5 Year Itch

Apr 12, 2012
Princes Hill
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Switching over to Fox Footy 10 or so minutes before the start of the game ended up catching the last 10 minutes of Before The Bounce hosted by our good mates Gerard and Robbo, Robbo off the cuff smirked and said " I was at the Dreamtime Game last week and the crime rate in Richmond on Saturday Night soared", I for one found that a very distasteful comment and it threw eggs on our faces, I dunno, am I being a lil' whingey bitch or are comments as those perpetuating the whole "Richmond/Spitting On Coach/Chicken Manure/Back Stabbie" myth?

if my memory serves me correctly that guy that spat on the coach (spud Frawley?) was from Brisbane and wasn't even a Richmond supporter

Edit: not being a richmond supporter i'm very unsure about but being from Brisbane i'm almost certain of.

To be fair it was a pre-amble on how dedicated Tigga Fans are after 30 years of blah blah blah, but in the context of the whole situation it was a bit........well wrong, the one hand was saying "Well Tigers Fans are awesome because come rain shine or 2000 goal shellackings they'll be there" all the while the other hand was gleefully fisting with a barbed wire glove

if my memory serves me correctly that guy that spat on the coach (spud Frawley?) was from Brisbane and wasn't even a Richmond supporter

That's my point, media/opposition jump at the opportunity to point shit like that out and trumpet to the whole free world "Yeah feral Richmond Supporters" therefore perpetuating, as in Robbo tonight the whole myth of Tigers supporters as scum and a laughing stock

Robbo hasn't seen his penis for 30 years the fat ****. Who cares what he thinks. He's a media whore, and when we continue on what we are doing as a club, he'll be back slapping us as well.

Going the same way as Hutchy

These guys can be good if they can get the inside story and be gutsy enough to put it out there.

But they all want to be TV personalities and think that being funny is the way to doing that.

Hutchy got the sack from 3AW because he stopped getting scoops that amounted to anything and thought he could be a pre game comedian. Had me switching off.

Robbo has probably read the thread where w***ers seem to hold him up as a cult hero and is trying to live up to it.

Fair enough mate. Sorry.
The same joke gets bandied around when Collignwood plays. I wouldn't get too precious about it. We are pretty feral.
Haha, yeah 30 years of supporting a team who came to accept mediocrity and "good enough" :mad:, I get bristly when people mention Collingwood supporters as the most one-eyed loyal bunch :p, and I'm not trying to be a bitch but the tone of how he laughed and mentioned it was along the lines of say......... the French aristocracy in regards to the rebelling plebs. One upside is we're flying under the radar :thumbsu:

Was just a little cheap shot. Also Gerard Whateley is a massive flog also. Always playing up Richmond sterotypes.

Were flying under the radar collecting scalps along the way, all the while media whores keep discounting and demeaning the Tiges till.............. :D

I'm yet to hear Robbo articulate an intelligent thought. His writing is marginally better than his TV/Radio work and perhaps he should stick to it, because the latter is embarrassing.

PMSL at the OP. Robbo has been backing us for about 4 or 5 weeks about how we are on the rise. The crime rate banter/joke with him and Weatley was very funny.

And Hutchy has been on the Tiggie train ALL YEAR, he as yet to have a bad word about us. After our narrow loss to the Cats he said to "hold on as the next 8 weeks will be an awesome ride" so far he is spot on.

PMSL at the OP. Robbo has been backing us for about 4 or 5 weeks about how we are on the rise. The crime rate banter/joke with him and Weatley was very funny.

And Hutchy has been on the Tiggie train ALL YEAR, he as yet to have a bad word about us. After our narrow loss to the Cats he said to "hold on as the next 8 weeks will be an awesome ride" so far he is spot on.

Fair enough, I may have taken light hearted banter a wee bit seriously, but reaching it WAY out there, I feel that light hearted banter such as this was maybe not so, disguised as deep disdain wrapped up in injokes and frivolity.
But after 30 odd years of shitness there is light at the end, WE all see it, media hacks I think do not, anyway I prefer being seen as the perrenial basket case of the competition it will just surprise everyone :thumbsu:

Robbo's "Comment"