Rookie list

I'd like to see some new blood in our rookies. If Davidson is retained, I'd consider promoting Harry and giving three fresh kids a go on the rookie list.

hotpie said:
I'd like to see some new blood in our rookies. If Davidson is retained, I'd consider promoting Harry and giving three fresh kids a go on the rookie list.
Perhaps but if this is a weak draft and next years a bumper as some have suggested maybe next year is the year for rookie gold and this year is the year to punt on a talented player who has been hampered by injury and not drafting too late in the draft. I’d be happy enough to rookie both Tom and Brayden Shaw, subject to fitness and attitude and leave Harry on the rookie list. Actuallly, I'd rather list Harry adn drop Fanning and punt on getting him back as a re-rookie. I reckon he's at least 2 years away and even then I doubt he'll make it.

I think we re-rookie Davidson, pick up Barling from Williamstown (if we dont draft him onto our senior list) and pick up another young player. All to join Harry.

I highly doubt we would re draft brayden. And im sure the dees would fancy him more than us. I just hope this doesn't come back to bite us in the a$$. Though, his delisting could also have made way for a future star?

MarkT said:
Perhaps but if this is a weak draft and next years a bumper as some have suggested maybe next year is the year for rookie gold and this year is the year to punt on a talented player who has been hampered by injury and not drafting too late in the draft. I’d be happy enough to rookie both Tom and Brayden Shaw, subject to fitness and attitude and leave Harry on the rookie list. Actuallly, I'd rather list Harry adn drop Fanning and punt on getting him back as a re-rookie. I reckon he's at least 2 years away and even then I doubt he'll make it.

Mark the only people calling a weak draft are people on footy forums.

The experts call it an even draft ie pick 30 could be as good as pick 10.

As to the topic, I would be very pleased to see Tom on our rookie list.
The boy certainly has some talent.
Nothing much lost if he can't get over his injuries.
After all the rookie list is always a little bit of a gamble

MarkT said:
Perhaps but if this is a weak draft and next years a bumper as some have suggested maybe next year is the year for rookie gold and this year is the year to punt on a talented player who has been hampered by injury and not drafting too late in the draft. .

Your logic is skewed. If its a weak draft (if it is!!) thats all the more reason for promoting O'Brien this year instead of drafting somebody in the national draft who may not make it, and putting that "weaker" player on the rookie list instead.

If you get my drift, not sure I've explained it too well.

Murray said:
Mark the only people calling a weak draft are people on footy forums.
I’ve read and heard comment from club scouts and recruiters. Not so much weak as lacking many outstanding players and depth. Personally I wouldn’t know first hand as I don’t watch junior footy.
Murray said:
The experts call it an even draft ie pick 30 could be as good as pick 10.
Pick 10 being a good years pick 30?
Murray said:
As to the topic, I would be very pleased to see Tom on our rookie list.
The boy certainly has some talent.
Nothing much lost if he can't get over his injuries.
After all the rookie list is always a little bit of a gamble
Yep. All depends on his knees though.

MarkT said:
Pick 10 being a good years pick 30?
No, pick #10 being a good years pick #10 to #20, and pick #30 being of the exact same quality.

The top 5 are probably not as outstanding as last years, but from #5 to #30, I think that the draft this year is better.

vinnie_vegas69 said:
No, pick #10 being a good years pick #10 to #20, and pick #30 being of the exact same quality.

The top 5 are probably not as outstanding as last years, but from #5 to #30, I think that the draft this year is better.
They way I've heard it 30 might be as good 20 but 20 is as good as what 30 should be or at least is in a "good" draft and on top of that there are no really outstanding prospects and it drops away after the first few.

magpies42 said:
blah blah blah, they said the same last year and teh draft turned out ok! THEY dont have a clue

From memory they were saying last year was a poor draft outside the top 5 and this year was suppossed to be heaps better. Fast forward to this year and they are saying the same with next year being the super draft. Before we know it they will be naming some 12 year old as the next ablett.

what ever happens i have faith in our system (given our results form last year) so if they think ellis is the next dal santo/power ill trust em if tehy think that hurn is the next hodge then ill believe! if they screw us over we better make em pay, coz we can not afford to award mediocrity any longer!

Good Lord. Given our drafting history you have faith? Now if you want to base it solely on last year apart from being very selective, the jury has to be well and truly out. We started with pick 7 and ended up with Egan. A hell of a lot to prove there. I like the look of Rusling. Travis could well be an out and out gun but he was a father son gimme so no credit due there. Yakka, well let’s just say so far he has shown nothing. Have to give him time though. If you want to go back any further than last year it gets very very ugly and frankly our drafting is precisely why we finished 15th and why we are about to lose our best players to retirement with prospective replacements.

In short our drafting has been pathetic. The fact that Judkins still has a job at all is a joke that sums us up unfortunately. The bloke has absolutely failed in his job. We accept mediocrity with open arms. I’ll bet you London to brick that the fact we made 2 grand finals is brought up at the AGM when questions are asked of football dept. performance and Malthouse. MM has won about 1/3 of games as coach of Collingwood and he's had 6 seasons to take us to two consecutive bottom 4 results. He’ll get renewed. Collingwood supporters need to get a lot more demanding.

MarkT said:
I’ll bet you London to brick that the fact we made 2 grand finals is brought up at the AGM when questions are asked of football dept. performance and Malthouse. .

But its true. They started with a crap list and built them up to a dual Grand Finallist. They've made some mistakes along the way, especially in drafting, but they have achieved enough good results to deserve another year in the job.

The facts are in the past few years we seemed to have turned the corner with drafting, with Fanning O'Brien Rowe C Cloke H Shaw Davies D Swan R Shaw and Maxwell all showing good promise, along with the Rusling Egan and T Cloke. For you to say we only have a couple of good young players is selling them short.

MarkT said:
They way I've heard it 30 might be as good 20 but 20 is as good as what 30 should be or at least is in a "good" draft and on top of that there are no really outstanding prospects and it drops away after the first few.
"There will be kids who go on to rookie lists who would previously have been drafted," Sheehan said.

There's the quote I was looking for.

As I said, there are no standouts, but you might get a player at #40 who could be in the 20s in another year.

Rookie list