Roulette tips?

Eagles
Anyone got any good roulette tips?

Last few weeks a few mates and I have been going to Crown for a bit of gambling, sometimes with success, sometimes without (like last week, grrr). Seems a lot of the gamblers have certain strategies which they use and almost always seem to increase their chips bit by bit (though the occassional zero screws everyone up).

Any experienced (or not) gamblers out there with some tips for an amateur not-addicted (but getting there) roulette player?

Originally posted by Abba Lonie
Scout the tables and bet against the trends. Especially a number of consecutive reds or blacks.

Nah, every spin is random. Going against trends gives you same chance of winning as going with trends.

What I meant was a strategy that minimises your chances of losing. I came up with this today:
$10 on 1-18
$10 on 3rd 12

It gives you:
18.92% chance of losing
32.43% of winning $10 (if it lands on 3rd 12)
48.65% chance of getting your $20 back (if it lands on 1-18)
*above stats are based on single zero tables

But thats a simple strategy, people tend to have more complicated strats that yield smaller returns but at safer odds (those people you see that seemingly put chips on half the numbers).

Put your $$$ into blue chip shares and keep them there because Casinos only exist to make money, not to share it with others.

Failing that, keep backing a 50-50 proposition (ie red or black) whilst doubling the bet when u lose. This only works if you have plenty of funds to overcome a freak pattern (ie 14 reds in a row) :D

Originally posted by bunsen burner
tip: don't play because the odds are stacked firmly against you.

Only 2.7% in the Casino's favour on single zero tables. Not too bad odds if you are out just to have a bit of fun (not like those people that bet with $100's or $1000's of dollars).

Originally posted by i_luv_westcoast
Learn proper Blackjack strategy and how to count cards. This gives you a slight advantage over the casino.

I tried that while watching others play. They deal the cards so bloody fast that its very hard to count cards.

Hilly, $50-50 bets are good until the friggin zero comes up! I hate that number :p

Still waiting on some strategy tips. I think I'll stick with my strat though.

22.... (from run lola run)..

i like roulette.... its fun, and u can play for quite a while..

but the odds are heavily stacked against u...
go practise blackjack or baccarat instead...

My best way of betting would be to put for example, $20 on both the 1st 12 and the 2nd 12 sections.

Including the 0, you would have a 60-65% chance or so of winning, and you get a 50% increased return.

I'm really not sure that the 0 is included in the first 12...

One option is to bet second and third columns and red.

But you always have the zero. That is where the house gets its advantage. It is impossible to beat. Each spin is unique and individual.

I've seen people flock to a table that has spun 6 reds in a row to bet on black. Most walked away with empty pockets after the 12th red.

Unless you are going to count cards, gambling strategies will only delay the inevitable.

Craps, a game loved by the Americans, has some of the highest percentages for the casino.

Its a mugs game. Unless you count cards, expect to lose in the long run.

I only bet on the ones that give you roughly a 50/50 chance of winning. Guess it is about 49/51 but that is good enough for me. Betting on footy games is worthwhile as well (but don't back your own team).

Roulette is one of the worst games odds-wise to play, it is actually a game often played by blackjack card-counters in between shoes etc to throw off the house, as anyone who has studied anything about gambling is told to go nowhere near a roulette table.

Your best realistic option at a casino these days is playing correct bj strategy with a good money management system.

Counting cards is losing its appeal everyday due to increased amount of decks played with, and slowly they are introducing continously shuffled games. Makes it impossible for the counter.

When I play bj, I use an extremely simple count. Basically, I just take note of 10 and non-10 cards which have come out. I dont complicate it like you can and should with lesser deck games, because the advantage %wise is just nowhere near the effort needed.

I actually beleive there is nothing wrong with card counting and it wrong for casinos to enforce laws against it.

For a counter, you need to go and find one or two deck games in places like Nevada or Atlantic City, where there is huge competition from the casinos and you can also get some pretty good rules as well.

But in one casino towns like we have in Australia we, the punter, gets screwed. We have nowhere else to go in that city, and they can set whatever rules and variations they like and not risk losing out.

Roulette is fun, but you can not beat it.

About a 2% house advantage is the best you can do - which is EXTREMELY bad for a punter. I think only slots/pokies offer a disadvantage to the punter as bad as that.

Mathmaticians, computers etc have tried for ever to come up with a way. Nobody has come up with one that works. Nobody.

BJ is the only game which can be beaten.

Don't play. Head down to Sportsbet and use some of your knowledge and sports to win ya some dosh. More fun too. ;)

The Hitman

Some interesting replies on this thread.

Contrary to some opinion, Roulette does not confer a huge advantage to the house. The house percentage is actually quite small, on the order of 3%. Compare this with Keno which might be as high as 30% in some places.

