Rhys Mathieson - ducking debut (video)

That is a lot of words about a player acting within the rules.
So it's a bad rule. Let's change it. It's a terrible look, and to be honest it will probably get Mathieson injured.

Of course everyone badmouthing what I'm saying is going 'oh look another Melbourne supporter bleating'. I want it stamped out, because it's both a terrible look, comparable to what everyone says about soccer, and it's also going to get someone hurt.

Look at the Thomas/Rohan incident. That changed the game due to a massive injury. Are we waiting for Mathieson to suffer a major neck injury before we change this one too?

The deliberate was there, too, by the way. Hanley had a whole swathe of prior opportunity and brought the pressure on himself. Prior opportunity isn't about lack of good options, it's about time. Oscar McDonald did the same thing later in the game and he disposed of the footy.

What??? If you can't even admit the Hanley one was clearly different to how it was adjudicated all year and even 10 minutes earlier in the game when a Melbourne player did the same thing down the opposite end, then there is no help for you. Even your coach and most of your most ardent supporters would admit it, yet you can't bring yourself to. Prior opportunity around deliberate rushed behinds is not even part of the interpretation as far as I am aware - it is only were you under direct pressure from an opponent, which Hanley clearly was.

On the Merrett one, it was 50:50 at absolute best. It just caught up in some of the overzealous lunacy around the deliberate out of bounds that has been around all season. In any other year fans would have jumped the fence on that one as well.

Firstly, there's actually 4 'high tackles'. The first, the Wagner spoil, is 'high contact'. As I said, the contact was there. Doesn't excuse going down like you've been shot.

The centre one was paid as holding the man, but was just as bad as many of the others which is why I commented on it. If your weight on a guy shepherding (which is what his action was closest to) pushes him over, that's not holding the man, that's just plain lack of strength...or dropping your knees. Both Gawn and Oliver had front-on contact.

So that's 1 and 2. 3 is Watts. 4 is Bernie. Done. 3 of them probably there, although Mathieson definitely had a hand in all three.

So we have 5. The one on the wing. Mathieson goes to ground as the Melbourne player tackles him. Lifts his arm and actually does so with enough force that the Melbourne player's arm ends up on Mathieson's other shoulder. I don't know that it should have been play on per se...ball is on the ground with 2 players tackling. But I see absolutely no other way for the Melbourne player to tackle him - at the time, Mathieson has gone to ground, with his left arm out supporting his body weight and his right holding the ball. The Melbourne player has his right arm under Mathieson's armpit and, once Mathieson releases his left arm from supporting to raise it, the Dee attempts to pin his left arm. Instead of handballing (note Mathieson's closed fist), Mathieson flings his arm upward and also throws his body weight back. That's the action that generates the free kick, since the force Mathieson puts into it is able to throw the tackler's arm significantly.

As for the 50, well, the vision is not shown and thus not the reason. Could have been for any number of things. Did the tackler release Mathieson once the free was paid? Was the protected zone infringed? Did a player talk back to the umpire? You can't tell any of that from the vision.

And why is he a disgrace?

Because he throws his head back at the slightest contact, goes to ground instead of trying to be powerful and throws the arm up instead of trying to dispose of the ball. He is wholly undeserving of the nickname 'Beast Mode', since that is the nickname of one of the toughest, most powerful athletes I've ever seen, Marshawn Lynch, formerly of the Seattle Seahawks. That spoil, where he comes up holding the left side of his face (when he was hit on his right) makes Lindsay Thomas look like a fair and respectable footballer.

Ok so the back peddling continues, yep they were almost all there but he is 'exaggerating' contact now, ok so lets start a thread for Drew Petrie, Sam mitchell and half the AFL while we are there, for exaggerating contact or not disposing of the ball properly. So first he was a ducker, then oh no he didn't duck, he just played for free kicks, then it was oh narr he didn't play for free kicks they were mostly there, he just exaggerated contact on a couple.. now it's, he wasn't powerful and he didn't dispose of the ball properly... spare me! You're kidding right? He was coat hangered 3 times... as a natural progression... Next it will be 'you're right this thread is a garbage monday witch hunt, based on some hammed up video, what are we even after this kid for?'

Lol - @ 'slightest contact' too... lol, he got coat hangered 3 times.

And ive avoided pointing this out as I didn't think anyone was silly enough to take it seriously, but... Beastmode is a joke FFS, he is taking the piss out of himself coz he knows he is an awkward bogan, whos nick name growing up was 'bush rat', they players are in tears laughing at him when he jokingly says it.. your hate for this young guy is a little bit unbecoming at this stage man - time to get a grip.

Gee I wonder how many threads and posts by Melbourne and Carlton supporters there are around their players that are known duckers or arm lifters???

I am betting there are none, but gee let's think who could we target:
- Marc Murphy, one of the greatest duckers of them all. Genuinely an old time ducker though, but he does sometime engage in that utterly unforgivable act of arm lifting.
- Kennedy-Harris - gee a young dees player how about I start a thread on him and his ducking. That would make me tough right?
- Carlton ducking factory - Eddie Betts and Garlett - any threads about those two ducking folklore heroes?
- of course Dale Thomas - an arm lifter from way back. How does he ever live with himself???
- back at Melbourne of course there is old Lynden Dunn and even Melksham - the later not only a drug cheat but now a dreaded arm lifter (*shudders*)
- of course I could do the same for every team in the League

Anyone else see the lunacy of targeting a first game player for something so many players have been doing for years. How about you play the ball (the rules) and not the man seeing as though you all think you are so brave?

