Summer RIO 2016 - Cycling (Track and Road) 11th to 16th Aug

Remove this Banner Ad

May 4, 2009
Tasmania
AFL Club
Sydney
Other Teams
Furth
I am more of a track fan than a road fan, so someone else can post info on that. this post will update

so i wrote a lot about the world champs which happened earlier on this year. (found here https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/aussie-watch-towards-rio.1072565/page-3)

most of my info here will be based on those memories plus other tidbits. i am no expert, so feel free to disagree. I really only catch the world champs each year.

Will go through each event one by one. Starting with the big one.

Mens Team Pursuit.
What a race this will be. Ashes on wheels. Aussie v Brits. The World Record should be smashed by both teams. Wiggins will be racing for the brits, and they supposedly broke the 4-year-old world record in training this month.

BUT Australia defeated them at the world champs by posting the 2nd fastest time ever. And that was without Jack Bobridge, who is the quickest man ever over 4 KMs though he posted that 5 years ago. we also claim to have broken the world record in Mexico in 2015.

The brits cracked in the last lap in the world champs. probably won't happen again as Ed Clancey, the person who cracked, was still recovering from a knock. they probably deserve to be slight favs due to history and reputation, but I seriously think we can beat them. We won't know till the day as both teams will and are playing mind games. even during the heats, both teams won't show their full cards and be resting up for a 3.50 effort. Heck, Wiggins even called us bad losers and bad winners the other day. please win this one Australia

Odds
1.75 GB
2.25 Aus
13 Swiss(no chance)

Men's Omnium
The big name in this is Mark Cavendish. but despite what the bookies think, I don't think he will medal. Great cyclist but coming from a Tour de France is not great preparation. plus he only finished 6th in London earlier this year.