Richmonds activity in the upcomming 'Super-draft'

• Thread starter Thread starter Bentleigh

Weaver said:
I fully expect us to throw a spanner in the works and go for Jarryd Morton, James Hawksley, Ricky Pettard or someone who isn't even on most peoples' radars.

What about Nathan Krakouer or even Caleb Mourish?

Richo83 said:
What about Benjamin? Tall, fast, skilled. Why don't you rate him Weaver? What I mean is, what part of his game is "soft"?

He has been at two championships and yet to play a good game. He is tall, quick and light. His kicking is reasonable. He has never won a man on man contest, put his body on the line or looked a footballer. All his touches are as a forward of the contest wingman.

He will go early because of his athletic ability, but he is even rawer than JON. At least JON was BOG (in my opinion) in two games for WA and in one game was the only bloke to beat his opponent.

Weaver said:
I rate the top-6 or 7 as better than last year. I think the quality falls away after that and becomes pretty much the same as any other year.

A lot of the quality won't appeal to us.

I mean Jetta and Collard are forward pockets. Good players, particularly Collard but hardly exciting for a top-10 pick - hardly what we need.

Selwood will play heaps of footy but he is a similar athlete to Pettifer. He isn't really going to burn anyone off.

Nathan Brown, Mitchell Brown and Eric McKenzie are big Leigh Brown type defenders. We probably won't go that type of player, instead our idea of a CHB is JON or Lids.

Brock O'Brien is tough, clever and classy. But we probably won't recruit a specialist Brett Voss type back-pocket / tagger.

Up and down the draft it is hard to find guys rated highly who immediately jump out as 'Richmond types'.

I fully expect us to throw a spanner in the works and go for Jarryd Morton, James Hawksley, Ricky Pettard or someone who isn't even on most peoples' radars.

Brock O'Brien has some good qualities there Weaver.

Can you please tell me more about Jarryd Morton, James Hawksley and Ricky Petterd, and why you think we'll go for them so early.

Clearly you dont rate Benjamin, and fair enough, but I have heard strong whispers from credible sources that he is well and truly on our radar. In say if you got all the talent in the world, a club must believe in its development enough to think we can bring out the best in him.

I think Hawksley will go fairly early.
Weaver in the paper it says Daniel O'keefe hurt his knee, do you know if it was bad?

Limbach_19 said:
I think Hawksley will go fairly early.
Weaver in the paper it says Daniel O'keefe hurt his knee, do you know if it was bad?

6 weeks out was the talk around the place today. So he could join in preseason training and therefore won't drop too far. Good news and I think puts him back in the mix for the 10-18 pick (or us if we reach).

Weaver said:
Leunberger I genueinly don't know. I suspect that we aren't keen on ruckmen. We want a Simmonds type who can get 20 touches, kick 2 goals and cover a lot of ground. Leunberger is talented enough to almost tempt us, but I really think we will be a club that has 15 midfielders and some bloke from the rookie list in the draft. I suspect that we are unlikely to be a club that uses a top-20 pick on a ruckman.

More I think about it the less I think we will take Leunenberger.

Next year Ben McEvoy, Matt Kreuzer, Tom Bellchambers, Lachie Henderson and Will Sullivan will all be available. All are in the good to very good class. If we want a capable ruckman we will be almost gaurenteed one in the second round next year.

Phantom Draft - Trial Run #1

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=267582

---

First Round:

1st ROUND

Code:
1. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Bryce Gibbs
2. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Scott Gumbleton
3. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Lachlan Hansen
4. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Mitch Thorp
5. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- James Sellar
6. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Leroy Jetta
7. Geelong (Diablo14) ---------------------------- Matthew Leuenberger
8. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Jack Riewoldt
9. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Albert Proud
10. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Joel Selwood
11. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) ------------------- Eric McKenzie
12. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------ Clinton Benjamin
13. Fremantle (Wizard9) ------------------------- Tom Hislop
14. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) -------------- Clayton Collard
15. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Brock O'Brien
16. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Daniel Connors

#8 - Riewoldt

Highly rated players still around after #8 - Proud, Selwood, Hislop, McKenzie etc.

