pivotonians
Lets say that either Simpson doesn't get over his back injury or the Big O just doesn't cut it, is he worth a look at the end of the year? Not a great ruckman but decent enough who is starved of opportunity at Carlton and relatively young. Is out of contract and would be relatively cheap.

I think we need to wait till the end of the year.
If both Dawson and Vardy get over their injuries we should try to draft best possible yound ruckman for the future.
If one or both don't get up then we need to do whatever it takes to get a ready made ruckman to fill our stocks!

Only if Dawson doesn't make a successfull comeback. They are similar players but Dawson is more mobile.

I think we need to wait till the end of the year.
If both Dawson and Vardy get over their injuries we should try to draft best possible yound ruckman for the future.
If one or both don't get up then we need to do whatever it takes to get a ready made ruckman to fill our stocks!

Isn't Hamling a project ruckman? I could be mistaken..

Is being played as KPB in the Vfl, very skinny but does have a huge leap.
Would be a relief ruckman in the future at best.
We need a big strong ruckman ala Ottens/Dawson.

Griffen from Fremantle is the ruckman that i'd most like in a Cats jumper.

I really rate him as a ruckman both in tapwork and ability around the ground.
With the dockers having both Sandilands and Clarke on their list, the probability of him being a regular senior player for the Dockers are slim.

Geelong need a quality ruckman and Griffen fits the bill.

I think Vardy will be ok as for Dawson he could come back and be a very good foil for Westy though If that doesn't happen Griffen looks the goods and being 3rd ruck @ Freo I think will help Geelong make a play for him - is he out of contract ?

2nd or 3rd Round Pick should get the job done...I hope

as for Dawson he could come back and be a very good foil for Westy

Dawson ain't no slouch....we got him at pick 34 in the 07 draft and can't remember correctly but am pretty sure another club was gonna get him first.

If he gets fit and is over his back issues, he's going to be a much better ruckman than Vardy.

Dawson turned 23 a few months ago and in ruck terms...he still developing but he will get his chance before the year is over.
There's absolutely no worries about whether he can play or not, he's good enough to become an A-grade ruck but all comes down to health & unfortunately, he's going to be tested.

Dawson ain't no slouch....we got him at pick 34 in the 07 draft and can't remember correctly but am pretty sure another club was gonna get him first.

If he gets fit and is over his back issues, he's going to be a much better ruckman than Vardy.

Dawson turned 23 a few months ago and in ruck terms...he still developing but he will get his chance before the year is over.
There's absolutely no worries about whether he can play or not, he's good enough to become an A-grade ruck but all comes down to health & unfortunately, he's going to be tested.

Agreed. For a bloke whose first 2 AFL games he came up against Sandilands and Cox - AND was more than serviceable.

Rekon this bloke will be a player.

In Wells We Trust..

I'd rather push for Seaby, if we're talking "not-great-ruckmen".
I'd rate him higher than 'not great'. He's a giant whose best footy is in front of him and whose progress has been curtailed by injury. So he's definitely worth a look should the need arise.

That said, I know Carlton went to quite some trouble to get him and still rate him. So they'll do their level best to retain him I'd say.

Griffen was flogged the last game I watched. Offers nought. Orren is streets ahead of him.

I first saw Simpson live in a VFL curtain raiser when many on this board were bagging him. I went early to see for myself.

Well he was up against Carltons new recruit Warnock and Cloke the lesser. I left convinced Simpson was already well ahead of Warnock and that was 3 years ago and Dawson has improved greatly since.

Warnock was the quintessential dinosaur. Would have had to improve heaps in the last 3 years to be of any interest.

We have a lot riding on Simpson but if he hits trouble again we stick with Orren or go after a free agent while drafting another kid.

Is this the same guy who missed a goal from 5 meters against Geelong last year?

I'd prefer a Tom Bellchambers or Todd Goldstein

Griffen was flogged the last game I watched. Offers nought. Orren is streets ahead of him.

Really! I must be a terrible judge of ruck potential.:rolleyes:

Thats just my opinion of course and Griffen may have been off his game.
He was up against Kreuzer and Hampson (not bad!)but he couldn't impose himself at all - lacks aggression imo.

Thats just my opinion of course and Griffen may have been off his game.
He was up against Kreuzer and Hampson (not bad!)but he couldn't impose himself at all - lacks aggression imo.

I actually thought Griffen beat both Hampson and Kreuzer when he was opposed to both, not only in the ruck but around the ground.

He tackles well for a ruckman and get's down and dirty, as his 6 tackles suggest.

The interesting part about football is how supporters view matches and players in a different light.

Firstly , lets just wait and see how the year gos. West give the indication of being good enough to hold the ruck up.

So if he can , the last thing we need is another good ordinary ruckman. If we need to add a ruckman to the list , we need to either draft or recruit someone capable of being elite. There will be plenty of tall players looking for a ruck role , some probably better than good ordinary.

Firstly , lets just wait and see how the year gos. West give the indication of being good enough to hold the ruck up.

So if he can , the last thing we need is another good ordinary ruckman. If we need to add a ruckman to the list , we need to either draft or recruit someone capable of being elite. There will be plenty of tall players looking for a ruck role , some probably better than good ordinary.
He's better than good ordinary. There were games last year when he gave it to the Blues midfield on a platter. His tap work when he's on song is better than most going around. His follow-up work is good and he takes a strong grab IMO

That said, if Vards and Dawson come-up there's no call for him.