Role reversal

Edit: Sorry, did not spell it out in the OP. I think we should do this after each game. Keep the objectivity going all year.

There has been plenty of angst on these boards about players being bagged mercilessly and on the other side, players being protected species and immune from criticism.

What I would like to do is force people to mix it up a bit.

Name your absolute favourite player(s) and name your traditional whipping boy or a player you just can't seem to warm to.

Then I want posters to find something negative about the game of their favourites AND find something genuinely positive about their least favourite players (i.e not, 'at least they didn't score from his 5th turnover').

It might help us all to look with neutral eyes for a change and possibly find something to be positive or objective about.

Anyone up for this challenge?

To start off I will declare that because of accountability, previous alcohol binges, lack of fitness, I am slightly negatively geared towards Nick Stevens. He would be my prime focus for positive comments after games.

Now that is not to say that on other threads, I can not point out my concerns with him, but for the point of the exercise, in a given thread, I would look harder to sing his praises.

I would also have to find some fault in my more favourite players like Walker, Murphy, Waite, as nobody plays an absolutely perfect game. The might get caught out on the rebound, might give away a stupid free etc etc.

We could just have a separate thread each week .... Round 1 Role Reversal etc etc.

Would love to see wdgann or Terry Wallet take up the challenge of finding something positive in Thornton's game for example, see CP find good in Russell, see the General find fault with Russell more often.

Maybe we could just express interest and have other posters nominate who they want us to be more positive or more negative about. You can change it each week too. If a poster tears strips off a player one week, the whole board might want them to look for positive the next week.

possibly the worst idea ive ever heard
Quality input. If I had a dollar for every time somebody declared a post the worst ever on BF without any sort of analysis, I reckon I'd be doing pretty well.

Some support players unconditionally (as supporters should) but find it hard to accept constructive criticism of that player.

Some bag players constantly and will not accept any positives whatsoever. Perhaps making a point of looking at something through somebody else's eyes will develop perspective on both sides.

Don't stress cookie monster, you are not required to participate or express your displeasure or lack of care factor about what others post either. This is simply an exercise to mix things up, have people analyse the game more without preconceived ideas.

Don't mind the idea ODN.

I'm in.

For my fave I'll nominate young Bryce (although it's gonna take me way outta my comfort zone to pick negatives about his games i reckon).

For my whipping boy I'll take Eddie Betts, coz in general terms i just think he's overrated.

Quality input. If I had a dollar for every time somebody declared a post the worst ever on BF without any sort of analysis, I reckon I'd be doing pretty well.

Some support players unconditionally (as supporters should) but find it hard to accept constructive criticism of that player.

Some bag players constantly and will not accept any positives whatsoever. Perhaps making a point of looking at something through somebody else's eyes will develop perspective on both sides.

Don't stress cookie monster, you are not required to participate or express your displeasure or lack of care factor about what others post either. This is simply an exercise to mix things up, have people analyse the game more without preconceived ideas.

Im for anything that prompts people to critically assess players rather than just slag off.

I have very few grievances with any of our players. The biggest issue for me is the generalisations, sweeping statements and baseless bullshit that some posters will put out without any sort of supporting comment or substantiation.

I'm happy to read and debate any reasonable criticism or well founded opinion, the problem for me is that such posters are pretty few and far between. At times vsiting here is like watching the Footy Show; you know its vaguely related to the game, but lacks relevance, substance and often humour.

A only have a couple of opinions on players that go against the general grain of the board...

Kade Stevens gets pretty easy wraps around here. I think he drifts in and out of games, and doesn't offer a lot in the way of impact. Finishing is suspect at times.

Murphy is a one way player. Great to be an attacking mid, but there is very little defensive side to his game. Less so than Stevens, and we all know who cops the brunt of that argument.

On the other hand I am usually pretty quick to jump to the defense of Stevens, Thornton and Cloke.

There, im outed. I'll try and be more transparent in the future.

I like this idea ODN. Good thinking.

At the end of last year I made a deal with a mate not to get stuck into Jordan Russell this year. For the NAB cup it seemed to work. So this is the right place to put it. Also I will add Adam Hartlett and Setanta to the list (I watch most bullant games so I can still apply this).

My great loves which I will try to look at for improvements are:
Sticks Kernahan:)
Bryce Gibbs
Marc Murphy
Kade Simpson

ok....and Juddy. How do you improve on perfection though:confused:

Im for anything that prompts people to critically assess players rather than just slag off.

I have very few grievances with any of our players. The biggest issue for me is the generalisations, sweeping statements and baseless bullshit that some posters will put out without any sort of supporting comment or substantiation.

I'm happy to read and debate any reasonable criticism or well founded opinion, the problem for me is that such posters are pretty few and far between. At times vsiting here is like watching the Footy Show; you know its vaguely related to the game, but lacks relevance, substance and often humour.

