ant22

Oct 14, 2005
gisborne
pies
Was anybody else dissapointed in Roccas actions when he took the mark yesterday. For a guy who Malthouse constantly talks up as a great leader his response in showing the ump the ball was very childish. I was kind of hoping the ump blow player on and he stuffed it up(the game was in the bag by this stage) . Sure the earlier decision to reverse the kick was a shocker but you need to get on with it.
To make things worse I have Didak in my dream team and he cost me 9 points and I am in a very close battle this week and it could come down to a few points.

I also reckon its time for Didak and Holland to tone down their antics when going for a free. The umps are on to it and Didak in particular is getting nothing. He missed out on 2 or 3 yesterday and I reckon it is because they know he stages. Kind of like the boy who cried wolf. I love these 2 players but diving(in particular Didak) is a little embarrasing. Maybe its because he has a bit of a soccer background but it needs to stop IMO.

two games in a row now for ant

against freo he mockingly clapped at an umpire after getting a free for chopping the arm

not good enough from a supposed leader of the club, especially when he had an absolute shocker

doppleganger said:
two games in a row now for ant

against freo he mockingly clapped at an umpire after getting a free for chopping the arm

not good enough from a supposed leader of the club, especially when he had an absolute shocker

Totally agree, I'm not for sanitizing the game totally...but that was childish. Just go back and take your kick mate, they were very rare for you all day.

Didn’t bother me. I like an agro Ant and I can’t believe the outcry over something like that from the soft commentators these days. They work so hard at being PC. What did bother me was that he was in such poor form. He has prgressively got worse over a month or so. His timing was completely out and he couldn’t hold a mark. We need to get his confidence back this week so he can make an impact at AAMI the following week or things could get ugly.

Lockyer24 said:
I disagree. The reversal was an absolute disgrace and that was the reason he was so upset
Correct and frankly I wish Anthony had shoved the ball up the umpire’s clacker.
(Obviously that can’t really happen).

The reversal was an absolute shocker , but I thought Anthonys response was poor , very poor from a leader at the club . This is the role model that you want your younger players to follow and I would be very dissapointed to see Pendlebury or Thomas etc doing that type of thing .

The umpire should have called play on in my opinion.

If Rocca was as ill disciplined as some have claimed he would have given away a 50m penalty when the previous reversal was paid. As for setting examples, hopefully we have kids with some brains as opposed to sheep but regardless there are plenty of role models at Collingwood. I don’t mind a bit of fire anyway.

The play on call is an interesting one. I though the umpire signalled time on in which case you can’t play on unless the umpire then first signals the clock has restarted. Egan had a goal disallowed for something similar.

I was at the game and I laughed my head off. It meant nothing to the score and emotions got the the best of him. Enough said. The umpire no doubt was probably taken back a little hence not calling play on. Oh how I'd lve to hear what was said at both this point and the previous reversal of the fifty for a free kick.

MarkT said:
If Rocca was as ill disciplined as some have claimed he would have given away a 50m penalty when the previous reversal was paid. As for setting examples, hopefully we have kids with some brains as opposed to sheep but regardless there are plenty of role models at Collingwood. I don’t mind a bit of fire anyway.

The play on call is an interesting one. I though the umpire signalled time on in which case you can’t play on unless the umpire then first signals the clock has restarted. Egan had a goal disallowed for something similar.

I took it to be that time on was called but still a poor example for mine . Isn't that part of the reason they have leadership groups in the first place?
He wouldn't have appreciated something similar from the umpire regarding his lack of touch I'm sure .

Anyway , small grievances in the scheme of things , I hope he can get a bit of touch back for the rest of the year.

One word - Fustration!!!!!! I thought it was great as the crowd had a giggle..........I was still laughing over the reserve decsion which I must say would have to be the worst decsion I have seen in 2006 :mad: Our seats where next to Mick Malthouse I looked at his reaction and even he was laughing.....:D ........Anyway Anth will come good.......Mr Dawson & Hawthorn backline wont be sleeping that well this week......:thumbsu:

Emotions of he moment got to him, and it wasnt a bad response. People are saying he shouldnt do that unless hes playing a good game. Its more of the opposite. He is having a shocker, and the umpire does something stupid by reversing it (Rocca stood his ground as the WCE player jogged into him as if hes invisible) and because hes having a bad game he didnt need that short of **** so the next possession he did something to prove his point. Well done Pebbles. Hopefully the form slump is over, we need him firing against Adelaide. I have faith in the boys giving one hell of a contest in AAMI that'll shock the AFL...or I may be kidding myself lol

MarkT said:
I don’t mind a bit of fire anyway.

Nor me...love it. Would love our players to be more aggressive...

But at the umpires? ridiculous and pointless. If Anthony cant get the footy, he's gotta go bust up some packs or push a few blokes around, smack one with a big hip and shoulder. But to show the ball to the umpire like that...he just looked a bit silly.

He's always been prone to doing stupid things. I'd prefer him to be kicking goals and using his body to create fear in a marking contest.

If that was an opposition player who acted like Rocca then you would all be calling him a w4nker and a d1ckhead.

Open the other eye peoples (I know, not going to happen).

GeneralDisarray said:
He's always been prone to doing stupid things. I'd prefer him to be kicking goals and using his body to create fear in a marking contest.

If that was an opposition player who acted like Rocca then you would all be calling him a w4nker and a d1ckhead.

Finally somebody who agrees with me.

Even though the Didak turnover was a bit harsh, there was absolutely no reason for Rocca to put himself in that situation in the first place. His opponent was running towards the mark and Rocca decided to make some sort or ridiculous statement by getting in his way. He's supposed to be a leader out there and his free kick was a bit foolish (even though the umpire probably over-reacted). The behaviour a few minutes later waving the ball in the umpires face was beneath the minimum standards required of a leader of the club.

Grow up, Ant, and get a kick.

GeneralDisarray said:

Timmy from Thomastown said:
Finally somebody who agrees with me.

Even though the Didak turnover was a bit harsh, there was absolutely no reason for Rocca to put himself in that situation in the first place. His opponent was running towards the mark and Rocca decided to make some sort or ridiculous statement by getting in his way. He's supposed to be a leader out there and his free kick was a bit foolish (even though the umpire probably over-reacted). The behaviour a few minutes later waving the ball in the umpires face was beneath the minimum standards required of a leader of the club.

Grow up, Ant, and get a kick.

What on earth are you people on? Get over it!! Seriously! What Anthony Rocca did was NOTHING, its wrong these days to be emotional in football? He didnt even go over board, I still remember he did it to an opposition player last year, that wasnt a big deal. Every once in a while there is a show pony in the AFL that does it to an opposition player, doesnt mean they are thought of any less or they arent good leaders! This is a pointless issue to discuss because you are asking Rocca to be a fv(king robot!

By the way, he DIDNT get in the way of any Eagles players in the Didak 50, he stood his ground as the d1(khead WCE player tried jogging through him, as per usual, Pebbles stood his ground and didnt move, good on him, he isnt a b1tch like everyone calls him, so he wont move.

Roccas action yesteday