no. 4

Man Utd, Melb. Victory
Yet again i noticed Flint was in the best for the Bullants. I also noticed Batson kicked three goals. I have always been a big Jesse Smith fan and i was wondering if he or any of the others will be able to get a run this year to prove themselves before it's too late.

started a thread on this about 2 weeks back. flint has been outstanding thus far. batson is improving and should be in the bullants seniors. jackson played in the seniors and was good. smithy has been getting better since injury. aisake continues his slow improvement in the reserves. if a LTI comes about, then someone should be elevated. until then, they will continue to prove themselves in the bullants seniors and reserves. hopefully thry will all play in the bullants seniors together this year. ony one criticizm i have of the bullants this year-our future are being left out for people like franchina, morrell, harford and josh houlihan who clealy have no future in the AFL.

Jeremias said:
started a thread on this about 2 weeks back. flint has been outstanding thus far. batson is improving and should be in the bullants seniors. jackson played in the seniors and was good. smithy has been getting better since injury. aisake continues his slow improvement in the reserves. if a LTI comes about, then someone should be elevated. until then, they will continue to prove themselves in the bullants seniors and reserves. hopefully thry will all play in the bullants seniors together this year. ony one criticizm i have of the bullants this year-our future are being left out for people like franchina, morrell, harford and josh houlihan who clealy have no future in the AFL.
unfortunately we just have to many ordinary players in the seniors who just never get long term injuries.

Kooley said:
unfortunately we just have to many ordinary players in the seniors who just never get long term injuries.

that problem will hopefully be fixed at the end of the year when quite a few are delisted/traded, we elevate some kids off the rookie list and continue to draft quality kids. :thumbsu:

justin davies is listed as 'indefinite' on the injury list, this 'may' create an opportunity for a rookie promotion.

bibi01 said:
justin davies is listed as 'indefinite' on the injury list, this 'may' create an opportunity for a rookie promotion.

i think that it has to be a set amount of time that he is out for, which is 8+ weeks. being indefinite, i'm pretty sure that this means the club is unsure how long he will be out for. noone knows whether or not it is more than an 8 week injury. the afl cannot allow a lti unless there is more or less a rough idea of how long the person in doubt will be out for.

Jeremias said:
ony one criticizm i have of the bullants this year-our future are being left out for people like franchina, morrell, harford and josh houlihan who clealy have no future in the AFL.

These are bullants players, there are rules on how many AFL player can be playing in a VFL team each week, and anyway diggers has been in the best i think every week.

Jeremias said:

I haven't had time to get down to VFL games, but how are the Irishmen getting along? I mean I've just been so used to hearing Setanta - next Jim Stynes etc

Are they worth keeping?

I wonder what Jesse Smith has to do to get noticed by Carlton...do handstands in the centre or streak. A family friend saw him play in Tassie last Saturday and he burnt, but wasn't acknowledged in the 'best players' as usual. The rookies give their best and it must be disheartening for them to not get mentioned when they go well. Give 'em a break Carlton some of them leave the listed players for dead.

I watched the game and wasn't impressed with Smith much at all. Really don't think he's got anything special that justifies elevating him at the end of the year.

OZBomb said:
I watched the game and wasn't impressed with Smith much at all. Really don't think he's got anything special that justifies elevating him at the end of the year.
i tend to agree.

OZBomb said:
Haven't seen heaps of him but from what I have seen agree with Ozbomb too. I have been more impressed with Blackwell and don't see that Smith will give us anything Carazzo, Blackwell or Simpson will not give us. Lets look for tall defenders to promote.

flidge said:
I haven't had time to get down to VFL games, but how are the Irishmen getting along? I mean I've just been so used to hearing Setanta - next Jim Stynes etc

Are they worth keeping?

In short, yes, they are both worth keeping.

Aisake has been developing nicely in the bullants reserves as a ruckman-still has a LONG way to go but is getting there. As he is an international rookie, we have the option of keeping him on the rookie list for a 3rd year. This will definitely be the case come season's end.

