it to obvious that you used word to type the document, then pasted it.....

The reason been.....you can't spell.

Im not suprised though, been a Pies supporter and all.....;)

That is rather amusing, I actually laughed when I read your post. Let's just say I was bored at work when I wrote my post on word & sent it home via e-mail as accessibility to certain websites is banned & stringently monitored. This can be further proven by the fact that you will struggle to find another post of mine written in word.

Proclaiming that I cannot spell is also laughable, I can guarantee you I have you well covered in this area. I welcome you to go through my history... ;)

By the way, Im has an apostrophe in it(I'm). Additionally, suprised has an "r" in it...

Do you feel embarrassed yet? I guess you should learn how to cut & paste & apply the principal you so wrongly accused me of... :D

Go Pies...

:cool:

That is rather amusing, I actually laughed when I read your post. Let's just say I was bored at work when I wrote my post on word & sent it home via e-mail as accessibility to certain websites is banned & stringently monitored. This can be further proven by the fact that you will struggle to find another post of mine written in word.

Proclaiming that I cannot spell is also laughable, I can guarantee you I have you well covered in this area. I welcome you to go through my history... ;)

By the way, Im has an apostrophe in it(I'm). Additionally, suprised has an "r" in it...

Do you feel embarrassed yet? I guess you should learn how to cut & paste & apply the principal you so wrongly accused me of... :D

Go Pies...

:cool:

Ouch, dont pawn guys like that. They will get all embarassed and wont post here anymore. LOL Geez wouldnt that be good. :rolleyes:

As much as i hate the Pies, u had to respect them last night at the "G".

Don't make it to obvious that you used word to type the document, then pasted it.....

The reason been.....you can't spell.

Im not suprised though, been a Pies supporter and all.....;)

Not wanting to bag a Saints fan, but mate, I seriously hope that post was intentionally misspelt. If not, keep working hard at school and studying...a lot.

Its not just misspelt he has also used incorrect wording. He said the reason "been" when he should have said the reason "being".

I'm biased but have sensed a lot of opposition supporters have started to give the Pies some respect.

Firstly we were overachieving by luck however now I think the consensus is that we are overachieving because of the great team spirit and never say die attitude. Tackling and doing the 1% things are often applauded by all footy fans and this we have done better than all IMO.

They still hate us though and to be honest I wouldn't want it any other way.

Go Pies!

I don't hate Collingwood. I would have had you won on Friday.

regards,

REB

Respect