Autopsy Round 11, 2024: Melbourne v St.Kilda

Again, does he tell them to run into each other or get the ball smothered or kick on the man in the mark or get 80 turnovers they are poor poor group of players
Not to be one of those guys but I had the same arguments with Ratts. But I was told he was ultimately responsible as he was the coach. Those same people are now telling me that shouldn't be the case.

Rohan Connolly wrote this during the week.

“Okay this needs to be said. I’ve got nothing against Ross Lyon at all. His footy knowledge and nous is first class. But you simply can’t win a flag without being able to score and his teams consistently don’t.
He’s had 14 completed seasons as coach with StKilda and Fremantle. And just once, in 2009 when the Saints were runners up, have his teams ranked any higher than seventh for points scored, whilst nine times his teams have ranked top six for fewest points conceded.
In the 21st century we’ve had 24 premierships and just three times has a team ranked lower than sixth for points scored won a flag. You have to be able to score at least respectably to be in the ball game. And Lyon’s teams still don’t.

Last year St.Kilda whilst #1 for fewest points scored against, was a dismal 15th for points scored. Even this season the Saints are going okay defensively (6th before this round for fewest points against), but 14th for points scored.

You can’t return this sort of discrepancy between defence and attack over a long period and be believed when you say you value attacking football and scoring. He doesn’t. And the numbers simply don’t stack up. He has to change. “
How is his footy knowledge and nous first class but he is unable to coach? All commentators are reluctant to tell it as it is because they are frightened of being “cancelled “; Lyon is hopeless; don’t sugar coat it.

All the commentators and all of us can see the problems. Is rtb that ****en pig headed.
Only a blind campaigner couldn’t see the turnovers the uncontested marks the shit f50 entries the lack of effort around the midfield the bumbling the bungling.
Maybe he’s not but would be nice for Bass to send us a frank and honest update as to wtf is going on.

Quarter time and I was thinking about an early exit, but I stayed and this is what’s on my mind as a result of all of it…

- Have we gone rapidly backwards or were we relatively overachieving last year? I mean, since the Collingwood game even, wtaf has happened to us?

- Game should have been wayyyyyy over at quarter time, but it wasn’t, and we managed to grind our way back into it at half time. Okay, something to work with… our “moment” came in the third but some of the worst ******* forward entries I’ve ever seen live killed our own momentum. Cue the obvious bangbangbang down the other end and game over.

- Steele cracking the sads when needing to man the mark at one point was a sight to see.

- Man for man we absolutely should not be this bad. So what gives?

Get band one for Battle

Enter draft with picks 3 and 4

Pillage the draft before Tassie enter. Anything else we do is wasting time.
Battle has the equal 3rd most marks in the competition, is 25 until September and is in career best form.
I reckon his best footy is all ahead of him.

It would hurt. Then again, what's a few more years of pain?

Quarter time and I was thinking about an early exit, but I stayed and this is what’s on my mind as a result of all of it…

- Have we gone rapidly backwards or were we relatively overachieving last year? I mean, since the Collingwood game even, wtaf has happened to us?

- Game should have been wayyyyyy over at quarter time, but it wasn’t, and we managed to grind our way back into it at half time. Okay, something to work with… our “moment” came in the third but some of the worst ******* forward entries I’ve ever seen live killed our own momentum. Cue the obvious bangbangbang down the other end and game over.

- Steele cracking the sads when needing to man the mark at one point was a sight to see.

- Man for man we absolutely should not be this bad. So what gives?
I know people are ****ing sick of hearing it but honestly how uninspiring would it be playing a brand of footy that nets between 8 and 10 goals a game?

Every single player just looks like they’d rather be anywhere else and I reckon that’s a big part of it

Battle has the equal 3rd most marks in the competition, is 25 until September and is in career best form.

I love battle, he’s probably my fave current player, tries his heart out, tough, skillful and workrate through the roof BUT I think we let him choose.

If he wants out then let him go and take the best deal we can get in compo, if he wants to stay then keep him. Upside either way

Left the G at 3/4 time.
Happy to report everything is on track. We don’t even need to tank.
Pick # 2 or 3 coming right up - all going according to plan.

Yeah it sucks but if clubs are going to come and offer him a million a year we may have no choice in the matter.

If we are going to fully charge into a rebuild into the draft this is probably the year for us to do it with all the concessions about to come in for Tasmania soon.

Looking like we may get cheap hits at Cole and Peckett aswell.

I know people are ****ing sick of hearing it but honestly how uninspiring would it be playing a brand of footy that nets between 8 and 10 goals a game?

Every single player just looks like they’d rather be anywhere else and I reckon that’s a big part of it
We famously drafted and traded for blokes who can run. Maybe we’re the idiots thinking it meant “run to attack” but it actually meant “run to defend”!!

The one positive we now have pick # 4 at the MSD.

I said this at the start of the year, with our developing (lacking quality) list we were never going to recover with the number of important players we had out injured to start the season. They battled away undermanned for a number of weeks, but now the dam wall has burst. The entire club are out form and that starts with the coaches.

Patrick Dangerfield was perceptive in his commentary and it basically summed up our season. Because we were missing so many targets, we spend much more energy defending and chasing to win the ball back. Then we dont have the energy to attack when we do have the ball. On the contrary because the opposition are just picking off our dump kicks forward they can afford to take the game on and charge forward.

