Richmonds activity in the upcomming 'Super-draft'

• Thread starter Thread starter Bentleigh

Weaver said:
Like it or not most of our draft picks from now on are going to be guys who record top-10 results in the sprint tests at draft camp. We are going to be the quickest team in the comp. That is the plan.
Wallace effectively said as much in the Richo article in todays Hun - http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20299942%255E19742,00.html

Wallace said the Tigers must make it a priority to keep improving and refining the quality and depth of the onballers and midfield performers.
"I don't think the next two to four years is about Richo; it's about the supply to Richo," Wallace said.
"You can build a team around him. There's no doubt that's the case.
"What I'm hoping is that we can have the speed in our game to be able to service him the way he needs to be serviced late in his career.

But as our younger, quicker players have come through, we've been able to move the ball quicker and give him more opportunities. He's a fantastic player and to have coached a player like that when he was absolutely at his peak would have been a wonderful thing.

Yeh Benjamin does sound like a big chance. What about Albert Proud, he'd be one Richmond would look at wouldn't he?

I'd say with our first pick (#8) richmond would look at riewoldt, proud, jetta and benjamin amongst others...primarily these players tho. We would also be looking at selwood, thorp and sellar in case they slipped down to us. (doubt we could get thorp at #8...but would love him at richmond!!)

consider this situation which would lead to us being able to select thorp with our 1st pick.
1. Carlton take Hansen - need key defender
2. Essendon take Gibbs - need good midfielder to replace j.johnson, peverill etc.
3. Kangaroos take Gumbleton - just need anything they can get, particularly key forwards/backs
4. Brisbane take Proud - if they want a midfielder then only selwood would probably rate higher than proud. however, i wouldnt be suprised if they looked at the two and due to Proud being a local boy and selwood not having played for a while becouse of his knee, select proud with their pick. (voss retiring soon and aka departing may have them needing a midfielder)
5. Hawks take Selwood - have drafted many KPP in last couple of drafts (dowler, franklin, roughead, bailey) so could want a midfielder and selwood is the obvious choice.
6. Port Adelaide take Sellar - Another local boy from SA and highly rated to go top 5, so port would be pleased to get him at 6.
7. Geelong take Leuenberger - Geelong need ruckman desperately with King battling with injuryand seems to be past his best and 0.116ttens playing forward. Highly rated and could be a good choice for geelong particularly as they are getting another Key Forward (Hawkins) further in the draft.
8. Richmond take Thorp!

obviously this is quite unlickely to happen, but i though i'd post it and see what people think. hawthorn would probably be the ones to ruin this by selecting thorp at 5 instead of selwood, but then maybe selwood would slip to us which would be good.

macca69 said:
Yeh Benjamin does sound like a big chance. What about Albert Proud, he'd be one Richmond would look at wouldn't he?

These are the two i reackon are firming as being in a tigers jumper.

I've heard benjamin is very quick and a good mark, If this is true i can see him swaping with lids out of FF as strong leading forwards. Both are very quick would be difficult to match up on.

tiger4life said:
8. Richmond take Thorp!

stoner.jpg

What do people think of getting D. Armitage with our second pick?

Would he be the kind of player TW would like at Richmond and do people think he would even be available at that stage of the draft?

tiger4life said:
What do people think of getting D. Armitage with our second pick?

Would he be the kind of player TW would like at Richmond and do people think he would even be available at that stage of the draft?

I know some of his family and he has already been spoken to. To what depth I cant say for certain. Like Nick Riewoldt and Petterd in this draft he is from good Tassie based stock that went north for the sunshine. Or did we send em to freshen the breeding lines...lmao

True Thylacine said:
I know some of his family and he has already been spoken to. To what depth I cant say for certain. Like Nick Riewoldt and Petterd in this draft he is from good Tassie based stock that went north for the sunshine. Or did we send em to freshen the breeding lines...lmao

All good QLDers are born interstate :p . Albert Proud was born in Melbourne.

Say yes or no to these players as our first pick (8)

Benjamin
Proud
Selwood
Jetta
Hilsop
Connors
Armitage
Houli
Hurley
Collard

Riewoldt
Ried
Mourish
McKenzie
Allen (Jarryd)
Brown
Brown

Leungberger

Of course we would take Gibbs, Hansen, Gumbleton, Thorp or Sellar but that's unlikely.