From the above, (still around come our pick) I would want Selwood.

trial phantom draft 2

Code:
1.Carlton- Scott Gumbleton
2.Essendon- Bryce Gibbs
3.Kangaroos- Lachlan Hansen
4.Brisbane- Matthew Leuenberger
5.Port- Mitch Thorp
6.Hawthorn- James Sellar
7.Geelong- Albert Proud
[B]8.Richmond- Joel Selwood[/B]
9.Stk - Leroy Jetta

^

Yes please.

Speaking to a bloke the other day who sees a fair bit of SANFL I would like Seller to slip to us.

Seen abit of Fox Footy where Leuenberger has played, he's outstanding.

Seriously, do you live for the draft Bentleigh? You only pop up during 'Draft Season' and I rarely see you post elsewhere at any other point of time during the season (despite your hope that your own team will tank to get better draft picks. :rolleyes:)

philhawk said:
Seriously, do you live for the draft Bentleigh? You only pop up during 'Draft Season' and I rarely see you post elsewhere at any other point of time during the season (despite your hope that your own team will tank to get better draft picks. :rolleyes:)

Imagine how excited he would be if they still had priority picks and Richmond had manged to nab them this year!

philhawk said:
Seriously, do you live for the draft Bentleigh?

Want to count how many post has been made on the draft board by you vs I over the last month knackers?

You only pop up during 'Draft Season' and I rarely see you post elsewhere at any other point of time during the season

Perhaps you should look into your obsession with the frequency of my posting.

To be frank, its a tad worrying.

(despite your hope that your own team will tank to get better draft picks. :rolleyes:)

Hawthorn have had no need to 'hope' that they will tank/have been rubbish the last 3 years eh my son?

Calcium Man said:
Imagine how excited he would be if they still had priority picks and Richmond had manged to nab them this year!

Seeing as we were lucky enough to come 9th, again, there is no need for such wacky and mystical hypotheticals.

Cloke to tigers

Tigers should look at getting jason Cloke as a centre half back as a straight player swap with one of the tiger players that dont get on the field but may be attractive to collingwood who have crappy midfielders like holland (soft as butter) Burns (to old ) Obree (to slow) etc etc .

One of the northern Knights players that no one seems to have noticed is Chris varsamakis who has shut down many of the top 10 players in the comp on every occasion and was one of the best for vic metro

Re: Cloke to tigers

Magpies 2007 said:
Tigers should look at getting jason Cloke as a centre half back

Time_%28Simpsons%29.jpg

trial phantom draft 2

1.Carlton- Scott Gumbleton
2.Essendon- Bryce Gibbs
3.Kangaroos- Lachlan Hansen
4.Brisbane- Matthew Leuenberger
5.Port- Mitch Thorp
6.Hawthorn- James Sellar
7.Geelong- Albert Proud
8.Richmond- Joel Selwood
9.Stk - Leroy Jetta

Why the hell would Brisbane consider taking another ruckman? I think this is completely unrealistic. Surely they would be looking at Thorp, Sellar or Selwood.

duckboy said:
Why the hell would Brisbane consider taking another ruckman? I think this is completely unrealistic. Surely they would be looking at Thorp, Sellar or Selwood.

Brisbane has declared they want pace. They will have a tough choice because there isn't much pace in the top-10. Albert Proud, David Armitage and Ricky Pettard are the three best QLD midfielders since Aker and Voss and so they will tempted to take one of them. Putting Joel Selwood on the list alongside his brother would be tempting too.

Leunenberger is a very good player and Brisbane love ruckmen. They normally have 4 on their list at any one time.

Keating has been sacked. McDonald is 27 and struggled with injury (17 of the last 44 games). Charman is 24 and often plays forward and is also an injury concern (40 or the last 66 games). Only other option they have is Cam Wood. Merrett is not a ruckman.

