Rivalry Round

Fraser Scribe

Unfortunately, the bike was derailed by a seat malfunction of Martin Vinnocombe like proportions, which saw me riding the 20ks out of the saddle, BMX Bandits style. However, it was most gratifying to come up trumps in the battle of AF scribes, though I hear T Brain and P Williamson had below par runs.

Best

JGH

Hornbag,

Methinks there could be a Scribes Triathlon Rivalry in the making here big guy.

I confess, my training to this point has been rather lax due to recent nuptuals, honeymoons, debilitating bone grafts, etc.

However, come Race #3 at Sandringham on 13/1/08, I will own you - provided you fix that bike seat and step up to the Olympic Distance. ;)

After that, we move on to Geelong for the 1/2 Ironman, and THEN the big showdown with Harps on 5/4/2008 for the final practice match before VAFA 2008 kicks off.

Happy cycling. :thumbsu:

Frase

....and all the best to you for the year Bloods (except against the Reds of course). I suppose I was wearing my "Heritage" hat rather than my "Rivalry" hat when i posted that.

The Heritage flavour is definitely there in the Roys Vs South game but plenty of Districts boys still remember the 20+ goal belting the Reds handed out in the early 2000's while on their climb through the grades, also the memory of big Pudzy in the South goal square still sends a shiver through the spine of many Fitzroy backmen I hear. Plenty there for a rivalry to reignite, not to mention the sledging between the two reserve coaches that will be a highlight of the Big Footy boards through out season 2008.

Scribe, don't burn yourself out over the summer with all this triathalon business, I don't want any excuses come the 5th of April buddy.

Hornbag,

Methinks there could be a Scribes Triathlon Rivalry in the making here big guy.

I confess, my training to this point has been rather lax due to recent nuptuals, honeymoons, debilitating bone grafts, etc.

However, come Race #3 at Sandringham on 13/1/08, I will own you - provided you fix that bike seat and step up to the Olympic Distance. ;)

After that, we move on to Geelong for the 1/2 Ironman, and THEN the big showdown with Harps on 5/4/2008 for the final practice match before VAFA 2008 kicks off.

Happy cycling. :thumbsu:

Frase

Actually old son, Sandy wasn't on my radar (tucked in between Pier To Pub and Portsea) but I may re-eveluate that now. I will accept your more than reasonable excuses and write off your loss to a FIRST TIMER as a mere blip.

To all you guys reading this, especially Jason Cave, apologies for digressing.

I reckon the Beaumaris "Premiers 98" hats & t-shirts must be a collectors item by now. It's a perfect example of how not to get too confident ahead of the biggest game of the year. Home & away games yes, but never a grand final. That 1998 C Section Grand Final also saw, in my opinion and anyone else who was there that day, one of the WORST umpiring displays I've seen in any grand final in any league around Australia. Why Graham Thwaites & Martin Jackson were given the C Section Grand Final ahead of better performed umpires still amazes me to this day. While Jackson did OK, Thwaites had a shocker making several glaring errors. Even the Channel 31 commentary team were very critical about the the umpiring, with chief commentator Brad Beitzel predicting that they wouldn't be there to do the B & A Section Grand Finals.

Ha, Marty Jackson. I'll never forget that man.
Together with Peter Gersch, he turned in the worst umpiring performance in the history of the VAFA which cost us a finals spot 11 years ago with their strutting, whistle blowing, show boating imbecility. Scotch kicked 7 goals to zip in a quarter and I reckon the free kick count was 50-0. Just to cap off a great display, he awarded a free kick after the siren to Rohan Plugger Orgard, which he duly slotted home to win by a point.

Marty Jackson = scumbag and Thwaites was a knob too

As you can see, I've moved on.

I reckon the Beaumaris "Premiers 98" hats & t-shirts must be a collectors item by now. It's a perfect example of how not to get too confident ahead of the biggest game of the year. Home & away games yes, but never a grand final. That 1998 C Section Grand Final also saw, in my opinion and anyone else who was there that day, one of the WORST umpiring displays I've seen in any grand final in any league around Australia. Why Graham Thwaites & Martin Jackson were given the C Section Grand Final ahead of better performed umpires still amazes me to this day. While Jackson did OK, Thwaites had a shocker making several glaring errors. Even the Channel 31 commentary team were very critical about the the umpiring, with chief commentator Brad Beitzel predicting that they wouldn't be there to do the B & A Section Grand Finals.

