Bentleigh

10k Posts
Richard Tambling
At the started of the season I just wanted to get off the bottom. I also thought we were a chance to move out of the bottom 4.

A couple months in and we sit at 2nd on the ladder, 7 from 9.

Where do you realisticly see us finishing and would be happy with?

Personally Im gunning for top 6.

We have had a good draw so far.

Realistically all we want is a finals campaign.

With a bit of luck we will sneak into the top 4 while the other teams smash each other.

If North can beat Geelong we may get a home final. To be a contender you must have a team that can believe they can win. So far we are doing well but there are some big challenges ahead of us.

5-6 would be a huge achievement. Any higher would be amazing.

Dan

Bentleigh said:
At the started of the season I just wanted to get off the bottom. I also thought we were a chance to move out of the bottom 4.

A couple months in and we sit at 2nd on the ladder, 7 from 9.

Where do you realisticly see us finishing and would be happy with?

Personally Im gunning for top 6.
are you kidding every side aims for the flag and why should we aim lower that.
mate i'm not getting any younger and i wouldn't mine seeing another cup on our mantle before i cark it and the sooner the better i say.geez this frawley
really stuffed our club right up didn't he wer'e winning and we still have the losing mentality.

The start of the year I had written us off I admit it, I knew our coach was the Man but I figured we just had our second large clean out of the duds on the 2004 list and we have alot of young kids who would need a good season to mature at the least.

I'll take any win the club gives me.

16th to 1st has an excellent ring to it, but I still think I'm in some great dream. :D

We have a tough month of footy ahead and also games against Geelong and St Kilda in the second half, I want to see how we go with those challanges before I really cream my pants but the way we are playing you knows what may happen we are having a real crack and thats great value.

tigerboyz said:
are you kidding every side aims for the flag and why should we aim lower that.

Of course each side aims for the flag you idiot.

Realisticly only a handful of sides can win it.

Bentleigh said:
Of course each side aims for the flag you idiot.

Realisticly only a handful of sides can win it.
oh derr bentleigh! :rolleyes:

ROUND 10
Melbourne vs. Richmond Telstra Dome Fri 27 May 2005, 7:40 PM AEST
ROUND 11
Richmond vs. West Coast Eagles M.C.G. Sat 4 June 2005, 2:10 PM AEST
ROUND 12
Kangaroos vs. Richmond Telstra Dome Sun 12 June 2005, 2:10 PM AEST
ROUND 13
Richmond vs. Adelaide Telstra Dome Sat 18 June 2005, 7:10 PM AEST
ROUND 14
Richmond vs. Sydney Swans M.C.G. Sat 2 July 2005, 2:10 PM AEST
ROUND 15
Richmond vs. Essendon M.C.G. Sat 9 July 2005, 2:10 PM AEST
ROUND 16
Richmond vs. St Kilda M.C.G. Sat 16 July 2005, 2:10 PM AEST
ROUND 17
Port Adelaide vs. Richmond AAMI Stadium Sat 23 July 2005, 7:10 PM ACST
ROUND 18
Carlton vs. Richmond Telstra Dome Sun 31 July 2005, 2:10 PM AEST
ROUND 19
Fremantle vs. Richmond Subiaco Oval Sat 6 August 2005, 5:40 PM AWST
ROUND 20
Richmond vs. Western Bulldogs Telstra Dome Sun 14 August 2005, 2:10 PM AEST
ROUND 21
Richmond vs. Hawthorn Telstra Dome Sun 21 August 2005, 2:10 PM AEST
ROUND 22
Geelong vs. Richmond Skilled Stadium Sun 28 August 2005, 1:10 PM AEST

The competition is so close at the moment its hard to say who we should defeat and who we'll crumble to. You'd think theres at least 5 games we should win in that batch.. a few 50/50's and a couple of loses.

I'd think we would finish top 6 but even top 8 I'd be very happy with.

At the start of the season all I wanted was to be competetive, even if we remained in the bottom four.

Approaching the half way point I think we should be aiming to play finals. We all would have taken finishing 8th if offered it at the start of the season.

this is a wacky season and history is not going to be a good teacher.
Usually the premiers have to do an apprenticeship (eg runners-up, or a couple of prelims) before they snare the big one.

Most teams running hot at the moment don't fit the bill. So I reckon at this stage any team could be realistically aiming for the big prize.

Going from last to near the top has previously been unthinkable, but you guys are tracking alright so far. The bottom two teams both defeated teams in the 8 this week. There is a log-jam of clubs in the middle of the table. Only certainty is that sun will rise in the morning.

so go for it....

You certainly can't complain about the draw!
There is no way you'll lose to Carlton and Roos. Port are beatable at home,Sydney are crap away from SCG,Collingwood won't trouble you again......so there is your 12 wins straight off the bat!
You're so lucky that your first round draft picks have performed straight away'and just pray you don't have a bad run with injuries......but here is an interesting question.
Would you rather finish in top 4 or lose the GF???
Good luck
P.S: I still hate your guts!!!! ;)

great to hear a carlton person say they hate us. absolutely fantastic and we hate you too :D i think the way this year is panning out, with the old powerfuls of the past like brisbane and port struggling that the flag is there for the taking. if we can keep our form up and have an ok run with injuries who knows?