Setanta is currenty in a little bit of a form slump. Didn't play well for the one game earlier in the season for Carlton, and hasn't recovered his confidence. Once he really starts dominating in the VFL as a forward we may consider giving him another run. Is a definite keeper, but will definitely be a while until we see the best of him, not for at least another 2 years. IMO, we can afford to wait :thumbsu:

Jeremias said:

Mate do you even know how the VFL system works?? You cant totally populate the affiliate VFL team with Carlton listed players. A certain amount of players must not be AFL contracted. Its better that we have players such as Morell, Harford and Franchina, who are VERY good VFL players helping us win games and maybe a premiership. The alternative to having these players would be to have young kids out of the Under 18's who didnt get drafted, will never get drafted, and will probably result in more losses for the bullants. Plus players such as Harford, Morell and Franchina provide unbelieveable leadership and guidance to the younger players thus making them better players for the future. If your playing for the Bullants reserves, honestly what hope do you have for an AFL career.... NONE

Lapp_46 said:
Mate do you even know how the VFL system works?? You cant totally populate the affiliate VFL team with Carlton listed players. A certain amount of players must not be AFL contracted. Its better that we have players such as Morell, Harford and Franchina, who are VERY good VFL players helping us win games and maybe a premiership. The alternative to having these players would be to have young kids out of the Under 18's who didnt get drafted, will never get drafted, and will probably result in more losses for the bullants. Plus players such as Harford, Morell and Franchina provide unbelieveable leadership and guidance to the younger players thus making them better players for the future. If your playing for the Bullants reserves, honestly what hope do you have for an AFL career.... NONE

Yes, I do. Do you?

The 10-12 rule is not compulsory during the season itself, just the finals series. Carlton, however have chosen to adopt a similar rule for itself. This is ridiculous, as we are seeing the likes of Harford, Morrell, Josh Houlihan and Franchina running around instead of Raso, Batson etc. I agree they need leadership, and thats why they have a captain, Frankie Raso, as well as some other blokes. You need to realize that the names I have mentioned (Morrell, Houlihan, Harford and Franchina) are NOT part of the future of the carlton football club, whilst young kids dwelling in the bullants reserves may well be. Honestly-would you rather see older players who have no future in the AFL taking the place of our young kids who may well be part of our future, or would you prefer to see the kids? I certainly know which option I would prefer...

I actually cannot believe the stupidity of the latter part of your post. How can you say that players in the bullants reserves have no future if they are playing for that team? The VFL is a league lower than the AFL, and the VFL reserves a level lower than that. Young kids often play in the VFL reserves whilst finfing their feet in the game or to gain some confidence. Don't be ignorant of a blatant fact. Don't be stupid either.

Has this made it a little clearer for you?

You seen the tassy gamr did you. Thrn you would of noticrd jesse smith have 28 disposals playing on ken hall who had 7. thats right 7. kooley you are an absolute idiot, give up bagging this kid or i will personally hunt you down. UNDERSTAND>

IMO we have a good rookie list, pagan came out in support of smith last year, and i cant see why he would change his opinion of him now, but until there is a long term injury he cant be promoted. Flint has been getting great reports and ive heard a few positive things about jackson. It wouldnt surprise me if all 3 where promoted at the end of the year, id rather see smith and flint in the senior instead of sporn and teague.

OZBomb said:

pull your head in ozbomd, you've got to be kidding me, what are you blind or something. Hardly gtes any game time but still manages to pick up 20+ posssesions is as hard as they come, always willing to do the team things, extremely skilfull and would have more of a crack than half of the carlton list put together. He is an exceptional talent and by watching more than 1 game you will realise this, by far the best rookie at the blues and possibly the league deserves to be given a chance to prove himself on centre stage. I think you are forgetting he won the best and fairest for a team that won the flag, a team where no less than 80% of it were either drafted or rookied in the 2004 and 2005 darfts. He was also best on ground in that garndfinal where he picked up 25 touches in the first half. He averaged more touches than deledio that year and twice as many hard ball gets, a gun player just needs an opportunity.

