Aug 10, 2004
Melbourne VIC
Richmond plot thickens
By PAtrick Smith
September 14, 2004

RICHMOND president Clinton Casey is on holiday. He is in Cairo and plans a trip down the Nile. He may find himself without a paddle.

The board he left behind is not anywhere near as solid as he previously believed. Casey has been trusting to the point of naivety. He thought it best that he run to the December elections with an unchanged board to show solidity and stability. He now knows that this has been an unwise strategy.

He now wants board members Rob Turner and John Matthies to step down immediately. Casey has simply lost confidence in them and fears they are plotting directly to overthrow him. For the sake of unity he believes he has no other choice but to demand their resignations.

Casey told The Australian that Turner had been creeping in the dark to negotiate with the rival ticket led by Charles Macek and Brendan Schwab. Indeed, Turner met Schwab early last week and the football community was driven by rumours that a board challenge from within would topple Casey at last Tuesday's meeting of directors.

Casey said he believed Turner thought he might become president-elect of the Schwab ticket, but was unaware that Macek had been recruited to head Schwab's team. Turner might find he is not a member of the incumbent board or its rival.

Of both Matthies and Turner, Casey said he thought neither brought anything to the table. Casey has previously asked Turner to step down but he has resisted. Not a lot is known about Matthies except that he should spend some time with his fellow board member and broadcaster Anthony Mithen and learn how the media work.

Matthies apparently believes AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou calls members of the media into his office and instructs them about what to write.

After Demetriou's week from hell, how must the AFL boss wish that was right. It isn't, of course, and it is a major concern that a member of a football board can hold such ill-conceived and fanciful theories. You wonder what other bizarre conspiracies keep him awake at night.

If Matthies took time out to think, he would realise the only body more criticised and reviled than the AFL is that of The Elephant Man.

Casey is working to restructure his board and plans to announce a new addition to his team as early as next week. Casey said the person to be appointed to the board had a superior financial background.

That will help the Tigers. Casey said the loss this year has been reassessed and will fall somewhere between $1.9 million to $2.1m. Casey's new business plan, which has the support of the AFL, will have the club return to profit within two years. A new coterie group organised around football director Greg Miller will deliver $250,000 next year.

The battle at Richmond is an odd one. Casey's board has under-performed, but has still been able to appoint Terry Wallace as coach for next year, appoint the well-credentialled Steve Wright as chief executive and its new financial direction is being closely monitored and approved by the financial gurus at AFL headquarters.

Spending on the football department has been prolific and profligate. That will be reined in next season and plans to nab a talented but expensive player will need to be prudent. The Tigers will get their talent infusion through two early draft picks.

Among the challengers are four men who have been on Tigers boards before. Schwab and Peter Welsh worked under Casey until earlier this year when they said time restraints meant they had to resign. Michael Humphris served on the Tigers board from 1986-93 when the club was broke and never finished higher than 10th.

Macek worked under president Leon Daphne and attempted to win the presidency when Daphne stood down. Under Daphne's presidency from 1993-99 the club went through three coaches - John Northey, Robert Walls and Jeff Gieschen. Danny Frawley took over in 2000. In Daphne and Macek's last three years the club finished 13th, ninth and 12th.

Macek, Humphris, Welsh and Schwab hardly come from the Tigers' glory days.

There is no doubt that Demetriou believes the nucleus of the Casey board has the nous and experience to steer the Tigers to better times. He said so publicly two weeks ago.

Certainly Casey has a better understanding of what is required to make a football club work in Melbourne. He has spent time as acting chief executive and sought the best men available to fill the coaching and CEO positions. He is about to strengthen his board.

For all that he is either a brave man or a naive one to take a holiday two months away from an election. The plot and plotters thicken.

http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,10755858-23211,00.html

Punt_Road_Roar said:
May Cairo tiger is alot higher up at Richmond than alot of us gave him credit for?

:D

Cairo = Casey? LOL
Must have been a slow day on the Australian. All speculation little fact. Casey must have Fatprick on a retainer

KHan

Retainer?

LOL

why is that? because he has basically said the truth about this alternative ticket being form from an era of some of our darkest hours?

LOL

Casey or Macek... we are doomed either way

only Wallace or Miller are the only guys who can turn this absolute rabble club around

The Richmond Board does nothing but hinder this club and has done so for the past 20 years

absolutely disgraceful!! :mad:

let's hope a 3rd ticket is formed and kicks both these rejects to the curb. Bunch of egotistical power hungry monkeys the whole lot of them.