So it's a bad rule. Let's change it. It's a terrible look, and to be honest it will probably get Mathieson injured.

Of course everyone badmouthing what I'm saying is going 'oh look another Melbourne supporter bleating'. I want it stamped out, because it's both a terrible look, comparable to what everyone says about soccer, and it's also going to get someone hurt.

Look at the Thomas/Rohan incident. That changed the game due to a massive injury. Are we waiting for Mathieson to suffer a major neck injury before we change this one too?
Terrible example to use - people were up in arms about that rule change. Was referred to multiple times as an overreaction. Plus judging by some posters in here they'd love to see Matho get injured anyway.

Gee I wonder how many threads and posts by Melbourne and Carlton supporters there are around their players that are known duckers or arm lifters???

- Marc Murphy, one of the greatest duckers of them all. Genuinely an old time ducker though, but he does sometime engage in that utterly unforgivable act of arm lifting.
- Kennedy-Harris - gee a young dees player how about I start a thread on him and his ducking. That would make me tough right?
- Carlton ducking factory - Eddie Betts and Garlett - any threads about those two ducking folklore heroes?
- of course Dale Thomas - an arm lifter from way back. How does he ever live with himself???
- back at Melbourne of course there is old Lynden Dunn and even Melksham - the later not only a drug cheat but now a dreaded arm lifter (*shudders*)

Anyone else see the lunacy of targeting a first game player for something so many players have been doing for years. How about you play the ball (the rules) and not the man seeing as though you all think you are so brave?

They are just up and about after a few wins mate, obviously they have very short memories, at least these Dees supporters are turning on a player from another struggling club rather than turning on there own, as per.

Melbourne supporters can't remember the hard times as they were busy sucking down chardy in the chalet.

Meltdown-Confirmed-680x229.jpg

Coming from a Dees supporter, who have just under gone a total AFL controlled and funded restructure, along with PP's.. the lot..because you were unable to do it on your own. Ha! It's incredible form making a comment like that.
This one post has singlehandedly depleted the world of all it's precious irony...

Oh my, it is getting embarrassing now. Best you stop digging.

I am sure there are a lot of decent Melbourne supporters out there, but you lot are doing them no favours.

There is 23 pages of keyboard warriors potting a first gamer who has more courage than all of them combined, yet virtual silence from Melbourne supporters of the ridiculous potentially game changing free kick goals they got early in the match.

The rushed behind thread has two pages, not a Dees supporter in sight. Deliberate out of bounds, not much better. Taking on an 19 year old first gamer though with your keyboard - now that takes real guts.
Shall we dig up the Brisbane flogs tea'ing off at Watts as an 18 yo school boy?

At least he took it like a man

Oh my, it is getting embarrassing now. Best you stop digging.

I am sure there are a lot of decent Melbourne supporters out there, but you lot are doing them no favours.

Narr I know a fair few, defeated and hopeless when down - and very 'up and about' after a few wins. This is pretty much it in a nutshell. They are the worst kind of supporter on facebook too - #myheartbeatstrue etc etc

I must admit, the OP video is pretty damning. The way he throws his arm up like a grandma who's just scooped the pool at bingo night every time an opp player so much as breathes on him is pretty lame.

And in the interests of full disclosure(and to back the OP) - I f'kn hate the way some of our players have done/and still do the same thing.

Players from all clubs need to have a bit more gumption than that pathetic display.

Oh the dude who is a Melbourne supporter who paid out our Brisbane for needing AFL support and wanting a PP is back, how are you Dude? Small break I see - not long enough to forget that unfortunate, jibe you posted before but it allowed you time to freshen up and regain your composure none the less.

I must admit, the OP video is pretty damning. The way he throws his arm up like a grandma who's just scooped the pool at bingo night is pretty lame.

And in the interests of full disclosure(and to back the OP) - I f'kn hate the way some of our players have done/and still do the same thing.

Players from all clubs need to have a bit more gumption than that pathetic display.

They are all high tackles regardless of what he does, 3 of them are virtual coat hangers.. you must be that original posters WC mate yeah?

Like I said, I'm not a fan of our guys doing it either - or playing for frees in any way shape or form for that matter.

Shall we dig up the Brisbane flogs tea'ing off at Watts as an 18 yo school boy?

At least he took it like a man

Just like he took the hatred and ridicule from his own fan base for all those years, tough cookie, good to see he is back to being 'our jacky' again this year though.

There is 23 pages of keyboard warriors potting a first gamer who has more courage than all of them combined, yet virtual silence from Melbourne supporters of the ridiculous potentially game changing free kick goals they got early in the match..
Yeah ... thats why you lost by 10 goals

This guy was well known for drawing high contact well before this debut game. Personally I hate it and feel it is up to the umps to call play on award holding the ball. Players have been milking frees since free kicks were a thing just seems they are more sophisticated with it to match the advances in skill. Sad to watch, easy to turn a blind eye if it gets your team an advantage but I dislike it when Swans players do it so not a fan of him doing it for Brisbane. He already ticks the box of not afraid to go in get the ball and take the hit so if he just plays a natural game and has a low posture in handballing out he will develop his disposal and still get genuine free kicks if the tackler is lazy or not prepared to also lower his posture. No need for the arm going up stuff it's a poor look.