Weaver said:
Brisbane has declared they want pace. They will have a tough choice because there isn't much pace in the top-10. Albert Proud, David Armitage and Ricky Pettard are the three best QLD midfielders since Aker and Voss and so they will tempted to take one of them. Putting Joel Selwood on the list alongside his brother would be tempting too.

Leunenberger is a very good player and Brisbane love ruckmen. They normally have 4 on their list at any one time.

Keating has been sacked. McDonald is 27 and struggled with injury (17 of the last 44 games). Charman is 24 and often plays forward and is also an injury concern (40 or the last 66 games). Only other option they have is Cam Wood. Merrett is not a ruckman.

Yep Jetta, Leunberger or Proud will be Brisbane's first pick IMO.

Also Weaver, would yu expect someone like Nathan Krakouer to be on Richmond's radar this year?

macca69 said:
Yep Jetta, Leunberger or Proud will be Brisbane's first pick IMO.

Can't see Jetta in the top-15 myself. All sizzle and no sausage. Proud, Selwood (unite the brothers - make a play for Adam next trade period) or Luenberger.

If they genueinely want a quick midfielder they may be a trade candidate.

macca69 said:
Also Weaver, would yu expect someone like Nathan Krakouer to be on Richmond's radar this year?

Krakouer would be on our list. I would see him as 3rd-4th round candidate for clubs looking at raw, light, flairy wingers which is the shop where we have a preferential customer card.

Weaver said:
Brisbane has declared they want pace.

Source?

I doubt they will go 'pace', ie. a Proud with pick #4.

More so when the like of Thorp are still around.

Bentleigh said:

Leigh Matthews ...

"Rather than looking at key -position players, Matthews declared the Lions priority at the National Draft in November would be for quality running-types.

"Getting a couple of young really, really high-class runners is the most urgent need for our club going ahead," explained Matthews whose usual strategy is to select the best player left in the draft when the first pick arrives.

"I think we have a few players that have got a bit of size about them so we are better equipped in the key position areas than the midfield runners - you need about 12 of them (runners) in your team."

Weaver said:
Leigh Matthews ...

"Rather than looking at key -position players, Matthews declared the Lions priority at the National Draft in November would be for quality running-types.

"Getting a couple of young really, really high-class runners is the most urgent need for our club going ahead," explained Matthews whose usual strategy is to select the best player left in the draft when the first pick arrives.

"I think we have a few players that have got a bit of size about them so we are better equipped in the key position areas than the midfield runners - you need about 12 of them (runners) in your team."

That sounds good. Maybe they'll take hyde or tivendale both very quick or petts and pick 8, but i doubt it. Do you reckon they'll get a first round pick from acker?? If they do i wouldnt be surprised if they went a thorp and hoped a proud falls to their next first round pick!

My wet dream is for Hansen to slip to #8

:D

Weaver said:
Leigh Matthews ...

Again though, does that mean they will go 'fast mid' with #4?

They still need a Thorp of Hansen to replace, Leppistch/Micheal etc.

Calcium Man said:
That sounds good. Maybe they'll take hyde or tivendale both very quick or petts and pick 8, but i doubt it. Do you reckon they'll get a first round pick from acker?? If they do i wouldnt be surprised if they went a thorp and hoped a proud falls to their next first round pick!

If it is true that Aker wants to go to the Dogs, then yes Brisbane could get an extra first round pick. The Dogs pick (11) isn't that early. Something like -

Out - Aker, pick 34.
In - pick 11, pick 29.

The Lions then might to look to bundle up pick 4 for a player and pick 8-14.

Out - pick 4, pick 22
In - player X (eg Brad Miller), pick 12

They would then have (eg Miller) and picks 10 and 11. Very good spot to get two of Armitage, Proud, Pettard and Selwood. Also a tempting 'solution' to losing Leppitsch and Michael.