Haven't decided either way myself. Just thought that with the finals here , Mister Smith could have come up with some real news rather than speculation on Richmond (hawthorn yesaterday apparently). Definatly went for the alternative ticket throat (not that they dont deserve it either) and left Casey alone.

Khan

Punt_Road_Roar said:
why is that? because he has basically said the truth about this alternative ticket being form from an era of some of our darkest hours?

LOL

The Ian Wilson board forfeited the future of our club by being complacent, by spending money we didn't have, by accumulating large debts and putting the club in peril of its existence.

Humphries found himself at a club that was bleeding and tried to stop the flow. Daphne took a club at death's door at the time of the SOS campaign and paid off the debt, put some money in the back and laid the foundations to begin building the club again.

Humphries and Macek went throught he painful era, the same suffering that the rest of us fans did. The endured the same belt tightening, the same humiliations, the same inability to fight an even battle. They lived through what we did, did the hard yards and are determined to NEVER repeat the mistakes and let the club slide back towards the abyss.

In contrast within 5 years Casey has taken all that hard work and penny pinching, all that scraping to survive, and p1ssed it up the wall. Put us back in debt, put us back in a position were we have to cut costs, put us back where we are being blackmailed by coaches and players for inflated contracts.

Johny-come-lately Essendon supporter Casey lived nothing on the pain and agony and like most who don't know their history is happily whistling away as he repeats the SAME mistakes.

The Macek-Schawb ticket should have one slogan and one slogan only NEVER AGAIN.

Weaver said:
The Ian Wilson board forfeited the future of our club by being complacent, by spending money we didn't have, by accumulating large debts and putting the club in peril of its existence.

Humphries found himself at a club that was bleeding and tried to stop the flow. Daphne took a club at death's door at the time of the SOS campaign and paid off the debt, put some money in the back and laid the foundations to begin building the club again.

Humphries and Macek went throught he painful era, the same suffering that the rest of us fans did. The endured the same belt tightening, the same humiliations, the same inability to fight an even battle. They lived through what we did, did the hard yards and are determined to NEVER repeat the mistakes and let the club slide back towards the abyss.

In contrast within 5 years Casey has taken all that hard work and penny pinching, all that scraping to survive, and p1ssed it up the wall. Put us back in debt, put us back in a position were we have to cut costs, put us back where we are being blackmailed by coaches and players for inflated contracts.

Johny-come-lately Essendon supporter Casey lived nothing on the pain and agony and like most who don't know their history is happily whistling away as he repeats the SAME mistakes.

Seriously I predict the following to happen

Macek winning in a landslide this december's election because lets face it Casey will be held accountable by the members.

season 2005

Richmond will again break membership records
Richmond have already cut the clubs spending in ALL areas massively
Richmond have already introduced a new new Punt Rd coterie worth 250,000 thanks to Miller.

The club due to its current direction by investing in youth and cutting massively in all departments will make a loss of about $250,000-$500,000.

The unfortunate thing is because it will appear we are turning the club around Macek and Co will get all the praise at the end of 2005 for basically doing absolutely nothing.

On the back of what I have already said

When Macek and Co win the board election at years end this is what i want to hear from them during 2005:

RFC announces new sponsorship deals with XXXX and XXXX worth XXXXXXX over XX years.

If they cant provide that, then they are no better than Casey and Co.

Unlike Casey though, Macek and co. have the good of the club at heart. I have no doubt that Casey's main purpose in this position was to improve his own profile for his personal business dealings. Admittedly he would have liked to have success in his presidency role as that would have portrayed a successful business image to the public. This is also the reason he is so reluctant to step down, as he will be leaving when the club is at its lowest possible moment, probably in history. This does not reflect well on him as a businessman.

Although not knowing these guys, I don't believe Macek would have the same agenda as Casey, in that, what does he have to prove? He does not need to promote himself, and he wants to see the club be the force it once was.

Punt_Road_Roar said:
The unfortunate thing is because it will appear we are turning the club around Macek and Co will get all the praise at the end of 2005 for basically doing absolutely nothing.

That is what Casey did though. Sat back and claimed the 2001 Prelim as his work on the back of a coach, CEO, football department and budget that he inherited. Spent the money that Daphne had put in the bank and claimed the JDF as his own initiative when it wasn't.

Weaver said:
That is what Casey did though. Sat back and claimed the 2001 Prelim as his work on the back of a coach, CEO, football department and budget that he inherited. Spent the money that Daphne had put in the bank and claimed the JDF as his own initiative when it wasn't.

Thats my whole point though weaver

some people are carrying on like Macek is the answer, I wont be voting Casey and I'm reluctant to vote Macek

I may not vote at all

Both candidates are garbage.