As a group how many fumbles, missed targets and dropped marks did we see today. Those same players (excluding Howard) werent doing that last year but their lack in confidence is spreading. Its obvious we now dont have the capacity to get first hands on the ball and then work it of congestion. Surely the over the top speculator handball forward is not a coaching instruction?

Our midfield and collective skills are some of the worst in the competition. Because of his lack of support even Jack Steele has become nothing more than a battler. Midfield talent and ball winners with skills are a significant weakness across the park.

Im sure our forwards are told not to lead up at the ball because Lyon doesnt have the confidence in the players delivering the ball to hit a target. Instead they all remain in a 20 metre zone waiting for the inevitable dump kick which teams like Melbourne just prey on. Ive also said it before but I think we need a specialist marking coach, too many of our players get beaten far too easily in marking contests.

Windhager didnt play well today but lets not forget how young he is, Garcia definitely has a future and I think Phillipou has the drive to want to suceed. Wilson is already a great wingman and Im sure given time he can turn that game to a break way mid. Henry has shown he can also go in for short periods. The talent is there but they are all young and will take time.

How is his footy knowledge and nous first class but he is unable to coach? All commentators are reluctant to tell it as it is because they are frightened of being “cancelled “; Lyon is hopeless; don’t sugar coat it.

Just on this, you can know something but suck royally at passing that knowledge on to others to engage. Like you dunno how any single person is going to comprehend anything, some might need a zen diagram, some might need to be punched in the face to see birdies to tell them, others might just get that 1+1=2, you just dunno and need to find a one fits all sort of solution.

So, RTB could know, and when asked be all "I am totally knowledgeable and all powerful", hop back to RSEA park, state exactly the same thing and be utterly ineffectual as different people and get blank looks.

Commentators likely don't get it either, they just like being employed and having access so they are less prone to sticking boots in where they're able to and instead skirt.

Was 1 of about 20 they missed. Had to lololol at the throws. Comical.
Sooo many throws. In particular when Gawn took it out the middle.
Also how was the free he got on the wing when he jumped all over Marshall? Little bit of a ump favourite is Maxy.

Recruit mids and maybe another tall forward via the draft and throw a truckload of cash at some good mids via FA

Find a couple of Dan Butlers - fast pressure small forwards at top 6 clubs who are in and out and looking for a regular game.

Keep Battle and all our experienced players. We can’t afford to give away good players like him. Everyone said we won’t miss Gresham Everyone was wrong. He was best 22. No surprise to me Essendon have surged up the ladder - they brought in a bunch of experienced players. Remember when we did the same under Ratts ? - played finals was the result. Want to see what happens when you have a poor list and give away what few decent players you have - study the North Melbourne case study of the last 5 years

“Play the kids” you say. How did that work out for Phillipou ? Destroyed his confidence. Surely getting less than 5 possessions week in week out is not good for their confidence or development. If they are showing something at Sandy sure give them a taste. But only when they have racked up decent performances 3 or more weeks in a row.

The one positive we now have pick # 4 at the MSD.

I said his at the start of the year, with our developing (lacking quality) list we were never going to recover with the number of important players we had out injured to start the season. They battled away undermanned for a number of weeks, but now the dam wall has burst. The entire club are out form and that starts with the coaches.

Patrick Dangerfield was perceptive in his commentary and it basically summed up our season. Because we were missing so many targets, we spend much more energy defending and chasing to win the ball back. Then we dont have the energy to attack when we do have the ball. On the contrary because the opposition are just picking off our dump kicks forward they can afford to take the game on and charge forward.

As a group how many fumbles, missed targets and dropped marks did we see today. Those same players (excluding Howard) werent doing that last year but their lack in convidence is spreading. Its obvious we now dont have the capacity to get first hands on the ball and then work it our congestion. Surely the over the top speculator handball forward is not a coaching instruction?

Our midfield and collective skills are some of the worst in the competition. Because of his lack of support even Jack Steele has become nothing more than a battler. Midfield talent and ball winners with skills are a significant weakness across the park.

Im sure our forwards are told not to lead up at the ball because Lyon doesnt have the confidence in the players delivering the ball to hit a target. Instead they all remain in a 20 metre zone waiting for the inevitable dump kick which teams like Melbourne just prey on. Ive also said it before but I think we need a specialist marking coach, too many of our players get beaten far too easily in marking contests.

Windhager didnt play well today but lets not forget how young he is, Garcia definitely has a future and I think Phillipou has the drive to want to suceed. Wilson is already a great wingman and Im sure given time he can turn that game to a break way mid. Henry has shown he can also go in for short periods. The talent is there but they are all young and will take time.
Isn’t there a rule we invented that we have to select a sandy player . If that’s the case it prob doesn’t matter what pick we have . Not sure

Genuine question, do we win another game this year?

Definitely possible that we don't. If I had to guess I think we have 3 more wins in us tops. 6-17 for the year. Absolute trash.

Doubt Lyon sticks around for this. They all look miserable. Will be shocked if he makes it to the end of 25 season.

You can't lose in this manner for an extended period. It's untenable. Membership next year will be diabolical.