I have read a book which claimed that Roulette was one of the few casino games which could be beaten. The method relied upon the fact that a Roulette wheel is essentially a mechanical device, and thus was subject to biases due to everyday wear and tear. As a consequence it is possible for a wheel to favour red over black, or evens over odds, or X over Y. The book suggestred that one stand by a roulette wheel for a couple of hundred spins and record the result of each spin - red or black. If, after many spins, a bias was apparent, then begin betting in accordance. Otherwise move to another wheel.

I don't doubt that the method has some merit - but I'm darned if I have the patience to try it!

The other casino games which are beatable are of course blackjack and poker. The amount of discipline required to be come a blackjack card-counter is hardly worth it IMO, since most Casinos take countermeasures (like burning half the shoe) to limit its benefit. Poker is a game of skill, not chance, and is thus eminently beatable: it is a matter of playing the game better than those others at the table. However I don't believe this is a skill that can be learned overnight!

On the rare occasion that I actually do bet at a casino, I'll play the Big Wheel - purely for entertainment value. Can you scream and barrack for your chosen number as the wheel slows down on any other game? "come on number 3! yes - yes - one more - YEAH, YOU RIPPER! :D

Originally posted by Uncle Steve
Contrary to some opinion, Roulette does not confer a huge advantage to the house. The house percentage is actually quite small, on the order of 3%. Compare this with Keno which might be as high as 30% in some places.

3% for a casino game is huge. Im not talking playing for fun, but if you want to be a serious player. If you want fun, who cares what the odds are.

Pfft - Keno, like a lottery should not be touched. In Australia, it has been worked out that you need a jackpot of 40 million before the odds and risk/return actually looks anything decent.

I have read a book which claimed that Roulette was one of the few casino games which could be beaten. The method relied upon the fact that a Roulette wheel is essentially a mechanical device, and thus was subject to biases due to everyday wear and tear. As a consequence it is possible for a wheel to favour red over black, or evens over odds, or X over Y. The book suggestred that one stand by a roulette wheel for a couple of hundred spins and record the result of each spin - red or black. If, after many spins, a bias was apparent, then begin betting in accordance. Otherwise move to another wheel.

Biased wheels are a myth. That book, like many roulette books, are there for the author to make money, not the reader.

Think about it - how can a wheel be biased towards red or black, or odd and even? what mechanical fault could possibly do this?

The only way is if the ball is magnatised in some way - which is pure cheating on the part of a casino, but I wouldnt put it past them. Weighted "Big wheels" arnt anything new. If you did get such a wheel, rest assured the bias would be there for the houses benefit, not yours.

Professional BJ and Poker players are everywhere - ever heard of a pro roulette player?

The one way which sometimes may work is in one area casino's can never really overcome - human error.

Sometime youll find that a person uses the exact same force in the spin of the ball everytime. A subconcious and rythm thing.

Watching the location of the ball when it is released in relation to the board, then analysing the region of the board where the ball lands can sometimes offer some sort of consistency.

But, your NEVER going to be able to narrow it down to red/black or odd/even, but the region of the board perhaps.

Then, you get funny bounces and rebounds which stuff everything up anyway.

For some reason, roulette "seems" to be beatable, and as a result it has been examined by all sorts more stingently than any other game, but it cant be beaten.

Ever notice casino's having readily available pencils and cards to fill in? It is a technique by casinos to encourage people to work out systems and biases in this game.

Like card counting, if this myth was in fact workable, wouldnt you think the Casino would outlaw it, before helping the punter?

The amount of discipline required to be come a blackjack card-counter

Contrary to popular beleif, card counting itself isnt that difficult at all.

Getting a reliable true count in Australia is.

On pure probabilities, you can't beat roulette long term.

However, on the single 0 machines, you could probably stake effectively on a 2-1 bet that will provide steady returns and take longer to build up big losses than staking against an even money bet.

The probability of nine straight losing bets on odds or evens is 1 in 400. However, on the tenth bet you would be staking $512 to win your $1.

When you are taking the 2-1 bets, the probability of nine straight losing bets is 1 in 34. But you'll only be staking $31 to win your $1 in this situation.

The staking progression works as follows:

Even money bet:

2-1 bet:

I've never played roulette myself, but if I did, I would follow the 2-1 staking plan for six bets. That way, on the basis of a $5 minimum, your losses are limited to $85.

At Burswood they have those continuous automatic shuffling machines which makes it impossible to count cards unfortunately. I still play Blackjack there because there is nowhere else I can go. You guys in Melb are lucky that they havn't taken over all the tables yet. Can't wait till im in Melb again so I can have a slight advantage over the casino.

i think that best thing to do is always put $1 on Zero that way if it comes up you will win 30 and if it doesn't a$1 isn't that much to lose. Always select the 1 in 2 chances such as red or black or 16-24 etc... That way even though you will be wining a small amount you will still be doubling your money.