Rivalries

Originally posted by kizza

Yeah, I used to love the North Essendon games when the roos were a little stronger (90's to 2001). I think it all stemmed frmo that 'marshmellow' final in 98 where we only got done by 22 pts.

Then there was that great comeback game in 2001, which was an awesome spectacle, roos up in the first quarter, bombers come back, then goal for goal till the final siren.

BUt my fav bomber/roo game would have to be the game in about round 20 1999, when Carey was on fire (i think he kicked 5 or so goals), but we still managed to storm home by 30 odd pts. Geez, 99 still pi$$es me off!!

Ahh I think it was a lazy 10 goals 5 points. Yep, 15 scoring shots from CHF, and we lost.

Best game I have ever attended.

Originally posted by NorthBhoy

Ahh I think it was a lazy 10 goals 5 points. Yep, 15 scoring shots from CHF, and we lost.

Best game I have ever attended.

yeah, i thought i was being a little conservative there. I remember the King being absolutely unstoppable, but we just played like a team possessed. Probably the best game i've ever been to.

ALthough, I remember the 14 goal ablett performance. That was a cracker too!

One of the rivalries I don't rate is the Dons/Lions one, it seems to me the Bombers are just full of angst towards them because of last year's Grand Final!

We dont like the bullies either!
Remember Danny Southern ( big brute) knocking Peter Sumich out in 1994 at subiaco oval?
Remember Liberatore's attack on cousins when he was just a kid
Remember the bullies atttack on Gardiner?
The final when we beat them by a goal!

Originally posted by carlyp
Remember Danny Southern ( big brute) knocking Peter Sumich out in 1994 at subiaco oval?

west coast V doogies has got to be my favourite rivalry.

i love seeing these 2 teams go at it.

Originally posted by Leigh
One of the rivalries I don't rate is the Dons/Lions one, it seems to me the Bombers are just full of angst towards them because of last year's Grand Final!

As personified by a number of their fans on this site.

There will be a new rivalry starting next year assuming Carey ends up at Adelaide. I can't wait to see Archer on Carey!

Originally posted by napsyd
There will be a new rivalry starting next year assuming Carey ends up at Adelaide. I can't wait to see Archer on Carey!

I don't.

Could get ugly.

Arch would kill him FWIW!!

Id be more excited about seeing Carey and Stevens cross paths. Although Archer on Carey would be great too!

I don't.

Could get ugly.

Arch would kill him FWIW!!

It could. Hopefully it doesn't.

But isn't that part of all rivalries? They could get ugly, but most of the time it's just great footy.

I can see the Kangas wanting to beat Adelaide to prove a point. I can see Adeliade standing tall beside their new leading forward.

Hmmm. Bring it on!

It could. Hopefully it doesn't.

But isn't that part of all rivalries? They could get ugly, but most of the time it's just great footy.

I can see the Kangas wanting to beat Adelaide to prove a point. I can see Adeliade standing tall beside their new leading forward.

Hmmm. Bring it on!

I reckon both players are too professional to get invloved a fist fight, but if it is in Melbourne, it would be a very very emotional game for us. PLayers and suporters.

I reckon it would fill Colonial.

Originally posted by saiak

The Kangaroos would never fill Colonial...

It wouldn't be North people that would fill the stadium obviously.

I reckon 15 000 neutrals would check this game out.

How many days of holidays left?

I reckon both players are too professional to get invloved a fist fight, but if it is in Melbourne, it would be a very very emotional game for us. PLayers and suporters.

I reckon it would fill Colonial.

Yeah, could actually see some of the younger ones letting it all get to them and stepping over the line. From both teams.

Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
One thin I noticed when Essendon were dominant in 2000, each week they seemed to be up against a major rival, "traditional" or otherwise. In fact, it was almost as if Sheeds had designed it that way ...
Definately.:D Sheeds is a great marketing guru, he can turn any non-event game into a major rivalry that everyone has to come out and watch. And any interstate supporter will note a sense of excitement when the Bombers are coming to town.

Ess v Swans = 96 Prelim
Having lived in Sydney for many years, this is one of my favourite rivalries. And we've had some classic games, this being just one of them.
The Swans haven't beaten Essendon since 1997, but they've come close a few times. It took a goal from Cess with a few seconds to go to beat them at Docklands last year; and Ricky Mott to miss a sitter for us to hold on at the first Stade de Oz game.
And there's plenty of Essendon fans in Sydney, so the Bombers will always have a vocal presence when the teams play off up here. It's always the biggest crowd, and the Swans fans usually make more of an effort to turn up and make some noise when they're playing Essendon.
Sydney v Essendon was the obvious choice for the first game at Stade de Oz, and the crowd that turned up in dodgy weather with the Swans rumoured to be in crisis was similar to the NRL State of Oregon game that was on during the week.

I'll go anywhere for an Essendon v Sydney game. And I'd love it if Matty Lloyd could kick 13 again.:D :D :D

Originally posted by carlyp

What about the final where we beat you by about 11 goals? :)

And if that was an 'attack' on Gardiner Im not here. He was pushed for a minute. He didn't fall to the ground. He didn't get physically hurt. How the Dogs got in trouble for that remains the most pathetic and weak tribunal decision of all time.

And the Eagles sooking about Libba was equally pathetic. You'll notice none of these terrible incidents resulted in a suspension for any Dogs player, the Eagles just got their panties in a bunch a couple of times, possibly cos Malthouse is sore with the club

Originally posted by LionsForever
Okay im kinda stuck here. I've been thinking about the team rivals.. I know a few, a bit of help would be great.

Essendon and Brisbane
Carlton and Collingwood
Port Adelaide and Adelaide
Fremantle and West Coast

Nah the Essendon-Brisbane Lions 'rivalry' is only a recent thing.

The Brisbane Lions-Kangaroos rivalry however is often under stated, not just from a Brisbane Lions perspective, but also Fitzroy and the Brisbane Bears. In fact Fitzroy and North Melbourne had a very close head-to-head record since 1925, whilst the Bears won thier first ever VFL/AFL match in Round 1, 1987 against North Melbourne at the MCG, whilst there's been many a close encounter between the Lions and the Kangaroos in recent times, ie. 1999 Prelim Final, 2000-01 H&A matches at Colonial, and this year in Round 12.

Rivalries