I've seen every televised game he's (Smith) played over the last two years both by ABC Victoria and ABC Tasmania and I watched him throughout the Under 18 Championships in 2004.

As for this game, he did a good tagging job at VFL level. If you're a tagger at VFL level... well... anyway... Mitchell played the extreme flood and hence all the possessions.

footy_nerd Pull your head in ozbomd, you've got to be kidding me, what are you blind or something...

I shouldn't have even dignifed you with a response given your first comments that where totally inappropriate. I'm allowed to have an opinion like anyone else.

if your tagging someone and get 28 touches you must be doing something right, if he was allowed to run free in the middle like cararzzo and other 2nd rate carlton players he probably would of got 60 touches. Smith is a gun player and for you to despute that is simply ignorant. I don't think smith would of put his hand up and said "hey barry mitchell" can i tag such and such, he did the team things which is just as important as getting a possession. Carazzo might of had 51 touches, (only 25 of them effective), but would of only had the ball in his hand 3-4 minutes, what was he doing for the other hour and a half, certainlty wasn't doing the team things thats for sure. How many possessions did his oppenent have, probably 40 i'd say, a difference of 11, Jesse had 28 his opponent 7 a difference of 21 therefore smith was a better performer on the day.

footy_nerd said:
if your tagging someone and get 28 touches you must be doing something right, if he was allowed to run free in the middle like cararzzo and other 2nd rate carlton players he probably would of got 60 touches. Smith is a gun player and for you to despute that is simply ignorant. I don't think smith would of put his hand up and said "hey barry mitchell" can i tag such and such, he did the team things which is just as important as getting a possession. Carazzo might of had 51 touches, (only 25 of them effective), but would of only had the ball in his hand 3-4 minutes, what was he doing for the other hour and a half, certainlty wasn't doing the team things thats for sure. How many possessions did his oppenent have, probably 40 i'd say, a difference of 11, Jesse had 28 his opponent 7 a difference of 21 therefore smith was a better performer on the day.

How old are you?

You have your own opinion, OZBomb has his. Don't get angry and start arguing if he has his own opinion. He is entitled to an opinion just as much as you are.

Stop arguing like a baby and learn to accept that others can actually hold independent opinions which may differ in some way to your own.

footy_nerd said:

You are an idiot. Whether you like it or not, Smith will not be on the list next year so just get over it and yourself while you are at it.

Da Shag On Fire said:
You are an idiot. Whether you like it or not, Smith will not be on the list next year so just get over it and yourself while you are at it.

respect other peoples opinions. dont come on here calling people idiots because they hold an opinion which differs to your own.

FWIW i think smith has shown enough to be elevated come the end of the season.

footy_nerd If your tagging someone and get 28 touches you must be doing something right, if he was allowed to run free in the middle like cararzzo and other 2nd rate carlton players he probably would of got 60 touches. Smith is a gun player and for you to despute that is simply ignorant. I don't think smith would of put his hand up and said "hey barry mitchell" can i tag such and such, he did the team things which is just as important as getting a possession. Carazzo might of had 51 touches, (only 25 of them effective), but would of only had the ball in his hand 3-4 minutes, what was he doing for the other hour and a half, certainlty wasn't doing the team things thats for sure. How many possessions did his oppenent have, probably 40 i'd say, a difference of 11, Jesse had 28 his opponent 7 a difference of 21 therefore smith was a better performer on the day.

Well I'm not going to debate this, in this manner

I didn't say he didn't play well... for those keeping score at home. I suggested he doesn't show anything to differentiate him from 150 other good/ordinary players.

There's no need to call the guy an idiot, regardless of his attitude.