Bluez

Northern Bullants
Congratulations to St Kilda and especially Robert Harvey on 350 fantastic games.
Has there ever been a more consistant midfielder than this bloke? imo i dont think there has. Harvey is a credit to the game and his club.
A true champion.

Had a good game too...coming out of injury 30 possessions and probably in the best half dozen on the paddock in his 350th.

One of the great footy moments for the season.

Great on the radio almost makes me wish I was able to watch it on...<no I wont, I wont, I wont you cant make me pay you to see it>

Rapt for the bloke. The word CHAMPION is used too freely these days.
Robert Harvey is a champion both on and off the field and I have nothing but respect for him. Well done Champ!!

Congratulations to St Kilda and especially Robert Harvey on 350 fantastic games.
Has there ever been a more consistant midfielder than this bloke? imo i dont think there has. Harvey is a credit to the game and his club.
A true champion.

Gotta agree, don't usually like many other opposition players but Harvey is a legend. Met him at the races once (quiet day at flemington) bloody great bloke.

I think he holds the record for polling Brownlow votes in consecutive seasons - 18.

Worthy of AFL Legend status.

I keep telling myself that Carey is (just) ahead of him for the concern that bias will affect my ability to decide on the best player of the modern era over a prolonged period of time...

...I'll have to repeat that line extra hard and furious Ken Bruce-style after watching Harvey do it all over again today, one week after coming back from a hamstring injury.

Freak. Freak. Freak. What a player - words don't do him justice.

Surely All-Australian is on the cards.

Along with Chris Grant and Glen Archer, Harvey is easily my favourite player never to wear the black & white - genuine great of the game.

All 3 supported the pies before being drafted, so that must be what makes them such champions :thumbsu:

When he debuted, I was in high school - year 7 in fact. I never even thought he'd be still going when I hit my 30's and beyond.

CHAMPION.
You were even in school when he debuted? Man you're old ;) :p

I actually thought we should have rested him this week because we weren't going to win and I'd prefer to see his 350th in Melbourne. Oops :o

Well, I had the feeling we were going to lose today and I've been ill for weeks - but there was no way I was going to miss Harvey's 350th. I don't care who else stands and claps, but I was there at the start and there at the end in my Eagles top and cheering loudly a true champion of the game.

Harvey is a player that's impossible to hate (if you're a rational follower of the game). The man has been playing for 20 years and is still one of the best players on his team. He runs harder than most and if he's knocked down he gets back up and just keeps running.

He doesn't start fights or resort to dirty tactics to stop his opposition. If a free is paid against him he doesn't stand and carry on like a porkchop because he knows he's just wasting his energy. He stands the mark, and then keeps running.

If and when his career ever ends (pity the day it happens), he can rest assured that he's one of the very best there ever was. And when his time comes for Hall of Fame induction, my personal hope is that he's elevated straight to 'Legend' status. Not because he was the flashiest player to ever play the game, or kicked the most goals, or took the most marks or played in the most flags.

Make him a legend because he's absolutely everything that a footballer should be - fit, strong and - above all - fair. And in a period where any footballer is labelled a 'role model' because they simply lace up their boots and walk out on the grass, Robert Harvey should be the ultimate role model for so many more. Not just the kids watching the tv (who probably focus their attention on far less deserving players), but for the other players out on the ground.

Kinda not so disappointed that we lost today - doing so enabled the Saints to pay the ultimate tribute to a man who has lived his adult life bleeding for his team.

Well done Harvs. Long may you run.

Well, I had the feeling we were going to lose today and I've been ill for weeks - but there was no way I was going to miss Harvey's 350th. I don't care who else stands and claps, but I was there at the start and there at the end in my Eagles top and cheering loudly a true champion of the game.

Harvey is a player that's impossible to hate (if you're a rational follower of the game). The man has been playing for 20 years and is still one of the best players on his team. He runs harder than most and if he's knocked down he gets back up and just keeps running.

He doesn't start fights or resort to dirty tactics to stop his opposition. If a free is paid against him he doesn't stand and carry on like a porkchop because he knows he's just wasting his energy. He stands the mark, and then keeps running.

If and when his career ever ends (pity the day it happens), he can rest assured that he's one of the very best there ever was. And when his time comes for Hall of Fame induction, my personal hope is that he's elevated straight to 'Legend' status. Not because he was the flashiest player to ever play the game, or kicked the most goals, or took the most marks or played in the most flags.

Make him a legend because he's absolutely everything that a footballer should be - fit, strong and - above all - fair. And in a period where any footballer is labelled a 'role model' because they simply lace up their boots and walk out on the grass, Robert Harvey should be the ultimate role model for so many more. Not just the kids watching the tv (who probably focus their attention on far less deserving players), but for the other players out on the ground.

Kinda not so disappointed that we lost today - doing so enabled the Saints to pay the ultimate tribute to a man who has lived his adult life bleeding for his team.

Well said mate. One of the best posts I have read on Big Footy..

I'll second that motion

You were even in school when he debuted? Man you're old ;) :p

I actually thought we should have rested him this week because we weren't going to win and I'd prefer to see his 350th in Melbourne. Oops :o

Well hopefully the game against the Tigers this Saturday night, the tributes will continue. They should at least.

I reckon I've seen about 280 of his games in person, and I couldnt have said it better myself.

Top post. :thumbsu:

I reckon I've seen about 280 of his games in person, and I couldnt have said it better myself.

Top post. :thumbsu:

I just freakin' love the guy. I mean the guy gets up and wins a Brownlow Medal and the first thing he talks about is that it was a hollow victory, meaning it shouldn't have been his.

Regardless of your opinions on the whole Chris Grant/1997 Brownlow controversy - if there was a player in the late 90s who deserved to be honoured as the "fairest and best" player in the league more than Robert Harvey, I don't know what the world would've come to.

Add his loyalty to my list of things I admire about him. When other players left the Saints, Harvey stayed. When they kept on losing games despite his best efforts, Harvey stayed. When other clubs threw massive amounts of money at him - Harvey stayed.

In a time when money seems to be the driving force behind every important decision in the game - it's the loyalty of blokes like Robert Harvey that flies under the radar.

I could watch him every day of the year and still marvel at how good he is. If it weren't for the big full-forward that he used to kick the ball to every week, he'd be easily the greatest player I've ever seen.

In fact, today he conceded his first free kick for the year - testament to how fair he is despite going in hard.

Brilliant post, couldn't agree more. :thumbsu: