South Dragons
courtesy of Bomberblitz here are the results

Apparently Gus lead for most of the race, and Bachar passed him in the last lap

They lapped the Geelong guys, who looked like they weren't even trying. Only five of them raced, for whatever the points system was. Shame more of them didn't turn up, considering it was in the Geelong area and there would have been a few Geelong supporters there

Jetta pulled out after two laps

Apparently Chook was running well, but didn't finish - Jackie doesn't think it was necessarily an injury, just not his race length!

The placings for Essendon (and times for the first five):

Bachar (10m 10.89s)
Gus (10m 13.47s)
Bolts (10m 16.16s)
Stants (10m 26.35s)
MJ (10m 29.78s)
Hislop
McPhee
NLM
Jobe
Ricky
Gumbles
Lloyd/Campo tied
Keps
Lonergan
Davey
Kyle
O'Keefe
Paddy
Lachie
and Scotty

Bachar said that his strength is his endurance, and he's working on his speed and agility

Really like the sounds of Houli, think we may have got ourselves a jem here.

hislop, houli and gumbleton all seem to have good endurance especially houli, looks like our midfeild will now have a few more players which will be able to run out a game nicely and never give up.

courtesy of Bomberblitz here are the results

Really like the sounds of Houli, think we may have got ourselves a jem here.

"rubbing my hands with glee' thinking about basha running down the wing................................:D

breaking through tackles, kicking goals on the run, breaking the lines, taking on the man and winning the ball. now thats not to much to expect from him:D

I tell ya,if we were some other club,there would be 234 posts about how fantastic our draft picks were.
Here at Bomberland we are all trying to keep a lid on it and not expect to much..........but I'm excited about our prospects:D

I tell ya,if we were some other club,there would be 234 posts about how fantastic our draft picks were.
Here at Bomberland we are all trying to keep a lid on it and not expect to much..........but I'm excited about our prospects:D
i cant wait til the NAB cup to catch a glimps of our new draftees, will be great to watch.

I watched the 'race' on Sat. It was a really good spectacle just shame Geelong did not get behind it. The Essendon guys looked like a very tight group and the whole list (incl coaches) were down there.

Houli was very impressive and had a big kick at the bell. Bear in mind however that he had a bit of an advantage as a new recruit in that he is still quite lightly framed. These endurance events are going to be tough on blokes carrying extra muscle bulk (eg Watson, Mark Johnson etc).

Was very impressed with Gumbleton. I watched him closely as we were thought to be a chance to have landed him in the draft. Looked to have very good endurance (placed a lot higher than I would have thought) but at the same time seemed very strongly built for a new draftee. Seems like these high draft pick KPP's are more advanced nowadays. Would expect him to play significant footy in 2007.

1: Who is chook?
2: Anyone else have some "early" concerns over Jettas attitude?
I know it's very early, but was more concerned at what number he was taken in the draft, rather than actually where he was going.
Now he pulls out of the race after 2 laps.
Not enough to condemn him, but i have concerns.

Wrapt with everyone else we picked.

Would appreciate any feedback anyone has on him.

1: Who is chook?
2: Anyone else have some "early" concerns over Jettas attitude?
I know it's very early, but was more concerned at what number he was taken in the draft, rather than actually where he was going.
Now he pulls out of the race after 2 laps.
Not enough to condemn him, but i have concerns.

Wrapt with everyone else we picked.

Would appreciate any feedback anyone has on him.

Chook is Laycock

Jetta from what I have heard is carrying an injury

I've heard these stories about Jetta being unhappy but haven't seen any signs that indicate it. He was the one eager to run the race, and was only allowed to on the condition that he pull out if he got in any difficulty - which apparently he did on the second lap. He still trained yesterday morning, but in the modified group.

In the training sessions I saw last week he was certainly putting the effort in. He was a bit crook on the Wednesday, but still came out and trained.

just a little article summing up the events which happend on that day, dissapointed about geelongs performance.
Bombers claim inaugural Jack Clarke Trophy

Wednesday, 6 December 2006

New Essendon recruit Bachar Houli was the first across the finishing line last Saturday night in the Jack Clarke Trophy - the inaugural 3km match race against the Geelong Football Club held as part of the Ron Clarke Classic. There were 28 Essendon players that faced the starter and all ran very well in front of a crowd of about 2000 at the Corio Athletics Track.
Geelong entered just four players in the event to the displeasure of the local crowd. They finished more than two and a half minutes behind Houli and were jeered by the crowd as they did nothing more than jog around the track.
Essendon players participating included Matthew Lloyd, Scott Lucas and Scott Camporeale participated in the event named in honour of Ron Clarke's brother Jack, who played 263 games for the Bombers.
Join the Fightback … Grab your 2007 membership today.
Other strong performers in the race were Angus Monfries, Mark Bolton and Brent Stanton.

"The players ran really well and I was pleased that they took the event seriously," Essendon high performance manager John Quinn said.
"Bachar has made a really pleasing start since arriving at the Club but the run of Angus Monfries was the one that stood out for me. He hasn't really done a pre-season yet but the early signs are good moving into 2007." With Essendon not playing matches in Geelong, the event gave the club an opportunity to thank its supporters in the area with players taking the time to sign autographs and interact with the crowd.