Go easy on Thwaitesy. He along with Geoff Ridd are some of the better umpires. Worst display of umpiring I have seen was by that Tool Jason McNiece - He decided he would come in a threaten the the Banyule coach before the 2004 d1 grand final v uni blacks. The bloke is unstable and should never umpire again.

i must agree, McNeice is a tool. He struts around like a peacock, and he apparently is the most important man on the field. He seems to forget that he is merely the umpire, and takes centre stage every time i have seen him. His ability to exert his influence over a game in the worst possible way is known all through the amateurs, and i dont know of many who are happy when they see his name on the game day roster at their game.

i am sure he oils up before he runs out so he stands out to the crowd.

i must agree, McNeice is a tool. He struts around like a peacock, and he apparently is the most important man on the field. He seems to forget that he is merely the umpire, and takes centre stage every time i have seen him. His ability to exert his influence over a game in the worst possible way is known all through the amateurs, and i dont know of many who are happy when they see his name on the game day roster at their game.

i am sure he oils up before he runs out so he stands out to the crowd.

He was kicked out of the ammos and went to Southern League. Just read on their forum that he has also been kicked out of there. What a guy????

Even the Channel 31 commentary team were very critical about the the umpiring, with chief commentator Brad Beitzel predicting that they wouldn't be there to do the B & A Section Grand Finals.

Great prediction, given that the GF umpiring appointments are done on a ranking basis - umps only get one senior GF, determined by their place in the pecking order / food chain.

The other comments should be printed out and put on the VAFAUA rooms noticeboard in time for their BBQ tomorrow night, just for a stir!

Ha, Marty Jackson. I'll never forget that man.
Together with Peter Gersch, he turned in the worst umpiring performance in the history of the VAFA which cost us a finals spot 11 years ago with their strutting, whistle blowing, show boating imbecility. Scotch kicked 7 goals to zip in a quarter and I reckon the free kick count was 50-0. Just to cap off a great display, he awarded a free kick after the siren to Rohan Plugger Orgard, which he duly slotted home to win by a point.

Marty Jackson = scumbag and Thwaites was a knob too

As you can see, I've moved on.

Lemme guess, Aujard's direct opponent that day?

Tim Silvers - err, no
Ben Corin - nup, try again
Oh, I get it now!!!

The only umpire that stands out in my mind, would have to be "Frank" from school days in the APS.. I forget his last name and not sure if he is still running around, but he is unforgettable..
He was 4ft8, could do 100 pushups in 60 seconds, ripped like a staffy and wore this horrid rug on his head.. He also must have shopped for his umpires outfit in the Under8's section as his whole kit looked sprayed on..

There was a rumour that one lad back in the day (early 90's?) from MGS was unhappy with one of his decisions he made in a school game so subsequently pulled franky's wig off his head, I believe the kid was seeing stars soon after... not sure how true this could be, but if you knew him you'd love nothing more than to rip his wig off.. he was a w***er..

Does anyone remember this bloke???

What do people think about the games that have been selected for the Round 5 Rivalry Round?

A Section
Old Xavs vs Uni Blacks

B Section
Old Essendon vs St Bernards

Firstly great to see Old Essedon and Bernards get to play their grudge match next year. Would have thought the biggest A section rivalry next year will take place between the two Uni teams. Thoughts....

If there's one thing that still amazes me about '98, it's how Martin Jackson got to do the C Section Grand Final despite doing the State of Origin game earlier that year in Adelaide. In the old days, the two umpires who were selected to do a state game (A/B & C-D4) would be first cab off the rank to do the A Section Grand Final. Well, in '98 Steve McCarthy and Martin Jackson were selected to do the state matches and while McCarthy got the nod to do the A Section Grand Final, for some strange reason best known to the VAFAUA selectors, they chose ex-AFL umpire James Van Beek to partner McCarthy, while Martin Jackson ended up doing C Section. Why the VAFAUA decided not to go with the umpire (Jackson) who did the senior state game, and pick someone else still has me bewildered. Did the VAFAUA promise Van Beek the A Section Grand Final before the season started, ahead of better credentialled umpires like Mark Gibson & Wayne Hinton?

The only umpire that stands out in my mind, would have to be "Frank" from school days in the APS.. I forget his last name and not sure if he is still running around, but he is unforgettable..
He was 4ft8, could do 100 pushups in 60 seconds, ripped like a staffy and wore this horrid rug on his head.. He also must have shopped for his umpires outfit in the Under8's section as his whole kit looked sprayed on..