Say yes or no to these players as our first pick (8)

Benjamin - Yes
Proud
Selwood - Yes
Jetta - Yes
Hilsop - Maybe
Connors - No
Armitage - No
Houli - I would consider it
Hurley - Maybe
Collard - Maybe

Riewoldt - Yes
Ried - Maybe
Mourish - No
McKenzie - No
Allen (Jarryd) - No
Brown - The midfielder one maybe but not with pick 8
Brown - No

Leungberger - Yes

Of course we would take Gibbs, Hansen, Gumbleton, Thorp or Sellar but that's unlikely.

Benjamin - too soft, hope not
Proud - yes
Selwood - too slow, maybe
Jetta - hugely overrated, no
Hilsop - not our type, probably not
Connors - 2nd rounder, nope
Armitage - 2nd rounder, nope
Houli - injury riddled, definately not
Hurley - won't be drafted, nope
Collard - small forward, nope.
Riewoldt - maybe
Ried - soft and light, please no
Mourish - don't know
McKenzie - not our type, no
Allen (Jarryd) - apparantly we don't rate him.
Brown - gorilla, no

So anyone else not in that list (apart from the obvious) get a yes Weaver?

I am still open to the possibility of us trading down to get picks and/or players, there just doesn't seem to be an overriding need to keep pick 8 to get a player we desperately want.

Clinton Benjamin will be a good player for Richmond at 8. Hes an outside type, who will run lines- hes the type Wallace wants. Id be keeping pick 8 irrespective of whether people are lukewarm on there appraisals of players at this pick.

Weaver said:
Benjamin - too soft, hope not
Proud - yes
Selwood - too slow, maybe
Jetta - hugely overrated, no
Hilsop - not our type, probably not
Connors - 2nd rounder, nope
Armitage - 2nd rounder, nope
Houli - injury riddled, definately not
Hurley - won't be drafted, nope
Collard - small forward, nope.
Riewoldt - maybe
Ried - soft and light, please no
Mourish - don't know
McKenzie - not our type, no
Allen (Jarryd) - apparantly we don't rate him.
Brown - gorilla, no

How would you rate Sellar/Leunberger for Richmond then, Weaver?

philhawk said:
How would you rate Sellar/Leunberger for Richmond then, Weaver?

Leunberger I genueinly don't know. I suspect that we aren't keen on ruckmen. We want a Simmonds type who can get 20 touches, kick 2 goals and cover a lot of ground. Leunberger is talented enough to almost tempt us, but I really think we will be a club that has 15 midfielders and some bloke from the rookie list in the draft. I suspect that we are unlikely to be a club that uses a top-20 pick on a ruckman.

Sellar? Probably much more our type of player. When he doesn't get a kick in a KP he can almost play wing. Has the raw potential to become the running big-man that we would go for. That said I thought his Championship was poor - poor enough to be nervous about him. Also we added Pattison 2 years back.

I don't agree with the idea of taking a 4th-5th best big bloke in the top-10. Rarely pays off. There are normally just a couple worth taking. Can get a good second-stringer in round 2 or 3 who is almost as good.

The biggest requirement in footy now is pace, not height. I would be getting the quickest guys out of the draft first. Others later.

Richo83 said:
So Weaver, that's alot of players you don't rate, don't you rate this years draft?

I rate the top-6 or 7 as better than last year. I think the quality falls away after that and becomes pretty much the same as any other year.

A lot of the quality won't appeal to us.

I mean Jetta and Collard are forward pockets. Good players, particularly Collard but hardly exciting for a top-10 pick - hardly what we need.

Selwood will play heaps of footy but he is a similar athlete to Pettifer. He isn't really going to burn anyone off.

Nathan Brown, Mitchell Brown and Eric McKenzie are big Leigh Brown type defenders. We probably won't go that type of player, instead our idea of a CHB is JON or Lids.

Brock O'Brien is tough, clever and classy. But we probably won't recruit a specialist Brett Voss type back-pocket / tagger.

Up and down the draft it is hard to find guys rated highly who immediately jump out as 'Richmond types'.

I fully expect us to throw a spanner in the works and go for Jarryd Morton, James Hawksley, Ricky Pettard or someone who isn't even on most peoples' radars.