Oct 5, 2004
melbourne
Carlton Member
What does everyone think?

I hope we don't go in overconfident, as a loss here would really make our efforts in the Wizza Cup worth nothing. I would probably give the WC back for the 4 points in this game!!!

The Kangaroos look tall up forward with Rocca, Petri and Thompson, but with our style of play (pushing numbers back) we should be able to hold them well providing the ball doesnt get down there too quick.

Hopefully, Fev can kick a bag and we come away with the four points.

Blues by 16 points!!! GO BLUEBOYS!!!!!

Don't think we have the greatest record in recent times against the Roos, they always scare me a bit for whatever reason!

I think our midfield is better than theirs, which means that we'll hopefully get enough ball out of the centre to give Fev and Big Red a lot of opportunities up forward.

As you said, with the numbers flooding back, it wont help the likes of Rocca or Thompson.

I'll be tipping the Blues by 16 points! :)

I'm tipping us by 25 points, we seem to have mastered the telstra dome finally and most of our young blokes this year will have alot of self-belief, because of our outstanding pre-season, and beating a side with their best midfield in who happens to be rated a top 4 chance AKA West Coast. The Kangaroos won't seem too much trouble for us this week, I don't see where they will win, our forward line is fantastic, our backline is a little bit brittle without Thornton but their forward line isn't exactly the best out there... they won't kick enough goals, and our midfield would have to be atleast even or better, i'd say its better mainly because we have more running players to rotate through the midfield, Lappin is one example, what a gun. Fevola to kick 6 big ones and Whitnall to chip in with 3 and take a lazy 13 marks. Go Blues.

I'm just glad the kangaroos had their shinboner celebrations last week and not this week.

I think the blues will be clinical in disposing of the kangaroos, lots of youth and enthusiasim which will go a long way, will cost us a couple of games throughout the year but the positives will out weigh the negatives.

Wrapped Motlop isn't playing. Freakish aboriginal goal sneaks have always given us problems. Be interesting to see who we play down back. The roos will definitely try and stretch our backline without T-Bird. We should win this by 38 pts.

we should be able to beat them comfortably by 5 or so goals but this should be a perfect indication of;
i. how valuable t-bird is to the side
ii. whether one luke livingston can cope down back as i have faith but am a bit iffy.
iii. whether our boys can win matches they are EXPECTED to win, and not play like millionaires ala last year against richmond at telstra dome.

expecting sporn to absolutely star with kouta holding down chb

Laidley isn't a very smart coach. He'll try to stretch our backline without Thornton by going tall. However this will backfire as their tall forwards haven't worked well together and it'll just allow our classy defence to run the ball out more easily. One player we'll have to watch is Harvey, he always kicks goals against us. I wouldn't be surprised if Pagan puts Bannister on him.

Both games last year were heart-stoppers but this time Carlton will win the match more comfortably. Expect a HUGE game from Fevola. kangers have struggled to contain him in recent times.

I'm expecting a 5+ goal win over the roos ..their preseason hasn't been the best and their defence is a real worry for laidley . IMO our midfield will cut theirs to shreds . Bannister to run with Simpson and Mcgrath with Harris shut those 2 down and they will struggle big time .
this game can't come soon enough for my liking

celtic_pride said:
I fully expect an 8 - 12 goal win over a team I consider a bottom 4 contender.

I would like to share your optimism, but I don't think we are at the stage where we will flog teams this year, regardless of how good/bad quality opposition we are playing.
We tend to lapse a little and take our foot off the accelerator when we are comfortably in front.

If we win by anything more than 7 goals, then I will take the above back!!! :p

I hope we do though!!!!

Funkalicous said:
. However this will backfire as their tall forwards haven't worked well together

They haven't really played together yet, but yes, they have shown signs of poor form in certain games. Last time we played TD we had 38 scoring shots V Port, and flamed them.

Brown will hold Whitnall
Watt will not hold Fev. He will kick 5 +.

Dunno. I reckon we have more natural talent, but it means stuff all if you are second to the ball and not as hard as your opponent.

NorthBhoy said:
Brown will hold Whitnall

..and as a result will give away some free kicks ;)

Honestly though, it doesn't matter how fit, fast or tall you are when playing on Whitnall. Instead it's a battle of minds. :eek:

stefoid said:
is eddie betts a chance for round 1?