Weaver said:

flipping A Weaver. Thats telling it how it is.

Daphne and Macek brought back financial stability to the club. Casey took it back to what it was like in the late 80s.

Casey has undone the good work done by the Daphne administration.

Boards are there to ensure financial stability and resources to the footy dept. The Casey board has wasted money and now the footy dept will be limited in resources for the next 2 years.

Fatman Smith can go on all he likes about where the club finished on the table when Macek was on the board, but they didnt have a wooden spoon and they had money in the bank.

Go back to Windy Hill Casey. You're in this for your ego, not the good of the club

quote: weaver
Daphne took a club at death's door at the time of the SOS campaign and paid off the debt, put some money in the back and laid the foundations to begin building the club again.
tend to disagree, daphne put 4 players on ridiculous contracts-daffy,knihgts,campbell,richo-they erarned heaps and left hardly any room for developing youth program at all...really knights and daffy it could be argued failed (knights only played 2 mor e years) daffy was a joke....campbell is still on huge bucks...richo is fine so it is horses for scourses...we need a youth development program a la catters

fyi i got out of cairo when casey got in i came home for my sons birth

Jack named after the great man

I'm not sure how much of Daphne's financial success came from sustainable development and how much came from the pokies boom in Vic. But one thing we haven't done well for the last 20 years is attract $$$ from the big end of town - sponsors and coterie groups. We have a fairly big following in the lucrative baby boomer and gen x demographics that should be attractive to sponsors. Lack of on-field success doesn't help, but I think the lack of stability and lack of professionalism at the club over a long period has been a bigger issue to getting sponsors on board.

Good post Crumden.Ergo a smooth transition to the new board is essential without too much bloodletting and embarrassment in the media.

With a new CEO,new (competent)coach,new coaching staff and plenty of early picks in the draft we have a chance to embark on a new era.Let's not let egos and power plays get in the way of what could potentially be a real Tiger revival.

I hope Casey can see the writing on the wall.

totally agree crumden! even under leon we were always at the bottom of the tree wen it came to sponsorship... it runs deeper than simply changing the pres, lets face it our board is fuct! and will take A LOT of tweeking to get any sort of semblance of quality and stability, both tickets have questionable members to say the least, but wot we need is people like John Ilhan (crazy John) to join the board and from there we can move forward and get the sponsorship that this club should be getting

I wouldnt trust schwab as far as I could throw him, have no faith in him whatsoever! this is out of left field, but remmeber our problems with leaks to the media, last year and the beginning of this season? well call me cynical but its funny that seemed to dry up the moment schwab and welsh walked out!

cairo tiger said:
tend to disagree, daphne put 4 players on ridiculous contracts-daffy,knihgts,campbell,richo-they erarned heaps and left hardly any room for developing youth program at all...really knights and daffy it could be argued failed (knights only played 2 mor e years) daffy was a joke....campbell is still on huge bucks...richo is fine so it is horses for scourses...we need a youth development program a la catters

The problem was that we would approach players and they would say "I am not playing for you, you are rubbish".

We'd go into contract negotiations with Knights, Campbell and co and they would say "I don't won't to play with you, you are rubbish".

In that situation basically we had a choice of letting our first-team players leave and not being able to replace them, or paying them more than they were worth to keep them. That is what I was referring to when I talked of being blackmailed by players.

It is fine to say we should have just let them go but when Lambert left we got nothing and when Fitzroy began losing players it was the beginning of the end for them.

Weaver said:

well said weaver....it is this very issue that has me tossing, turning and waking in a cold sweat of a night...your damn right we NEVER want to be at deaths door again...right now we are perilously close. and I am convinced that a swashbuckling entrepreneur is not the type to lead us to salvation

Weaver said:
The problem was that we would approach players and they would say "I am not playing for you, you are rubbish".

We'd go into contract negotiations with Knights, Campbell and co and they would say "I don't won't to play with you, you are rubbish".

In that situation basically we had a choice of letting our first-team players leave and not being able to replace them, or paying them more than they were worth to keep them. That is what I was referring to when I talked of being blackmailed by players.

It is fine to say we should have just let them go but when Lambert left we got nothing and when Fitzroy began losing players it was the beginning of the end for them.
I don`t know that i would put Matty Knights in this catagory . I only see a bloke who gave his all for punt rd. It was only spud that finished him off .

Campbell - Yes , Knights - No

WHO GIVES A FAAAARRKK !

They're all ********ers and dont deserve schit.

LMAOOO@All the politically minded carnts on here,.

Richmond plot thickens