Richmonds activity in the upcomming 'Super-draft'

• Thread starter Thread starter Bentleigh

I actually rate Hawkesly, I hadnt seen his name mentioned in these forums often before, I think he can play and I am hoping we could get him in the 3rd round.

As for how the draft picks work out, if we lose today against brissy I expect we wouldnt beat Carlton or Essendon who seem to have found some form late in the season, and WCE on form will beat us at the G. If we go down in all games we could finish with pick 4 or 5 depending on other results.

RFC is going to do some big trades this year and offload 3 players who supporters probably wouldnt want to see go but they will be put up to try and ratchet out an early pick from either North or Port in my opinion.

Weaver said:
I reckon it will be none-of-the-above. Have to remember that the 'consenus' is actually the opinion of half a dozen people who watch the games magnifing by 100 Bentleighs repeating what they have read as their own opinion.

Someone like Daniel O'Keefe could jump up the order. We could easily decide that we will go for a raw 4-year project player like James Hawksley or Ben Reid.
***shudder***

Sounds worse than a plague of Rolf Harrises. :eek:

Bentleigh said:
As it stand now we have pick #7.

Both Brisbane & North are a game behind with better percentage. However, with some winnable games comming up at this stage it looks like we will have pick 7, but things can change in the last 4 rounds.

I have concluded I want @ Punt Road (in the following order)

1. Gumbleton
2. Hansen
3. Thorp
4. Gibbs
5. Sellwod
6. Sellar

Although, I have this terribile feeling will get pick #7 and miss out on the lot. (Abit like last year were we just missed one of Rydey/Dowler/Kennedy).

Alot of promising players left:

• Albert Proud
  • Leroy Jetta
  • Tom Hislop
  • David Armitage
  • Matthew Leuenberger
  • Clayton Collard
  • Ben Reid
  • Jack Riewoldt
  • Brock O'Brien
  • Tom Hurley

etc.

But going by all accounts Im very keen on one of those six.

Our 2nd draft pick should be very intersting also. There seems like there could still be a very promising player come about pic mid 20.

Say we miss out on those 6 - who do you want us to get? Hislop he goes alright. " Very similar type to Joel Selwood. Not quite as good"

14) Thomas Hislop

Midfielder

Burnie Dockers (Tasmania)
185cms and 84kgs
7/6/1988

Had a shoulder reconstruction in late May after the trip to Ireland for the U17s AIS-AFL International Rules and sat out the whole year after that

Very good clean hands under pressure. Superb reader of the player and very hard at the ball. Loves the contest and will continually put his head over the ball. Good vision and is smart with his use of the ball. Class inside player with the body and brain to dominate. Very physically developed player but it was not just that he was using to win the ball. Was genuinely smart with his movement and positioning.
Was a combination of strength and class that made him stand out.

Not that quick over the ground but definitely not slow. Reasonable agility but would not call him twinkle toes. Is tough, fearless and very hard at the ball and man. A natural midfielder who hunts the ball and is rarely caught out. Good anticipation and awareness. Very similar type to Joel Selwood. Not quite as good and more developed physically. Perhaps not exactly the midfielder we need but he is a class player and prospect. Very strong in the lower half of his body and very strong in the hips to break a tackle. Good tackler himself.
A small query on his body type for the future with being nuggety and developed at such a young age. So will have to watch how he looks this year after the shoulder operation and how he goes against grown men for the Devils to give an indication of whether how much of his game is sheer early physical development and how much is actual ability (like Shannon Hurn from last years draft).
He wont be able to run over the top of those stronger bodies and will be good to see how he handles that.
I don’t think his game is based too much around that and he is smart enough to be able to change his game according to different circumstances.

A clean, hard, physically tough inside player who does the basics well and is a natural footballer. Good skills with hand and foot and a very good size and another few cms of height would be very welcome. As it stands 185cms as a 16 year old is pretty impressive for a midfield prospect

Hislop is relocating from Burnie to play with the Tassie Mariners and should get a few games with the Tassie Devils in the VFL competition. Hard to judge him but going on tapes from the U16s back in 2004 he looked super impressive.

