Toast Ross Lyon

• Thread starter Thread starter yakka man

I can only assume Whiteoak's tag made him jump into our board without realising he was here.

Dumb.

But if he actually knew he was on our board while advancing that argument... then he's even dumber.

I can only assume Whiteoak's tag made him jump into our board without realising he was here.

Dumb.

But if he actually knew he was on our board while advancing that argument... then he's even dumber.

It was definitely bait on my behalf, but he knew where he was. He drops in quite regularly. Especially around Derby time.

Lets be honest here, you don't have the equivalent of Naianui, Glass, Kennedy, Darling, Cox, Kerr or even Waters when he's fit. Your best players are old men = Pav, Sandi and McPharlin and the youth coming through apart from Fyfe are just vanilla mate. The credit goes entirely to Lyon for your recent success and I am willing to bet if he was at West Coast we would be top 2 guaranteed.

You only have to look at the Saints collapse when he left to see than Ross is the man behind their Grand Final appearances in the last 5 years.
Naianui ---- no-one, dont even know who Naianui is
Glass = McPharlin
Kennedy < Pav
Darling killed by a sniper
Cox = Sandilands
Kerr < Mundy, Fyfe
Waters < Spurr (AKA Glen Archer V2.0)

Youth coming through

Nat Fyfe
Son Son Walters
Stephen Hill
Cameron Sutcliffe
Hayden Crozier
Lachie Neale
Jack Hannath
Zac Clarke
Anthony Morabito
Viv Michie

Do some research first douche

This pretty much sums things up, the only difference being our great effort goes into our contested game and scoring through turnovers from relentless pressure, and not great effort in drawing questionable free kicks every week.

It was definitely bait on my behalf, but he knew where he was. He drops in quite regularly. Especially around Derby time.

I remember.

But he's usually a bit more diplomatic than that. I guess it's option two then... he's dumber than I had realised.

How did I get caught up in all this ? am I posting on your board or bay13 ? anyways here goes....you blokes have come a long way everyone knows this and its plain to see the dockers of old is temporarily abated. It could be the new coach is the reason or it may not all I can say is don't any of you think that Ross coming over and Freo's climb up the ladder and the Saints demise isn't a little bit suspicious ?? I mean i would be just going out on a limb here and state teams like the Crows, Norths and even Port have benefited from a new coach initially.

Gotta love a back-handed compliment.

Ah gotta love eagles fans, even after the reality check they've received against every team outside the bottom 6 they've played this year they still overrate their list.

Next they might pull out that brilliant line again about how they've got better depth than us as long as they don't get any injuries. That was a cracker.

Ah gotta love eagles fans, even after the reality check they've received against every team outside the bottom 6 they've played this year they still overrate their list.

Next they might pull out that brilliant line again about how they've got better depth than us as long as they don't get any injuries. That was a cracker.
We're shit, I know this. We won't beat a top 4 side all year. The problem we have is different to your problem and ours doesn't include players. If Ross Lyon was coaching the current crop of Eagles we would be top 2 and not even look like getting beaten.

Naitanui goes down with an injury and WCE fall to pieces, cant even win against Port after being up by 40 points in the 3rd quarter was it?

We lose Pavlich, Griffin, Sandilands, Hill, Kepler and Walters and we keep on winning, WHILE developing youth in Crozier, Sutcliffe and Hannath.

Lol. But we're shit lol and our list is inferior and totes vanilla.

..... It could be the new coach is the reason or it may not all I can say is don't any of you think that Ross coming over and Freo's climb up the ladder and the Saints demise isn't a little bit suspicious ?? I mean i would be just going out on a limb here and state teams like the Crows, Norths and even Port have benefited from a new coach initially.

so didnt saints also get a new coach along with their demise? Why didnt they get any benefit from a new coach? as you said, it lead to their demise? Nothing to do with retirements, trades, injuries and the fact the best coach in the AFL headed west?

We're shit, I know this. We won't beat a top 4 side all year. The problem we have is different to your problem and ours doesn't include players. If Ross Lyon was coaching the current crop of Eagles we would be top 2 and not even look like getting beaten.

pauad-meme-generator-excuse-me-wtf-is-this-shit-3ae845.jpg

Not even Ross could save your midfield.

Well, none of us will ever know that. Because you stuck with gramps and You could have even had Mick back last year but now there's no-one.

Also, without Nic Nat playing, your midfield is one of the worst in the league.

How did I get caught up in all this ?

Because you made a foolish statement by saying our best players are old men (McPharlin, Sandilands and McPharlin), but then saying we don't have the equivalent of Glass, Cox and Kerr, comparatively old men.

I don't have a problem with you rating your players higher*, because I rate Ross highly (as do you) and attribute much of our success to him and our team structure rather than just individual talent.

* Although the term "vastly inferior" is ignorant and extremely inflammatory.

Right, so all of a sudden the guy who took you to within a kick of back-to-back premierships can't coach, even with a list that is supposedly mega chock full of talent. Sure thing.

Obviously he isn't as good as RTB, but I hope your board are dumb enough to replace him with some grass-is-greener rookie coach. I'll enjoy watching the reality check slowly dawn on your supporters as you go backwards.

This is such a stupid post, when I read it my brains started leaking out my nose.

Freo has a much better list than WCE. Ross Lyon is benefiting from a strong recruiting legacy over the last 5 years.

This is such a stupid post, when I read it my brains started leaking out my nose.

Freo has a much better list than WCE. Ross Lyon is benefiting from a strong recruiting legacy over the last 5 years.
Say what ? your calling my post stupid ? Ross is in his second year ffs you tool how could he influence their drafting ? go back to what you were doing which was prolly smoking ****.

Where did he say he influenced it genius?

He said he is benefiting from it.

Take a rest champ, you're not smart enough to post under the influence.

Right, so all of a sudden the guy who took you to within a kick of back-to-back premierships can't coach, even with a list that is supposedly mega chock full of talent. Sure thing.

Obviously he isn't as good as RTB, but I hope your board are dumb enough to replace him with some grass-is-greener rookie coach. I'll enjoy watching the reality check slowly dawn on your supporters as you go backwards.

Sheedy coached the Bombers for decades and eventually got tramped, eventually the message wears off or doesn't sink in anymore as was shown with Knights and that ex coach of hmm.. Port or what eva they are called and that new coach that helped them win a couple of games early on this season :)

I say west coast should throw 3 million at Lyon and see what happens. The man is good ..but he's a merc for sure.

You are forgetting that the brains of the outfit then (I always thought the opposite but was wrong, I have had that confirmed by an impecable sauce) is now an assistant with us.

I say west coast should throw 3 million at Lyon and see what happens. The man is good ..but he's a merc for sure.

Problem is we're a bit smarter than the Saints and wouldn't have left a massive loophole in his contract for other clubs to pounce on.

You should definitely try get more Freo people to your club though, maybe then our great culture might rub off on you a little.

Problem is we're a bit smarter than the Saints and wouldn't have left a massive loophole in his contract for other clubs to pounce on.

You should definitely try get more Freo people to your club though, maybe then our great culture might rub off on you a little.

Yeah righto, we should throw those 3 flags in the bin and sack the guy who said recruit Naitanui over Rich while we're at it. Don't get too carried away with "perceived" success because reality tends to be a real kick to the nut sack.

Yeah righto, we should throw those 3 flags in the bin and sack the guy who said recruit Naitanui over Rich while we're at it.

Real stroke of genius that one. No one rated NicNat before the draft, you guys totally blindsided the footy world with that pick. Kudos.