There was a rumour that one lad back in the day (early 90's?) from MGS was unhappy with one of his decisions he made in a school game so subsequently pulled franky's wig off his head, I believe the kid was seeing stars soon after... not sure how true this could be, but if you knew him you'd love nothing more than to rip his wig off.. he was a w***er..

I want to say a big shout out to the umpire of the Essendon Grammar vs. Yarra Valley Grammar game in the final AGSV round, August 1999.

YV playing for their first ever AGS flag. The umpire, a graduate of Assumption College (i use the term 'graduate' loosely) decided that he wanted to disgrace arch rivals Essendon Grammar by allowing Yarra Valley, with Bogan Clokes Jason & Cameron in toe, to win the game and premiership.

Essendon up by 6 goals with 10 mins to go, this umpire turned, paying free kicks against Essendon at will, a free kick against an Essendon player for running too far, even though he grabbed the ball and snapped around the corner in 2 steps was a highlight. A great call. Deliberate out of bounds for a defender spoiling a mark was another great one.

Essendon Grammar held on by 3 points in a classic. Essendon players, supporters and parents chased the umpire off the field in amazing but justified scenes. The Yarra coach expressed his own concern at the umpire's intentions (even though they were in his favour) over a party pie in the social rooms after the game.

One of the poorer displays of officialdom I have ever seen. Perhaps Father Feelgood at Assumption College got the better of his judgement in a pre-match "pep-talk".........

He was kicked out of the ammos and went to Southern League. Just read on their forum that he has also been kicked out of there. What a guy????

So you all know.. he didnt get kicked out of the ammo's for being a bad umpire there was a lot more to it then that.. i recall he might of hit a female umpire.. at a presentation night???

Never said he got kicked out for poor umpiring!!

Lemme guess, Aujard's direct opponent that day?

Tim Silvers - err, no
Ben Corin - nup, try again
Oh, I get it now!!!

Incorrect Fscribe. Big Rohan was playing in the ruck and was given the free on the siren due to the fact that "we had two players in the ruck".
Marty Jackson costs us a finals spot. Xavs won flag in a very even year after being about 1-9 at one stage.
i've gotta move on.

Yeah I remember Frank!! What an agry little pocket rocket he was. We were down at Geelong College one day and I reckon he ate about 30 party pies during the speeches after the game. Then we saw him, as he was driving off, plough his car straight into a medium sized tree, which he flattened. He's got out, planted the tree back in, hurled some abuse at all nearby and driven off at about 100 miles an hour.
He used to really ham it up on the Friday games when all the students were watching. One day, as we ran out after half time, he was in the middle of the oval, chatting up about 10 Carey chicks. He was about 80 at the time. Great days.

Yeah I remember Frank!! What an agry little pocket rocket he was. We were down at Geelong College one day and I reckon he ate about 30 party pies during the speeches after the game. Then we saw him, as he was driving off, plough his car straight into a medium sized tree, which he flattened. He's got out, planted the tree back in, hurled some abuse at all nearby and driven off at about 100 miles an hour.
He used to really ham it up on the Friday games when all the students were watching. One day, as we ran out after half time, he was in the middle of the oval, chatting up about 10 Carey chicks. He was about 80 at the time. Great days.

Yes quite a few people have recollections of little Franky Virgona. Not just for the fact he used to oil up before games, wear his super tight eighties umpy kit or butcher a game for both sides playing. But for one umpiring technique of abusing anyone who disputed any of his decisions on and off the field. He had been known to quite literally stop the game to get stuck into someone watching on the sidelines. Classic Frank in full flight.

Frank Virgona? He wouldn't be the umpire that paid a crucial free kick against Phil Cleary's Coburg in the 1980 VFA Grand Final against Port Melbourne that saw Port end up winning the game by a few points, was it?

In fact, mention the name 'Frank Virgona' out at Coburg, and almost immediately horrid memories of the 1980 VFA Grand Final would come flooding back. It's the one of two grand finals they probably don't want to mention about at Coburg (the other was in 1986 when Coburg's Phil Cleary was sent off by umpire Jeff Ryan yet got off at the tribunal because of inconclusive video evidence. Coburg lost to Williamstown captain-coached by Terry Wheeler).