Tyger said:
Not much of a super draft if it's only 6 deep.

2001 was 3 deep. (Judd, Hodge, Ball)
2004 had 5. (Lids, Bling, Franklin, Roughead, Griffen)

How many were you expecting?

Theres 4 top clear cut, then 3 to 4 very very good players who would of been in the top 5 of last year, the next group runs 15 to 20 deep and that group is very good again. And there will be players who clubs will get in the late 40s into the 50s who in time will be good players. Its a good draft.

Supertiger said:
Theres 4 top clear cut, then 3 to 4 very very good players who would of been in the top 5 of last year, the next group runs 15 to 20 deep and that group is very good again. And there will be players who clubs will get in the late 40s into the 50s who in time will be good players. Its a good draft.

so in this 15 to 20 deep would there be the likes of a Dal Santo, Sam Mitchell, Ash Hansen, Matt McGuire etc all from the 2001 draft?

If so then why the concern about missing out on this top 6?

Punt_Road_Roar said:
so in this 15 to 20 deep would there be the likes of a Dal Santo, Sam Mitchell, Ash Hansen, Matt McGuire etc all from the 2001 draft?

I think the difference lies in that the top six are widely considered to be certainties to turn out to be gun players (almost-certainties is a better term to use). The rest are widely considered to be more of a risk (but not a huge risk when taken into context).

Punt_Road_Roar said:
I agree, talk of a super draft would have to be atleast 10 people of exceptional quality.

I would call 6 players as being a solid draft.

3 players being a weak draft

Odd logic.

Punt_Road_Roar said:

Your not serious are you?

Top 6 almost confirms you a gem.

Yes, you can pick up a good player onwards (Mitchell, Hansen etc.), but to give your wonderful 2001 example there is also a very real chance of missing:

Clarke (5)
Sampi (6)
Luke Molan (9)
Sam Power (10)
Richard Cole (11)
Ashley Watson (14)
Barry Brooks (15)
Rick Ladson (16)
Shane Harvey (18)
Jason Gram (19)
Daniel Elstone (20)

And thats just the top 20..

Tyger said:
Who's to say that the coveted Super 6 will make the grade?

I don't think anybody is saying they will.

I think most agree there is a very strong chance of it.

Abit like saying there is a very strong chance of -

2005: Marc Murphy, Dale Thomas, Xavier Ellis, Josh Kennedy, Scott Pendlebury, Beau Dowler
2004: Brett Deledio. Jarryd Roughead, Ryan Griffen, Richard Tambling, Lance Franklin
2003: Adam Cooney, Andrew Walker, Colin Sylvia, Farren Ray, Brock McLean

Will turn out solid.

If you disagree with the widly accepted view that players in modern football do not have a strong chance of being class.. then its not worth debating.

Bentleigh said:
I don't think anybody is saying they will.

I think most agree there is a very strong chance of it.

Abit like saying there is a very strong chance of -

2005: Marc Murphy, Dale Thomas, Xavier Ellis, Josh Kennedy, Scott Pendlebury, Beau Dowler
2004: Brett Deledio. Jarryd Roughead, Ryan Griffen, Richard Tambling, Lance Franklin
2003: Adam Cooney, Andrew Walker, Colin Sylvia, Farren Ray, Brock McLean

Will turn out solid.

If you disagree the widly accepted stand out player in modern football do not have a strong chance of being class.. then its not worth debating.

Does anyone know what all the experts picked as their top 5 from the 2005, 2004, 2003 draft? I'd be very suprised if they got all those names exactly right.

Punt_Road_Roar said:
Does anyone know what all the experts picked as their top 5 from the 2005, 2004, 2003 draft? I'd be very suprised if they got all those names exactly right.

Mate - Bigfootys draft board got the top 5 right in 2004 and again 2005 (outside Pendlebury).

