Round 1 vs Adelaide

Reveler said:
so 'stinger' is going to get a bit of a rough up according to 'the west'. Do you think comments like these will disturb him? or is he learning woosha's death stare to avoid these issues.

if the eagles can't beat adeliade then they won't make the top 4.

Bring it on. The Cows can worry about "roughing up" Stinger. We'll get down to the business of winning the contested ball and putting a score on the board.

Milenko said:
Bring it on. The Cows can worry about "roughing up" Stinger. We'll get down to the business of winning the contested ball and putting a score on the board.

I think one of the few times Woosh has ever cracked a smile over the last few years is whenever a west coast player is threatened with roughing up prior to a game.

I think he sees it as a way to instill moral fibre and whatnot.

Reveler said:
if the eagles can't beat adeliade then they won't make the top 4.

*ahem*
Melbourne got smashed by 49 points Round 1 Vs Hawthorn last year.
Brisbane struggled to beat Sydney by 2 points at the Gabba Rd 1
Geelong got pounded first game by 61 points in Round 1

Since when does beating a side in Round 1 show how you will finish the season. As a Dockers supporter you would know that starting a season off fast doesnt mean jack ******** to where you will end up. Freo were 1 game off top spot in Round 6 and look where they ended up.

That puts a slightly different spin on things.

Fine and high 30s here for most of the week. Haven't played a wet weather game for a while (excluding Darwin).

maccas_no1 said:
I just hope Stenglien doesnt carve us a new one :p

I respectfully disagree and whole-heartedly hope he does! :D

However, our record at Footy Park is diabolical and I'm just keeping my fingers crossed for this game.

Streaker said:
Bassett would be a bit short to play on Gardiner or Hansen so you may have to rest a taller player down back. I heard there were doubts about Burton as well. The Crows would have to be pretty confident given their home ground record against us, but I think you will see a much improved side compared to the last few years.
I doubt Biglands will play in defence. Bock may be considered if we need a 3rd tall defender, but Bassett is a better option having played FB for most of his career. Ben Hart has done the job in the past too.

Burton is extremely doubtful. I have a feeling that the selectors won't risk him as you need to use caution with respect to hamstrings.

coasting said:
Beating the crows on easter sunday will be difficult, no doubt about it, but Rd 1 is the least important game of the year. Plenty of teams have won it only to have gone on to have a stinker of a season while I remember Port lost their first 3 games in a row a few years ago and ended up winning the minor premiership. Having said that we should be ahead of them on preparation with the wiz cup final and should really win although they would have had a better look at us than we have of them.

Not to be argumentative for the sake of being argumentative.
BUT Rd 1 is just as important as any home and away because if you win you get 4 points. If you win at any other stage you get 4 points.
You are right about winning or losing not being a true indication of form for the season.

The key to winning this game and any others during the season will be if;
1. Our backline; especially KPP hold up and/or play very well.
2. Our forward KPP do a serviceable job for us.
So in a nutshell our midfield this season will win games for us but if our KPP don't stand up then they will lose us games.(not individually but as a team)

1972championsofaust said:
How well do the eagles play in the wet, as rain/showers are forcast for Sunday arvo?

Do you remember the final against Sydney last year?

Wet weather is definitely advantageous to Adelaide.

snakebite01 said:
Do you remember the final against Sydney last year?

Wet weather is definitely advantageous to Adelaide.

I wouldn't have thought that Adelaide would get THAT much more rain than what Perth does though... so what's the real advantage to Adelaide?

At the end of the day (to use a much-maligned footy cliche), both teams will be playing under the same conditions, so lets just let the game play itself.

hawkeye23 said:
I wouldn't have thought that Adelaide would get THAT much more rain than what Perth does though... so what's the real advantage to Adelaide?

At the end of the day (to use a much-maligned footy cliche), both teams will be playing under the same conditions, so lets just let the game play itself.

We generally have played pretty well in the wet over the years. We played a trial against Sydney in the wet this year so have already been exposed to it. West Coast are pretty sh|te in the wet.

There's 3 reasons why it will advantage us.

snakebite01 said:
We played a trial against Sydney in the wet this year so have already been exposed to it. West Coast are pretty sh|te in the wet.

There's 3 reasons why it will advantage us.

Correct me if I'm wrong (and I often am), but wasn't the Wizz Fizz game WCE played in Darwin vs Collingwood in the wet?

Wasn't too shabby an effort IMO.

hawkeye23 said:
Correct me if I'm wrong (and I often am), but wasn't the Wizz Fizz game WCE played in Darwin vs Collingwood in the wet?

Wouldn't have a clue, didn't watch it.

My last memory of the Weags in the wet was the EF and boy was it ugly.

hawkeye23 said:

We weren't too shabby against the Kangaroos two seasons ago either. Not our strong point, but I don't believe inclement weather would have too much a bearing.

We've won some tight games in the wet in recent times, and lost some.

IMO, we're vulnerable in the wet to teams who normally couldn't match us for pace, but
a.) are very good at winning the ball in close and tight.
b.) those who have forward targets who can take a strong contested mark. Seems a bit of a paradox, but on wet days, I think the victory often goes to the side who has a guy up forward capable of standing and delivering big contested marks- wet weather 'dumbs down' the midfields, so unless you have forwards who can produce without quick, accurate entry to the forward line, it gets very hard to kick a winning score.

Sydney, for example, are pretty much an exact match to that set of specs, which probably goes some way to explaining the elim final result.

I don't see Adelaide as being our betters in either of those two areas, so I'm not particularly stressed about the weather. One thing which is critical to our chances in wet weather is Gardiner- can take contested marks, and when he takes ruck taps, he's a huge asset to our midfielders chances of winning the ball.

snakebite01 said:
Wouldn't have a clue, didn't watch it.

My last memory of the Weags in the wet was the EF and boy was it ugly.

Your not serioulsy making an assumption after one game are you?? Oh wait, this is Bigfooty.

A major problem this weekend is Adelaide's forward scoring power with Welsh, Stevens, Perrie and Hentschel, the forward lin has many options against our sometimes thin defence

Total Package said:
*ahem*
Melbourne got smashed by 49 points Round 1 Vs Hawthorn last year.
Brisbane struggled to beat Sydney by 2 points at the Gabba Rd 1
Geelong got pounded first game by 61 points in Round 1

Since when does beating a side in Round 1 show how you will finish the season. As a Dockers supporter you would know that starting a season off fast doesnt mean jack ******** to where you will end up. Freo were 1 game off top spot in Round 6 and look where they ended up.

hard to argue with that.

hawkeye23 said:

aren't perth grounds on sandy soils that drain much better? if that's still true, it is entirely different conditions when it rains in adelaide vs perth.

Crow-mosone said:
lmao,

I can't believe anyone on a BF board actually said "no you are"

well done !!!!!
I can't believe someone came on here and had a big cry about a simple opinion and then had the audacity to accuse someone else of having a sook.