Rex might be in trouble

balmey21 said:
Rex Hunt---------------------- most overated commentator in the world. Absolute tosser on the radio, not a bad bloke out of it.
well I've had the opposite
I like rex alot with his fishing and the footy

Twice we've bumped into rex in out of the way spots out in the sticks and say hello and rex doesn't even acknowlege our existence not even a pssorff let alone a g'day boys, only his son after noticing he ignored us said something
last time we said hello was the same its not like there was lots of others aroud, it was just 3 of us
but he just explained what he was trying to get out, a bit lame but thats what he says
i know he went quiet after that

well he dropped the "guts"
but that was when he was babbling on after realising what he just said
I don't think he meant it like that, maybe he should have said guts
and explain it right away
he will still have to explai himself

Rex is actually a **************** I was out fishing with my uncles and they seen him and said rexy caught anything mate? and rexy said ******** off you tossers my uncles went off lucky he was on the water on another boat i tell ya.

Hope he gets banned from the radio, who does he think he is!

If my post was that derogatory, ok delete it, but id really hate to state the cold hard facts anymore. Cant argue the fact that its a common saying and that Davis was in it for the quick buck from the story. Simple.

stupid slip of the tongue

how often during a game does he mention "black as a dogs guts" and have ralph or whatever the dog's name is barking in the background? naturally (well you would hope) he regrets it deeply, and im with those who think he just ********ed up badly, but didnt mean it

FIGJAM said:
Whilst I have heard a millions stories about how Rex is a prick, and I believe the stories (or at least the overall sentiment), I do also believe his story that it was acciddental.

Bingo (because he was laughing about it immediately afterwards)

Nandoz said:
If my post was that derogatory, ok delete it, but id really hate to state the cold hard facts anymore. Cant argue the fact that its a common saying and that Davis was in it for the quick buck from the story. Simple.

But it is still Vilification - isn't that the issue.
Does it matter that it is a common saying?
Vilification is in the eye of the person being vilified, not you, not me and not Rex.

grayza said:
stupid slip of the tongue

how often during a game does he mention "black as a dogs guts" and have ralph or whatever the dog's name is barking in the background? naturally (well you would hope) he regrets it deeply, and im with those who think he just ********ed up badly, but didnt mean it

How often does he make fun of Asians?
How often does he 'question' the parentage of indigenous footballers based on superficial characteristics?

You may think it is being a showman but in reality it is racism.

Mountain out of a molehill. Rex made a monumental blunder which sounded racist and probably was at face value. But he simply failed at trying to be funny.

But he has tried to APOLOGISE. Its not vilification if you admit your mistake and try and apologise. Its not Rex's fault that Leon has cracked the sads and wont accept the apology.

The whole thing is a smokescreen by Leon's management designed to ensure he is not delisted/traded at the end of the year, by playing the racist card.

Murray said:
How often does he make fun of Asians?
How often does he 'question' the parentage of indigenous footballers based on superficial characteristics?.

Cant recall any incidents like this. Put he pokes fun at almost every player in the game, due to any number of reasons. Doesnt make him a racist though.

hotpie said:
Cant recall any incidents like this. Put he pokes fun at almost every player in the game, due to any number of reasons. Doesnt make him a racist though.

What about his 'parody' of the chinese person he imitates.
What about his attack on Delaney for having red hair and claiming he was part indigenous?
What about he constant references to the 'chow' shop.

There are numerous examples.
Hunt thinks they are funny, they are not they are covert racist remarks

hotpie said:
The whole thing is a smokescreen by Leon's management designed to ensure he is not delisted/traded at the end of the year, by playing the racist card.

Now I know you are stupid.

What an absolute fool and an utter disgrace that you are

Murray said:
What about his 'parody' of the chinese person he imitates.
What about his attack on Delaney for having red hair and claiming he was part indigenous?
What about he constant references to the 'chow' shop.

There are numerous examples.
Hunt thinks they are funny, they are not they are covert racist remarks

Not racist at all. Just typical Rex schoolboy humour. Imitating somebody's mannerisms or speaking in "lingo" (chow simple means Chinese food) is not offensive nor racist. Not funny either, but thats another story.

Sometime he goes too far or muddles his words, and last weekend is an example of that, whereby he immediatley offered an apology.

I don't care if Rex gets off, Leon refused to accept the apology, and also...who bloody listens to his commentary, it is the most useless thing on radio. :rolleyes:

hotpie said:
Mountain out of a molehill. Rex made a monumental blunder which sounded racist and probably was at face value. But he simply failed at trying to be funny.

But he has tried to APOLOGISE. Its not vilification if you admit your mistake and try and apologise. Its not Rex's fault that Leon has cracked the sads and wont accept the apology.

Rex said the wrong thing, Rex knew he said the wrong thing, Rex apologised for saying the wrong thing. But this 'analysis' by you Hotpie is the biggest load of rubbish I have come across on Bigfooty and that's saying something.

hotpie

Why not go over and play street basketball in harlem, with commentry listened by thousands of people, and be called a white ********. Tell me you wouldn't give a ********! :rolleyes:

Lonie_from_50 said:
hotpie

Why not go over and play street basketball in harlem, with commentry listened by thousands of people, and be called a white ********. Tell me you wouldn't give a ********! :rolleyes:

Rex made a mistake and apologised for it. Leon did not accept his apology.

The only reason IMO for Leon not accepting the apology is because he wants mileage out of the issue for end of seaso when lists are reviewed. He is on the verge of delisting an I think he is using Rex's mistake as leverage in keeping his spot on the team. (ie "you cant sack me you racists, I'm aboriginal. Sack somebody else instead")

Say what you like, these are my opinions.

Rex might be in trouble