No, won't play Round 1 I wouldn't think. Too many in front of him at the moment. If we get a few injuries to some of our smaller players, or we struggle to kick goals he will probably get a run. He will be a good player though.

More thoughts.....

Rawlings on Stevens. He will curb his influence. Brady wasn't beaten last year.

I reckon we will run M Stevens on Scotland, as he can damage. But, he is also a very lazy footballer when not in posession and Stevens can run and kick like a MF.

Who will tag Wells..?

NorthBhoy said:
More thoughts.....

Rawlings on Stevens. He will curb his influence. Brady wasn't beaten last year.

I reckon we will run M Stevens on Scotland, as he can damage. But, he is also a very lazy footballer when not in posession and Stevens can run and kick like a MF.

Who will tag Wells..?

Bannister would probably get first crack at Wells. Has the pace and endurance to run with him.

Should be an interesting game, which will give a fairly accurate guide to where both clubs are at for the season.

I think Carlton should win, as I can't see Watt keeping Fevola to less than 6 goals and I don't think our midfield will dominate enough to ensure a winning score is kicked by our forwardline.

I think our midfield is better than Carlton's and they will illustrate this point quite easily, however their forwardline will be too potent for our very suspect backline, and our forwards won't be good enough to outscore the Blue boys.

I'm tipping a tight struggle for 3 quarters and then the Blues to have a comfortable last quarter win. Blues by 20-30 points.

BTW, who will tag Wells? I doubt Bannister has the pace to go with him (no-one does actually)... but i can't see anyone else who will get the job.

Good luck!

juzza316 said:
Bannister would probably get first crack at Wells. Has the pace and endurance to run with him.

Will probably get the job. He will have to work Wells over in close, for he will be torched wide and often. He seems to have the niggle to do this.

Harvey is a weird one for Pagan. He might do nothing, or he could win us the game. Grant, to a lesser extent, is the same. I would let Simmo do what he wants. He will get it 30 times, but 15 Camp posessions cuts him out.

As stated, I am simply not confident that we can hold Fev. Our midfield, while capable of cutting the very best apart, can be very, very lazy and allow others to run forward unchecked. If we do this, David Dench wouldn't help us.

Hale will be very damaging floating forward. Petrie is out of touch, but is only one mark, goal away from finding it again. Thompson is an unkown quantity. Sav has the smarts to do damage, but again, who knows....?

Our midfield simply have to kick goals. Dunno. Further the week goes, the less confident I am. We can win, we probably should, but as I have said on the main board, we aint that hard at the footy these days and not yet good enough to be tough sides on natural ability alone.

wellsythegr8 said:
Should be an interesting game, which will give a fairly accurate guide to where both clubs are at for the season.

I think Carlton should win, as I can't see Watt keeping Fevola to less than 6 goals and I don't think our midfield will dominate enough to ensure a winning score is kicked by our forwardline.

I think our midfield is better than Carlton's and they will illustrate this point quite easily, however their forwardline will be too potent for our very suspect backline, and our forwards won't be good enough to outscore the Blue boys.

I'm tipping a tight struggle for 3 quarters and then the Blues to have a comfortable last quarter win. Blues by 20-30 points.

BTW, who will tag Wells? I doubt Bannister has the pace to go with him (no-one does actually)... but i can't see anyone else who will get the job.

Good luck!
Carrazzo, he belted the crap out of Davey last year and in the Wizard Cup whilst showing leg speed.

cypher said:
Carrazzo, he belted the crap out of Davey last year and in the Wizard Cup whilst showing leg speed.
I wish him the best of luck. There is a big difference between Davey and Wells. Wells has endurance as well as blistering pace.

cypher said:

Davey = Crumbing forward

Wells is a midfield dynamo, with similar pace but so many more strings it's funny. Carazzo would last 15 minutes. Forget speed. You need a smart, angry runner. And heaps of help from his mates.

wellsythegr8 said:
I wish him the best of luck. There is a big difference between Davey and Wells. Wells has endurance as well as blistering pace.

Don't be surprised if Chambers gets the job to run with Wells. Sure, he doesn't have the sublime skills as Wells, but can stay close to him with pace and definitely has the endurance.

Still believe the Fevola/Whitnall/DeLuca triple act will be too much for the Kangas to hold. At best, both midfields will break even. It will be interesting to see how many tags are applied during the game.

Blues by 10 points

Round 1 vs Kangaroos