So it's in our best interests to look beyond the super 6 because we won't be in position to get any of them.
Who falls into the 7-8 pick that may be of some value?
I believe Thorp will fall below 6 and makes a likely target. I am also quite partial to Eric McKenzie as a defender.
Your thoughts please.

Tyger said:
So it's in our best interests to look beyond the super 6 because we won't be in position to get any of them.

Perhaps one will fall though the cracks to pick 7 or 8?

Who falls into the 7-8 pick that may be of some value?

No doubt - but its a matter of picking the right one.

For our sake we need to pick the Tom Hislop, Ben Reid, Tom Hurley that will end up the next Nick Dal Santo, Sam Mitchell, James Bartel, not the next Luke Molan, Ashley Watson, Aaron Rogers.

This is why it pains me that we are going to miss out on a top 6 pick. We go from having a strong chance of getting a class player, to a hit and miss chance.

I believe Thorp will fall below 6 and makes a likely target.

How good would that be?

:) :thumbsu:

Saw him on Telly for Tassie - gun.

I am also quite partial to Eric McKenzie as a defender.
Your thoughts please.

Very intersting idea. Sounds good to me. :thumbsu:

13) Eric Mackenzie

Key Position Player

193cms and 88kgs
19/5/88
Claremont (WA)

Physically powerful and strong key position player. Played mainly down back and it is as a defender where I have been most impressed with him. Plays really tight and reads the play and anticipates well. Legitimate big defender who has strength and discipline. Good skills and is quite attacking on the rebound but it is his bodywork which catches the eye for me. Rarely beaten and does it with power and positioning.

When played up forward is capable of taking a good strong contested mark but does not seem to have the same good natural instincts as when he plays as a defender. Played some ruck when he was even younger and has been basically the same height for a number of years. So unlikely to grow a lot more but at 193cms is tall enough to play a key position player.
Seems to have good endurance and his pace was fine. Suited to playing down the corridor on power players. Tough and physically ready and seems to love body contact. Athletic and versatile.
Just missed the last draft and will be top aged this time and ready for action in his first year on an AFL list. Not quite as much scope for improvement as some of the other talls available but he is a pretty solid key position prospect who is not a really a risk for a team who needs a tall defender.
I think he could play either end as he develops but do think he is best suited down back at this stage.

^

Wouldn't mind one of those at CHB, by the sounds of it as early as next year.

just don't trade cleve the steamer whatever you do miller, can the job done or get another job miller.

So who gets who and who are we left with.

1 Carlton Go big? Gumbleton
2 Essendon Loves razzle dazzle. Collard or Proud.
3 Hawthorn Mid fielder Gibbs
4 Kangaroos Need lots Selwood
5 Brisbane Lions Need Rucks Sellar
6 Port Adelaide Stable Forwards Tippet
7 Richmond Choice of Hansen or Thorp
8 Geelong

Banking on Essendon to do the unexpected and choose between Collard Proud and Jetta.

Tyger said:
So who gets who and who are we left with.

1 Carlton Go big? Gumbleton
2 Essendon Loves razzle dazzle. Collard or Proud.
3 Hawthorn Mid fielder Gibbs
4 Kangaroos Need lots Selwood
5 Brisbane Lions Need Rucks Sellar
6 Port Adelaide Stable Forwards Tippet
7 Richmond Choice of Hansen or Thorp
8 Geelong

Banking on Essendon to do the unexpected and choose between Collard Proud and Jetta.

:D

Bentleigh said:
Your not serious are you?

Top 6 almost confirms you a gem.

Yes, you can pick up a good player onwards (Mitchell, Hansen etc.), but to give your wonderful 2001 example there is also a very real chance of missing:

Clarke (5)
Sampi (6)
Luke Molan (9)
Sam Power (10)
Richard Cole (11)
Ashley Watson (14)
Barry Brooks (15)
Rick Ladson (16)
Shane Harvey (18)
Jason Gram (19)
Daniel Elstone (20)

And thats just the top 20..
now i know you think of yourself as a bit of a football guru, but having Jason Gram on a list of players who have been failures is wrong, he is anything but, have you even watched St Kilda play this year, his a very good player