A only have a couple of opinions on players that go against the general grain of the board...

Kade Stevens
gets pretty easy wraps around here. I think he drifts in and out of games, and doesn't offer a lot in the way of impact. Finishing is suspect at times.

Murphy is a one way player. Great to be an attacking mid, but there is very little defensive side to his game. Less so than Stevens, and we all know who cops the brunt of that argument.

On the other hand I am usually pretty quick to jump to the defense of Stevens, Thornton and Cloke.

There, im outed. I'll try and be more transparent in the future.

Finally he gets a right foot!

Ok I think I get the jist of this thread..

I dislike Nick Stevens. IMO he is soft, unaccountable, undisciplined and a terrible example to be setting our kids in regards to training and all of the above.. However, I will concede he is a great kick when not under pressure..

I love Gibbs, Murphy and Hoops.. Gibbs needs to stop tagging though and be let loose, Murphy needs to fix his kicking and Hoops needs to play a bit harder (which apparently the club has told him and he has been doing well in this area over the pre season).

Favorite - Jarrad Waite​

Jarrad can be very laconic and slow at times. He has a habit of looking lazy.
Also, when put under pressure his disposal can be suspect.

Whipping Boy - Ryan Houlihan​

Ryan would have to have close to the best if not the best skills in the team.
He also can be very dangerous in and around the forward line becuase he will hit leading targets but he can also become a handful for oposition defenders, as shown by his 3-goal quarter against Brisbane last year.

Some are there, some not quite. This is not the thread to bag your favourites or support your least favourite. Each week we will do a Role Reversal thread for that round. Those that say they will participate can either nominate their own faves and non faves and do a reverse critique on them OR other posters can call on them to perform either role on a particular player. Just forces us to look for the good the bad and the ugly in all of our players.

By the way, unless a player bags 30 possessions at 100% efficiency and wears their opponent like a glove in the process without giving away a free kick, there is no such thing as perfection.

So again, we will be basing this on actual games played that week, not an overall opinion.

Watch out for the thread after the Tigers game.

Yeah, Kade Stevens...he's the skinny, slightly stocky, left and right footed, dark haired slightly ginger one.
Spent the offseason playing International Rules at a fat farm?

Some are there, some not quite. This is not the thread to bag your favourites or support your least favourite. Each week we will do a Role Reversal thread for that round. Those that say they will participate can either nominate their own faves and non faves and do a reverse critique on them OR other posters can call on them to perform either role on a particular player. Just forces us to look for the good the bad and the ugly in all of our players.

By the way, unless a player bags 30 possessions at 100% efficiency and wears their opponent like a glove in the process without giving away a free kick, there is no such thing as perfection.

So again, we will be basing this on actual games played that week, not an overall opinion.

Watch out for the thread after the Tigers game.

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh:confused:

Nah, I get it ODN. Look forward to the thread after we hopefully beat the Tigers:thumbsu:

Alright ODN Count me in.

Favorite:
Come this Thusday ill be watchig Fev. He would have to be my favorite player to watch when on song.

Least Favorite:
Although I do frequently advocate for him on this forum, JR - im looking at you. Impress me.

Will post observations after the game.

I will chip in each week, here's my list. I think this is what you are after?

I Hate:

1 Andrew Walker
3 Marc Murphy
4 Bryce Gibbs
5 Chris Judd
6 Kade Simpson
7 Adam Bentick
8 Matthew Kreuzer
10 Richard Hadley
11 Robert Warnock
12 Mitch Robinson
13 Chris Yarran
14 Brad Fisher
15 Steven Browne
16 Shaun Grigg
17 Setanta O'hAilpin
18 Paul Bower
19 Eddie Betts
20 Rhys O'Keeffe
21 Mark Austin
22 Shaun Hampson
23 Adam Hartlett
24 Nick Stevens
25 Brendan Fevola
26 Joe Anderson
27 Dennis Armfield
28 Cameron Cloke
29 Heath Scotland
30 Jarrad Waite
31 Jordan Bannister
32 Bret Thornton
33 Ryan Houlihan
34 Simon Wiggins
35 Caleb Tiller
37 Jake Edwards
40 Michael Jamison
44 Andrew Carrazzo
45 Aaron Joseph
46 David Ellard
Chris Johnson
Darren Pfeiffer
Greg Bentley
Jeff Gartlett
Lachie Hill
Luke Stanton
Sam Jacobs

I Love
2 Jordan Russell

I fear this may have the opposite effect to what you had intended ODN...
That's okay, I reserve the right to edit/delete/dictate terms as we go. ;)

Favourite:

Bryce Gibbs - its going to be hard to pick any faults with this boy.

Whipping Boy:

Brad Fisher - I just dont see his value when he is not kicking goals. He goes to ground almost every contest. Il try my hardest to pick some positives out of the game.